X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Space Hotel Reviews

380 Russell Street, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
953 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

One of the best hostel I've been to. Fully renovated, very well thought, comfy, very clean and the location is awesome. The staff was also very helpful. I'd definitely go back there on my next trip to Melbourne


83%

Rooms very clean and spacious. NO free wifi. Kitchen big and clean (cutlery can be borrowed for 20$ deposit). Rooftop and lounge area closes at 9pm - this doesn't help the atmosphere... (I am happy about the no noise rule, but 9pm is really early). Very calm, no noise, bathrooms get cleaned multiple times a day. A fresh towel is included!


74%

Nice hostel in good location close to the city centre. I booked a four bed mixed dorm but was put in s 3 bed mixed dorm. I didn't mind this but the room was extremely cramped for 3 people and their bags.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate all feedback. We are pleased to see you were happy with our central location, we have a great view of the city skyline! Some of the dorm rooms can get crowded when guests have quiet a few bags, we do off semi private dorm rooms that give guest a bit more privacy and space which may be a good choice for you during future stays with us. Happy travels and we hope to see you at Space Hotel again. The Space Hotel Crew

74%

They don't wash the bed blankets between people. They dry clean them every 2 weeks! That could be 14 people's bodily fluids on the blanket next to your face. Highly unhygienic and unsanitary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Amy, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Space Hotel adheres to industry standards in regards to our linen processes and of course, extra cleaning when required. All guests are provided with freshly cleaned sheets and towels with blankets dry cleaned on a regular basis. We are pleased to see you rated our staff, location and facilities highly and that you have chosen to continue your stay with us. Regards The Space Hotel Crew

100%

clean with great facilities. highly recommended. Will stay again.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks for your great review! We hope to see you at Space Hotel again, happy travels. The Space Hotel Crew

91%

the joint is oh so nice dudes

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi John! Thanks for review, we are happy to see you enjoyed so much about Space Hotel. Happy Travels. The Space Hotel Crew.

74%

Customers should be allowed to choose preference of lower or upper berth bed. Or at least the staff working there should try and understand that some people have problem climbing up the upper berth bed.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Amy, Thank you for taking time to review your stay at our property. We do our best to accommodate our guests requests and yes the bottom bunks are very popular! Our staff inspected a number of rooms for you to locate an available lower bunk, unfortunately they were all occupied in female dorms during your stay as we were fully booked. We hope you enjoy your future travels. The Space Hotel Team

97%

Good clean hostel with excellent staff and facility's. Only thing that could use improving is there should be some kind of barrier on the ground in the shower room to stop water going everywhere

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ryan, Thanks for your kind words! Our staff are pretty great aren't they! We hope you come to stay with us again. Happy Travels. The Space Hotel Crew

94%

Very modern hostel with plenty of locker space and power points, clean bathrooms, great location and friendly staff. On the more expensive side, but worth the money in my opinion, I'll stay here again next time I'm in Melbourne

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Gavin, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We do have a great team here! We look forward to having you stay with us again! Happy Travels. The Space Hotel Crew

91%

Super handy location, awesome showers, clean, definety my place to stay in melbs.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Maycon. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you on your next visit! The Space Hotel Crew

100%

Best hostel ive ever stayed at!! Honestly not to be missed!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thank you very much Kenneth. We hope you continue to stay with us in the future. The Space Hotel Crew

77%

Due to a convention in Melbourne that weekend Space (along with every other accommodation place in town) massively increased their room rates to profiteer the extra demand. $150 for a bunk bed in a 6 bed dorm is not good value. Their normal rates provide a cost-effective option with modern and clean facilties.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Peter, Thank you taking the time to review our property, we appreciate all feedback. Yes the prices were higher during your stay with us as it was the busiest week of the year in Melbourne with 70,000 Jehovah's Witnesses coming for the week long convention. We hope you will stay with us again in the future to see the value we have offer our guests. The Space Hotel Crew

80%

Modern hostel in a great location with superb dorms (huge lockers),kitchens,bathroom facilities. It's basically a hotel with hostel amenities. Because of this unfortunately, there's a very mixed crowd (from long stayers who weren't interested in chatting in the dorms, to elderly couples or entire families looking for a cheap hotel), which really let this place down. So if you're looking to meet backpackers I would avoid! If you're after a bit of a refresh or nice place to stay then go for it!


97%

Hotel quality stay at a hostel price. Fantastic facilities including gym and large movie room. Great deck on the roof with lounge chairs and a whirlpool. Excellent front desk staff. Great location near the main sights and the Victoria market. Would recommend to any traveler looking for a full service hostel that's spotlessly clean. Only complaint was the poor soundproofing so bring earplugs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jason, Thank you for taking time to leave us feedback.We have got a great team here at Space and the housekeeping team work around the clock to keep the place clean. It's great to see you made use of all the great facilities we have on offer to our guests. We hope to see you again. Happy Travels. The Space Hotel Crew

89%

The space was great- very clean and you could tell the hotel tried to create lots of spaces for hanging out. The front desk staff were very helpful and nice!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Emily, Thanks for your feedback. We do have a great team here at Space! Its great to hear you enjoyed the rooftop with spa, movie space, lounge and huge communal kitchen! We hope to see you again. The Space Hotel Crew

100%

Met some nice backpackers. Friendly staff. Been here 3 times already, will come back again


94%

Best hostel in Melbourne!! Super clean and location is brilliant!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kristy. Thank you so much! Our housekeeping team are amazing and work around the clock to keep the building clean for our guests. We hope to have you stay with us again, happy travels. The Space Hotel Crew.

77%

Location was amazing, room was great but was greeted by a rude girl on the front desk who barely looked up during my check in.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kate, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback from your stay with us. We endeavor to provide our guests with great customer service, it seems in this instance we have failed you.I will pass your feedback onto the reception staff. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed the location and facilities Space has to offer and hope to see you again in the future. The Space Hotel Crew.

100%

Absolutely unbelievable! Best hostel I've ever stayed in! We booked for 3 days and ended up staying 10. The bar, Cinema room, Gym, and kitchen were all excellent, but the piece de resistance was most definitely the roof top! We spent a lot of time in the hot tub or sunbathing on the loungers with an amazing view of the city! All the staff are so helpful and really go out of their way to make your day! We will most certainly be back! Thank you for an amazing stay SPACE! Katie

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was the best! It had been recommended to me by a friend; I was not disappointed. Exceptionally clean, big kitchen with lots of fridges and cooking space, several individual washrooms per floor, and the location is very central to attractions or trams. I hope to visit Melbourne again one day and when I do Space is where I will stay for sure.


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback