Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicytao Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Apr 2017
6.3

If you are young and want to mingle and are not worried about cleanliness or facilities then this is the place for you. In fairness it's the cheapest place on the island. The toilet in our dorm was a bit disgusting, so smelly & serious dirt going on in the grate. Shower is a removable hose on the wall at waist level with cold water. A Thai woman did come round every morning to do a general clean. Only one shared plug for 8 person dorm! However, Toon in reception was more than helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
3.7

Very disappointed with our stay in SpicyTao. We have been backing around SouthEast Asia now for quite a while and have only been doin budget backpacking hostels but this have been by far the worst place we stayed. Random people sleeping in the common area and using our toilet/shower in our room Cats coming in and out of our room and sleeping on peoples beds and pillows and going to the toilet outside the door Rooms were cramped and smelled quite bad and over quite dirty Toon was lovely

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2017
9.4

Great hostel with a really good sense of community with hammocks and music played by the reception. Wifi only works by the reception but this is to encourage people to socialise! Staff were fantastic and really helpful. Cheapest hostel on the island and it's really really good value for money. Will definitely be returning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
2.0

I arrived at the property and they didn't have room despite booking online. The receptionist threatened me with a knife! Disgusting place, run by disgusting people. Do not stay here

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
9.4

One of the best Hostels I stayed in! The beds and bathrooms are really basic but everything else is perfect! It's a bit more outside in the nature so its nice and quiet at night but you can easily walk into town, maybe 10 minutes. The Staff is very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is chilled and just great I met such awesome people! Plus you have free breakfast till 11 and fresh water all day I will definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
9.1

Really cool laid back hostel where you'll meet loads of awesome people! It's away from the crowds so you can chill out all day in a hammock and go out at night close by at the beach. Kitchen you can use which is nice. Don't go there expecting a 5 star hotel but it's definitely a great hostel. Cheapest place on the island !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.9

Super chill hostel with a great outdoor common area with hammocks and a kitchen. The staff were really helpful and helped us organize our ferry, gave us recommendations on the island, and helped us out whenever they could. The best part of this hostel is the friendly, communal atmosphere, great for solo travelers.The rooms aren't luxurious but they weren't super dirty or unlivable, definitely opt for air con as the room was much nicer than the non air con.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
7.7

Out of town so nice and quiet but only a 10 min walk to town, 15 min walk to beach. Ended up stayin for 9 nights due to the great people i met here. Water refills, kitchen with pots & pans, free toast for breakfast, hammocks to chill out in, locker big enough for a small backpack & more. Only downside is cleanliness in the bathroom but it didnt bother me & rooms get a bit musky when the aircon has been on a while. there are quite alot of mosquitos due to the jungle location but not in the rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
3.4

I have never left a review on my whole 3 month trip but this was the worst hostel I stayed in. Would not recommend for a solo female traveller as you have to walk back through a dark quiet tree lined street to hostel. The rooms smelt terrible, beds uncomfortable and the staff were never around to help or when they did it seemed as if they were always super grumpy. Everyone has different experiences though :/

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Mar 2017
7.1

Cheapest place, a little out the way compared to others but walking is easy to get to the good stuff. Had a slackline. Attracts the cheap and chill crowd. Our toilet didn't work. You have to deet up here and beds are plastic sheeted walnuts. Theres a free breakfast?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.