Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicypai Backpackers

  • 291 Moo1,T. Mae Hee A. Pai, Mae Hong Son, Pai, Thailand

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 864 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 864 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
Spicypai Backpackers Located at 291 Moo1,T. Mae Hee A. Pai, Mae Hong Son, Pai.
Spicypai Backpackers
Thailand
Pai 58130 291 Moo1,T. Mae Hee A. Pai, Mae Hong Son
81% 864
19.3515581 98.4487009
Spicypai Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Aug 2016
8.0

Spicy thai backpackers was a very unique place to stay! We had mixed feelings about it because it was cool to be basically sleeping outside and the spot was really beautiful. The only downfall is that you can hear everything and quiet hours were not enforced, so people were up being loud until around 4am both nights we stayed there. We hardly got any sleep. It is also a little further from town, but easy to get around when you rent a motorbike or only a 15 minute walk to town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Aug 2016
5.7

It is an expensive hostel for what you get as its far out from town and the rooms are very basic. Not much atmosphere either but the staff are friendly and there is free toast and coffee in the morning. Seems to be more highly rated from its reputation many years ago.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
8.6

It's really back to basics with this one. However, it's set in the most stunning location - it really is breathtaking. Would definitely return. Wouldn't recommend to those who feel they need comfy beds/AC etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
6.0

Come to spicypai only for the location, it is in the middle of a rice field, so that s an experience. Pretty far from the centre of pai. Pretty dirty. Uncomfortable beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
8.0

We enjoyed spicypai a lot, however we both fell ill(not from spicypai) and this did dampen our trip. The hostel itself though was ideal for backpackers looking for other people to hang out and chill with. It is all outside so I can understand why this may not be everyone's cup of tea , on that note DO NOT forget bug spray!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.0

A really cool place to stay in Pai. This hostel is all about the location and atmosphere, and they are great for relaxing. The dorms and facilities are basic but functional. It is a short walk out of town, about 10min but it's not an issue. Would 100% stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.3

Spicy pai is a bit different from any other hostel we have stayed in - it's in the middle of a rice field and made out of bamboo and leaves - great if you love getting close to nature! Location is great IF and only if you have a scooter, but that goes for all of Pai as its main attractions require a scooter for transport. Good atmosphere, friendly helpful staff, generally clean and has lockers but the rooms are completely open so anyone could walk in. But you're out in the sticks so they don't!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Aug 2016
10.0

Had a wonderful stay at SpicyPai! Super relaxed atmosphere in the most beautiful setting just outside of town, they have rice growing between the different buildings of the hostel. Short walk or even shorter bike from the village, with a super relaxed and chill vibe that makes it really easy to make friends. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Aug 2016
5.4

I really wanted to love this place, I like the vibe they're going for! But, it's so out of town it's inconvenient (and also a danger walking back after a night out!) It wasn't too social, everyone was away or on their way out, using the hostel just as a quick pit stop - The common area was always empty! No one chilled there. However, the bed was fine, the shower was hot, simple breakfast was included. So it worked as a quick stop for me! Shame, it's got so much potential to be awesome!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2016
6.3

The design of the hostel's special and authentic, it's close to nature especially in the shower you might see big bugs around watching you out, despite that, I still loved the shower as they're spacious. I felt insecure sleeping in a dorm without a door, and you'll have to prepare your own padlocks for the lockers. The surroundings of the hostel's spectacular, but it's a lil far off the centre of the town, but we rented scooters so it's fine. Toilet's always clean but the dorm's always dusty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.