Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Souk Lan Xang Guest House

  • NO: 2, Unite: 20, Groups:Xeingthong,, Ban: WAT NONG, Luang prabang District, Luang Prabang, Laos

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
Souk Lan Xang Guest House Located at NO: 2, Unite: 20, Groups:Xeingthong, Ban: WAT NONG, Luang prabang District, Luang Prabang.
Souk Lan Xang Guest House
Laos
Luang Prabang Luangprabang Province NO: 2, Unite: 20, Groups:Xeingthong,, Ban: WAT NONG, Luang prabang District
86% 276
19.8955857 102.1398389
Souk Lan Xang Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.6

We really enjoyed our stay here! The bed was wonderful and the owner is really nice and helpful. The room smelled a bit and the prices are higher than we're used to (coming from Thailand), but we still really enjoyed our stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Dec 2016
6.9

Room was clean but smelt of damp and was very dark. When I arrived, I waited for 30 minutes before anyone appeared and then they seemed to have lost/never received my booking. Staff were pleasant but fairly useless, I'm glad I didn't have any problems I needed help with. The main guy spoke absolutely no English and didn't seem to have anyone who could come to help him translate. Overall, it was fine. Location is great. But pretty overpriced.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Dec 2016
6.0

Centrally located, about a 10 minute walk from the night market and located near loads of restaurants. Significantly overpriced for what it is, met many other travellers who booked close by double rooms for half the price. Room was clean, but very dark with no natural light due to the window being in an alleyway. Staff couldn't really communicate in English even for things to do with the guesthouse itself, e.g. laundry, room keys etc.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
8.9

Stayed in the standard private double. The deluxe doubles come with a bar fridge. Staff extremely friendly (lent me his personal computer when my camera memory card became full). Only put staff = 4 for the english barrier. Servicewise were great!! About a 5 minute walk into the most central area. Very clean. Very quiet for those looking to rest up. Not for those looking to party (no bar/communal) Would recommmend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Nov 2016
10.0

The room was spacious and clean. The location was great. A few steps from the river, a little walk to the tourist spots but you still get to stay in a quiet neighborhood. Language is a bit of a problem but when you meet the very sweet and accommodating Lao boys in the guesthouse you can forget about that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
7.7

The beds were comfortable, the shower was hot and had great water pressure, and the hostel was quiet. The only problem was with the organization of the staff: they lost our online booking, which led to a lot of confusion at check in, and we later found out they lost our friends' reservation as well (they had to spend the night in the guesthouse next door). The staff was rarely present in the reception area. Many times we went hours without seeing an employee, including when trying to check out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
8.0

Very dark cave like but clean quiet rooms good beds hot showers not all staff speaks English well but can always find someone fast who does

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Nov 2016
7.4

The staff and location were excellent t but room had damp and mound and the noise from 4am onwards was unbearable at times (but that's Luang Prabang in general), we bearly slept but was still comfortable and an absolute blinding location if you like the river

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
6.3

So many better and cleaner options at this price

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
9.7

Great guest house.. rooms are quite big with a huge shower. Aircon to also excellent. The sweet man that owns its is so so lovely with good English and unders you clearly. We orginally booked for 1 night and ended up staying for 3 nights. . Location is perfect and it was very easy to find even though we walked from the airport to here which took around 1 hour and 15 minutes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.