X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Andrews Tourist Hostel Reviews

Inchape House, St Marys Place, St Andrews, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1045 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

It's a great hostel with a cheap price and a very good atmosphere. It could be better, if there were lockers.


86%

Staff are super friendly and very helpful. Very chilled nice atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We help in any way we can to make everyone's stay a pleasant one.

57%

The hostel wasn't very clean, the facilities were old and run down. Location was good.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I was a little disappointed with the sunk in, springy mattress, and the fairly dirty feeling of the hostel. A new coat of paint every couple months would help. The water pressure was good in the showers, but would be nice to have a bigger hot water tank because of the amount of people there. Overall, it was average, or slightly above, for a hostel of this price.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Does what it says on the tin

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly and homey! I loved the spacious common room and kitchen. Maybe could do better with fridge storage, but overall, highly recommended!


86%

Good value for the money, excellent location and friendly staff.


91%

We really enjoyed staying as a family right in the centre of St Andrews

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The kitchen should stay opened 'till late night and not just closed at 10 pm, considering that restaurants there don't sell food after 10 o'clock.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Excellent location, friendly staff and a nice common room


86%

Nice staff and good location at an extremely good price!


100%

Stayed here on my birthday and the guy in reception was very kind and helpful with suggestions for fun ways to celebrate. We had a great time and I'm looking forward to coming back.


71%

Beds are a bit squeaky ;-)


91%

Good stay here - beds comfortable, hostel reasonably clean and staff very welcoming and pleasant.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel is quite worn, but aged in grace, The staff is very welcoming and super helpful. During my stay there where quite a large number of long term residents ( students from St.Andrews) which gave me a feeling of coming to a family, not a hostel. So , if you are looking for a boarding house atmosphere instead of a posh urban design place this is where you go!


97%

Great place to stay in inverness. Safe and clean and friendly. No problems with this place. Would definite stay again. Don't think twice about booking here.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a lovely stay, the place has a great atmosphere.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff are very welcoming and the other hostel residents were mainly very friendly Great place to stay beats the vastly overpriced accommodation elsewhere in town.


83%

Very friendly staff. Could improve security by ensuring outside door clicks into 'locked' whenever someone leaves. The mouldy ceiling in room 1 was rather off putting.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This was my first experience with a Hostel and this place was great. Made for a great value

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(60 results)


View all St Andrews Hostels

Please give us your feedback