Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Andrews Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1460 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1460 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jul 2017
4.0

The hostel was difficult to find because the signage was about 2' x 2' sign on the side of a fence. Then when we arrived it wasn't very clean and there were no towels. The was also ONE bathroom/ 15. The hostel is above a very loud bar, so we couldn't sleep which was frustrating because the wifi didn't work either! Because we didn't sleep, we were ready to check out first thing, but had to wait 15 min for the reception to open late. I would recommend sleeping in your car over this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
8.9

Cool, friendly, chaotic and cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
9.4

Good value Hostel, other residents respectful and quiet. central location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
6.6

The hostel was generally dirty in the rooms. Beds old and springy, which caused our backs to ache. Not so strict about silence during sleeping hours. Location was perfect and it did not cost much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
4.6

The hostel is in a good location in the center of town, however it is so dated and there was mold on the walls in our room and in the bathroom. The lock on our door was very loose so people kept knocking to get in at 1am. The staff was friendly, but I would not recommend anyone to stay here unless they don't mind a very old and unclean place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
6.9

The price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
7.4

Basic hostel. Excellent value for money. Good location. Not very clean and needs a good bit of maintenance from the owners. Since there aren't many options, this is therefore not a bad place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
7.4

Nice hostel to stay in very close to the center of town, the facilities are alright but you can tell the building is pretty old and worn down. Beds were fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th May 2017
6.3

The staff and location were both absolutely amazing. That being said, I didn't love my stay. There weren't any lockers which doesn't usually bother me. However, there weren't enough keys for everyone so the door was just propped open all day/night and anyone could've walked in. It also seems like a lot of the guests are pretty permanent and there are just piles of stuff everywhere (mostly laundry). There were also a few unsavory people hanging around that just didn't give off a great vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2017
7.1

Great location but no lockers to store valuables in dorm rooms and not going to leave laptop/passport in common room or office. Could do with a refresh and bathroom space limited.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.