Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicytao Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.6
Spicytao Backpackers Located at 25 M.1 T. Koh Tao A., Koh Pra Ngan, Koh Tao.
Spicytao Backpackers
Thailand
Koh Tao 84360 25 M.1 T. Koh Tao A., Koh Pra Ngan
66% 380
10.1003390 99.8342013
Spicytao Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Aug 2016
8.3

The staff was pretty nice and the location was wonderful. I loved the cats. I would probably stay again, all though the facilities were pretty minimum (no running water), it was still doable. I met some cool people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
8.9

Yes there's not any running water but a bucket shower ain't all bad!! All you flash packers need to realise that a massive part of travelling is to live like a local would and feel like part of the community. I.e no air con or running water. So if you're not into that then go back home!! I had a lovely stay thank you spicy Tao for the memories

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2016
4.6

They didn't have water! No shower, no toilet! Nothing! But they made us a generous discount of just 20 THB hahaha!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
4.3

When we arrived we were told there was a water shortage in the hostel and on top of that the shower head was broken so we did not shower at all during our stay. There was a container with water in the bathroom which ran out after our second night and was not refilled. The door for our dorm was broken and so we got bitten by mosquitoes. The staff were disinterested and unhelpful with problems especially as we had more people allocated to our room than beds. Would not recommend this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. There were other dorms with running water, if you had told us the problem, we could have helped you. We are not mind readers. You could have switched dorms, beds, or even gotten a refund. I even would have helped you find a new hostel. Why would you go two days without a shower? We are sorry about the mix up in your room. Somebody decided to switch beds, without telling us. We did sort out the problem and find you a bed in another dorm. I don't understand how you can say we were disinterested when you never came to speak with us about your issues, except that one time, and we solved the problem.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
4.6

Arrived to find there was no running water, which we were not warned about before booking and they wouldnt reduce the price... and they treatened to have the thai mafia set on us when we tried to cook breakfast there, steer well clear

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. First of all, there is a sign next to reception that informs everyone about the water shortage. I'm looking at your booking right now, and you did pay a reduced rate. So you are not telling the truth. The reality is that you and your lads were incredibly rude. You checked out hours late, stole food and ate it, even though breakfast had been over a long time ago, and left the room a mess. When you came back the next day, after you had checked out, and demanded to use our kitchen, we said "no" and asked you politely to leave. You guys didn't leave. Instead you started arguing with us. You are four very large males, and my coworker got scared so she threatened to call for help. Disrespectful, entitled ignoramuses like you and your friends ruin Thailand for everyone. And yes, if your objective in Thailand is to be rude and pick fights with women then please steer well clear or this hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
4.3

worst place i stayed. hostels can be clean and cheap. this one is neither.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Aug 2016
5.1

It's such a shame because Spicy Tao could be such a good hostel! It's very sociable and in a good location but it's really lacking effort. There was no running water, Electricity kept cutting out and wifi was really bad but the things that could have been helped wernt.The staff could have made a Little more effort to organise evening get togethers, welcome you more on arrival, and actually stay on site past 9pm to sell drink to those wanting an evening in. its a real shame.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

There is a water shortage that is effecting the whole island. We do have running water, it just doesn't run all the time. In the meantime, you use the buckets that are in the dorms. The electricity was off across the whole island because they are putting in new roads and moving the power lines in order to install a drainage system. Wifi runs on electricity, so when the power is off, so is the wifi. We are sorry that we haven't had enough rain this year, and that the government is making much needed repairs to the island. We are also sorry that you came right before the full moon party, so the place was pretty much empty. I would have been happy to hang out and sell drinks to the 4 people who were here at night, but you were one of the rudest and nastiest guests that we have had to endure for a while. You never missed an opportunity to announce how much you hated this hostel and the unpaid volunteers who work here. You seemed like you were always angry. Why would anyone want to be around someone who is like that? There is a store that sells a wide variety of spirits about 70 meters from the hostel, you could have walked there and got drinks. We are sorry that there wasn't someone here to attend to your needs 24/7. Next time save up your money and stay at a posh resort.

  • tommclaren
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Aug 2016
6.3

We really enjoyed out stay at spicy Tao it was a unique hostel with a great atmosphere, however there's no denying that the facilities are awful, aslong as you can ignore all luxuries for a while you'll enjoy it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
6.6

Not bad but not great. The good: laid-back, staff were helpful with booking buses/activities, hammocks are great. The bad: never got a shower while I was there (use a bucket), recurring issues with assigning same bed to 2 people, gave my bed away when I was still there, had to find a new hostel. Power/wifi/water are on & off regularly. Cheap, but became frustrating. No locks could be an issue for females (room & bathroom both without locks).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry about that man. There is a sign next to reception that clearly states that you need to tell us the night before if you wish to extend. You didn't do that, so when a big group came and wanted the same dorm, we planned on moving you to another dorm. But you came back after we had closed. When I saw you on the street, I offered to take you to the hostel and hook you up with a different room. I would have given you a free room, but you were upset. The electricity and power was out on the whole island, but you knew that already. A bucket shower is still a shower.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
5.7

No running water and no effort to address the problem seriously or even apologise to guests. Otherwise a nice atmosphere and communal space.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. We spend most of our time apologizing to guests about the water situation. We have spent thousands of baht on water tanks and other things that would help with the water situation, but due to our location and other issues, the water shortage has effected us more severely. You were explained all of this. You stayed here for two days, and then extended for 2 more. If this place is so bad, why did you stay for so long?

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.