Hostelworld.com

Space Hotel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.2
Space Hotel Located at 380 Russell Street, , Melbourne.
Space Hotel
Australia
Melbourne Victoria Victoria 380 Russell Street
86% 1279
-37.8077496 144.9659085
Space Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
18th May 2016
7.7

Quite a good place to stay, with lots of facilities on offer. Showers were rather scarce though, but generally bathrooms were kept quite clean. Rooftop area was a nice surprise - cool place to hang out at night. Staff weren't very informative at checkin and it took me a while to realise bedding etc is stored in the locker adjacent to each bed. Overall pretty good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
8.3

Hard to meet people if you're traveling solo. People in my room were nice. Locker set up is designed terribly; I woke up early to do a lot of activities and was always waking people up around me. The little place to put your electronics next to the bed was convenient. Restaurant/bar was always kinda empty, maybe because of low season. Had a gym, movie space, amazing kitchen and really underutilized rooftop deck. Very close to Melbourne central. Would only stay if I needed a bed for a night or 2.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
9.1

Awesome hostel, do pay a bit more but is worth it. Lots of personal storage space in each rooms, which are also a good size. Not lots of showers/toilets but then never had to wait to use one. Wifi is free downstairs but pay if you want it in rooms but does work well. Bar is good but beers are expensive. Location is good for queen vic markets but a bit away from sites such as federation square. One of he best hostels I have had in Oz

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
7.1

Infrastructures great,free WiFi really slow. Personal was most of the time ok,but there is zero transparency with prices. I had to change from 8bed to 6bed room once-then saw online 8bed was still available! Was told it's too late to change (advertising in the hotel says, if you find cheaper, they'll pay back - it's not true... )

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2016
8.6

I stayed in this place for 3 days. 8 people mix dorm. Hostel itself is in very good location but the toilet and showers can be more cleaner. Don't know why I couldn't access to the free wifi from second day of my stay..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2016
10.0

This is a great place to stay, i stayed in the 6 bed female dorm which was a bit crowded and there wasnt much space to walk around. But overall it didnt taint my experience. The facilities are great, big kitchen with everything you need. Bathrooms are quite clean throughout the day. Very happy and will definitely stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2016
7.1

We felt the atmosphere could have been really good but there seemed to be a lot of groups of workers who were very together. Also couldn't work out how it was a youth hostel as there were a lot of older people. The facilities are really good and the location was fantastic for getting around Melbourne.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
8.3

Hostel location is pretty much 5mins away from the Tram so still pretty handy to get around the city. Great having a Bar downstairs but NOT the cheapest drinks that's for sure. I've met a couple of good people from the room I stayed in but the only other thing i gotta say is atmosphere-wise, you gonna have to work hard for it compared to other hostels!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
7.7

The hostel was nice, although the dorm room I stayed in was really small quite ironic as its called space. Anyway. The kitchen was sometimes quite messy and you have to put a deposit on your own cutlery set which seems stupid. There are a lot of long stayers so the atmosphere is quite flat but I managed to meet nice people in my dorm. The biggest let down here i felt were the staff. They were really unfriendly and unapproachable on reception which was a shame and the wifi expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
8.0

One of the nicest hostels I have stayed in and I've stayed in quite a few! It was very clean, the room was incredibly spacious, doing its name justice (an extra bonus is they provide free towels, HANGERS, and every bed has its own shelf, light and plugs) and the facilities were great! However the only thing that let it down is that there was absolutely no atmosphere. The first 2 night in the hostel I was completely on my own in my room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.