X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Spire Hostel Reviews

90-93 Marlborough Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
289 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Hostel is very central. Our room was close to the kitchen/common room so it was very loud until the early morning hours. It would be good to close this area at a certain time to allow guests to sleep after midnight.


100%

I stayed the 30th and 31st of December... though, yes, it is located right beside the city centre, and yes you can walk to all the main attractions, and yes, the bars and clubs are a stroll away, the best part of this hostel is the staff. Everyone–and I mean everyone–welcomes you, accepts you, invites you to dinners and parties and social hours. I highly recommend this hostel for any backpackers.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff was really helpful and gave us good tips, and it's well located. But the bathroom was cold and the hand dryer was not working at all.It's really clean and the breakfast also is great.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This was a good hostel to stay at. My only con is that they don't have lockers in the dorms. Pros: wifi, kitchen, breakfast, showers, warm blankets

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel for a great price, right at the center of town so you dont have to pay 2.35 for the bus every time.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

It seemed like many of the people who were there lived there so people mostly kept to themselves. Staff was friendly and everything was kept clean but you had to pay to lock up your things and it felt awkward that you were a traveler among people who seemingly lived there.


77%

Good location, staff were helpful. We were in a 6 bed mixed dorm and the room was tiny ! Atmosphere of the hostel wasn't very good, too many groups of people hanging out in the kitchen and made us feel uncomfortable.


83%

Great location right of O'Connell street and a two minute walk to the Abbey Theatre, which was ideal for Dublin Theatre Festival weekend. Staff was very friendly and helpful.


100%

Best weekend trip ever! The people at the hostel really made the trip, staff and the others staying there. I definitely want to try to make it back for another weekend!

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is new but will wear down quickly due to the large number of people literally residing there.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Behind the door of the welcoming reception, an overcrowding mass of people mill around the kitchen and terrace. Some guys there act as they were the boss of the old hermetic gangs. At night, shouting party. At small rooms, lack of oxygen. If you are running away from your country of origin, this is your place.


57%

No one talked english

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! You may did not try to talk to the people you saw speaking another language. This is an international tourist hostel and most our guest are from Europe as France, Spain, Italy, Germany, Finland, and others also from south america as Brazil, Venezuela, Argentina and most of them are travelling to discover new culture or study and we do not expect everyone speaking English, this is respect people's culture and we help them how to communicate. We are very sorry!

100%

Very friendly and helpful staff, bathrooms very clean, the hostel is very central and close to everything. A lot of students staying there, kitchen is a bit small but very funcional. Great hostel overall.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff was very friendly and the location is great. There are so many beds in the rooms and that's why they are a little noisy at times. Also, the tidiness could have been a little better

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review! Just an advise - Guests should not book a 20 beds dorm if they are expecting a few beds only and quietness because of course there are so many beds and it may can be untidy at a time and a bit noisy too.

71%

The hostel is in a very good location, just 100mts from the Spire. Decent distance from the train station. The stuff is very kind and helpfull. It's crawd of spanian and venezolanian people who are there looking for a job, so it's not an exactly "party hostel". The rooms are just ok, but you have to understand that the some of the people there is actually living there...


97%

The bathrooms are poor, although clean. Stayed in a verynice double room!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really appreciate all review from our guests!!! Thank you!

63%

Perhaps it was just the room we were in, but the majority of those in the room were living there, and there was stuff everywhere! Having lives in Ireland I know it can be difficult to find a place to live in Dublin, but maybe keep the tourist reservations in different rooms? We were only there for like 7 hours before flights, but even at the price it was not somewhere I would stay again.


86%

Good location and staff very helpful! It seems like a lot of people stays at this hostel for long term..


80%

Perfect location, wifi works good in room 1, breakfast is small but included, young crowd of people, so not the best place if you are looking for a quiet night.


94%

This is a great hostel located in an ideal spot. It has the right size for being social with other people in the hostel, and the staff are really friendly. My favorite person on the staff was by far Olga, who could entertain you for days with stories about hitchhiking across Europe. :)




View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback