Hostelworld.com

Spicythai Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Feb 2017
8.3

This place is great for meeting other travelers. They organize fun outings every day, and they will help you make arrangements to rent a scooter, travel to Pai, stay in Pai, etc. I wish they would just put a few more cushions in the main common area because the seating isn't very comfortable. But it's great for hanging out around the big table before heading out for the night. The fun people make up for the horrible beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • allymitch86
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
10.0

Had such a lovely time! The grumpy Canadian and the enthusiastic American were very entertaining and even tended to my wounds when I face planted the street. Made all the friends and had all the fun! Would definitely recommend to anyone, unless they were a hermit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
9.1

Great space! Really friendly, personable staff that do their best to engage guests. Also a wonderful space to meet people and make friend within, as the hostel plans daily group activities that you can take part in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.7

Spicythai is the best hostel in Chiang Mai! The staff are amazing - laid back, helpful and friendly, and they organise events to make sure that you get to see everything that's good in Chiang Mai. Shout out to Brian for listening to my drunk wish to go to catmosphere and for actually taking us there the next day, thank you Brian! ^_^ There's also a perfect balance between being able to go out or to just chill and watch a movie if you want a night in. This is definitely the place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jan 2017
6.6

It's a very social hostel, they organise many activities during the day and in the evening. You should definitely go and see the cabaret show. It tends to get really noisy during the night. Cleanliness should improve as well especially in the upper bathroom and in the toilets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

One of the best atmosphere I've ever experienxed in hostels. The hostel is situated in the centre of Chiang Mai but about 100 m away from the street and has got a small garden with hammocks. Events during day and night are organized every day, as a solo traveller you won't have any problems to socialise. The rooms and showers are not the most modern ones but clean and have got everything you need. Also the staff is amazing, especially Brian who organized all the parties ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
8.9

Good social atmosphere, all the facilities for home comfort, just one rude and nasty staff member (not Brian, Brian was cool).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Jan 2017
7.4

Great place for meeting people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th Jan 2017
7.1

A bit out of the way so you need to get taxi most places or tuk tuk but the atmosphere is good here to meet nice people in a chilled out environment I think they should have plug sockets by each bed though as only a few in each room on the floor is quite inconvenient and I had to charge my phone at random times rather than when I was asleep so I kept running ou of battery on trips out! (When you want to take photos!) It has a tv with lots of films which was nice for chilling

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jan 2017
8.0

BEST PLACE EVER. YOU A SOLO TRAVELLER? THIS IS THE PLACE TO GOOOOOOOO. MET 20 AMAZING PEOPLE WHOM I TRAVELLED WITH FOR 2 WEEKS AFTER. THE HOSTEL ORGANISES THINGS AT NIGHT PUB CRAWLS ETC.... --- AWESOME AWESOME. 15 MINS WALK TO CITY CAN SEEM LONG AFTER A FEW DAYS.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.