Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Andrews Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th May 2017
6.3

The staff and location were both absolutely amazing. That being said, I didn't love my stay. There weren't any lockers which doesn't usually bother me. However, there weren't enough keys for everyone so the door was just propped open all day/night and anyone could've walked in. It also seems like a lot of the guests are pretty permanent and there are just piles of stuff everywhere (mostly laundry). There were also a few unsavory people hanging around that just didn't give off a great vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2017
7.1

Great location but no lockers to store valuables in dorm rooms and not going to leave laptop/passport in common room or office. Could do with a refresh and bathroom space limited.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
7.7

Would have appreciated somewhere to lock possessions

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your review, we understand the importance of keeping things safe whilst travelling so we will be hoping to get lockers in the near future. Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
5.7

St. Andrews Tourist Hostel does not cost a lot. But you don't get a lot. It lacks showers and they are very small. The mattresses need to be replaced. And it was freezing in room #5 located in the attic. I could find mold near the window and the shades need to be replaced. The kitchen was very very dirty. However, the location is great and staff are helpful and trustworthy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we appreciate that the building is becoming older now and are looking at ways to improve the experience for our guests so feedback will be passed onto the owner. Hope you still enjoyed your time in St Andrews. Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

14th Apr 2017
8.6

Good little hostel, gas stove in the kitchen, great location and nice staff. For the money you really can't beat it. I would say they could use some lockers for luggage, or at least a bag room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your kind review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Feedback will be passed on regarding lockers as we appreciate the importance of this for travellers. Please keep us in mind for future stays! Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
9.4

Lovely place with great staff. Room was clean, beds were comfortable. Plenty of bathrooms and showers. Good kitchen facility and a really nice common room with big squishy couches and tables next to the windows overlooking the street. Perfect location, right next to the big bus stop and the centre of town. Fantastic value for money!! Would definately stay again! I would recommend good quality ear plugs, also the wifi is super patchy (but there are lots of good coffee shops with wifi nearby)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you very much for your review, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Feedback will be passed onto the staff and we hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
8.6

Conrad was super helpful and accommodating. Perfect hostile host. Thanks Conrad!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, feedback will be passed onto Conrad and we hope to welcome you to the hostel again in the future! All the best, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
8.9

Staff friendly and helpful Easy atmosphere Nice small town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in St Andrews and hope that you had a safe trip. Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.4

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Great value for your money. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future! All the best, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2017
10.0

The staff are such a great bunch of characters! They really made my stay here that much more special.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your kind review, feedback will be passed on to the staff and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.