Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicythai Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.8
Spicythai Backpackers Located at 14 Hassadisewi Rd. T., Sriphum A. Muang, Chiang Mai.
Spicythai Backpackers
Thailand
Chiang Mai 50200 14 Hassadisewi Rd. T., Sriphum A. Muang
89% 1315
18.7984339 98.9801216
Spicythai Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th Jan 2017
7.1

A bit out of the way so you need to get taxi most places or tuk tuk but the atmosphere is good here to meet nice people in a chilled out environment I think they should have plug sockets by each bed though as only a few in each room on the floor is quite inconvenient and I had to charge my phone at random times rather than when I was asleep so I kept running ou of battery on trips out! (When you want to take photos!) It has a tv with lots of films which was nice for chilling

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.6

Loved SpicyThai!! Best hostel for social life... Beds aren't great and you hot showers are pretty rare but everything else is amazing! They organize something every night for the guest. I had a lot of fun.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Great hostel, very easy to be social even for a shy, awkward mess like myself. The best atmosphere I've ever experienced in a hostel. The people, both guests and staff, were fantastic. Stay here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
8.9

Great place, awesome for meeting other travelers in the downstairs common area. events were planned every night e.g. Lady boy show, bar crawls, etc. everyone is super friendly and the staff is excellent - made booking and planning trips a breeze and logistics were smoothly dealt with. Awesome hostel, will definitely stay here my next time in Chiang mai. Do note that it is not located in the old city, but it's only about a 10 minute walk to the northwest corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • morganhp106154
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

Spicy Thai is great. Good for solo travellers or groups of people travelling. Staff is great - most speak fluent English. Great atmosphere, good location, lounge area where you can watch movies with everyone! Would recommend to other backpackers! Beware of the grumpy Canadian

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

Perfect place to meet people and take part in daily activities. Very friendly staff. It's a little further out, not a problem if you use uber or have a scooter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, we really appreciate it! I am glad you enjoyed your time at SpicyThai. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Dec 2016
9.1

I loved Spicy Thai! Staff are helpful and friendly. Atmosphere is like family and really fun- huge table where everybody eats and drinks together. The people make it great. Beds decent, warm shower if you want, small lockers for valuables. Backpack goes on the floor. Was so sad to leave - will 100% stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for the review, we really appreciate it! I am glad you enjoyed your time here and we were sad to see you go... But there will always be a next time :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
8.9

Spicythai is a great hostel. It feels like a an actual house with a living room, dining room, backyard, etc. It was a perfect place to meet people when we wanted to be social but definitely has more of a chill vibe/we were not kept up until the late hours of the night which was nice. Staff very helpful and friendly- would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the review! We were so happy that you chose to stay here and that you enjoyed your time as well! We like to have a vibe where its a cool place to chill out and drink before we leave to go out at night! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Dec 2016
5.7

Came to this hostel through the great reviews we had read, nothing close to the overall rating given. The only good part of this hostel were the other travellers. Decent common area for everyone to hang out and chat, watch movies. The dorm was about as basic as it gets, 4 bunks with no where to store personals but on the floor or under the bed with a tiny shared open cabinet and a limited # of tiny lockers outside room. Showers were disgusting. Staff wasn't great either. Wouldnt stay here again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here. Wish you gave us more than one night though. I didn't even get to meet you two. Just going to touch on a couple things... Our lockers here are large enough to accommodate a 17" laptop and all your personal, valuable items. Most hostels in the world don't supply you with large lockers to lock up your big bags/suitcases. As far as the showers go, our cleaner cleans them twice or even three times a day... Unfortunately we cannot keep people from making messes and not cleaning up after each other. Sorry about that. We actually pride ourselves on having a great atmosphere and friendly and helpful staff. Sometimes this hostel isn't for everyone... Wish you both the best in your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Dec 2016
10.0

Great vibe in general, and really helpful staff. It was so easy to meet people in the common area. Pretty comfy beds too, which is pretty rare for the hostels I've been in! Lockers are pretty handy, and location is pretty spot on, just outside the old town :) Definitely stay here, would go back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thank you so much for the review! We were so happy that you chose us :) We're looking forward for when you come back and see us again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.