Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sondzela Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
7.7

The deposit I paid online was not deducted from my stay and they seemed confused by the booking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
10.0

Sondzela was lovely. What could have made it better is to advise guests that they can only enter through the Mlilwane main gate not the Sondzela gate. We road about 600 km and arrive in the dark on motorcycles only to be told to go back and go to the main gate - which we would not have found. One of the guides were super helpful though and assisted us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
8.9

Gorgeous place in the middle of the game reserve. Only hard part was the google maps directions were not the right way to go. Have to use the main entrance to the park, not the back entrance. Additionally, I was charged more than hostelworld had it listed for. They said the rates had changed since I booked, it wasn't a significant increase. Overall, a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
11th May 2017
9.1

Unfortunately there was no record of our booking when we arrived, luckily they had availability. We arrived a little late partly due to Google maps leading us to the wrong gate and the man on the entrance refusing to let us in, even though the hostel was meters away! Instead we had to drive back to another entrance and drive through the park to the hostel. The rondavel we stayed in was very clean and cosy and the location in the national park was great. Food was good, but breakfast ended at 8am

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
8.6

It is a nice place to stay but we were really disappointed with my boyfriend because we booked for a room with a double bed but when we arrived they told us they gave our room to someone else and we had to stay in a room with 2 single beds or pay more to have a cottage. I think it is unfair to ask us to pay more to have what they asked when we did nothing wrong.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
8.9

Never done a hostel before with the family. We were very much positively surprised about the setting, the accommodation, the staff, the food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
10.0

What a great place to stay. Set in a nature reserve, close to town but in a world apart. Good clean comfortable room, lots of activities or just relax and do nothing at all except enjoy the views. I am not sure it there is such a thing as a luxury backpackers lodge but this would qualify. Meals, BLD, are available and affordable or you can prepare your own with your own ingredients if you prefer. Lots of trails to hike throughout the reserve or see the place via car, horseback or game viewer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
8.6

Write better directions. Use the current name of the petrol station - or just say petrol station. Also say road is bad. And ugly road brings you to a magnificent site with great people on staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
2.0

Poor service, was given an invoice for an amount below of the amount I paid, they tried to charge me twice for the conservation fee, they didn't explain the payment process upon arrival, they shows total ignorance of how to handle a client

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
3.4

Booking got cancelled week before. Could stay instead in main camp in the park for same price. Arriving there turned out not possible. Drove through to Sondzela. They took lugguage of other guest out of a room and gave room to us. Turned out other guest also had confirmed booking, ended up sleeping on the couch. There were around 60 local kids age 10 to 14 staying there for a church meeting. Bar closed at 6 without warning. No staff on the premises anymore. More to tell, not enough space.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.