X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Space Hotel Reviews

380 Russell Street, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
967 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

One toilet was working for the whole floor and it was dirty. Rooms tiny, not enough room for everyone.


71%

Good location and clean. Staff was rude and not helpful. Dorm rooms are too small for so many people. The ceilings are very low for the top bunks.


66%

Wifi and laundry is expensive! Bathrooms have train station character. Dorm was messed up that staff haven't cleaned for days.


91%

Fab hostel in the CBD. Friendly and helpful staff, great facilities with a gym, kitchen and movie room. Each bed has a private lockable cupboard, shelf with power socket and lamp - fab! My only fault would be that it's not an overly sociable hostel. If you're looking to meet other people and solo travellers (as I was) then maybe consider staying elsewhere. Having said that I would consider staying here in the future.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Everything was just perfect. I strongly recommend to people who want to have good time in Melbourne.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the great review. We love to hear guests have enjoyed staying with us. We hope to see you at Space Hotel again, happy travels. The Space Hotel Team

91%

Love the design and location but the WIFI signal was so bad it was unusable. I even went down to the 1st floor so I could be as close to the router as possible. Not sure if it's because the internet service is poor or just because the place is so huge that they have way too many people logging on at any given time. Again...loved the place but because I need to work when I'm travelling and have to have a solid Wifi signal sadly I wouldn't be able to stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear our WIFI signal was not sufficient for your working requirements. It is unusual to hear the WIFI is unusable from travelers using the internet for future travel arrangements, facebook and general use. We are pleased to see you rated the rest of your stay highly. The Space Hotel Team

86%

Was my second time at a backpacker place and found the facilities really good for a backpacker place. Loved the deck and the theatre room.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the great facilities we have on offer! We hope to see you at Space Hotel again, Happy Travels. The Space Hotel Team

94%

Great place to stay in Melbourne. Perfect location with great facilities in such an affordable price. On top of that we also get special discounts to go to the Aquarium and the Eureka Tower! Sweet! My only complaint is the bathroom that sometimes get wet and slippery, but that's not really a problem. The next time I visit Melbourne, I know exactly where I'll spend the night.


91%

Best hostel I've stayed in along east coast. Fantastic. Really recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review, we love hearing guests have enjoyed their time with us. We hope your future travels are just as good! The Space Hotel Team

100%

Problems (small) were dealt with straight away, and well. A towel rail for damp towels would have been handy in the room.

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We have a fantastic team here that are always happy to assist our guests. We hope to see you at Space Hotel again in the future. The Space Hotel team

100%

By far the newest, cleanest hostel I've ever stayed at. Staff was very professional and the adjoining bar is great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thomas, thanks so much for your great review. We are always happy to hear guests have enjoyed their time with us and hope to see you at Space Hotel in the future. The Space Hotel Crew

80%

Warning: Newer floors have nicer bathrooms (though NOT enough of them), but the rooms are cramped. Liked the personal lighting, shelf, and lots of sockets for each bed and okay storage cupboard. Great kitchen with lots if space-- eat at tables outside for great city views and fantastic sunsets. Appreciated the free hour of WiFi and free drink. Easy walk to most everywhere (get groceries at Victoria Market or cheap Asian stores in Chinatown) or catch the free circle trolley just a block away.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostel I've been to. Fully renovated, very well thought, comfy, very clean and the location is awesome. The staff was also very helpful. I'd definitely go back there on my next trip to Melbourne

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, thanks for your great review! We are always happy to hear when a guest has had such a positive experience with us. We hope to see you at Space Hotel in the future, happy travels. The Space Hotel Crew

83%

Rooms very clean and spacious. NO free wifi. Kitchen big and clean (cutlery can be borrowed for 20$ deposit). Rooftop and lounge area closes at 9pm - this doesn't help the atmosphere... (I am happy about the no noise rule, but 9pm is really early). Very calm, no noise, bathrooms get cleaned multiple times a day. A fresh towel is included!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property, we appreciate all feedback as this helps us improve. We understand guests need their sleep when travelling and doing early morning tours, it is for this reason we close some communal areas to reduce noise levels at night. We have started nightly events in the bar including quiz nights, karaoke and beer pong to offer those who would like to stay up late a fun environment to mingle.Happy Travels, The Space Hotel Crew

74%

Nice hostel in good location close to the city centre. I booked a four bed mixed dorm but was put in s 3 bed mixed dorm. I didn't mind this but the room was extremely cramped for 3 people and their bags.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate all feedback. We are pleased to see you were happy with our central location, we have a great view of the city skyline! Some of the dorm rooms can get crowded when guests have quiet a few bags, we do off semi private dorm rooms that give guest a bit more privacy and space which may be a good choice for you during future stays with us. Happy travels and we hope to see you at Space Hotel again. The Space Hotel Crew

74%

They don't wash the bed blankets between people. They dry clean them every 2 weeks! That could be 14 people's bodily fluids on the blanket next to your face. Highly unhygienic and unsanitary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Amy, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Space Hotel adheres to industry standards in regards to our linen processes and of course, extra cleaning when required. All guests are provided with freshly cleaned sheets and towels with blankets dry cleaned on a regular basis. We are pleased to see you rated our staff, location and facilities highly and that you have chosen to continue your stay with us. Regards The Space Hotel Crew

60%

Staff in reception was incredibly rude, no customer service skills at all. Because of the staff I could never recommend this hostel to anybody. Otherwise it was a new hostel with modern facilities. However, the owner should understand that customer service experience comprises of more than just new facilities. The friendliness of the staff is a key factor to customer satisfaction which was not met.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate all feedback in order for us to grow and improve as a business. It is disappointing to hear you did not find our reception team friendly and helpful as we aim to provide exceptional customer service. It seems we failed you in this instance and for this I apologize. If there were any particular issues you would like to discuss further please contact us directly. The Space Hotel Team

100%

clean with great facilities. highly recommended. Will stay again.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks for your great review! We hope to see you at Space Hotel again, happy travels. The Space Hotel Crew

91%

the joint is oh so nice dudes

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi John! Thanks for review, we are happy to see you enjoyed so much about Space Hotel. Happy Travels. The Space Hotel Crew.

74%

Customers should be allowed to choose preference of lower or upper berth bed. Or at least the staff working there should try and understand that some people have problem climbing up the upper berth bed.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Amy, Thank you for taking time to review your stay at our property. We do our best to accommodate our guests requests and yes the bottom bunks are very popular! Our staff inspected a number of rooms for you to locate an available lower bunk, unfortunately they were all occupied in female dorms during your stay as we were fully booked. We hope you enjoy your future travels. The Space Hotel Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback