Hostelworld.com

Spicypai Backpackers

  • 291 Moo1,T. Mae Hee A. Pai, Mae Hong Son, Pai, Thailand
Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 727 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 727 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
Spicypai Backpackers Located at 291 Moo1,T. Mae Hee A. Pai, Mae Hong Son, Pai.
Spicypai Backpackers
Thailand
Pai 58130 291 Moo1,T. Mae Hee A. Pai, Mae Hong Son
81% 727
19.3515581 98.4487009
Spicypai Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Apr 2016
8.0

Decent price, clean facilities, cool atmosphere. It's a decent walk (10-15 min) to the main strip, which is a touch far if you don't have a scooter... Especially in the heat of summer. The staff were very nice, but they were gone more often than not.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
6.9

Besides the atmosphere there, others are just ok. Especially the bed, terrible experience to me, no fan in the extremely hot weather, u'll be sweating the whole day...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
8.3

During my trip I wanted to spend some of my stay sleeping under a mosquito net with just the basics. SpicyPai gave me that, plus a chill environment to meet other travelers to hang out with. The food at the hostel's restaurant was pretty good as well! I would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
8.9

Not for everyone but a wonderland for those who like this kind of hostel. Everything is open door and "bungalowed" out. Out of town but not out of the way. Plenty of lockers are provided so this openness is not an issue. This place is almost as chill as island accommodations but is made difficult by the rarely present management staff. The cleaning crew works hard all day but the staff that takes care of tours, checkins, taxis, specific questions and other "hostel" necessities disappear rand

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
10.0

Thank you for the hospitable experience! The staff are so sweet, friendly, and knowledgeble, and willing to go out of their way to help. I will definitely come back during high season! :))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
9.4

Very social, large dorms, everything is open, no fans etc. toilets/showers are new and clean, communal area is great, restaurant had good food and cool upstairs area to chill. Can be noisy! Stay at bungalows next door if you don't want to be woken up during the night! Short walk from town, definitely get a motorbike to make the most of Pai

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
5.1

The people were friendly at this hostel however overall didn't enjoy my stay here. The staff weren't too helpful and not present at the desk. The place was still being built and I just didn't feel very safe when staying here as there were no doors to the property. I thought the location was beautiful but a bit out of the way from the main area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
7.4

Chill place to spend a few days.... Especially if you rent a scooter, getting in and out will be a breeze if you want to hang anywhere but the hostel (that's cool too). The staff made themselves scare but when I did encounter them, they were genuine and helpful. I really dig the open-air treehouse vibe.... It makes the whole experience quite memorable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.1

Loved this place!! I was travelling Thailand for a month and spicy pai has been my favourite so far. Spicy pai is located outside of the main part of town but rent a scooter or walk. Facilities were good, hot showers and clean dorms with lockers. The best part of this hostel is the atmosphere, everyone was so friendly -- a great place to meet other travellers. Would 100% recommend to anyone going to Pai!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Mar 2016
7.7

Loved loved loved spicy pai! Such a great place to get to know people in the communal areas and in the massive dorm rooms! It feels like one huge tree house! Apart from a small locker there really is not much security but everyone seems to trust each other and wasn't an issue at all! Wish we could've stayed longer!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.