X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

South Coast Backpackers Reviews

1400 K.F.I. Road, Diani, Kenya

Reviews & Ratings Explained

100%

Rating
24 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 100%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 100%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

A beautiful backpackers place, hidden behind a high fence. Great staff and great atmosphere. The staff tried to include everyone with games, going out and chilling around. They were very helpful and I understood why people book for a few nights and end up staying much longer.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

The best atmospere of any hostel in kenya if you like to party and have a good time. Count on runds of free shots in the bar before an evening of partying until the sun rises. Check out the activities board for lots of fun daytime activities at discounted prices. Planned on staying two nights, ended up staying a week. If you are a real backpacker, this is the place to be. / Joe and Elin


94%

had a great time, nice staff, great surroundings

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I went to Southcoast backpackers for 1 week and stayed 6!! Amazing hostel with a great mix of partying and relaxing. Beautiful comman area with a clean swimming pool, and great places to chill out. The owners make everyone feel welcome, and make sure no one is left out, great for a solo traveller. I absolutely recommend this hostel.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Bar far the best Hostel experience I have been part of..


100%

Franchement très bonne place à recommender absolument.

  • 6th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This is a great place to stay for a beach holiday or to explore the coast. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, there's a lively atmosphere, a nice pool, comfortable beds and furniture, and it's quite cheap. The beach is just a few minutes away and is a spectacular place to spend a few days.

  • 23rd Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It only took a couple of hours - then we extended our stay! This place was like staying at a friends place, I have been living in Kenya for 4 months and this time it felt like home... and safe! I would recommend it to everyone!!!


100%

South Coast Backpackers has set a very high standard for me, no other hostels will ever compare when it comes to value for money, atmosphere, amazing staff and just an all round fantastic stay. I highly recommend all travellers to Diani Beach to stay here, you can't go wrong.

  • 14th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

bloody awesome. best place i ever stayed


100%

fOUR * ACCOMMODATION @ VERY REASONABLE RATE; FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF; BEAUTIFUL LAWNS,, ACCOMMODATION, DECOR; SAFE, SECURE CLEAN & CLOSE TO ONE OF BEST BEACHES ON SOUTH COAST. ONLY DRAWBACK IS MAIN ROAD, ESPECIALLY WHEN IN A TUK TUK....AFRICAN MASSAGE IN THE EXTREME


83%

A former villa converted into a hostel. Very nice garden with pool. Plenty of space. Complete kitchen with chef preparing breakfast and basic snacks. Relaxed owner and motivated staff. Much value for money compared to the usually overpriced Diani beach resorts. The hostel is not at the beachfront. Walking home from the beach after dusk is not really safe. Internet didn't work the five days we spent there. I recommend this place as well as Kenyaways, pricier but at the beach.


80%

Really nice place to stay in! Quite new hostel in a big house with swimming pool attached to it. We stayed in the 16-bed dorm and that was cool. Intended to stay 3 nights and ended up staying 6 nights. Bathrooms are good with even a bubble bad and hot shower! Staff is friendly and you can have a nice party at the bar with the owner and loads of other backpackers. Definitely recommend this place when you're staying in Diani Beach..


94%

This place was one of the best, if not the best place we stayed at on the whole of the East African Coast. The owners are new to the business but act like they've been doing this for years, with fantastic hospitality and atmosphere. Most places do require you to take a taxi to them, but this is hardly an inconvenience. The chef cooks great tasting food whenever you request, and the drop down cinema experience really help to make you feel comfortable. If you like a party, do not miss this place!

  • 27th Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

That place was awesome! The facilities, the people there, the location close to the beach and with amazing tours to check out around.. But mostly the atmosphere, if you are looking for a good laugh and a bunch of sweet to meet and probably party with, just go there! One day we shall return. One day!

  • 23rd Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

South Coast Backpackers was a pretty amazing place. I was going into the place with the expectation of pretty standard facilities and services, but the place is ridiculous. The house is a luxurious mansion that hosts two clean inside dorms and one big outside dorm. There is a sweet pool, a huge green compound with a bunch of tortoises walking around, a projector screen playing movies, and really delicious food that the chefs make. Prices are pretty cheap for all this so I was pretty excited


100%

I was one of the first guests at the hostel and I hope to return soon. Accommodation and location are excellent and staff are very helpful. I had a great experience. Fantastic atmosphere! Bill

  • 5th May 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Diani Hostels

Please give us your feedback