Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Andrews Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,404 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,404 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
St Andrews Tourist Hostel Located at Inchape House, St Marys Place, St Andrews.
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
Scotland
St Andrews Inchape House, St Marys Place
81% 1404
56.3401281 -2.8003549
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
8.3

The man at the office was fantastic. The atmosphere is great, everyone smiles at each other and are happy to chat to you but also understand that people need time to themselves. For such a cheap price, this hostel is cheap and very cheerful. I would definitely stay there again but I don't think I would put my parents up in a hostel as some students regret doing so. Be sure to remember that there are no safes to keep your valuables. But I did leave my laptop and phone unattended with no worries.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • briannasommer1
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Nov 2016
10.0

So glad this hostel exists! It's in a fantastic location and the staff were very helpful. Had a great time and if I'm ever in St. Andrews again, I will definitely come back to this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
9.1

Really good! Pros: - Center of town. Town is small too, so you can get everywhere by walking. - Relaxed feel. Cosy and comfortable, easy to talk to others. - Facilities. Lots of bathrooms and showers. Open kitchen. - Could control heat in rooms. - Price. Cons: - No personal lockers. You can lock the room itself, though. - Not super clear where to park. We parked on recommended street (Hope St., maybe?) overnight and got a ticket.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
8.6

We were only there briefly over night, but the place seemed basic, but plenty clean and decent. Staff were friendly and helpful and you couldn't fault the location, minutes away from the bus station, right in the centre of town. Might have been worried about noise as we were opposite the student union on a Saturday night, but everything closes so early in St Andrews that it didn't really bother us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Oct 2016
8.3

Great place if you are looking to stay in St Andrews for the night as this is the only hostel in town. Had no issues with the place as you ultimately get what you pay for. The staff were extremely nice where I was felt welcomed right away. I would stay here again if I ever returned.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2016
6.0

I stayed two nights. Room 5 was OK. Room 4 smelt damp and not nice. It was essentially an attic room. It was cold all night long as the heating didn't work, despite being the end of October. The hot water in the morning was not hot but luke warm. It seems this is the only hostel in St Andrews - what choice do you have?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
6.0

5people dorm was very mouldy,blind was broken off and dirty. Mattress had very bad stains and there was no mattress protector on. The whole place needs a good clean. On our last morning the microwave was out of order so could not make our porridge. The place is in good position right in the centre of St Andrews. The staff are friendly and tried to accommodate us. We booked 2 nights in the 5 dorm but asked if we could move to another room due to the mould.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Oct 2016
8.9

Dated but clean. Great location and value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
8.3

Not the best hostel for a quiet and restful stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
7.1

Excellent location within town - parking spaces are a bit of a hassle, try Howard Place for free parking. However, the beds are a bit uncomfortable, the showers were O.K. but plastic appliances made it hard to actually turn the shower on and off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.