Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicytao Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.9

Amazing hostel! Stayed there and week and absolutely loving the vibe there, such a beautiful place. Cats and dogs visiting there, so cute! Met loads of other backpackers there, staff was very nice. Beds are a little hard and sand gets everywhere, but it didn't bother me too much. If ever coming back to Koh Tao, definitely gonna stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
6.9

Good atmosphere and off the beaten track in a cool jungly part of the island so no noise from the main strip. If you're wanting luxury don't stay here - shower is a cold dribble and the beds are rock hard. Dorms don't have locks on the door so anyone can walk in. Common area is cool though and people are lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • alexandra_rv_154486
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
6.9

It's alright. It was the cheapest of the cheapest and I knew about the issues with the pressure in the waterand all that, so it was ok. Not the best, not the worst. The common area is really nice and the atmosphere is cool. I met great people there :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Dec 2016
10.0

I love this place! I made friends and I had fun. The staff was helpful. Yes, it wasn't luxury, but it was cheap and it felt like home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.3

Spicy Tao is a great hostel but is also very basic so if you're a fussy traveller this probably isn't the place for you! The bathrooms are clean ish and most of the time the showers are good expect a few times hardly any water comes out. Loads of space in the dorms which is great.social area is the best I've ever seen in a hostel so easy to meet people there, the staff are good at trying to include everyone for family nights from cooking to drinking and going out together.deffintly stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Dec 2016
4.6

Door didn't even close properly let alone lock on our dorms, very dirty and basically out in the jungle

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
9.1

Great hostel! The staff were amazing. They spoke great English and were very helpful! They also went out for drinks with us in the evenings! The one evening they were having a BBQ with other locals and invited us to eat/drink with them! There is a sweet outdoor common area with hammocks and a tv with tons of good movies. I will definitely stay here again if I come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Dec 2016
6.6

You really get what you paid for with this one, cost us £5 a night so wasn't expecting much anyway. We arrived on a rainy day and our dorm room was up a muddy hill which seemed like in the middle of no where from the main reception, got to our room with a door that doesn't close properly, a thin plastic mattress for a bed and a bathroom that seemed like it hadn't been cleaned. Cold water for a shower as well. One good thing was chill area outside with hammocks and tv.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2016
5.1

It was very dirty and the dorms are no where near the reception you have to walk through mud and hill to get to your dorm from the reception area. The beds are literally gym matts and the staff make you make your own bed with a pillow and two sheets. Had he worst sleep. Even though it's cheap its really not worth booking over the sake of £2! The shower was really really dirty!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Dec 2016
8.0

Such a good atmosphere, loved the common area with hammocks and a tv with loads of movies on. The staff were so helpful with booking snorkelling trips, and our route to Bangkok afterwards. Also put on a lovely BBQ for everyone. Location was slightly out the way up a big hill but not too far that it was too far to walk to the bars and Sairee Beach. Could've been slightly cleaner. And there was no temp control for the showers so they were always cold. But overall we loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.