X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Andrews Tourist Hostel Reviews

Inchape House, St Marys Place, St Andrews, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1065 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This is my second stay here, was there for a week in 2012 as well. Still a great hostel with nice beds and great showers. Manager Ivo and his assistant Victor were very friendly and always helpful. Very nice stay. Will be back in July 2015. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We do our best to provide great customer service and assist guests the best way we can. See you next time.

77%

Good hostel, exepted for the hot water which is very limited

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hot water works on a timer so therefore the amount per day is limited. If hot water is requested for a shower then it can be arranged.

97%

Awesome Staff. Extremely nice and helpful!!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do our best to help guests in any way we can.

77%

Great value for money, clean and great location. Room was not great - 7 people sleeping there, lots of noises, lights, chatting at night. No lockers to put your staff, rather unsafe.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I only stayed at the St Andrews Tourist Hostel for one night, but it was very comfortable, safe, and convenient. I stayed in a mixed dorm and, being in a university town, sort of expected things to be a bit loud at night with people coming back from drinking, but everyone was respectful and quiet. I was really impressed! Everything was clean. Staff and other guests were friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. We do our best to keep the hostel clean and tidy; and also do what we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

100%

very nice〜clean,chip!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do our best to keep the hostel clean and tidy.

86%

Really friendly staff, very good value. It's a little old and the bed were reminiscent of movie orphanages. Otherwise, it was better than expected.


89%

Thank you for your kind!!

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

just great am planning on going back last part of October

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's great to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back another stay.

89%

Likes. Not far from the golf course, helpful staff, relaxed environment God place to stay


83%

The facilities were good and had a lovely time meeting the other guests in the common room. The only thing is that we arrived at 3pm to the hostel only to find out that you can't get in until 5pm which left us and a few other guests we met out in the rain. Then at 5pm we were left outside for another 20 min cuz the desk lady forgot to turn on the buzzer. Oops

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we do close reception between 2 and 5pm and the buzzer does go off. Sorry about that.

94%

It's a great hostel with a cheap price and a very good atmosphere. It could be better, if there were lockers.


86%

Staff are super friendly and very helpful. Very chilled nice atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We help in any way we can to make everyone's stay a pleasant one.

57%

The hostel wasn't very clean, the facilities were old and run down. Location was good.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I was a little disappointed with the sunk in, springy mattress, and the fairly dirty feeling of the hostel. A new coat of paint every couple months would help. The water pressure was good in the showers, but would be nice to have a bigger hot water tank because of the amount of people there. Overall, it was average, or slightly above, for a hostel of this price.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Does what it says on the tin

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly and homey! I loved the spacious common room and kitchen. Maybe could do better with fridge storage, but overall, highly recommended!


86%

Good value for the money, excellent location and friendly staff.


91%

We really enjoyed staying as a family right in the centre of St Andrews

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The kitchen should stay opened 'till late night and not just closed at 10 pm, considering that restaurants there don't sell food after 10 o'clock.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(44 results)


View all St Andrews Hostels

Please give us your feedback