Hostelworld.com

Spicytao Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.3
Spicytao Backpackers Located at 25 M.1 T. Koh Tao A., Koh Pra Ngan, Koh Tao.
Spicytao Backpackers
Thailand
Koh Tao 84360 25 M.1 T. Koh Tao A., Koh Pra Ngan
79% 285
10.1003390 99.8342013
Spicytao Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
8.9

Great location, room wasn't the best as the fan didn't work but didn't mind too much. The guy that runs the place, Tyrone, is a really sound guy always offering hostel activities like drinking nights and bbq. Was a nice little place, I'd recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
5.1

Probably the cheapest place where to stay in Koh tao...it's cheap for a reason...comparing with others wich are few bath mire expensive it doesn't worth it...should be half of the price foto what you get to be right...only one guy of the stuff speak English and the bungalows aren't safe..I have to say I spent only a night there coz I was very sick and i needed to leave but the atmosphere was good...btw the right price for what you get should be 100 150 bath per night to be correct...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. However, we are a bit confused as to which staff member you are referring to. Out of the four staff members who were on duty during your stay, three are native English speakers and the other is proficient at an expert level. Perhaps you have us confused with another hostel. With that being said, you should know that not everyone in the world speaks English. You may have experienced this same phenomenon in your native country of Italy. Judging from your review, you don't speak English either. If you had of stayed longer, we could have helped you practice, or at least proof read your review. We are sorry that you feel that 230 baht was too much for a four bed fan dorm with complimentary breakfast. Other hostels offer fan dorms for 350 baht, which is more that just a few baht more expensive.

31st Mar 2016
9.7

A larger locker would be nice but the small one ok for valuables

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ankeschwarte
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.3

Nice room with air conditioning and a bathroom. Nice open kitchen and common area. Ten minutes walk from the beach and the dive schools.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Mar 2016
8.0

Great atmosphere and defo the place to come if you love to socialise and do group games! The hostel has special drinking nights and hosts bbq's, would stay here again for sure!! SPICY TAO

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Mar 2016
6.9

This hostel is great for meeting people, so friendly and the free breakfast in the mornings is also great. The dorm I was in was clean but the toilet kept blocking and wasn't resolved by the time I left. There are no locks on the doors so anyone can walk in and out and the insects in the surrounding trees can be incredibly noisy at times. Lockers outside the dorms to store your valuables and the hostel is located outside the noise of the centre but within easy walking distance.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
7th Mar 2016
4.9

Good atmosphere, good to meet people. Not clean at all, seems cleanliness is not a priority at all. Bed bugs seem a reoccuring issue. Lots of simple things could be improved like repainting dorm&bathroom, fixing broken tap, realign bathroom doors to close properly, fixing mesh on dorm door to keep mozzies out etc. But not priority for staff, a shame as place could be improved very easily. Could be a balance between preparing parties & doing some DIY & could even make it fun by involving guests??

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Mar 2016
4.0

Staff weren't particularly friendly after we arrived from a long trip! Dorms are very very cramped with not much space for your stuff. No locks on the dorm rooms which made us feel unsafe. The cats were allowed to wonder into dorms and sleep on your beds!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2016
8.3

Really great atmosphere, staff organises events such as barbeque and all you can drink! Really great people as well, but that may be harder for the hostel to guarantee :) Ten, fifteen minute walk to the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
8.9

Great staff and good nights put on to involve everyone in the hostel (BBQ night, curry night etc), good to meet other backpackers. Definitely recommend, good value for money as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.