Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Solar63 Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Apr 2017
10.0

This place was awesome. Lots of social areas with great vibes. The staff was amazing. They would do anything to make you have a great stay and took time to get to know you. The facilities were perfect. Everything was always fully stocked (was happy to always have soap in the bathrooms). Everything was clean and the showers were really nice. The beds were comfortable and the rooms had AC if you need it. I hope to visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
9th Mar 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I have stayed in in 3 month of traveling. The stuff is super friendly and helpful. The kitchen is well equipped and even tho it says the kitchen could only be used from 11am to 10pm it wasn't a problem at all that I cooked breakfast. I was able to take a shower after the check out. Definitely 100% recommended!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.3

We were welcomed to the hostel by the great staff who were able to tell us everything about the area and what to do etc. Hostel itself is located in a student area so there's lots of bars and is within walking distance to the centre. Hostel is clean with plenty of space to chill in and outside. However rooms are very compact and breakfast is a bit basic (toast + fruit). Really enjoyed the recommended pastels at 'Artisan Pastels' nearby (just ask staff)!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • iantanjf
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
9.7

My experience with Solar 63 was a great one. Even though I only stayed a night, the hostel made me feel very welcome! Highlight of my trip was when the owner brought us on a free walking tour around Porto Alegre, I learned so much about the city and met new friends even though my initial thought was just a short layover.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
7.4

Well put-together hostel with everything you need. Popular with groups of young travelers so quite loud at times. Staff could be more attentive - had to ask every night for the aircon to be turned on when was told it would go on automatically - just small things can improve the experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, have you ever heard about global warming and rational use of natural resources ? If so, that´s why we just turn on ACs at night on guest´s request. Otherwise it would be a waste of energy. Please consider this next time you review such policies our poor world is in great need ;) Cheers

28th Jan 2017
7.4

My stay here was spoiled by the conduct of one of the hostel staff who started interfering in a relationship I made with a Brazilian guest. Insulting me behind my back and trying to get her go with him. I have never experienced this in 58 countries around the world. And for it to be a man of such advanced years... wow... For the hostel owners, it was the older guy with the black hair and glasses. Really shoddy stuff. My locker was broken also.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • laszlohajba885538
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.7

It is a very nice and clean, organized hostel with helpful staff! Good beds, kitchen and showers. Definitely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.4

Very helpful and friendly staff. Good wifi and good beds. Well worth a visit

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! The staff and owner are very friendly and informative. Great location and facilities. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jan 2017
10.0

Don't just pass through porto alegre, stay here a few nights! This hostel has such a nice atmosphere. Clean, modern, light, comfortable, really well put together, incl individual sockets in each locker and by each bed, and air con in the bedrooms at night. Also v good wifi. And the staff are so welcoming and friendly, the owner loves his city and wants to share it with everyone, even took us on a free walking tour, and to a great bar just around the corner. I really recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.