Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicypai Backpackers

  • 291 Moo1,T. Mae Hee A. Pai, Mae Hong Son, Pai, Thailand

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Mar 2017
9.4

I really loved staying at Spicy Pai, the staff is so friendly and if you travel alone you will definitely meet a lot of people! It's only ten minutes from downtown (city centre) Pai if you walk. You can rent a motorcycle for 140 baht at the reception and they bring it ! The common area is open and you can meet a lot of people or just hang out

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.7

Spicypai is a lot of fun! Come for the atmosphere - if you're looking to sleep 9+ hours a night this is probably not the place for you. This place has everything you need - hammock hang out space, lots of showers, lockers, free coffee/tea/toast in the morning, a nice little walk into town, and awesome people!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.0

friendly staff and very relaxed atmosphere. good for what you pay for. A bit of a walk from town (10 min) but not bad, and it's close to a nice pool where you can lounge and have drinks. They arranged a bbq for everyone at the hostel and it was delicious. would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aocho
  • American Samoa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Mar 2017
10.0

Honestly- I wish I could of stayed longer. Best atmosphere I've been in at a hostel. The staff is great, BBQ is AMAZING, showers are spacious + clean. Beds aren't the most comfortable but for the experience of staying in a "treehouse" like hostel that is open air- it's worth it! Rent a scooter, trust me! You need it to get around. Pai is beautiful and I recommend the stay at SpicyPai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
5.1

Horrible costumer service when renting a motorbike. They rented me a motorbike that didn't have properly functioning brakes or thread on the front tire which almost caused me to skid off a mountain while driving downhill. HORRIBLE. DO NOT STAY HERE

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We are incredibly sorry that you have had a bad experience with the scooter company but it is not our hostel or our staffs fault. The facts are that you came off your scooter and damaged it, so the scooter rental company asked you to pay for the damages, which is hardly out of order. You must understand that we as hostel do not rent out the scooters, we call local buisnesses for you and they drop them off for you. Safe Travels, SpicyTeam

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Mar 2017
9.7

Fab place to stay friendly people and no worries with leaving bags on beds and things plugged in whilst out and about. Little cafe restaurant thing here with lush smoothies and cracking beans on toast. Showers nice and toilets nice too. Friendly staff that'll help with everything and just so chilled out here! Definitely stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • laurenholmes89
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
5th Mar 2017
6.9

Not the place to stay if you want a decent nights sleep, common area is above the dorms which is very noisy. The dorm I stayed in had a wooden floor which shook every time somebody walked past, no fans so very hot during the day but freezing at night as they are open bamboo shacks. Hostel is by a cow field with an array of strange animal noises all night. Onsite restaurant /bar never had ingredients in and only served maybe 5 alcoholic drinks at night time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Mar 2017
7.4

Loved my stay here. It's a small hostel so you quickly get to know everyone. It's quite far out from town so be aware of this however everyone always walks together in the evening anyways. The free breakfast is disgusting. The butter and jam tastes awful so don't be excited. I will definitely be returning here though. Shoutout to Ryan who made everyone feel so welcomed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
10.0

Spicy is a great piece of Pai. See what I did there. That was a joke. We enjoyed our time very much and extended our stay. The BBQ they have is top notch. Seriously one of my favorite meals this trip. The facilities are simple. Yea you get bit by mosquitoes, deal with it. One of the cats killed a rat and decided to eat it in a girls bed. The one negative thing is the bathroom mirrors are too clean! Birds fly into the mirror and die and land in the sink. SAVE THE BIRDS!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.6

Spicy is great for getting out into nature and meeting some chilled people. Some nights were good for a party others more relaxed but normally people are going out. Great set up with the bamboo tree house shack things...felt like a kid! But beds were sooo uncomfortable and cold at night but we still stayed for a week as this was not enough to put us off. Helpful staff and easy to rent mopeds. Bit of a walk into town but not impossible maybe half an hour. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.