Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Spicythai Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • stugough
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2017
7.1

Mixed feelings about spicy. Could tell it was a good atmosphere but lots of the travellers had been there for several weeks and it was a bit awkward for first timers. The staff arranged some fun nights out and there's a great movie collection if u want to chill. Probably would stay again as it was good value for money. Security is pretty much based on traveller trust

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • danigrimsby
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
9.4

Definitely will be back when I visit Chiang Mai again! The staff is so cool and made me feel right at home here. Rooms are clean, AirCon works great. They have lockers to put valuables but I wasn't worried about anything getting stolen and there are cameras too. I left feeling like I had know everyone for years. Stay spicy my friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
8.3

Fantastic atmosphere-- met some great people and the staff is fantastic. They organize activities every day. The bed wasn't great and the shower was basic but everything is clean and well kept generally. Water and beer in the fridge (pay on the honor system). Go here for the social aspect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
10.0

This is the best hostel i ever stayed at. Daily activities organised by the staff. A very social atmosphere. If you dont feel like doing much there's a big screen with 1000s of movies on it. The whole place feels like home to me. It's located in a quiet part of the city so you can really relax but all the main things are just a 15 minute walk or a 20 baht ride away. There is also a kitchen if you miss your mums cooking, just take a quick walk to the big supermarket and cook it yourselfes!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
10.0

Definitely one of the best hostels ive stayed at! I was there during Songkran and the whole volunteer crew were just amazing. every day there are activities planned and you go as a family group. Thanks to Andrew, Adrian, Brian and all the others for their help will definitely be going back! facilities are clean and nice common area. also check out spicypai when if you get a chance!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Apr 2017
10.0

Spicy isn't a hostel, it's home. I was booked in for two nights and extended my stay for a month! The atmosphere is the best of any hostel I've stayed in, the staff are all friendly and will do anything they can to help you, and the location is good if you don't mind walking to the old town. If I could stay here forever, I would!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2017
7.7

Honesty bar is a nice touch and the communal area is a really good place to meet new people. Rooms could be cleaner and the location is so so but altogether I would probably recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
6.3

Accommodation is basic and your stay here will really be made by the people there. It has great potential, but I wasn't amazed by it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
6.0

Good atmosphere, beds werent that great and the room lit up at 6am since there were no curtains in the room. The smell in the bathroom was pretty bad, not that clean in general. Would recommend if ur on a low budget and want to make new friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
8.3

Really social atmosphere, great place to meet people. However if you want some alone time you can just chill by the tv (which has tons of movies on it). Rooms are a little basic and bathrooms are ok, about as clean as you can expect from Thailand. There's free breakfast and they organize an outing everyday.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.