Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Southern Laughter Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 521 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 521 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 8.0
Southern Laughter Backpackers Located at 4 Isle St, Queenstown, Queenstown.
Southern Laughter Backpackers
New Zealand
Queenstown South Island 9300 4 Isle St, Queenstown
81% 521
-45.0301560 168.6584910
Southern Laughter Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Nov 2016
8.6

Good choice of hostel in busy Queenstown. Good accommodation. The four-bed dorms mostly (all?) have little kitchen areas which is very convenient. Nice outdoor areas too. Spa pool! Everything you need really and a nice garden.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Nov 2016
8.9

Decent hostel. Comfy beds and pretty spacious rooms. Good kitchen and chill areas. The building is a bit shabby and could do with some touch ups but I would happily stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Nov 2016
9.7

Awesome place to stay. We booked a dorm room and ended up getting our own room for the same price. It was clean with a great kitchen and living room!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
8.0

Room was very spacious with couch and own kitchen, despite not having a stove/oven, A bit hilly to go to the hostel but manageable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
7.7

Average hostel really. I do like their multiple kitchens though they could use some reorganization because their is NO counter space. Beds in dorm are very nice and comfy. The really gross thing is the showers and bathrooms need a deep clean once in a while, moldy. In general it could use a update, curtains are falling apart paint peeling.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.4

Staff were amazing!! So friendly. Location was perfect for going into town and also for hiking. Wifi was touch and go but occasionally was really good. Free soup was a nice perk and laundry was pretty reasonable ($4 wash and $4 dry)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Nov 2016
9.1

It had everything we needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
6.6

It massively depends who's in your dorm (as we were sharing a kitchen and bathroom with 6 others almost like a little house) but we were with some long termers who were working locally and seemed to use the communal area for all their pals to hang out with in the evenings, whether they were staying at the hostel or not. Kitchen and bathroom got messy and dirty very quickly, not great value for money. Kayleigh on the front desk was super helpful and friendly though and helped with booking trips.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
5.7

Not impressed by the cleanliness of the bathrooms, kitchens, common areas... our room was tiny but OK (trash underneath the bed from the previous guests). Walls very thin, we could follow conversations from the neighboring rooms and of course the parties every night upstairs. Staff was very nice and helpful though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Oct 2016
10.0

Brilliant location super close to the main city and a lovely view of the mountains. Nice staff, beds are comfy. LOVED the tiny kitchen in the room as well :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.