X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Andrews Tourist Hostel Reviews

Inchape House, St Marys Place, St Andrews, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1271 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Staff was knowledgable and friendly.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us a nice review. It was really nice having you stay with us. If you are back in town we hope to see you at our hostel again.

100%

The staff were really friendly and helpful. Everyone staying there were fun to talk with. Very impressed.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and leaving us this nice review. We do our best to help in any way we can. If you are back in town we hope to see you stay at our hostel again.

100%

The staff was excellent who catered to the needs of the visitors. They were polite and nothing was too much for them.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff. We appreciate this kind of feedback. We do our best to be accommodating as we can towards our guests.

80%

The hostle is friendly and convenient as well as reasonably priced, but it could do with a refurb. The building is old and things like broken showers, rattly doors and threadbare carpets detract from the experience, but it is a hostle!

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Cheap with best service.

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheapest Accommodation in Town. Thanks for staying here!

71%

The fact that the hostel doesn't have lockers is really unsettling from a security perspective. Of course everyone in the hostel seemed very nice and I didn't feel unsafe per se, but still not having the reassurance of locked valuables/passport made my stay much less relaxed and comfortable than it otherwise could have been. Also, the odd reception hours (closed from 2-5pm, a time when many people would probably like to check in..) was very inconvenient.


91%

The best place to stay in St Andrews if you don't want to pay a fortune and you prefer socializing with people from all over the world to playing golf with British pensioners. A lot of equipment to use and the staff is very friendly and helpful! I got mildly injured and they found an ankle support for me so I saved a lot of money thanks to that. Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us this great review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were happy to help you in any way we could. Our common room is a great place for socializing with other guests. If you are on budget then our hostel is a good option for accommodation in St Andrews because of our low prices. We hope to see you back at our hostel in the future.

57%

There were no lockers at all: terrible. It seemed like there was only ever one staff member on duty, so sometimes the office door would be closed during office hours, and you would need to hunt them down. There are no shelves in the shower, so you need to place toiletries on the floor, and for a tall person to bend down repeatedly in the tiny showers, it was awkward and uncomfortable. Plus the shower knobs were confusing. Staff were friendly, location is great, but I wouldn't stay again.


97%

Good location, contrary to a few comments was definitely not hard to find. Comfortable beds and warm showers.. Nice bunch of people, no faults whatsoever. thanks dudes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our location is ideally located in the centre of St Andrews close to many of the local sites, shops, bars and restaurants. All of this is within walking distance. We have heard from other guest that our beds are quite comfortable. Thanks for staying with us and leaving a review.

94%

Excelent, very Good reception !!!!

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It's quite difficult to find the hostel, despite being in the city center, as its entrance is on the side of another house (Grill House), and it is not conveniently indicated.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good experience. Clean, tidy and minimal hassle plus the hostel is located right in the centre of the town and has a nice vibe to it as well. Great stuff!


89%

Friendly staff, accomodating with a large group of us, helpful . We all enjoyed our staystay, it was a positive experience all round.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

very pleasant 5 beds dormitory room! try it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you prefer sleeping on a single bed instead of on a bunkbed with either someone above you or below you then staying in the 5 bed dorm is a good option.

89%

This is a very good hostel. We are a family of four with two teenagers and we were warmly welcomed and made to feel very much at home. It is a relaxed and easy going environment. Clean and comfortable. Superb location for hanging out in St. Andrews. Staff were very kind and attentive. We would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to be as accommodating as possible and help in any way we can. We are located in the town centre making our hostel a good choice for accommodation. Everything you need to see in town is within walking distance. If you come visit St Andrews again then we hope to see you back here. Thanks for staying with us.

91%

This is the only hostel in St. Andrews so I guess it has monopoly on the hostel market. But in general I found it was a great stay. Location was great and close by the bus station. I didn't love my bed because the mattress looked quite old and worn in- it pretty much sank into the bed frame. There were no lockers but that wasn't really a problem because everyone was really nice. The kitchen is well equipped and you can cook for yourself whenever.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As the only hostel in town we have very little competition with other accommodations around town. Our prices are very reasonable for St Andrews and our location is hard to beat for those prices. We are close to many locals sites, shops, restaurants and the main bus station. Unfortunately we do not have lockers but on request any valuables can be kept at reception. We have a spacious kitchen equipped with all your cooking needs. If you are on a budget we are a good option.

86%

Nice hostel located only 3 minutes from the bus station. Nice friendly staff and great atmosphere. Spacious rooms with comfortable beds (for a hostel).

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have heard from other guests that we do have very comfy beds. It's nice to hear that again. Our location is very ideal. We are minutes away from public transportation such as the bus station, local sites, shops and restaurants. Thanks for mentioning our friendly staff.

1 2 Next » last »
(37 results)


View all St Andrews Hostels

Please give us your feedback