Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicytao Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Aug 2017
8.9

The atmosphere and common areas make this hostel. The facilities are very basic in the rooms but it's so cheap. It's a great place to meet other people and about 5-10 mins walk into town so it's very quiet. Stayed in a fan room which actually wasn't that bad at all. Slept fine every night. The staff are also very friendly! Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
8.9

Amazing! Everyone there is epic, all the people that stay there are epic. The staff are great fun, most relaxed place i've stayed. You can book anything from diving to bar crawls from the reception and even get free taxis with some bookings. Close to the beach, 10 mins walk and good links with the bars etc. I dont know what some of the other reviewers were expecting when they turned up but seem to completely miss the point of a backpackers hostel. I would stay again for the vibes alone!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
9.4

Awesome staff. Super chill vibes. You'll definitely meet people here. Marcus and Alvin are some of the best hosts I met and they organize really fun events. Try alvin's jungle juice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
3.1

The only positive highlight that I can give to spicytao is the security that although it was a very all roasted locker, we didn't lose anything. We payed for 3 nights about 1200 Thai baht, for a 10ppl shared room-stiff beds-non locker bathroom and non functional fan. I could keep on writing the cons of this backpacker and finish with a 20 page easay but don't have that time. In short words, do not stay in there. There are hundreds of better places in Koh Tao.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
31st Jul 2017
10.0

Always stay at spicy when I'm ever in koh Tao. Atmosphere makes the place this is especially helped by the awesome staff with different themed nights, whether you want to chill or party. It is also a lot cleaner these days. Love spicy and miss it already. Can't wait to be back!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
31st Jul 2017
8.6

Awesome staff! Super friendly, helpful and funny. There is free breakfast and sometimes one of the staff cooks dinner for a fair price. The hostel is super comfortable and chilled, a good place to relax apart from loads of tourists, but not far away from nice viewpoints, shops and restaurants as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
9.4

Spicy Tao Is our favourite hostel. An amazing atmosphere and the staff are so welcoming! Instantly made us feel at home and part of the family. Rooms are basic however the majority of our time was spend in the communial area! Definitely reccomend to anyone wanting to have a good time and meet amazing people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Jul 2017
7.4

Get what you pay for. Cannot emphasise enough. It's quite far into the island, very walkable to the beach though. Gets very dark at night on the way from town, not idea while drunk. Atmosphere was amazing, got back to the hostel with everyone gathered around Harry Potter 5! Would advice on AC room heavily.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jul 2017
8.0

A good central location with Very friendly staff and a great atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
7.4

Awesome vibes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.