X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St. Christopher International Hostel Downtown Reviews

2420 India Street, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
97 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Juliette was a wonderful host! The hostel was like a home away from home - each morning Juliette would make us all breakfast in the kitchen which helps create the hostels social and friendly environment. Thanks Juliette for the wonderful stay! :)

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Small hostel so not one for people who want to party but it is nice and in a good location and Juliet is a legend!


97%

This place is calm, peaceful, friendly,no drama, n lovely manager.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Thank You for your honest and lovely compliments. I hope you visit again someday soonest. Best wishes always in all your travel adventures.

89%

Juliet est une femme adorable, toujours disponible. Elle m'a accueillit chaleureusement. Bonne musique !!! Grâce à elle, j'ai oublié la nuisance sonore des avions de l'aéroport. On y fait plus attention durant la nuit.je suis restée plus longtemps que prévu ;-) --- Juliet is very nice, friendly, always available. The First contact was happyness. Good song!!! Thank of Juliet, i forgot the aéroport noise. With the time, we do not listening something by the night. I stay one more night ;-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci Mmepour votre examen honnête de notre auberge. Bien que nous éprouvions trafic aérien bruit journée, par temps de nuit, le bruit des avions cesse. Nous espérons que vous visitez à nouveau un jour bientôt. Meilleurs voeux à toutes vos aventures de voyage.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

People complain about the close neighboorhood of the airport. But you know, in the US planes don't fly in the middle of the night, so it is not a problem to have a good sleep over there. And it is clean, just modest. And the bathroom might need a little bit of renovation, but you shouldn't expect 5-star hotel standards in a hostel... For me, it was all fine. The atmosphere was also great, young & cheerful people only. And you can have a nice chat about life philosophy by breakfast, this counts!


54%

We (three girls from Switzerland) were there for two nights. Everything is old and broken. The common room looked like a lumber-room, bikes and stuff everywhere. There was not even a reception. We also were not sure if the owner is in one's right mind. She repeated every sentence ten times and was talking snarl. First night we had to sleep in the lumber-room, where the owner normaly sleeps, because the Hostel was overbooked. We don't recommend this Hostel!!

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a wonderful stay, in a great location with a nice manager/guide.


31%

Booked as a last minute destination. Called earlier in the evening to advise I would be arriving late only to find my room was given away when I arrived. Was forced to sleep in the basement which smelt like urine and did not have a door. Sanitary pads are taped to the walls advising people not to flush 'blood soaked tampons.' Included breakfast was non existent. When I was finally placed in the room I booked it did not have curtains or proper bedding. The manager was almost spying on us.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The location sucks. Its right under the landing airspace for airplanes. Every few minutes the house shakes and you are deafened. Its also next to a night club so the noise at night never really stops. The bathroom was gross, A moldy shower. No mirror in the bathroom so there's no where to really get ready. Its not really down town, but its not a far trip to get there. Breakfast was included, but it was inedible. The worst porridge I've ever seen.

  • 6th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

This place didn't seem prepared or ready for guests: wireless wasn't working, piles of clothing/towels in one dorm plus another in the common area. In the common area was a hand truck and very large wooden partitions laying there. The staff person responded to my displeasure "this would be gone tomorrow". All the bunk beds were without bed covers, a couple had torn plastic covers. I explained my dismay refusing to stay there. This listing was an inconvenience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have fully functional wireless internet access in ALL areas of the hostel - COX internet provider. Hostel carries out repair and maintenance works in the months from Jan - April each year. This explains the hand truck, wood items and work tools you saw on arrival. Maintenance of hostel property and facilities is an absolute necessity in a hostel business. Paid guest(s) are supplied with clean linens to make their beds on arrival. Beds are bare waiting potential guests. We are NOT a hotel.

69%

The owner lady is very nice and she works very hard to run her business. The hostel is a honest place to stay, even though the bathroom is not the cleanest I've seen. Sometimes the noise can be an issue, as there is a night club right next to it. But the location, at walking distance from both the airport, the waterfront and the downtown, is unbeatable.


60%

HAD HARD TIME UNDERSTANDING STAFF ,SHE DIDN T LET ME STAY GAVE NO REASON.BUT FOUND A DIFFERENT HOSTEL 4 ME 2 STAY AT. OVERALL NOT A GOOD EXPRENCE

  • 11th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You turned up at the hostel claiming to be a resident of Boston. At point of filling out a check-in form, you could NOT provide any documentation to prove you actually live in Boston area. What was presented was a California ID. CA residents wanting to lodge in our hostel, MUST provide cogent reason(s) why they need hostel lodging in the same state. All this was explained to you. Nonetheless, our manager called up another hostel in close proximity to our hostel requesting they help you out. We take this opportunity to thank you for considering our hostel in the first instance; and also to kindly suggest you read the terms and conditions thoroughly before making a booking for future lodgings.

20%

No Locker, dirty, Manager does'n clean anything, shower are plugged, is not to use the kitchen

  • 17th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Hard to describe! Try it on your own and build your self opinion.


46%

The manager is lunatic, she is very unpleasant sometimes. Rooms are very small and it's very noisy because of planes. For breakfast you just have a porridge (taste is very bad); there isn't bread, milk, juice.. You have to walk about 20-25min to take trolley or bus, and it's very far from bars and night clubs. However the hostel takes place in a nice district (Little Italy).


100%

Juliet is awesome very friendly and can't do enough to make your stay comfortable! Hostel is in a quiet part of San diego and not a million miles from the town, train station or zoo! See you soon Juliet.

  • 22nd Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I can honestly say that it was an excellent choice, and very cheap as well, definitely will be back form my next visit to San Diego.!!!

  • 11th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Flavio, We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We look forward to lodging you next year.

40%

This is for me not what I understand under a hostal. A lady just placed some beds in an empty room and called it hostal.additionally it was so loud all the time because every 15 mins passes a plane very low over the house. During the night it is not getting better because a club is next door. Luckly that you can not close the window, because something is broken. ;-) Don't expect a typical hostal atmosphere.

  • 25th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I loved the place, and definitely will stay there when I go to San Diego again. Don’t expect hotel conditions (bathroom: functional but not fancy; breakfast: good if you are not picky). The manager, Juliet will introduce you to other guest, you will get to know each other. Good location, easy to reach everything (Airport, Zoo, Balboa Park, Convention Center, Gaslamp District, etc.), but the planes ARE noisy (~6 am to ~11 pm), which you should consider if you are a light sleeper.

  • 22nd Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is a great place to meet people, as soon as i arrived the manager juliet introduced me to everyone that was staying here and done the same with everyone that arrived. Its homely and juliet is very friendly and helpfull, and she keeps the place very clean and keeps everyone happy. its easy to get to all the places and there are directions on the walls to everywhere. ill make sure i stay here when im in san diego next


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback