Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Space Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1520 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1520 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th May 2017
7.7

DO NOT book this hostel if you need ANY internet. The free wifi in the Lobby is barely working at all and only in a very small part of the lobby. Internet in your room costs like 20$ for 4 GB. It's like being back in 2005 here... Apart from that, it's a nice hotel and they try their best to keep the bathrooms clean all the time. That being said, the kitchen was pretty dirty all of the time. I'd rather have working wifi and a clean kitchen over a jacuzzi on the rooftop & a home cinema.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
9.1

One of the best hostels I've been to honestly. Rooms and bathrooms are wow clean. The facilities [fitness centre, movie room, roof jacuzzi] were fantastic. You're provided with towel service, a large locker, your own electricity sockets and a reading light. Very central location, 1 min walk from the State Library. It's not the most social of hostels in Melbourne but the cleanliness, facilities and value for money easily make up for that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
9.1

Amazing hostel and great location! We were able to walk to pretty much everything we wanted to see in Melbourne! And if we couldn't walk the hostel was located right beside the free tram stop. It's felt very secure and the amenities did not disappoint!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
6.9

I arrived really late and was really tired from my 24hours journey to get to Australia. I was very disappointed about the staff when I checked in. The guy was not very helpful, i would've liked if he informed me about the most important things and where to find them. Also for the price I think there should be at least a free Wifi in the room or free breakfast available.. The rest of the staff were very helpful though with directions and other questions. Unfortunately. no safe in room :((

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
9.7

only complaint is that the wifi is only free in the lobby and SO slow. You can buy wifi but it is super expensive. The rooftop deck is worth staying at Space Hotel because it is awesome. Also, 2 outlets and private light next to each bed, so charging is really nice. Each person is provided a huge locker too, you just need your own lock. Would recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • viceversa8942
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
6.3

Noisy doors and one couldn't open the windows! Elevators were very slow! Terrace was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Apr 2017
6.0

Good location, the hostel itself is pretty decent. But the staff let it down a bit. It advertised that it offers wi-fi but while I was staying there the staff kept on saying it was down and didn't wanna get it fixed. The bar next to the hostel is great value with the $8 jugs! And free pool table! Not forgetting the free BBQ 👌

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.6

Good - Location is brilliant. Staff are very friendly. Bathrooms always clean. Bad - having to tote your bucket of dishes/cutlery to and fro dorm room each meal. Unable to get a bottom bunk, despite website saying to request at check in... continually afraid of slipping down ladder and could only climb up/down using a chair. Room temp. control led to arguments; some wanted heat, some wanted cold. Kitchen constantly filthy. Height of hangers for top bunk only accessible if over 6 foot tall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
6.0

Comfy bed. Big kitchen. Dirty bathrooms even if they are often cleaned. Maybe separate men and women toilets...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.4

Space was absolutely amazing! Great location, helpful staff, super clean and tidy, the place felt more like a hotel than a hostel to be honest. I loved the breakout spaces on each floor which felt really welcoming rather than if they'd been hidden away on just one of the floors. I even got a free upgrade which was a lovely surprise and the view from my room was great. Would 100% recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.