Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Southern Laughter Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Apr 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed my stay at southern backpackers. Location was great. The only thing that let the place down was the staff. Little bit rude and unorganised.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
8.9

Great place if you don't mind a bit of grunge. Staff were excellent and really helpful - I was staying there to walk the Routeburn and wasn't that interested in spending a huge amount on an hotel room in Queenstown. If I was with my wife I don't think she'd have been too impressed! But will definitely stay there again as awesome value for money and can store equipment not wanting to take on the walks. I left my mountain bike there (I rode a mountain bike race in Hawea the day before).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
8.6

Hostel was fine. Very handy was the car park. Free hot pool. Stayed in one of the rooms with a small kitchen which I didnt really enjoy as everything was smelling like food in the room. We were 8 girls in the room and just one bathroom. The guy on the reception was very nice and helpful. Location couldnt have been better. Just 5 minutes walk away from Fergburger/ city center/ gondola. Went for breakfast to bespoke kitchen which is just opposite frthe hostel! Just as a tip it is a lovely cafe!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Macau, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
6.9

Pros: 1. Very close to skyline gondola, about 5 minutes walk 2. Heat in the room 3. Good price 4. A lot of good jokes on the wall Cons: 1. The double room is a little too small, I can barely walk if I have luggage on the ground 2. The lock is very easy to break for your room 3. There supposed to be two shower room, but one shower head is broken, so only one shower room can be use Worst thing - we got a false fire alarm in the middle of the night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
8.6

It is a really nice hostel, we really enjoyed the free soup in the evening. It is located close to the centre and offers parking spots. We would stay there again, but I hope the stuff will be more friendly next time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Apr 2017
10.0

One of our favorites in NZ! Excellent staff, very patient and helpful. When we requested a quiet room, they upgraded us to a private! Comfy beds, cool common areas with great views, plus movies and free popcorn. 2 separate kitchens so it never felt overcrowded. Perfect location, esp for the gondola/Tiki Trail. Awesome hot tub, popcorn, free soup every night, and if you're in the city on a Monday, you HAVE to stay here just for the delicious free chili! Missing it already. Just stay here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.1

Staff was extremely friendly and even let my friend and I store our bags while we did the Routeburn track. Location is not right smack in the middle of town but only a few blocks from the center and is much quieter. It's very close to the gondola. Rooms were clean. We stayed at another hostel in the center of town and it was awful. I would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Apr 2017
9.7

The private room was kind of small and lack of hangers. The bathrooms and showers were good. Spacious kitchen. Free and unlimited wifi which is a plus but it disconnected the second you stop looking for something in the web. Good amount of parking spaces. Excellent location, walking distance to the centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
2.0

BEWARE – Southern Laughter will CANCEL your booking without warning! We had booked 3 nights but unfortunately weren’t able to make the first night. When we called the next morning, halfway to Queenstown, they told us they had: cancelled our booking, were ‘fully booked’, & ‘would need to find somewhere else’. There was no call/email before they cancelled the booking. While we were happy paying for the first night, Southern Laughter weren’t interested in helping & did not refund us. Disappointing

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
9.7

Awesome place! One of my favorite hostels that I've ever been too. Would definitely stay here again. Awesome location and such a cute place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.