X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St. Christopher International Hostel Downtown Reviews

2420 India Street, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
110 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

An extremely friendly and happy hostel run by Juliet who is so helpful and full of fun! She made us feel at home immediately and made us laugh with her many stories! The hostel is under renovation at the moment on the lower floor but this does not affect the upstairs at all. The rooms have plenty of space and Juliet will store valuables for you if you wish. There is a kitchen to use and Juliet will make porridge for you for breakfast if you want some. She is knowledgeable about the area too!


100%

If you don't like Juliet and/or this hostel, you need to find a nearby bridge and jump off. You're probably a miserable excuse for a human being. I've been all over the world and stayed at many places, this was the best one. Juliet is a wonderful woman and a host amongst hosts. -Mike from Virginia, USA


83%

The only downside to this hostel are the airplanes that fly over. They're really loud, but you get used to them in about two days.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Awesome atmosphere!!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I had a very good time at the Hostel. People were nice, it had a good location and the manager, Juliet, was the best!!! She was fun to be around, and took really good care of her guests.


89%

If you are looking for a hostel with a load of character and are going to San Diego to have a good time then stay here. We had a great time and Juliet is an absolute legend! It is about 30 seconds from the airport and you can practically touch the planes going overhead. Its noisy but so were we. They were going through re-modelling when we stayed so there was only one bathroom but it was grand. Great fun, Great Personality and close to downtown.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Juliette was a wonderful host! The hostel was like a home away from home - each morning Juliette would make us all breakfast in the kitchen which helps create the hostels social and friendly environment. Thanks Juliette for the wonderful stay! :)

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Small hostel so not one for people who want to party but it is nice and in a good location and Juliet is a legend!


97%

This place is calm, peaceful, friendly,no drama, n lovely manager.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Thank You for your honest and lovely compliments. I hope you visit again someday soonest. Best wishes always in all your travel adventures.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

Juliet est une femme adorable, toujours disponible. Elle m'a accueillit chaleureusement. Bonne musique !!! Grâce à elle, j'ai oublié la nuisance sonore des avions de l'aéroport. On y fait plus attention durant la nuit.je suis restée plus longtemps que prévu ;-) --- Juliet is very nice, friendly, always available. The First contact was happyness. Good song!!! Thank of Juliet, i forgot the aéroport noise. With the time, we do not listening something by the night. I stay one more night ;-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci Mmepour votre examen honnête de notre auberge. Bien que nous éprouvions trafic aérien bruit journée, par temps de nuit, le bruit des avions cesse. Nous espérons que vous visitez à nouveau un jour bientôt. Meilleurs voeux à toutes vos aventures de voyage.

91%

People complain about the close neighboorhood of the airport. But you know, in the US planes don't fly in the middle of the night, so it is not a problem to have a good sleep over there. And it is clean, just modest. And the bathroom might need a little bit of renovation, but you shouldn't expect 5-star hotel standards in a hostel... For me, it was all fine. The atmosphere was also great, young & cheerful people only. And you can have a nice chat about life philosophy by breakfast, this counts!


54%

We (three girls from Switzerland) were there for two nights. Everything is old and broken. The common room looked like a lumber-room, bikes and stuff everywhere. There was not even a reception. We also were not sure if the owner is in one's right mind. She repeated every sentence ten times and was talking snarl. First night we had to sleep in the lumber-room, where the owner normaly sleeps, because the Hostel was overbooked. We don't recommend this Hostel!!

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a wonderful stay, in a great location with a nice manager/guide.


31%

Booked as a last minute destination. Called earlier in the evening to advise I would be arriving late only to find my room was given away when I arrived. Was forced to sleep in the basement which smelt like urine and did not have a door. Sanitary pads are taped to the walls advising people not to flush 'blood soaked tampons.' Included breakfast was non existent. When I was finally placed in the room I booked it did not have curtains or proper bedding. The manager was almost spying on us.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The location sucks. Its right under the landing airspace for airplanes. Every few minutes the house shakes and you are deafened. Its also next to a night club so the noise at night never really stops. The bathroom was gross, A moldy shower. No mirror in the bathroom so there's no where to really get ready. Its not really down town, but its not a far trip to get there. Breakfast was included, but it was inedible. The worst porridge I've ever seen.


40%

This place didn't seem prepared or ready for guests: wireless wasn't working, piles of clothing/towels in one dorm plus another in the common area. In the common area was a hand truck and very large wooden partitions laying there. The staff person responded to my displeasure "this would be gone tomorrow". All the bunk beds were without bed covers, a couple had torn plastic covers. I explained my dismay refusing to stay there. This listing was an inconvenience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have fully functional wireless internet access in ALL areas of the hostel - COX internet provider. Hostel carries out repair and maintenance works in the months from Jan - April each year. This explains the hand truck, wood items and work tools you saw on arrival. Maintenance of hostel property and facilities is an absolute necessity in a hostel business. Paid guest(s) are supplied with clean linens to make their beds on arrival. Beds are bare waiting potential guests. We are NOT a hotel.

69%

The owner lady is very nice and she works very hard to run her business. The hostel is a honest place to stay, even though the bathroom is not the cleanest I've seen. Sometimes the noise can be an issue, as there is a night club right next to it. But the location, at walking distance from both the airport, the waterfront and the downtown, is unbeatable.


60%

HAD HARD TIME UNDERSTANDING STAFF ,SHE DIDN T LET ME STAY GAVE NO REASON.BUT FOUND A DIFFERENT HOSTEL 4 ME 2 STAY AT. OVERALL NOT A GOOD EXPRENCE

  • 11th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You turned up at the hostel claiming to be a resident of Boston. At point of filling out a check-in form, you could NOT provide any documentation to prove you actually live in Boston area. What was presented was a California ID. CA residents wanting to lodge in our hostel, MUST provide cogent reason(s) why they need hostel lodging in the same state. All this was explained to you. Nonetheless, our manager called up another hostel in close proximity to our hostel requesting they help you out. We take this opportunity to thank you for considering our hostel in the first instance; and also to kindly suggest you read the terms and conditions thoroughly before making a booking for future lodgings.

20%

No Locker, dirty, Manager does'n clean anything, shower are plugged, is not to use the kitchen

  • 17th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Hard to describe! Try it on your own and build your self opinion.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(75 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback