Hostelworld.com

Spicytao Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 302 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 302 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.3
Spicytao Backpackers Located at 25 M.1 T. Koh Tao A., Koh Pra Ngan, Koh Tao.
Spicytao Backpackers
Thailand
Koh Tao 84360 25 M.1 T. Koh Tao A., Koh Pra Ngan
78% 302
10.1003390 99.8342013
Spicytao Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
4.6

The room is advertised as an AirCon room, however the AirCon is turned on only in the evening and is set to 24°C (74.5°F). When the daily temps are 30-33°C (86-91°F) with 80% humidity, this does nothing to actually cool off the room. The "beds" were extremely hard rubberized mats and the staff didn't even take the time to put the sheets on the bed for you. The free breakfast was toast and coffee. As for the lower price the room was not worth the saving in cost over other hostels.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
7.7

Worth it just for the atmosphere. Facilities wise you get what you pay for. Everyone's super friendly and I had not complaints

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
5.4

General hippie atmosphere was great, common area was nice with hammocks but dorms were always open to anyone and were cramped, beds were small and uncomfortable and toilets were very basic.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th May 2016
6.6

Great for meeting people, awesome common area. However the rooms were very tight and unbearably hot; with fan or aircon. They offered many activities like snorkeling and pub crawls, but most people I know changed hostels after 2-3 nights because of the sleeping conditions. You get what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2016
8.0

Nettes Hostel, was mehrere Hütten in einer Art Garten verteilt hat. Am Gemeinschaftsort ist immer was los, Hängematten laden zum chillen ein und es gibt fast jeden Abend eine Aktion vom Hostel :) Es gibt Räume mit und ohne Klimaanlage, letztere sind nicht zu empfehlen. Alles sehr einfach aber nichts worüber man sich beschweren kann.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
9.1

value for money this is probably the best hostels I've stayed in! The staff are great (American guy) The socialising area is perfect and there is an amazing traveller's vibe. They put on evenings such as all you can eat bbq and jungle juice. You can also buy food from local shops and cook with there facilities. You get breakfast every morning which sets you on your way for the day. The aircon room was nice and was cleaned twice daily. Whoever gave this hostel a bad rating are picky traveller's

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
8.9

Great location, room wasn't the best as the fan didn't work but didn't mind too much. The guy that runs the place, Tyrone, is a really sound guy always offering hostel activities like drinking nights and bbq. Was a nice little place, I'd recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
5.1

Probably the cheapest place where to stay in Koh tao...it's cheap for a reason...comparing with others wich are few bath mire expensive it doesn't worth it...should be half of the price foto what you get to be right...only one guy of the stuff speak English and the bungalows aren't safe..I have to say I spent only a night there coz I was very sick and i needed to leave but the atmosphere was good...btw the right price for what you get should be 100 150 bath per night to be correct...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. However, we are a bit confused as to which staff member you are referring to. Out of the four staff members who were on duty during your stay, three are native English speakers and the other is proficient at an expert level. Perhaps you have us confused with another hostel. With that being said, you should know that not everyone in the world speaks English. You may have experienced this same phenomenon in your native country of Italy. Judging from your review, you don't speak English either. If you had of stayed longer, we could have helped you practice, or at least proof read your review. We are sorry that you feel that 230 baht was too much for a four bed fan dorm with complimentary breakfast. Other hostels offer fan dorms for 350 baht, which is more that just a few baht more expensive.

31st Mar 2016
9.7

A larger locker would be nice but the small one ok for valuables

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ankeschwarte
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.3

Nice room with air conditioning and a bathroom. Nice open kitchen and common area. Ten minutes walk from the beach and the dive schools.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.