X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

South Beach Hostel Reviews

235 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, Miami, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2934 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

I only recommend this hostel to people who want to have fun and party the whole day. If you don't expect to be drunk your whole vacations don't go to SoBe hostel. There's no place for people who want to enjoy a relaxed vacations!

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We value your opinion. March is our busiest month because of spring break and the music festival. A lot of our guests this time of year are visiting Miami to enjoy the party life while they are on break from college. We try our best to keep the guest area quiet for those that choose to stay in. Our front desk staff monitors the noise levels in the guest area by doing walk through's and watching the security cameras to ensure the sleeping area is quiet. We hope you give us a try another time!

80%

The bar tending staff were really friendly and helpful with recommendations. We met a lot of nice interesting people from around the world- def a good place to go if you're traveling and looking to meet people to hang out with- stay in the dorms! They just give you a pile of sheets instead of making your bed tho (c'mon).

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are proud of our bar and our friendly bar staff. We see a lot of lifelong friendships formed at our Hangout Bar with a few good drinks and some fun music! As far as the self service sheets go that is how we keep the cost low for you and to ensure that you have fresh sheets that no one has slept on before you. We hope to see you again at our hostel!

63%

Quite disappointed especially about the price because a fee was added while in the original bill it was already there.

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. The fee in which you are referring to is state and local tax in which we are required by law to add to the cost. It is noted on the Hostelworld reservation confirmation that 13% tax is excluded and we send you an email from the hostel with the full amount including the tax as soon as we input your reservation. We really hope you enjoyed your stay with us despite the price confusion.

100%

ive stayed here before. good place. great location. i like how they've upgraded from what it use to be.


74%

4 bed mixed room was fine for the price - but pillows need to be replaced. Washrooms were gross. Solid place for a short 1-2 night stay. Well-located and decent bar to hang out and get to know other travellers.


66%

Dirty and moldy showers; no hot water; very noisy at night

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Friendly staff. Good location (6-10 blocks north and it would have been perfect). The lobby and ground floor look good. The second floor is looking a little tired. Especially the bathroom. My room was sparse - two bunk beds a trash bin. A chair would have been good but anything more and it would have started to get cramped. There were good sized lockers under the bed. Bar OK for few drinks during happy hour but wouldn't pay full price for drinks here. The weekday price is fair value.


74%

This hostel was good! The lobby/bar area is really fun, and happy hour offers extremely good deals on drinks! It's really close to the beach and right around the corner from the awesome pinks diner and Nikki beach. We stayed in a dorm of 6 beds which was never completely full. Compared to other hostels I've stayed at the room was extremely small, not much moving space. The beds aren't the comfiest but it's Miami, you should be up all night anyways! :) All in all, had a fun stay, love that city!


80%

Good staff. A bit less toilets for to many people (at the guys restroom anyways). Good atmosphere, the bar is nice to meet others

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This was a great hostel, very clean and good facitilities.there was a great a good atmosphere and they organised a night out every night. The bar in the hostel was very cheap! The only downer would be that there was no oven or stove in the kitchen and the rooms were quite small.


83%

This place was okay...it did the trick. It didn't excite me, but it was what it needed to be.


74%

Regular padlock does not fit lockers which is really stupid. It would be nice to have 1 chair to sit on in the rooms.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The best is the bar!

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Hostel is well located, close to the beach and nightlife bars and restaurants. Hostel is suitable for young people... who want to have fun. Staff at reception were always helpful and nice. Cleanliness in the showers and the toilets could be better. Beds are probably older, and mattresses are not comfortable to sleep. Breakfast was okay.


86%

I enjoyed my brief stay. Great location, helpful staff. A set of earplugs might be useful in the bar area. The music is very loud and aimed at the 20 year old crowd, not unsuprisingly since the average age of the hostelers looked to be in the lower 20's. Although I'm in my mid 60's everyone was friendly and there was an interesting mix of nationalities. I highly recommend the this hostel, it is a bargain. Be sure to check out the cheap public bus from the airport to this area.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a great time at the hostel. The staff were very helpful and friendly at all times. The bar was a lot of fun and had a good happy hour! The bathroom upstairs had plenty of showers so that I never had to wait. Only things I would change would be to add more activities other than just big clubs every night and to add little lights/shelves near the beds, especially the top bunk where it is very easy to have things like your phone or water fall off in the night.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

rental service for beach is good, breakfast is simple but okay, 3 block from beach and close to park


54%

My room was extremely small and it had a very small window. I slept in the upper bed and I hit my head with the roof all the time. The showers had hairs on the wall. In the lobby there was an ugly smell.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The kitchen has no stove to cook on and with the high prices of South Beach it would be an asset to be able to cook our own food instead of always spending money in restaurants or eateries that charge an arm and a leg for a salad (almost $ 8.00 for just a small bowl of salad and another $5.00 for a bit of tuna or chicken - really?).


43%

website looks much better than the hostel in reality

  • 2nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(1743 results)


View all Miami Hostels

Please give us your feedback