Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Andrews Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
St Andrews Tourist Hostel Located at Inchape House, St Marys Place, St Andrews.
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
Scotland
St Andrews Inchape House, St Marys Place
80% 1354
56.3401281 -2.8003549
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
8.6

Good place to stay for one night. Does not have any lockers, but the reception agreed to keep my bag safe for a couple of hours. A few corners need some extra scrub, but that is common in most hostels. Good kitchen with all cutlery and plates and even some food for anyone to use. Very good location - right in the town centre, also quiet (but won't save you from a snoring person). How water is limited (apparently no hot water in the middle of the night).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
8.6

Great hostel. Absolutely fantastic staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Aug 2016
7.7

Ideal location with a friendly staff if you make an effort to get to know them. Since the hostel is quite compact, there's a good chance of having a friendly atmosphere in the hostel. For St Andrews, it must be the best value place to stay at. A staff member, for a £2.50 fee, was very helpful in getting my clothes washed and dried from my previous travels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pieromarlia
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Aug 2016
9.7

The manager, an Italian guy, was extremely friendly to us and even spontaneously took us on a guided tour to the Cathedral, the Castle and the shore. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and you don´´t even need to make your bed. In the evening a group watched a movie together in the common room, which was really nice to see.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
8.3

It was my only option available in St Andrews, and I'm satisfied with it, although it wasn't the perfect place. +: Well equipped kitchen, perfect location (although St Andrews is so small that is hard to find a bad place), friendly staff, the bed and linen was old but well cleaned. -: The wifi didn't reached my room, so I had to chill at the living. The showers got clogged every single time. There was only 4 energy sockets for 10 beds. The checkin is unavailable from 2:30 to 5, so be caref

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.3

I had a great time. The staff were wonderful, very helpful. It was a relaxed environment even though they were full. The only improvement could be some lockers, or shelves next to the beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.7

Great staff, really accommodating for our group - they put an extra matress in our dorm so all 9 of us could be together. Excellent location for the town. Really good choice to stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
6.3

It was alright, the location was centre and few minuets away from bus station. However, the staff was very ill-informed or not informed at all, they weren't helpful enough in anything, didn't feel like a backpacker hostel. Other than that, it was pretty ok!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.3

Fantastic location and friendly. We had a good time but there was a lack of maintenance and cleaning. Kitchen, toilets and showers are clean.Top bathroom and bedrooms needed painting as paint was peeling off round the windows, room needed hoovering round the edges, paintwork wiping behind the beds it was very dusty. Curtains were hanging off the rail and the bath mats were old. Also the duvets were old and stained and no matress covers. Please update this hostel as its a great place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
7.1

Some of the guests were a little strange... a weirder vibe than the Stirling hostel...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.