Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Andrews Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
St Andrews Tourist Hostel Located at Inchape House, St Marys Place, St Andrews.
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
Scotland
St Andrews Inchape House, St Marys Place
81% 1377
56.3401281 -2.8003549
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.6

Basic accommodation but unimprovable location and very, very cheap. An excellent budget option for an expensive town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
8.9

If you want a cheap place to sleep and still be right in the heart of St Andrews well this is the ticket

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
5.7

There was no secure place to leave valuables whilst staying like there are in other hostels, which was a little disconcerting. Rooms were OK, but mold was growing around the Windows which wasn't very welcoming, but given how much we paid then it was a fair ish price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
8.9

It was great. The linen could do with an update and there weren't enough showers because they were painting one of the bathrooms. Was a bit silly to do the painting on such a busy weekend but that's what they did. It was great. I will go again. Staff was awesome - especially the guy with straight longish blond hair. He really went out of his way to help. One of the other staff members went to Tesco and offered to get me some water. He was also great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2016
10.0

Kitchen is closed from 10pm to 8am, so if you have an early start, store your food in the fridge in the common room. Hot showers are very good! But they're switched off between 10pm to 5am, and 10am to 5pm. Or something like that. I'm not too sure about the daytime slot. Although, I took a shower once at 12pm and the hot water still came on - I'm not sure if it's because there was hot water available, or whether the staff kindly turned it on for me after seeing me going to take a shower!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
8.3

Basics are dated but it is inexpensive and convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
7.4

This hostel served its purpose as a cheap place to stay to escape Edinburgh Fringe Fest weekend prices, and the staff were great. There's a kitchen you can use, a lounge with a TV, and a friendly, party environment. However, the Wifi didn't work in the rooms or when it was busy, there were no lockers/not enough charging points, and the hot water was only on between 5 a.m. and 10 a.m., and 5 p.m. and 10 p.m. The hostel is in dire need of a deep cleaning, but a good place to party.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.7

St Andrews is a nice and cute town with lots of sightseeing and foods. St Andrews Tourist Hostel has great locations and close to any places. Good value of money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
9.1

This is a really great hostel, the staff is extremely friendly and the dorms are comfortable. There is a kitchen and a common area for hanging out. The location is also very good, within walking distance of all the main sights and things to do in the city center, as well as the bus station. There aren't lockers for backpacks in the rooms, but this wasn't a huge deal as everything still felt safe. Definitely recommended if you're staying in St. Andrews!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
10.0

Incredible place, incredible atmosphere, and the owners are the best kind of people. Definitely recommend this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.