Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St. Christopher International Hostel Downtown Reviews

2420 India Street, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained


117 Total Reviews
  • 50%Value For Money
  • 50%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 50%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 45%Cleanliness
  • 45%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The hostel manager is the sweetest woman and an uber driver so it'll save you time if you need to get anywhere. The place has a lock box that she'll give you the code to for easy access. It's right in little Italy so it's convenient to get places. It is loud due to the airport, but it honestly is not that bad. There's only one bathroom and while it's not spotless, it's clean enough. I've been to other hostels and it's the same. This isn't a hostel for partying. It has a more homey feel.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


DONT STAY HERE. Everything was awful. One towel for everyone, no mirror in bathroom, terrible coffee. Main room is filled with junk. There is a VERY LOUD ALL NIGHT BAR NEXT DOOR. Parking is several blocks away. They dont take credit or debit cards. They have several large notes on the bathroom wall telling you the woman who runs the place gave money to some charity. Its out of line. Costs too much for what you get. Worst place I have ever been in anywhere.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You arrived in the hostel with a bloated sense of self importance. A condescending attitude as though you are better than everyone else. As Hostel Manager, I wondered why you booked a hostel? Whatever happened to Sheraton, or Hilton Hotel? Hostels are for open minded adults who like to mix and make friends. If you had taken time to READ our profile, and/or asked most of the points raised would have been clarified. STAY AWAY, we don't want your business 2 nights was more than enough.


Juliet, bless her heart, tries so hard, she hurts herself. She, like all the hostel workers I have encountered in San Diego, are strange, almost on the border of it being like some Alfred Hitchcock Twilight Zone. lol. Regardless, She is well meaning, but sniffing the beds to see if they peed or not, is off putting to me, but done in her own kind of humor, that could be taken numerous kinds of ways. I would only go back if i was desperate, or a drunk who pees in my bed. haha.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback