X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Barcelona Reviews

Carrer de Bergara, 3, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2200 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The location is perfect- right around the corner of Las Ramblas, but quiet enough to have a good night sleep. Rooms and bathrooms were clean during my stay, saw cleaning ladies in very different times of day/night. Yes- balcony doors are only opened when room is being cleaned, i hope it is different in the summer. Beds are comfortable and spacious, curtains give you privacy even in dorm rooms. All in all- if you like these big kind of hostels- it's your place to stay!

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, It was great to see that you made the most of our central location. We know how important it is to be right in the heart of all the action in the city. Bye for now,

89%

Great location. Nice dorms. Charging point by the bed with light and curtain. Showers sucked. Free breakfast was good. Average wifi. Helpful staff.


97%

staff is super friendly, which i think determines your trip. i was worried a lot about this hostel after reading a few bad comments on here. i wanna answer some of those comments based on my experience. a. a shared bathroom sucks: partly agree. the shower flow is weak and temp control is not easy. b. breakfast sucks: i disagree. it is average. and you can eat all-you-want. c. security sucks. : i disagree. get good, strong locks then you are on the safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we'll be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. Our guys love their jobs and it really makes their day to know that they're made a difference to somebody's visit, or just left a lasting impression on one of our guests : ) Thanks for writing,

83%

It was in a really central area of Barcelona. I only stayed one night but there didn't seem to be that much of a social atmosphere. The breakfast was good with bread, cheese, ham, cereal, and fresh fruit. I also ate at the restaurant which was pretty good and the discount was nice. You do have to pay to store your stuff before/after checkin/out. They also really want to keep your key deposit. I had to ask for mine explicitly. Overall a nice place but nothing special.


66%

The security was good, facilities were also good as they have an elevator in hostel, and curtains for all beds. However the showers and toilets were terrible. A little bit smelly but I can endure it, but the shower water was really weak, it just flows over my head. It was terrible. And only one toilet for an ensuit room, we should wait for people coming out. And the staffs were not very familiar. Anyway the location is quite nice, very close to Catalunya square, la ramblas(?) and the metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, It was good of you to leave us such a detailed review. There is a lot in here for us to take into consideration, We're sorry that our shower facilities didn't seem to live up to your expectations. We feel that one bathroom for an en suite room is sufficient, but we can appreciate that often people may need to use it at the same time, and it's something that we will not overlook for future developments, We're glad you seemed to enjoy yourself overall though, Thanks again

83%

There wasn't enough showers honestly for the amount of people on my floor. I often showered at odd times. Other than that, it was great, I loved the "pod" beds as it offers a sense of privacy. The internet didn't always work very well but that's what happens when there are a lot of people in a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your feedback. We can learn a lot from your experiences with us and you've raised some important issues. We'll be sure you investigate the showers and wi-fi further, as we're always looking to improve ourselves and with your ideas and suggestions we know we're on the right track, Thanks again, and we're pleased that you enjoyed your time with us overall,

91%

The hostel was perfect in every terms, but the staff which seemed to be a bit bored about working. Only one woman and one guy were kind to me, the others answered my questions with impatience as if I was obligated to know everything. On the other requirements, they were perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for writing to us. It's really disappointing for us to read that you felt let down by some of our staff, as our guys love their jobs and we all want everyone to enjoy their time with us to the fullest. If it's ok with you, we're going to write to you in private to find out a little more about your expereinces with our team so that perhaps we can provide further trainging if needs be. We're super pleased though that you enjoyed so visit overall, Thanks for your understanding,

100%

St Christopher's Barcelona is really excellent, I stayed there for four nights, the first two nights in a room with 16 beds and the rest two nights in a room with 12 beds. Everything, including location, atmosphere, cleanliness, staff and breakfast, is far beyond of my expectation. Next time, I will certainly stay at hostel in a city I travel to.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, So nice to read that we have left such an impression on one of our guests. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and welcome you back to any of our sites, Be sure to write to us in advance and we'll be happy to make it worth your while, Bye for now,

91%

A good hostel but I expected more after visiting St Christopher's in Brugge

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It's great to see that you chose to stay with us after your experiences in Bruges. We're keen to learn about the differences you saw between the two sites and we'll be sending you a private email to see if we can learn more about your time with us during your travels throughout Europe, We hope to see you at another St Christopher's soon ; )

83%

That's a very good hostel in Barcelona!! Their staffs are very good professionals, the place is really confortable and food from the bar is really good.👍👍

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're really pleased that you took the time to let us know about your experiences in our restaurant. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our chefs who will be very happy to read your review for themselves, Thanks again and see you next time,

80%

The showers smelt mouldy and one of the woman at the desk was always really grumpy. Dorm rooms are perfect though. Size, cleanliness, curtains on beds, individual light and power socket let bed. Really great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your review. We're pleased that you appreciated the facilities in our dorms, but can't help be a little worried by your comments about somebody from our front desk. We hope you don't mind but we're going to send you a quick private message to try and find out a little more about your experiences with this member of staff. Perhaps we can provide further training if needs be. Talk soon, and thanks for your balanced opinions above,

97%

Location is great. Room was clean. Toilets and showers were clean. Breakfast was amazing. Staff were friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, What a great review! We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we'll be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. Our guys love their jobs and it really makes their day to know that they're made a difference to somebody's visit, or just left a lasting impression on one of our guests : ) Thanks for taking the time to get back to us, Safe travels

97%

Great hostel in Barcelona! Very near to Plaça de Catalunya, the best start point to know this great city!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, We're glad you found our location easy to get to. You can always join our free walking tour too to really get familiar with city : ) Thanks for your review

97%

Great, comfortable, and safe place to stay. I only stayed to catch an early morning flight because I didn't want to stay in the airport for a 10 hour layover. It's a bit far from the airport, but it's easy to walk to from Plaça Catalunya. The staff is very friendly. The bar food is good, plus you get a discount for staying in the hostel. I would love to stay when I return to Barcelona again! ¡Muchas gracias!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! It's great to see you made the most of our discounted food and 2-for-1 drink offers in our Belushi's bar. It's the least we can do for our guests. Next one's on us ; )

97%

Love this place. Too much fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for letting us know : ) Come back any time for more!

100%

This was my second stay here and it was just as wonderful as the first time. This hostel is great for location, meeting people, atmosphere, and much more. I would recommend if you want a great stay in Barcelona. It's close to La rambla and clubs within this area and not too far from the beach. I love this chain !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your review. Great to see you enjoyed yourself here : ) It was great to see that you made the most of our central location. We know how important it is to be right in the heart of all the action in the city. All the best,

94%

This hostel was great value for money, easy to get to from the airport (one bus) and close to the metro station for easy city access. You are literally 2 minutes from las ramblas the main part of town. Clean and safe facilities, no complaints, with exception of no real kitchen but no need when food is so cheap and delicious close by! Will definitely recommend to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, It’s great to see that you felt safe and secure in our hostel. Like many big cities, Barcelona often gets a bad rep, but we’re glad that you were able to see past that. Thanks for writing and see you next time

74%

The large female dorm was filthy, and the bathroom only cleaned after 9pm each night. The shower stall was so small my arms knocked against the sides whilst I washed my hair. Not impressed! Other than that, the place was fairly standard. Staff were ordinary; location and security was excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to get back to us. We really appreciate your feedback and we will certainly be using your comments to develop and improve our services and facilities for the benefit our future guests. We hire an external housekeeping company and have passed on your comments to their management. We have an overnight cleaner who attends all the shared facilities around the clock so it's quite unusual something was overlooked. Nevertheless we'll be sure to look into it. Thanks again

83%

fun bar on the first level giant hostel so a little hard being a single traveler but I made friends nonetheless right in the heart of all the fun walking distance to every great place to see and have fun clean rooms and big lockers under the beds not great wifi but not terrible breakfast was eh but it's free so you can't really complain overall cool place to stay in the center of the city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We´re really pleased to see that you made fiends quickly in our Belushi´s bar. We always encourage solo travelers to join our daily welcome meeting so they can take advantage of some free tapas and sangria and meet other travelers, Thanks for writing,

91%

We had a very pleasant stay at St. Christopher's- so much so that we extended our stay. The hostel is very clean and Eco friendly. It is good value for money with its excellent buffet breakfast. The only complaint is the lack of fresh air in the upstairs dorms... Can't imagine what it's like in the summer!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was good of you to write to us, and an important issue you've raised, Regarding the ventilation we are sorry to hear of your discomfort. We usually ask the housekeeping team to do an additional airing out the rooms if any happen to get at all stuffy, but unfortunately Spanish health and safety and noise pollution laws prevents us from being able to leave them open around the clock. Our staff are always ready to help so we hope you came down to the front desk for a chat. Thanks again

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(131 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback