Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicypai Backpackers

  • 291 Moo1,T. Mae Hee A. Pai, Mae Hong Son, Pai, Thailand

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
Spicypai Backpackers Located at 291 Moo1,T. Mae Hee A. Pai, Mae Hong Son, Pai.
Spicypai Backpackers
Thailand
Pai 58130 291 Moo1,T. Mae Hee A. Pai, Mae Hong Son
83% 1033
19.3515581 98.4487009
Spicypai Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ans4z3
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.4

A very unique hostel and was a very fun change from the rest of the hostels I had stayed in Thailand!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.1

Great spot for access to Pai! Nice bunk beds with mosquito nets too which is cool for a couple of nights but wouldnt reccommend a long stay unless you like camping! Showers were between hot and cold depending if you got lucky - not the most social hostel I've visited but did meet people. Can be very noisy with dogs barking and if you get obnoxious guests being loud or up to certain activities then you will hear EVERYTHING. Don't expect a great nights sleep but worth the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.7

The best and most unique hostel I stayed in on my trip round Thailand. You get toast and jam with tea or coffee in the morning. The dorms are amazing beds maybe hard but made up for the uniqueness of the fact its all open aired dorms made out of wood and bamboo. The common area with hammocks was great and met plenty of new friends there or just chilled in a hammock watching the mountains. 100% will be coming back here again and would recommend to everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Apart from the dorms are just open with no doors and there are just very small lockers to store your valuables, this hostel was one of the best I've ever been at. Located just a 10min walk from outside Pai, it was very quiet and peacefull. As you need a scooter anyway if you really want to explore Pai the location a little outside of Pai didn't bother me at all. There is this very chill communal area with hammocks so it was very easy to get to know everyone. The hostel is also very clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
6.9

The price of the accommodation was fair and we enjoyed our stay at Spicy Pai. The hostel attracted a nice crowd, (alot of people we met in chiang mai actually) The toilets are a little far from the beds but there is hot water available when you shower. The hostel do make you put your own bedding on and off which is a little cheeky (for the price) but moisquito nets are provided which is handy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.6

Cozy stay in the low hills. Tip: Rent a motorbike to get here and while you're here, because it's otherwise a stretch of a walk (30-40ish minutes) to the Walking Street area & shenanigans. I liked my stay because it was peaceful, but I sure do wish it were more social. I stayed on a weeknight and found it quiet, and was kind of hoping for a more social experience that the other reviews were encouraging about. They have free breakfast, it's totally clean, and there's a nice fire too. Peace!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
7.1

Bit out of the way. Really good vibe at the place however, atmosphere is good and has a bar adjacent to the sleeping area where you can get food and drinks at good value. Very basic facilities and tough to get any sleep as the dorms are quite uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
8.3

It's a once in a lifetime place to stay and I totally recommend it. It's beautiful and so different then anywhere else I have stayed. A slight walk into town, but get a motorbike or ask people to drop you off. My only complaint was the staff we had working there - for some reason he was outrageously rude, but the guy we dealt with claimed he didn't work there and was just helping out for a week or so? Not too sure, but everything else was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
8.0

Very cool setup! The beds are comfy and the nets keep the bugs out! A resident cat came and slept on my bed so I had some added warmth! A little far from everything but the walk isn't too bad. Was nice to be away from city lights and you could see the stars! great place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
27th Dec 2016
6.6

I booked 3 nights didn't end up staying. It's a great place if you want to socialise, but if you need time out it's not the place for you. Went out and some dude was sleeping in my bed. Not the hostels fault but still didn't feel great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

so sorry to hear about that.. :( hopw you enjoy your travels

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.