Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Souk Lan Xang Guest House

  • NO: 2, Unite: 20, Groups:Xeingthong,, Ban: WAT NONG, Luang prabang District, Luang Prabang, Laos

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Mar 2017
7.7

Lovely traditional wood building. Spacious room with ensuite (with shower curtain). Comfortable bed. We stayed for 5 nights. Clean, but room was not serviced whilst were were there and the shared spaces got increasingly dirtier. The man on reception was helpful when asked a question but did not volunteer any information. The property is well located, next to the Mekong, and a good price. It is generally quiet (although a neighbour had a loud party on first night, it wasn't repeated).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
9.7

Great little guesthouse! Right next to a temple which made for a nice serene feel. The owner is amazing--so kind and helpful; we left a kindle behind when we checked out and he found it and got it back to us. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Mar 2017
7.4

A guesthouse right at the end of the peninsula, 5 steps away from Mekong and from the most popular Wat. Just a couple of minutes walk West and you're at coffee shops, then at the food market. Room dark - almost no daylight in room 6 where I stayed. Smelled slightly of damp but not overwhelmingly. Spacious bathroom with a divider separating shower from the rest and always hot water available! Free tea and coffee to enjoy on a little porch where wifi worked best for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Lovely guesthouse situated just by the river in the quieter part of town but only a 2 minute walk to the Main Street. Very clean and secure and the owner was so friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • AMRMARSH
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.4

Nice quiet location, close to the river and a short walk from other main attractions. There was a slight mix up about the booking (make sure you keep your confirmation email!) but otherwise very good service. The receptionist was very helpful and constantly cheery.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Feb 2017
9.7

Best hostel ever if you don't mind about a lack of atmosphere. The owner is so nice, the rooms are a treat, the wifi is speedy, there's free water and tea/ coffee, great location, AC and a fridge. Couldn't say anything bad about this hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

Our room was beautiful and spacious with a very good hot shower! This guesthouse is a peaceful retreat and most importantly the manager is so friendly and helpful! Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
9.4

Souk Lan Xang was a perfect stay for my needs. Located on a quiet alley only 20-30 meters from the Mekong, its location is central yet peacefully quiet. The English-speaking manager/owner is a gem: always helpful, never imposing. Rooms are basic with comfortable beds, TV, cupboard, small table. Always hot water. Reasonably quiet except for customary morning noise as neighboring families begin their day, a reminder to travelers of life in this part of the world. I'll stay again. Value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jan 2017
8.6

Booked a Double Bed Private Ensuite and was lucky enough to get the first room in the second floor. Room was big and clean. Location is great as it is a few minutes away from the centre of the town/night market. The staff (his name is Ah, I think) is very friendly, helpful and is always smiling. The structure is made of wood so do expect to hear noises when people are walking around. Would definitely come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
17th Jan 2017
8.6

I think it's a very good stay if you want privacy. It's a guesthouse so there is not much atmosphere and chance to meet people as in a hostel. The room was very clean, beds comfortable, good bathroom. The location is pretty good, next to the river and close to a great Saffron cafe. However, I'd prefer the location a little closer to the night/day market where you'd get amazing food for a cheap price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.