Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Andrews Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 1487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 1487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Aug 2017
6.9

Pretty good location. Few mins from bus station. Have to get buzzed in which is good for security but good few mins before answered. My dorm door was propped open by bin when I got there so closed it and didn't find it open again. No lockers. I think three sockets in dorm for 5 beds but wasn't busy so not an issue. No soap/ toilet roll on top floor bathroom. Building in poor state of repair, so cleanliness really quite difficult to adhere too! Quite dirty. Well stocked kitchen. Easy check out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Aug 2017
4.6

Don't stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Aug 2017
6.9

We had to wait in the rain because we couldn't check in between 2pm and 5pm :/ in the email was written that we can check in after 12 o'clock. But the staff and people were friendly :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2017
5.4

Hostel next to the bus station and the centre of St Andrews. For the price you pay you don't expect luxury but a minimum comfort would be appreciated! The room, bathrooms & common areas were dirty, especially the kitchen (fridges were smelling a lot as they were full of rotten food). The beds were very uncomfortable and super noisy (you couldn't move even slightly without making noise). No lockers. The staff wasn't particularly helpful or nice. The atmosphere was rather cold.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
6.9

staff at hostel where friendly and helpful. the hostel itself is in need of a good clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • aidaaya
  • Thailand, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
8.0

Best location just 3 min walk to Bus station and close to everything in St Andrew. However, there are only 3 sockets for 8 beds dorm :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
5.7

Frankly really dirt, beds, room, showers and toilets ...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
4.0

The hostel was difficult to find because the signage was about 2' x 2' sign on the side of a fence. Then when we arrived it wasn't very clean and there were no towels. The was also ONE bathroom/ 15. The hostel is above a very loud bar, so we couldn't sleep which was frustrating because the wifi didn't work either! Because we didn't sleep, we were ready to check out first thing, but had to wait 15 min for the reception to open late. I would recommend sleeping in your car over this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
8.9

Cool, friendly, chaotic and cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
9.4

Good value Hostel, other residents respectful and quiet. central location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×