Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Spicytao Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.6
Spicytao Backpackers Located at 25 M.1 T. Koh Tao A., Koh Pra Ngan, Koh Tao.
Spicytao Backpackers
Thailand
Koh Tao 84360 25 M.1 T. Koh Tao A., Koh Pra Ngan
74% 341
10.1003390 99.8342013
Spicytao Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
3.7

We arrived at Spicytao, basically a shack on the end of a dirt track. We got to our room after 24 hours of travelling. The fans were rubbish so we were boiling and the room wasn't very clean. Wanted a shower to find it didn't work, after enquiring we found out that this is a regular occurance and water is only available for about 10 minutes at 8am. Safe to say we didn't spend the night. Staff were very helpful however and happily gave us a full refund.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
8.3

Awesome hostel with an awesome vibe, everyone's always chilling and socialising. Great staff and great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jul 2016
6.3

SpicyTao was a good hostel where you get exactly what you paid for. It is located a 10-15 min walk from Sairee Beach, and is simple and quiet. The rooms and facilities were very average. The wifi didn't work, nor did the toilet in our room so we needed to use the outside one. Still a cool hostel with a fun vibe. Very suitable for a few days at Koh Tao.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jul 2016
6.3

Spicy is a great place for meeting people and making friends. It has an awesome outdoor area where everyone chills and the staff are friendly. Unfortunately what lets the place down is the facilities. Most of the dorms had no running water when I stayed there which ment bucket showers or sometimes no showers at all. Most of the mosquito nets on the doors and windows were also torn and none of the dorms lock. The place was also quite dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
3.4

Power cuts..toilets broken and dirty...mosquitoes room not maintained properly. Surrounding is dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
4.3

Mosquitoe infested we didn't have running water no toilet/shower/tap bed were a peice of leather and did I mention it was a Mosquitoe den

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
7.7

Perfect to socialize with other backpackers and the atmosphere is really nice. But for the facilities, well, you need to adapt yourself a lot... not the best quality-price ratio

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
7.7

I had a great time at spicytao! You definitely get what you spend. If you are looking for luxury this place is probably not for you but if you are looking for a great atmosphere of people and staff this should be your number one stop. I had the best time during my stay and would definitely return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
2.0

I wouldn't recommend anyone to make a booking with this place as they don't have trained staff which then may end up to no booking. We had booked one month in advance to be sure we have somewhere to stay when we arrive to Koh Tao but that didn't happen. we arrived and the lady at the reception said she wasn't working that day of us booking it so the other person forgot to write it down on the system so we had no booking at the place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry for the mix up. You were booked into our system. We are perplexed as to how a staff member missed it. Once again, we are sorry.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.7

We arrived quite late after having done the full moon party, the staff were kinda rude but very helpful. The beds are uncomfortable and our bathroom had such an unpleasant smell we could barely go in but the atmosphere was great with a nice hangout area and you'll meet some lovely people. It's also a bit out from the main beach so nice and quiet but only five minutes walk so you won't miss out. We only had one night booked and hoped to stay for longer but they were fully booked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.