X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Berlin Reviews

Rosa-Luxemburg-Strasse 39-41, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5298 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very nice hostel, great free breakfast. Clean and safe.


74%

If the staff could be a lot more happy, then it would have been a great stay.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

it was a big deception. I always habe been hosted in st christopher hostels, but the berlin's one is really awfull. First of all they dont have wifi in the rooms!! The reception is a mess! It is not separated from the bar as in the other st cristophers, it is all together and plp in the reception also work in the bar. We arrived at 8pm and they were broadcasting a game, it was impossible to move with the luggage inside. Very very desapointing!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The stay in St. Christopher's was very good. The hostel is literally in front of the subway station. The staff is very nice and helping, the dorms have curtains in the beds, individual power outlets and lights, the showers are nice. Overall, a very nice stay!


89%

We had a double room which was so clean and there was no noise from the bar downstairs. Bathroom was lovely with hairdryer provided. We also had a huge kitchen and lounge area which we only shared with 2 others. It's right by the tube and only 1 stop from Alexanderplatz. Really good value for money.


94%

This hostel was absolutely great! Within walking distance of the main attractions. Loved the breakfast! The staff was really nice, everything was clean. Really appreciated the privacy curtains in the 12 bed dorm! Would definitely recommend!


83%

Very nice and good hostel, good location, not for you if your not into staying at a party hostel.


80%

Good security much better than Baxbax downtown

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The WCs and showers were rather dirty, the rooms were ok.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The noisy bar/receptions is perfect for those who want to party and meet people, but if you want some relaxing days maybe this is not your best option. The tip is: the 16 beds dormitory is much more comfortable then the 10 beds dormitory and provides you good structure to have a little bit privacy (nice large lockers, courting, etc.). So I definitely don't recommend the 10 beds dormitory. And the breakfast is pretty good, if you consider is already included in such a chip price.


89%

Its a nice hostel, rooms are clean and good, quiet for sleeping, I liked the fact of having a privacy courtin on the bed in the 12 mixed dorm, lobby is a bar which is noisy all day and crowded sometimes at night, reception should be away from the bar. Free wifi works ok on bar, lobby and common room, but doesnt work on the rooms. Free breakfast is a killer I really enjoyed it. Location very good close to city center and just by the metro station, very convenient. Good value for money,recommended


80%

Everything was great including "free" breakfast! But the bar has advertised daily offers to which we a group of 9 people had to fight for the bar to accept and acknowledge the offer. Later that evening we had drinks and the same bar server served us giving us very cut-down drinks. we didnt say a word to him or management but rather left to another place! Sad but true!

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Breakfast is amazing - well worth it. The reception is in the bar which means it is loud ALL the time, but rooms are very quiet as not near the bar. Wifi only works in the bar area which is annoying as the bar is loud and you can't exactly think straight when needing to book onward journeys or research. Rooms are nice and bright and quiet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. We are looking into getting WIFI in all the rooms. Enjoy your onwards travels.

80%

One of the best chain hostels that I've stayed in, suprisingly homely feel that you normally only get in independant hostels. Bar was great with cheap good food (plus hostellers discount). Staff friendly :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for review, we like to think we are The Best Hostel Chain, Glad you enjoyed it. Safe onward travels

74%

More like a pub with rooms than an hostel with a bar and common room... I didn't like the fact that they made me change room (2 night in one room, and 2 night in an other one) because they need the place for a group of people. The lockers on the first room were to small, but were perfect in the second room. Everything else was ok (clean bathroom, free breakfast, location near the center, ...)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking time to give us a review. Sometimes we get groups who book out whole rooms. We try and keep moment to a minimum. Sorry for your inconvenience. Enjoy your onward travels.

69%

The reception area is one end of the bar, so it can get a bit rowdy at night. The 6-bed female room didn't have its own bathroom, there was one private bathroom with a shower shared by 2 of these 6-bed female rooms & you have access to the unisex showers. The lobby/bar area is busy at any hour so it is difficult to find seating for meals. The free breakfast is very limited. Wifi is only in the bar/chill areas, not the rooms. Fun vibe--met some awesome travelers! Good location RIGHT at metro stop

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for giving us a review. Yes we do have a lively bar, where our guests get to meet locals in a friendly atmosphere.Our free breakfast includes 3 different cereals, bread rolls 2 different meats, cheese, fresh fruit, toast & jam, tea and coffee. We also have a cook breakfast available for a small charge. Our WIFI is only available in the bar area at the moment, but we are looking into getting it in the rooms as that is what people asked for. Enjoy your onward travels.

94%

Great place to stay, clean, handy for u bahn, staff great. Got loads of help from Brian who work with the bar staff and sorted us out with great places and clubs to check out! Would stay again no problem

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the great review.

60%

Surprised and annoyed the hostel was located within a bar. The "lounge" is in the upstairs area of the bar, so not a quiet place to lounge & plan at the end of an evening. The wifi was down during our whole stay, which I know can happen, but when travelling in an unfamilar country & you specifically choose a hostel with wifi, it was quite upsetting it wasn't fixed in a timely manner. Only 1 female shower was working, so had to use the unisex showers, which sucked. 1 good note, room was nice.

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking time to give us a review. The wifi issue took longer to repair as we where waiting on parts. All up and working again. Showers are all sorted now too, hope you enjoy your onward travels.

66%

I had the worst experience with their wifi connection. I rely on internet to do work so when a place claims they have wifi, I expect it to work. I had to go elsewhere and spend money on restaurants and coffee shops in the city in order to be connected. Not a good experience at all. The staff was not helpful at all and had little to no patience with everybody in the hostel. The facilities are average and the building is quite old. If you need wifi while traveling, this is not the place for you.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback