Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Southside Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.5
Southside Lodge Located at 2102 Lake Placid Rd, BC, Whistler.
Southside Lodge
Canada
Whistler BC V0N1B2 2102 Lake Placid Rd, BC
66% 196
50.0946610 -122.9932514
Southside Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • adambuxton
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Sep 2016
5.7

Further from the village than expected, the one staff member we met didnt spend any time at the hostel and you had to call him to come and let you in. The diner isnt necessarily attached or part of the 'hostel', it just sits below and offers a discount on breakfast on weekdays, one of the only good things about it. There is however a grocery store across the highway which is useful, and we would only reccommend anyone looking for budget accommodation who doesnt mind walking or taking the bus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
5.7

The place was dirty, the carpets had years of filth ground into them. The shower was leaking, and the toilet was leaking all over the floor every time you flushed it. Very unsanitary. On the other hand, the location was great and the women that owns the diner on the main floor was very inviting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Aug 2016
5.7

When i arrived the dude was nice . I was handed a towel that had stains on it from previous use. The whole building felt like it was falling apart. There was no common room . Just a kitchen on the top floor. My roommates were super nice but the rest of the place no atmosphere. Not a great hostel if you're traveling solo. The bathroom was not good. The shower was a tight squeeze and only hot water worked. It was like camping. I would not stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • gregm7487
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
8.0

Basic mountain bike accommodation. somewhere to sleep and store your bike with a dinner down stairs that keeps good hours so that you can have a quick breakfast before heading up the hill :-) great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
4.0

Not a good place to stay. Zero atmosphere, at least 5km from the village and the bathroom and dorm were never cleaned. My room was extremely nosing with the outside traffic. Staff were nice

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
4.6

In theory, for $30 you shouldn't expect all that much. However, with 5 beds crammed into one room, the quality should be immensely better considering they get $150 per room per night. When we arrived there were trash bags in the hallways and we were asked to just "bare with them" while they tidied up. The communal and private facilities, such as washroom and kitchen, were in disrepair. The bed was relatively clean. Overall, there are much nicer and cleaner hostels available for the same price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
7.4

Great place, but it's not really in Whistler. It's like 40min walk or bus ride

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
8.3

Would recommend, hit this place us

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
4.6

turn up, wonder round there smelly rubbish skips next to the hostel door. There number to call to get your key, staff take about 10min to come and let you in. You drag ya luggage up 3 floors or stairs, big bag + bike bag. No reception area with staff to welcome you. Tiny kitchen the only social area, the same hand towel for 12 days, no tea towels to dry dishes. Tiny rooms no where to store bikes. Alot of drug use weed & concaine. Just filth, no staff on site. Would write more but out of room!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
13th May 2016
7.1

Hostel is more like shared room hotel. Building is a little run down. Though for its price (especially in the overpriced Whistler), its location, and comfy bed, it definitely makes it worth it, theres no full time reception, but is easy to get hold of through a phone call. Wi-fi is reliable. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.