Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Southern Laughter Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
7.7

Lovely place to stay at. Nice facilities and location. However, WiFi was barely working at all. Also, my mates and I got some nasty bites when staying in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th May 2017
10.0

Great place! This hostel is very unique and has a great vibe. Love the organized events and free chilli yummmm! The spa doesn't hurt either after a long day hiking. Definitely worth the price and would strongly recommend it to any traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd May 2017
9.1

Great hostel overall. Far enough from the main street to be quiter at night but close enough to get there quickly. Good showers and toilets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
1st May 2017
6.9

Wifi was terrible and rooms are run down. Otherwise it was okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
7.1

Very friendly staff, and basic-but-functional facilities. If you're looking for a crash space for the night, close to the town centre where it's not too noisy, this is good enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2017
8.6

Charming older hostel, really liked the location, staff and vibe. Facilities are not the newest but it was always clean so I didn't mind. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
7.4

A nice hostel the free popcorn and soup make up for the slow WiFi! Also it has a really good atmosphere, there were quite a few long termers there when we came and they were really friendly and chatty with everybody. Heaters in the room were really good as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Apr 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed my stay at southern backpackers. Location was great. The only thing that let the place down was the staff. Little bit rude and unorganised.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
9.1

I spent two nights here and I had a great time. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful, there are silly decorations all over the place, it's very charming. The location is a block north of downtown, you can walk down to the marina in five minutes. Not a "party" hostel but the party isn't far if you're like me and you enjoy both a party and a good night's sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
8.9

Great place if you don't mind a bit of grunge. Staff were excellent and really helpful - I was staying there to walk the Routeburn and wasn't that interested in spending a huge amount on an hotel room in Queenstown. If I was with my wife I don't think she'd have been too impressed! But will definitely stay there again as awesome value for money and can store equipment not wanting to take on the walks. I left my mountain bike there (I rode a mountain bike race in Hawea the day before).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.