Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Andrews Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3
St Andrews Tourist Hostel Located at Inchape House, St Marys Place, St Andrews.
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
Scotland
St Andrews Inchape House, St Marys Place
80% 1341
56.3401281 -2.8003549
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.7

Great staff, really accommodating for our group - they put an extra matress in our dorm so all 9 of us could be together. Excellent location for the town. Really good choice to stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
6.3

It was alright, the location was centre and few minuets away from bus station. However, the staff was very ill-informed or not informed at all, they weren't helpful enough in anything, didn't feel like a backpacker hostel. Other than that, it was pretty ok!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.3

Fantastic location and friendly. We had a good time but there was a lack of maintenance and cleaning. Kitchen, toilets and showers are clean.Top bathroom and bedrooms needed painting as paint was peeling off round the windows, room needed hoovering round the edges, paintwork wiping behind the beds it was very dusty. Curtains were hanging off the rail and the bath mats were old. Also the duvets were old and stained and no matress covers. Please update this hostel as its a great place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
7.1

Some of the guests were a little strange... a weirder vibe than the Stirling hostel...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
5.1

Reception guy forgot to tell us security code to enter building at night , led to a lengthy delay when we just wanted to get to bed . Tried to cancel two spaces but could not contact hostel , phone went straight to answer phone every time . Room key was stolen out of our door during night and lost £10 deposit, would not use again !

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Had one night at the Hostel. Great value for money. Clean, staff friendly. Only downside was that I was in a room with four 50 year old Scots who were quite noisy when they arrived late at night. But this is something that can happen if you share a room with others. Nevertheless, its a very good budget place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th May 2016
6.3

This was honestly the most rundown hostile that I have stayed out yet my in my trip. The building itself was located in a good area, but could've used with the maintenance. The shower drain was plugged and everyone stood in 4 inches of waterwhile showering. The lights in the bedroom dormitory did not work, as the light bulb is burned out. The person on staff seemed very confused and disorientated, though he mentioned it was one of his first days on the job. Decent price

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
9.1

The hostel has a great location and is easy to find. It has a big kitchen and good security. The only downfall is that there is no age limit. During my stay, there was a family with children running around screaming and then there was also some older men (60+) who had a bad habit of staring at the younger girls. But overall it was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
10.0

Great choice to stay in St Andrews. Within walking distance to everything. Clean and neat with plenty of bathrooms and comfortable beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
9.7

Very good place to stay, would come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.