Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Southern Laughter Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2017
8.9

Lovely place to stay, very central to Queenstown!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2017
8.0

Southern Laughter is a collection of old houses converted into a hostel. Nothing fancy at all but it is a hostel after all, staff are friendly and the free soup is pretty OK. Other guests were pretty cool and you could have a chat with no worries.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2017
8.3

Good location right in town. It was reasonably clean, though a bit cramped. Kitchen was pretty decent. The free veg soup was good, and the free chilli on Monday nights was awesome. Pretty chill, social, and cosy atmosphere in the common areas. One weird thing was that the front door didn't actually lock after hours, even though we were told it would. The rooms did lock though so security wasn't a huge problem. Overall it was a good experience staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2017
6.0

This is located in a great area, very close to town centre. I have stayed in many hostels but this is not one I will remember that fondly. The room stank badly, like rotten sweat. They need to clean the carpets in the double rooms. Our room actually suffered a leak. We returned to find a member of staff moving our stuff to another room as there was a burst pipe causing leaking from the ceiling above. They did offer us another double but no refund which I thought it was the least they could do.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2017
10.0

The nicest hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff are lovely, the location is perfect and the buildings are clean and well run. The two common rooms are very homely and sociable and it is very easy to get to know people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Aug 2017
9.4

Really enjoyed our time here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Aug 2017
10.0

Great hostel in a great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
21st Aug 2017
9.4

+ 2 kitchen. + free vege soup after 6pm. + very near to gondola and city main streets - kitchen could be bigger.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
10.0

Awesome place to stay! So close to everything in town, friendly staff, super cheap and clean. Loved it and will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2017
6.3

Staffs were nicest and warmest one can hope for. However, the rooms are small and cold. I was in a room with five other people. Small room. Cramped in six folks. The restrooms were small as well. Smallest faucets I have ever seen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×