X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Spire Hostel Reviews

90-93 Marlborough Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
272 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great location right of O'Connell street and a two minute walk to the Abbey Theatre, which was ideal for Dublin Theatre Festival weekend. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best weekend trip ever! The people at the hostel really made the trip, staff and the others staying there. I definitely want to try to make it back for another weekend!

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is new but will wear down quickly due to the large number of people literally residing there.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Behind the door of the welcoming reception, an overcrowding mass of people mill around the kitchen and terrace. Some guys there act as they were the boss of the old hermetic gangs. At night, shouting party. At small rooms, lack of oxygen. If you are running away from your country of origin, this is your place.


57%

No one talked english

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! You may did not try to talk to the people you saw speaking another language. This is an international tourist hostel and most our guest are from Europe as France, Spain, Italy, Germany, Finland, and others also from south america as Brazil, Venezuela, Argentina and most of them are travelling to discover new culture or study and we do not expect everyone speaking English, this is respect people's culture and we help them how to communicate. We are very sorry!

100%

Very friendly and helpful staff, bathrooms very clean, the hostel is very central and close to everything. A lot of students staying there, kitchen is a bit small but very funcional. Great hostel overall.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff was very friendly and the location is great. There are so many beds in the rooms and that's why they are a little noisy at times. Also, the tidiness could have been a little better

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review! Just an advise - Guests should not book a 20 beds dorm if they are expecting a few beds only and quietness because of course there are so many beds and it may can be untidy at a time and a bit noisy too.

71%

The hostel is in a very good location, just 100mts from the Spire. Decent distance from the train station. The stuff is very kind and helpfull. It's crawd of spanian and venezolanian people who are there looking for a job, so it's not an exactly "party hostel". The rooms are just ok, but you have to understand that the some of the people there is actually living there...


97%

The bathrooms are poor, although clean. Stayed in a verynice double room!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really appreciate all review from our guests!!! Thank you!

63%

Perhaps it was just the room we were in, but the majority of those in the room were living there, and there was stuff everywhere! Having lives in Ireland I know it can be difficult to find a place to live in Dublin, but maybe keep the tourist reservations in different rooms? We were only there for like 7 hours before flights, but even at the price it was not somewhere I would stay again.


86%

Good location and staff very helpful! It seems like a lot of people stays at this hostel for long term..


80%

Perfect location, wifi works good in room 1, breakfast is small but included, young crowd of people, so not the best place if you are looking for a quiet night.


94%

This is a great hostel located in an ideal spot. It has the right size for being social with other people in the hostel, and the staff are really friendly. My favorite person on the staff was by far Olga, who could entertain you for days with stories about hitchhiking across Europe. :)


77%

This is a hostel that really feels like a hostel - many of the rooms are large and there are a lot people who have been staying here for a long time. The prices are often low, but you get what you pay for - in the twenty bed dorm I found it very hard to sleep, not just because it was summer but also from the constant coming and going of many of the guests, even at 3AM. The location however is nearly unmatched in Dublin. And all of the staff were friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
This guest stayed in a 4 beds dorm not in 20 beds dorm as he stated and made sort of points where is no sense as he wasn't in this room, he also stayed only one night and did not interacted with other guest at all, the price he paid was quite high and he said it is often low. Do not know what is behind of his review but this is wrong! We have no problem with any review except untrue comments or guest being extremely rude or abusive.

100%

Good hostel on the south side of Dublin. Decent breakfast was included and wi-fi was free. O'connell Street was just a few steps away and most other sights were pretty close.


69%

This location is a little freaky..right downtown dublin is a little sketchy. The bunk beds were comfy but you couldn't sit up in bed without bumping your head as it is very short. A bit of a party hostel as well.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Friendly and helpful staff.very central location.everything was clean!! Only negative point was the noise of too young people and the permanently crowded kitchen so we weren't able to cook!

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean place and very comfy bed, staff was very friendly and helpful, I found a lot of students staying long but they were very friendly too, great atmosphere! Kitchen is a bit small but really clean and new I would come back definitely.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

I highly recommend to stay in Spire hostel if you plan to stay in the city center. Perfect location, lively atmosphere and especially very kind, warm hearted staff (special thanks to Mario and Joab) willing to help you at anytime. I really enjoyed staying there. Thanks guys, it was short but really sweeeeeet!!!!! :D


100%

Amazing hostel! Situated on the main city center, close to everything, really nice atmosphere, i really enjoyed the courtyard where i made a lot of friends. The staff is very nice, really thankful to Mario and Joab who gave me really nice tips about Dublin and Ireland in general, thanks! I'll come back!


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback