X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Andrews Tourist Hostel Reviews

Inchape House, St Marys Place, St Andrews, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1053 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Really friendly staff, very good value. It's a little old and the bed were reminiscent of movie orphanages. Otherwise, it was better than expected.


89%

Thank you for your kind!!

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

just great am planning on going back last part of October

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's great to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back another stay.

89%

Likes. Not far from the golf course, helpful staff, relaxed environment God place to stay


83%

The facilities were good and had a lovely time meeting the other guests in the common room. The only thing is that we arrived at 3pm to the hostel only to find out that you can't get in until 5pm which left us and a few other guests we met out in the rain. Then at 5pm we were left outside for another 20 min cuz the desk lady forgot to turn on the buzzer. Oops

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we do close reception between 2 and 5pm and the buzzer does go off. Sorry about that.

94%

It's a great hostel with a cheap price and a very good atmosphere. It could be better, if there were lockers.


86%

Staff are super friendly and very helpful. Very chilled nice atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We help in any way we can to make everyone's stay a pleasant one.

57%

The hostel wasn't very clean, the facilities were old and run down. Location was good.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I was a little disappointed with the sunk in, springy mattress, and the fairly dirty feeling of the hostel. A new coat of paint every couple months would help. The water pressure was good in the showers, but would be nice to have a bigger hot water tank because of the amount of people there. Overall, it was average, or slightly above, for a hostel of this price.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Does what it says on the tin

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly and homey! I loved the spacious common room and kitchen. Maybe could do better with fridge storage, but overall, highly recommended!


86%

Good value for the money, excellent location and friendly staff.


91%

We really enjoyed staying as a family right in the centre of St Andrews

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The kitchen should stay opened 'till late night and not just closed at 10 pm, considering that restaurants there don't sell food after 10 o'clock.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Excellent location, friendly staff and a nice common room


86%

Nice staff and good location at an extremely good price!


100%

Stayed here on my birthday and the guy in reception was very kind and helpful with suggestions for fun ways to celebrate. We had a great time and I'm looking forward to coming back.


71%

Beds are a bit squeaky ;-)


91%

Good stay here - beds comfortable, hostel reasonably clean and staff very welcoming and pleasant.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel is quite worn, but aged in grace, The staff is very welcoming and super helpful. During my stay there where quite a large number of long term residents ( students from St.Andrews) which gave me a feeling of coming to a family, not a hostel. So , if you are looking for a boarding house atmosphere instead of a posh urban design place this is where you go!


(47 results)


View all St Andrews Hostels

Please give us your feedback