X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Berlin Reviews

Rosa-Luxemburg-Strasse 39-41, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6220 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Had really good and clean facilities, even privacy curtains for each bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! We are pleased that you had a great stay with us! Our cleaners take great pride in their work and we will be sure to pass on your feedback. It's good to read that you also enjoyed our POD dorms, they provide added privacy for guests, which is important when sharing with more travellers. We hope to see you again soon!

94%

Awesome stay. Thanks for the upgrade!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking some time to leave us a review, it's great to read that you enjoyed your self with us in Berlin. Have fun on the rest of your travels!

60%

There was a smell of cigarette smoke in the corridors and as this is a non-smoking hostel, I find this could be controlled better. Location is good, staff could be a bit more serious.

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! Our hostel is perfectly located with the city centre just moments away. We have strict house rules, which include no smoking in the rooms. When someone is caught, they can be fined and asked to leave the hostel. These rules are in place for the comfort of fellow travellers but most importantly because it is the law. When these instances occur, our cleaners work very hard to get rid of the smokey smell, we are sorry you had to endure this. Travel Safe!

100%

The staff was very helpful and the facilities were clean, I loved this hostal... too bad I was only there for a night. I also liked that the metro was right in front of the hostal! Loved my stay and really recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the excellent review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will be sure to pass on your praise to the staff, they work very hard to continually deliver our high standard of customer service and generate a fun atmosphere for travellers! We are very well connected with the rest of Berlin with Rosa-Luxemburg Platz train station just outside our front door, the perfect base for avid travellers! Be sure to visit us again soon!

97%

Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our great location, we really are the perfect base for anyone wanting to have the full Berlin Experience! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

97%

Really good hostel, amazing facilities to meet new people. Staff were all very helpful too

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our bar creates the perfect atmosphere for fellow travelers to meet and make new friends, and our work very hard to help guests get the most out of their Berlin experience. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

94%

it was a good surprise to know we had breakfast included.!😀

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Berlin and took advantage of our free continental breakfast. We have recently added muesli and yogurt to our many offerings available to guests and all for free. Enjoy the rest of your travels and be sure to stop by again soon!

91%

Everything was good except that all but one of the male showers on my floor was out of order when I was there, and the one that was working gave about 2 seconds of water (not exaggerating) every time you pushed button. But other than that it was the typical St. Christopher's experience, which is pretty decent.


89%

When we arrived the hostel we we're very well received by Ugo (one of the staff members). The hostel is really to close to city center, so you can walk everywhere if you want. The toilets were very clean and the rooms were quiet so you can rest as you wish. Downstairs there's a bar and restaurant that belong to the hostel, that are also open to the public, which give you opportunity to meet new people. When we returning to Berlin we will definitely return there again!!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! We are sure Ugo will appreciate the recognition. Our hostel is perfectly located with the Berlin city centre just minutes by foot, we know how important it is to be right in the heart of the action. The friendly staff and awesome discounts in the bar and restaurant ensure guests have a fun filled Berlin experience! We look forward to your next visit!

91%

Curtained beds: excellent!! The bar downstairs was great and a lot of fun (especially during the champions league finals!!). Luggage storage (before check in/after check out) is not free, unfortunately. Location was good. Short walk from Alexanderplatz, which is easily accessible from all over the city. Walkable to all the main downtown sites. We had really obnoxious, inconsiderate roommates, but that wasn't the hostel's fault. Staff was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us a review! The pod beds are awesome, offering extra privacy whilst staying in a large dorm, can make all the difference. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the Champions League Final with us, it was such a fun and energetic atmosphere! We show most live sport matches down in the bar, it is nice that travelling sports fans do not miss the important games while abroad. We look forward to your next visit!

83%

Key card for room. Drawer padlocked for bag. Curtains on beds for privacy. Showers nice - esp. on 1st floor i think. Free breakfast. Good location too :) Looked a bit dodgy at first with bar underneath, lift was dodge and the street looked shady but was actually fine. It was a good hostel - and staff are nice. Happy with it :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us a review, it is always good to read that guests have had an awesome stay! A big part of Berlin's appeal is that some parts of the city are quite dated and hold such historical significance, sometimes this charm can be mistaken for 'shadiness', but we can assure our guests that our location in the city centre is perfectly safe. Our bar downstairs creates the perfect atmosphere for guests to start their Berlin adventures. Visit us again soon!

74%

Bed set up is great and free breakfast is a definite plus! Bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner but overall a great stay for the price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the set up of the beds and rooms! Our cleaners work around the clock so it is quite disappointing to read that you experienced the bathrooms to not be up to our regular standard, we apologise for this occurrence. Our free breakfast is a great way to start the day, with such a large variety of offerings such as toast, meats, cheeses, cereals, muesli, yogurt fruit and juices! We wish you all the best for the remainder of your trip!

91%

The only problem was that some showers wasn't working and that there is no kitchen. It's a nice place with a bar with great hamburguers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments.During your stay we were in the process of renovating some of our showers and bathrooms, we apologise for any inconvenience caused while these bathrooms were out of order. It's great to hear you enjoyed the food, we will pass on your compliments to the chefs. While we do not have guest kitchen facilities, we do offer our guests awesome discounts on all food in our bars, we understand that when travelling on a budget, every little bit helps! Enjoy your travels!

97%

One of the best stays i've had. Good hostel, good price. Great atmosphere. St Christopher's has never dissapointed, but this is prolly the best one yet...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. It is great to hear that you had an awesome time with us. We work very hard to consistently offer our high St. Christopher's standard in all of our many locations across Europe and The UK. We hope to see you again soon, enjoy the rest of your travels!

100%

I had a wonderful time at St. Christopher's! It's located right next to a convenient metro stop but also close enough to things that you can easily walk. I met a lot of cool people through the hostel as well. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us a fabulous review! We are happy you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, taking advantage of our super location, so close to many of Berlin's main attractions and activities. Our bar is a great base for fellow travellers to meet and with the discounts offered to our guests, a great night out does not break the budget! We hope to see you again soon.

91%

They were overbooked and arranged an upgrade for me at the Circus Hostel. That was excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review. It is unfortunate you were unable to stay with us on this occasion, when these difficult situations occur our staff go above and beyond to make sure the guests have nothing to stress about. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

89%

Great place to stay. Good location and the bar is great value and lively. We were threatened to be thrown out of the hostel due to noise and drinking in the room which is when we left to go out to avoid any trouble however very strange for this in a hostel as the reason to staying in a hostel is to socialise and have a good time. No complaints were made by the other guests, but just by the management. When we arrive we were not told not to drink in the room.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, to cater for all guests and keep everyone happy we have some house rules in place, these are available on the notice boards and also inside the rooms (including no drinking in the rooms). This allows the guests who want peace and quite to rest, but we do encourage our livelier guests to come and party with us in our bar downstairs! We offer discounts and extended happy hours also. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

97%

This is an absolute perfect place to stay. No where else will you find the value for your money than here including all the amenities that you could need. It is in a great location with an U-Bahn stop directly outside the door and most people who stay are international. The apartments are fantastic, especially if you are planning a longer stay; includes a fully equipped kitchen. The only downside is having the reception in the bar but other than that, would highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for recommending us! It's nice to see you enjoyed your stay, taking advantage of our central location, with easy connections to almost everywhere in Berlin! Our recent renovations to reception make it easier for our staff to offer our high standard of St. Christopher's customer service. We hope you visit us again soon!

80%

My stay was ok. Didn't like the bartenders' attitude though. I liked the lockers room idea.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are interested in learning more about your comments and have sent a private message to get a better understanding of the matter. We aim to provide the guests high standard of customer service in a fun environment and if this was not the case then we need to get to the bottom of it. We hope you return to Berlin and choose to stay with us again, or take advantage of some of our many locations across Europe!

91%

Breakfast is very good. The hostel includes a pub and it's obviously rich as Croesus so the standard is quite high. Dorms were clean but not enough plug sockets. Had to ask three staff members over two days for a multiplug until the last guy biffed off and found us one in half a minute. Berlin is massive so location is quite subjective. I loved it. There were lots of great, interesting shops around, a farmer's market and a great little cinema. Very nice area.


(142 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback