X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Andrews Tourist Hostel Reviews

Inchape House, St Marys Place, St Andrews, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1207 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Located next door to a noisy pub that was open till 2am. The main entrance was too hard to find

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The sttaff were exceptionally helpful and helped me carry in my panniers. Everything worked perfectly and I had a grea.t time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that you had good time staying with us. We do our best to help out in any way we can. We hope to see you back at our hostel again.

100%

Amazing! We really enjoyed our stay there and felt very welcome!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. We hope to see you back here again someday. Thanks for staying with us.

97%

Great atmosphere and good people. A good space to eat and relax in. Thanks a lot. Amy

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us. We hope to see you back again at our hostel.

69%

Hostel was loud. It wasn't as clean or well equipped as other hostels I have stayed in. Staff was only moderately helpful. Having the kitchen "close" at night was unnecessary and inconvenient.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't to your satisfaction and not as clean as you would have liked. We do our best to keep it clean and tidy. All common areas, kitchen and bathrooms are cleaned daily. Regular checks are done to insure a good standard of cleanliness. I can also assure you that our hostel is not always loud. We have many nights where it is a lot quieter. It depends on who is around and what is happening that night. Our kitchen is locked overnight for safety reasons.

63%

Very strong smell of mold in the room. Building was renovated a very long time ago, the wind blows through the closed windows. Bedsheets didn't seem to be washed from the previous guests. The price is far too big for the hostel like this. As for the security - anyone who knows the code of the front door can enter the hostel no problem anytime and during the night there is even nobody in the reception :)

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our hostel is in an old building that is unfortunately not well enough insulated causing dampness inside. We are the only hostel in St Andrews and also the cheapest accommodation in town. Our prices are fair and much lower than other accommodations around. Due to being a small hostel we do not need 24hr reception. All guests should be in by 10PM. We do make some exceptions for late check ins. We have a fairly secure hostel because our front door code is changed on a regular basis.

86%

Clean and tidy hostel in a great location 5mins from bus station. Only downside is the creaking metal beds. Recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our location is quite ideal because we are minutes away from many of the sites in St Andrews. We are close to lots of shops, restaurants and a Tesco grocery store. We do our best to keep the hostel clean and tidy. All common areas, bathrooms and the kitchen are cleaned daily. Our bunk beds have been used a lot but are still functional and yes they can get a bit creaky.

94%

Really helpful staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We help in any way we can. Thanks for staying with us.

86%

The poeple staying here are a lot of fun to be around. There are a lot of long term guests here but they are all friendly and fun to talk to! The hostel is pretty basic but decent, what you expect from a hostel. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us a great review. We are glad to hear that you had fun staying with us. We do our best to make everyone's stay a pleasant one and help in any way we can. Our big lounge area is a good place for socializing with other guests and with our good sized kitchen great for making some home cooked meals.

89%

Had great stay excellent value for money 😄 would recommend Will stay again. Franz

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and leaving us a great review. It's good to hear that you had a good stay with us. With our affordable prices it is indeed good value to stay here and as our sign outside says "Cheapest Accommodation in Town". We look forward to welcoming you back to our hostel in the future.

86%

A friendly, comfortable hostel which I have stayed at many times. The staff are excellent, and the location, right in the heart of town, can't be beat. I do think it would really benefit from lockers in the rooms, though.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our hostel is very centrally located in town near many shops and restaurants. Lockers are on our list and yes they would be good to have in the rooms. For now any valuables can be kept at reception if requested. We hope to see you stay with us again.

80%

The hostel itself was in great shape. The rooms were clean and spacious. The atmosphere was older than I would have liked and not energetic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The atmosphere in the hostel depends on who is staying here. Perhaps because you were staying with us on weeknights in was a bit quieter. On weekends it is usually more lively with more people staying. It can get quite noisy with people socializing in our lounge area. We do our best to keep the rooms and the rest of the hostel clean and tidy. Thank you for leaving us a review.

94%

Had a great time in St Andrews .The hostel was perfect there was 8 of us walking East Fyfe Coast and the hostel accomadated us in a 8 bed domatory which wAs perfect clean and had every facility and staff were great.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the nice review. We do our best to keep the place clean and tidy. I hope that you and your group had some good days walking the Fife Coastal Path.

94%

nice place nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us a nice review. The staff did what they could to make your stay a pleasant one. We would be happy to welcome you back to stay at our hostel if you come visit St Andrews again.

54%

The shower on my floor was broken, with that many people in one location that is very inconvenient. Also, I just didn't feel safe at this particular hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for any inconvenience that the broken shower caused. We know it is not ideal but I am happy to say that now the shower is fully functional again. I'm sorry to hear that you felt unsafe in our hostel. What is the reason? If perhaps a reason for that feeling is because of leaving valuables in the room and not being able to lock them up somewhere then we would have gladly stored your belongings at reception.

60%

This hostel would benefit from the addition of lockers and some guidelines about quiet hours. We originally booked for two nights but left after one following a night of incredibly drunk people screaming and crying outside our room in the common area. Two people got up to ask the group to quiet down and notify staff who were completely unreceptive.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't a very pleasant one. The night that you were here was busy. We are a hostel and yes it can get noisy sometimes with lots of people around. It depends on who is staying here and what is happening on a particular night. We do occasionally get drunk people. I can assure you that this does not happen every night. We do have plenty of quiet nights in the hostel. Lockers would be a good addition but for now any valuables can be kept at reception.

100%

Excellent hostel.enjoyable stay.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back here again in the future.

86%

Nice hostel.


97%

St. Andrews is lovely and this hostel is very well located. It's just a short walk to the university, beach, castle and cathedral. It's also just a few doors down from Starbucks and Tesco. Same with Frogans- a great pub/restaurant and delicious chips from Dervish. This hostel has a really pretty common room with lots of places to charge phones and hang out. The kitchen is small and out of the way. Bathrooms are big, clean and easily accessible. There's not a ton of them. Had poor wifi upstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice review of our hostel. We are centrally located in St Andrews within walking distance of many of the local sites, shops and restaurants. Our spacious common room is a great place to socialize and hangout with other guests. We do our best to keep the kitchen, the bathrooms and communal areas clean and tidy. Our hostel does have wifi all around but the signal strength is lower in some of our rooms.

83%

Great location, shower room ceiling could do with a lick of paint, bedroom 5, was a bit warm in the night, not sure if any heating was on.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our hostel is centrally located making it an ideal place to stay and explore the town from. There is an electric heater in room 5. It's best to turn it off during the night because it can get quite warm if it's kept on too long.

(60 results)


View all St Andrews Hostels

Please give us your feedback