Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicypai Backpackers

  • 291 Moo1,T. Mae Hee A. Pai, Mae Hong Son, Pai, Thailand

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1165 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1165 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Apr 2017
9.7

Great place overall! Amazing place to relax and meet some great people. Ryan and Pat were awesome! Thanks for everything guys. Will definitely stay here again and definitely recommend it to anyone heading to Pai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Apr 2017
7.7

Friendly staff, awesome dorms & great atmosphere. Apprehensive re security as dorms are open (no doors/locks-small lockers for essentials however) but with the chill vibe there's nothing to worry about. 100% WOULDN'T recommend getting scooters with them (& partner company 'D&D'). Had problems with the bike (1 almost causing an accident) & all they had to was "fix it, bring it back & we won't charge you an extra day". 700TB to fix bike just to give back 1hour later!!! Cheaper to rent in town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lucyshariff796
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
8.0

The staff here were excellent, there was an organised BBQ on the day we arrived which served really nice food and lots of it, beds were basic but fine and the bathrooms were always clean. Ryan went the extra mile and offered to teach us how to ride scooters which were so grateful for as we are first time riders. Overall experience was very good, would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.1

Amazing hostel!! Love this place! Probs Gona end up living here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
9.7

Do yourself a favor & STAY HERE -- if you are fun-loving with an affinity for the hippie lifestyle. I loved every second at Spicypai. The dorms are open-air with bamboo treehouse-style beds & mosquito nets -- so cozy to listen to rain at night & wake up in the brisk air with birds chirping & rice fields next door. Rent a scooter from the hostel for all your exploring & chill out in the hammocks upstairs -- so easy to meet fun people ! Highly recommend !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Apr 2017
7.1

It was cool to stay in a traditional style room, but there was only one tiny fan in the whole dorm - and none in the common area - so in the daytime the heat was pretty unbareable! Location is quite out of the way - maybe a 10/15 minute walk - which isn't the most convenient, but it's fine. The people staying at the time we went weren't very welcoming so that made the atmosphere not so great - but we might have just been unlucky with timing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2017
6.6

Good location and everyone was really friendly. Nice for a short stay, we just did one night. We wouldn't have liked to have done longer as the beds were so uncomfortable. Just prepare yourself for a camping trip, the shacks are completely open so it's like sleeping outside.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Apr 2017
9.4

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Spicy Pai for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it, the atmosphere was great and Russel at reception was unbelivably helpful, going well out of his way to make sure we had a good time. The beds were comfy, the lockers effective although fairly small, showers were good (ProTip; the 3 showers on the left are cold, use the ones on the right of the sinks for hot!) and the free breakfast +teas/water was appreciated. Communcal area is great for meeting people, 5 star!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
9.1

Don't make the same mistake as me and only pay for the first night. That has been my biggest regret of my trip so far. This place is absolutely amazing, the staff are very helpful, and the atmosphere is great! Met many many amazing people here and would have loved to spend more than the 4 nights I did

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
9.1

Great place to stay, especially for the atmosphere and good vibes. If you're looking to make friends and have a good time, it's worth the 80 baht premium, relative to the cheapest Pai accommodation (``100 baht). Spicy Pai has fantastic common areas kitted out with hammocks, where it is easy to socialise, drink, play music, and read. Staff are mostly western and all excellent, particularly a BFG Zimbabwean chap called Russell, who was great at commandeering activities during the night and day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.