Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Souk Lan Xang Guest House

  • NO: 2, Unite: 20, Groups:Xeingthong,, Ban: WAT NONG, Luang prabang District, Luang Prabang, Laos

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 232 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 232 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.7
Souk Lan Xang Guest House Located at NO: 2, Unite: 20, Groups:Xeingthong, Ban: WAT NONG, Luang prabang District, Luang Prabang.
Souk Lan Xang Guest House
Laos
Luang Prabang Luangprabang Province NO: 2, Unite: 20, Groups:Xeingthong,, Ban: WAT NONG, Luang prabang District
85% 232
19.8955857 102.1398389
Souk Lan Xang Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.4

The room was really nice. It was spacious and well-furnished. The bathroom was also a decent size with a huge shower! Soap and towels were provided. Location is brilliant, you're pretty much central. The atmosphere was nice in that the guy was lovely and the place was chilled, but don't expect a buzzing social environment. The man was so friendly. Also gave free drinking water and biscuits :) Only criticism - noisy chickens nearby! So annoying! Aircon also gave us a bit of trouble at po

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

Very nice stay. Clean double bed room. We were pleasantly surprised to have a mini fridge in our room. The AC worked really well and so did the hot water. Owner is very friendly and provides umbrellas for the rainy days! 5min walk from Main Street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
6.9

Barely passable hotel. The room was decently clean, but with no option to open the windows. I think I was the only guest, so there was no atmosphere. The only person I met was an old guy who spoke decent English. For the same price you can get something better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jun 2016
9.4

Awesome place. Staff helpful and useful. Location brilliant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.1

Great stay here. The owner is really helpful even though his English is limited, booked a taxi for us to the airport and we had our laundry done - it was very cheap and quick. The location is ideal, the guesthouse in a little alley off the road which follows the Mekong. So loads of restaurants nearby. Also very close to night market, which was lovely. The free water throughout was a great touch, wifi very slow though. Would recommend this guesthouse.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th Jun 2016
6.6

The man who runs the hostel is lovely, very friendly and happy to help. The rooms are clean, but the fixtures are a bit bodged together e.g. towel rail cello-taped to the wall, which makes it feel less inviting. Approximately, 10mins walk from the main street and night market so convenient, and the monks walk past the street in the morning to collect their alms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
8.0

Owner was amazing and very helpful. We booked tours before we arrived in Laos. The room we had was amazingly air conditioned and the shower was warm. The beds were also comfy. Had to sort out our own breakfast but biscuits and cookies, and water were provided free of charge. Also free wifi that worked in our room. Owner organised us a taxi to the airport also. Worth the money and a great chilled out stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
8.3

We had a fantastic time at Souk Lan Xang. The manager, Ah, is the most wonderful man you will meet in Laos. He is welcoming, gracious, and helpful. We had two rooms and one room had a very comfortable bed, great A/C, etc. The other had some difficulty with A/C and a less comfortable bed. However, the location could not be better. Walking distance from everything. We are young travelers and used to less fantastic housing but overall, great for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
25th May 2016
8.9

The owner is so lovely and helpful. The rooms are huge, clean and safe. Short walk into town. Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
15th May 2016
8.3

Guy who ran the hostel was so lovely and welcoming. Only stayed a couple nights but was a really nice place to stay. Clean and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.