X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Spenard Hostel International Reviews

2845 W 42nd, Anchorage, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
39 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Hostels are generally expensive in alaska but spenard is good value for money if you are travelling by public transport or have a private vehicle. Its in a quiet residential area, has large common spades and was quiet both times I stayed there. A great launch pad for an alaskan adventure.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff rude and not very helpful. Value money over hospitality, mean-spirited people. The other backpackers there made the stay enjoyable.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay! The staff and owner live on site, and we do so because we love the hostel, we're dedicated to introducing guests to our amazing Spenard neighborhood and Alaska at large, and building a community of travelers. I'm very sorry that this wasn't your experience, and thank you for your feedback.

86%

stayed on two different occasions...an older place that is truly international. However, great effort if made to keep it very clean. Re-doing the floors. Looks great. About 36 bunks with only 4 bathrooms. has two house cats. Pay in cash to save - $3 credit card charge. Also, recommend you contact them direct.Note their 48 hour not 24 hour cancellation policy. Only a block away from a great bus line, couple of eating places. Just two blocks to Lake Hood w 100 planes coming n going.




View all Anchorage Hostels

Please give us your feedback