Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicytao Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Literally the best place on the island !! If you come to Koh Tao definitely come to spicy Tao ! Best vibes and best people !! We love you Alvin 💛💛💛 xxx will definitely come back xxx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
10.0

Wicked hostel that you will probably get stuck at due to the Awesome staff and perfectly hung hammocks ! Definitely somewhere to return :) Dorms aren't anything fancy but the communal area is really nice so no need to spend much time in them anyway Never have I ever had so much fun at a hostel :p Alvin

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2017
8.0

Awesome staff Cool people Nice vibe The bathrooms are really okay for the price Don't go there if u are a really picky person but for all others it's a nice place to stay while here All in all a really nice hostel 👍

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
2.3

DO NOT STAY HERE!! Endless cheap guesthouses and hostels up and along the main streets near 7eleven at Sairee beach. Paid extra for air con room, the air con leaked all over the floor leaving my rucksack soaked through. We were refunded for this as they knew it was already broken! Staff were unhelpful and don't like to work, with one actually sleeping in our room. No room key or anywhere to lock bags. People left because they couldn't cope with the room - like a prison cell!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th May 2017
4.9

Before coming to this hostel I had read all the negative reviews but wanted to give it a chance anyway considering I have stayed at spicythai and spicypai and had great experiences. But, the showers were disgusting as was the toilet. The 1 dorm that had a/c was gross because the a/c dripped water everywhere and soaked the entire floor every night, and when we told staff they did nothing about it at all. They turned it off altogether but didn't refund money. Location was ok and atmosphere was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
10.0

I love love love this hostel. Up the hill with a nature/ jungle vibe. Happy hippie backpackers, hammacs, animals... the staff is really great and helpful. If you are high maintenance maybe this isn't the place for you but if you are layed back and like a more rustic feel this place is gold! My favorite hostel on Koh Tao for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
6.3

If you are young and want to mingle and are not worried about cleanliness or facilities then this is the place for you. In fairness it's the cheapest place on the island. The toilet in our dorm was a bit disgusting, so smelly & serious dirt going on in the grate. Shower is a removable hose on the wall at waist level with cold water. A Thai woman did come round every morning to do a general clean. Only one shared plug for 8 person dorm! However, Toon in reception was more than helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
3.7

Very disappointed with our stay in SpicyTao. We have been backing around SouthEast Asia now for quite a while and have only been doin budget backpacking hostels but this have been by far the worst place we stayed. Random people sleeping in the common area and using our toilet/shower in our room Cats coming in and out of our room and sleeping on peoples beds and pillows and going to the toilet outside the door Rooms were cramped and smelled quite bad and over quite dirty Toon was lovely

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Apr 2017
7.1

It is a really cool hostel but for some reason there just wasn't an awful lot going on there. Free breakfast (toast, jam, bananas, coffee) which is a plus. It's a 10 minute walk to the main town which is really good and the staff were lovely & helpful. Anyone can walk into your room really but there are lockers for your valuables if that worries you. With all that being said, it is the cheapest hostel on the island so I would definitely stay there again & recommend it if you're on a budget

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Mar 2017
9.4

Great hostel with a really good sense of community with hammocks and music played by the reception. Wifi only works by the reception but this is to encourage people to socialise! Staff were fantastic and really helpful. Cheapest hostel on the island and it's really really good value for money. Will definitely be returning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.