Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Solar Chacara Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 71 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 71 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0
Solar Chacara Hostel Located at Estrada do Vidigal 701, , Rio de Janeiro.
Solar Chacara Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22450-230 Estrada do Vidigal 701
79% 71
-22.9904763 -43.2316678
Solar Chacara Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
9.4

For those concerned about the location, it is in a residential area literally opposite the Sheraton hotel, and is a 5 minute walk from Leblon which is the nicest and most upmarket area of Rio. The views are amazing, the hostel itself is clean with a fantastic kitchen and dining area. It's a bit of a climb if you're walking, and the rooms are up steps (considering that most of Rio is built into mountain sides should be expected).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice place for families, great view, good facilities and kind staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
1st Aug 2016
6.3

Pros: really friendly staff, great view of the ocean, good cooking facilities, lovely 10 min walk to the beach, hot water in showers. Cons: lack of cleanliness in the dorms was a big issue. I had to ask for the room to be cleaned a few times which was promptly done however disappointing considering it was an 8 man dorm, bins overflowing etc. Breakfast was lacking, if you didnt get up as soon as it began everything ran out and wasnt restocked. Beds were quite old and dirty, dorms need maintenance

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • benwalshuk
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.4

This hostel was OK. The location was fine just 10 mins from ipanema beach and 3 mins walk from the bus stop which would take you anywhere. The house itself amazing. The dorm not so much. Very basic, Never cleaned and there was a cold shower.. But everyone was told there was one warm shower in the main house we could use. Good job the hostel was dead really can you imagine 40+ people trying to use one shower. Breakfast was pants also. Very safe though and cheap so got on with it and stayed 2weeks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
8.9

Our stay was very nice. I cannot understand why so less people are in this hostel. The view is probably the best view you can get for this money. The location is awesome but you have to pay a cab to go everywhere. But this is normal in RJ. The staff is very friendly but cannot speak one word English. There are many pets thus, sometimes it smells a little bit. For us no problem. You cannot buy beers or drinks in the hostel. In my opinion it is better for couples. Would go again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
8.9

This place was great. I only stayed for 1 night, and I was the only person there, so it's hard to give a solid review. However, as far as the grounds go, this is a fabulous place. The bathroom and shower in my room was very clean. The room was clean. The view was awesome. The common room and kitchen are fantastic. The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful. Good place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
4.0

Terrible, was the only guest, staff didn't speak English, wanted to leave and forced to pay even after my deposit. Oh and breakfast was a slice of toast, don't bother.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Referring to Guest Review above, we have some points to explain: his reservation has been made for the period 02 to April 5, 2016. Coincidentally the hostel was not with many other guests on April 3, when Mr Piers said he wanted to leave for this reason, but it was explained that would be others at the end of this day. Anyway he wanted do leave. The person who was present at the time that this event happened, reported the incident to the responsible for reservations and contacts with guests, who at the same moment contacted the guest to resolve the fact. The responsible for the reservations started the conversation but the guest was not flexible when informed he would have to pay at least one night spent in the hostel. The same did not want to pay because he said he had already made a deposit at time of booking and this amount already belongs to the amount to be paid. But the 17% deposit paid at time of booking belongs to booking service fee of the website and not the hostel, this value is not transferred to the hostel. As the reservation was for 4 nights and the abrupt withdrawal, it was correct to charge for just 1 night, which the guest promptly complained. But after this explanation, he paid the first night value. For breakfast they have generously offered form of bread, as well as other products such as coffee, milk, ham, cheese, fruits, etc ...

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.