Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicytao Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.9
Spicytao Backpackers Located at 25 M.1 T. Koh Tao A., Koh Pra Ngan, Koh Tao.
Spicytao Backpackers
Thailand
Koh Tao 84360 25 M.1 T. Koh Tao A., Koh Pra Ngan
68% 371
10.1003390 99.8342013
Spicytao Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
8.9

Yes there's not any running water but a bucket shower ain't all bad!! All you flash packers need to realise that a massive part of travelling is to live like a local would and feel like part of the community. I.e no air con or running water. So if you're not into that then go back home!! I had a lovely stay thank you spicy Tao for the memories

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
4.3

When we arrived we were told there was a water shortage in the hostel and on top of that the shower head was broken so we did not shower at all during our stay. There was a container with water in the bathroom which ran out after our second night and was not refilled. The door for our dorm was broken and so we got bitten by mosquitoes. The staff were disinterested and unhelpful with problems especially as we had more people allocated to our room than beds. Would not recommend this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
4.3

worst place i stayed. hostels can be clean and cheap. this one is neither.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Aug 2016
5.1

It's such a shame because Spicy Tao could be such a good hostel! It's very sociable and in a good location but it's really lacking effort. There was no running water, Electricity kept cutting out and wifi was really bad but the things that could have been helped wernt.The staff could have made a Little more effort to organise evening get togethers, welcome you more on arrival, and actually stay on site past 9pm to sell drink to those wanting an evening in. its a real shame.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

There is a water shortage that is effecting the whole island. We do have running water, it just doesn't run all the time. In the meantime, you use the buckets that are in the dorms. The electricity was off across the whole island because they are putting in new roads and moving the power lines in order to install a drainage system. Wifi runs on electricity, so when the power is off, so is the wifi. We are sorry that we haven't had enough rain this year, and that the government is making much needed repairs to the island. We are also sorry that you came right before the full moon party, so the place was pretty much empty. I would have been happy to hang out and sell drinks to the 4 people who were here at night, but you were one of the rudest and nastiest guests that we have had to endure for a while. You never missed an opportunity to announce how much you hated this hostel and the unpaid volunteers who work here. You seemed like you were always angry. Why would anyone want to be around someone who is like that? There is a store that sells a wide variety of spirits about 70 meters from the hostel, you could have walked there and got drinks. We are sorry that there wasn't someone here to attend to your needs 24/7. Next time save up your money and stay at a posh resort.

14th Aug 2016
6.6

Not bad but not great. The good: laid-back, staff were helpful with booking buses/activities, hammocks are great. The bad: never got a shower while I was there (use a bucket), recurring issues with assigning same bed to 2 people, gave my bed away when I was still there, had to find a new hostel. Power/wifi/water are on & off regularly. Cheap, but became frustrating. No locks could be an issue for females (room & bathroom both without locks).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
5.7

No running water and no effort to address the problem seriously or even apologise to guests. Otherwise a nice atmosphere and communal space.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. We spend most of our time apologizing to guests about the water situation. We have spent thousands of baht on water tanks and other things that would help with the water situation, but due to our location and other issues, the water shortage has effected us more severely. You were explained all of this. You stayed here for two days, and then extended for 2 more. If this place is so bad, why did you stay for so long?

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Aug 2016
4.6

Spicy Tao is lovely and could be soo great, I should of read more reviews before booking as there is no running water, (wasn't even told on check in) water runs for maybe for and hour in the morning and afternoon) this gets very frustrating when spending the day on the beach and wanting to shower, a large bucket does not suffice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bahamas, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
4.9

Friendly and sociable atmosphere really good for meeting others but facilities and cleanliness was pretty poor. You get what you pay for and its basic. The only issue was the lack of running water and power cuts. Staff were ok but felt like they couldn't be assed to make the effort sometimes. Alright for a short stay and location is quite nice, little bit more secluded but still a short walk to the centre

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! We are sorry that you weren't happy here. The staff apologizes for not going drinking with you, but suggesting all the best bars to visit. We also apologize that you waited until 9:20pm the night before to book your boat ticket and we weren't able to book it for you because the boat companies were all closed. However, we did find a cheap taxi to the pier so you could still catch your boat. We also apologize that the taxi came a little bit late, and you got to your boat 45 minutes early instead of an hour early.

  • leobarrt
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
3.7

No running water, AC was set to 26 degrees so it was way too hot in there! Showed up and had to wait 2 hours to check in because the staff took an extra long break. Location was pretty far away from everything, might as well spend more for a nicer place and not pay for a cab.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. We are sorry you had to wait so long to check in. There is no excuse for that and we are sorry. As far as the AC goes, everyone likes things at a certain temperature. We can't be blamed if someone changes the temperature and you don't like it. Also, we are only a 10 minute walk from the beach, we are close to Hin Wong Bay, and Fraggle Rock as well. No matter where you stay on Koh Tao, you will need to rent a bike or a taxi to see another part of an island. To say that we are far away from everything is a complete fallacy.

31st Jul 2016
9.4

Great hostel, in the jungle and located away from the main town. Great place to talk to fellow travelers and enjoy the tranquility of the jungle as well as the beach!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. It was an honor to have you stay with us, and we hope that you come and visit us again soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.