Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Solscape Eco Retreat

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 70 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 70 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

What a fantastic setting!! Had a very relaxing and rejuvenating experience. Highly recommend this place to everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
9.1

Considering the size of the facility and that some camper van guests can also use the facilities, the kitchen is rather small. It is a bit of a inconvenience there are no power outlets in the dorms, but you know that signing up. My three bed dorm was clean and comfortable. Views from the cafe and lounge area in the front of the hostel are the best in NZ!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
5.1

the caboose room was terrible, pretty run down and my mattress was shaped like a taco, very thin in the middle. To top it off sand flies were bitting me all night each night. I finally complained and asked to move beds and the front desk basically told my it was my problem. They were refusing to refund me for my last night as I wanted to leave but finally came around but kept 3 percent. Would recommend the campsite as the spot is awesome but would NEVER stay in a bunk bed here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
9.7

Great place with a great view! They have a cafe on location for breakfast and coffee. Everything is vegan so be prepared for that if you're not vegan. You can walk along the beach to get into town for supplies, and honestly its a lovely walk that only takes about 45 mins. There is swimming, hiking, and plenty of other things to do right around Solscape. Staying in the old train cars is really cool and a great way to reuse the old structures.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Dec 2016
6.6

The location is fantastic and facilities good for surfers and others who come for the ocean & beach. Kitchen is chaotic at meal time and cleanliness rules not priority Private rooms are small but adequate. The solar shower hot water doesn't make it so try washing in the lounge

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
9.7

LOVED IT. Would stay again in a heart beat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2016
10.0

I'm so obsessed with this place. Booked on a whim and stayed in one of the Cabooses with my friend and we had SO much fun! Everyone is so laid-back, the staff were wonderful, the onsite meals were great. Can't recommend this place enough. It is truly special.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
9.7

Amazing location with fantastic views. Cabin was clean as were bathrooms. This is a very eco basic place to stay with extremely friendly staff. The yoga lesson was also well worth the money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
9.7

Awesome stay!!! Highly recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.