Hostelworld.com

St Christopher's Camden

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2,824 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2,824 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
St Christopher's Camden Located at 48-50 Camden High Street, Camden NW1, London.
St Christopher's Camden
England
London 48-50 Camden High Street, Camden NW1
83% 2824
51.5359788 -0.1397323
St Christopher's Camden
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Apr 2016
8.6

About what I expect from a St Christophers! Clean, secure but always with the pub life (got sat on in my sleep by a biker) but that's hostel living for you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey, thank you for such a great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us . We hope that you visit us again and maybe this time you will have a drink with our lovely staff :P Camden team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
6.0

Biggest downfalls were cleanliness (saw a couple of cockroaches) and the location. The closest tube stop is in Zone 2 not 1 (where all the main things to see are) so it costs more to tube. Also, the bar at night is super loud so if you're looking to go to bed early I wouldn't stay here. Overall though nice staff and fine hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey, we are sorry for issue with cleanliness, we got guys from pets company to help. Camden is located in Zone 2 but in 10 minutes you can get to British Museum or Piccadilly Square by bus. Thank you for kind words about the staff, we appreciate it. We hope that did not affected you to stay with St Christopher Inn in future. Camden staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2016
5.7

Very disappointing. This hostel is on a noisy street above a noisy pub. There is no real common area for the guests, just the pub which was typically full with no seats. There is only one mini fridge for the whole hostel. The showers were so so hot it hurt and there was no way to adjust the temperature. Please fix this and the noisy metal cage locker. Positives: Friendly staff, good location, decent breakfast.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
9.7

Only stayed one night but had a great time. Cool atmosphere, everything was super cheap and the staff were really friendly. Only downside was the really loud guy snoring in my room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We are so happy you had a great time in our hostel. We pride ourselves on being great value for money and are glad you agree. We will pass on your kind words to the staff. We do provide free ear plugs at our 24 hour reception. Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2016
5.7

I arrived at midnight to the Hostel on a Thursday night, the downstairs bar was almost empty but they were playing pop club music so loud it was very off putting. The staff were quite vague (I think they were new though). I was in a 6bed mix dorm. The room was tiny, the beds had no bed light and the sink was in the room which was a little strange. also the shower door did not lock properly and the room smelt like beer. The toilets were not great either.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review with us. We are sorry to hear our hostel was not up to your expectations. We will be installing individual power-points for every bed in the coming months. This will include a UK socket, EU socket, USB and a reading light. The installation however does take time so we appreciate your patience. If you ever have a problem with the door not locking properly a member of our 24 hour staff will be able to assist. We are sorry to hear our staff came across in that way, we are always willing to make your stay as enjoyable and easy-going as possible. We hope this will not affect you staying with us again in the future, we wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
8.6

Daaaamn daniel (scott) you fine!! Amazing hostel - comfortable beds, large lockers, great bar, really nice staff and very social vibes. Would definitely stay again! The pub crawls are great fun too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review! We are so glad you had the best time at our hostel. We pride ourselves on having a great social atmosphere and are happy to know you appreciated this. The pub crawl is certainly lots of fun. We hope to see you again. Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.9

A really great hostel, good location, nice staff. I sadly had my laptop stolen there, so remember to bring a padlock. You never know who you're sharing a room with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review with us, we really do appreciate it. We are so glad that you enjoyed our awesome location and our friendly staff. We are sorry to hear that your laptop was stolen. We sells padlock at our 24 hour reception that can be used with the cages in the dorms for safe storage. We also provide lockers for the valuables of our guests. We take the security of our guest's belongings very seriously which is why we encourage our guests to use these facilities. Again we are sorry to hear your laptop was stolen. We hope this will not affect you staying with us again.

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
10.0

I was apprehensive when I arrived at the hostel because there was a boxing match on in the pub, and it was heaving. It was also VERY noisy, but the bouncer at the door was the kindest and sweetest man. The young lady in charge, and the young man who served breakfast were both delightful, helpful and professional. It was a very pleasant experience for me. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We really appreciate your kind words and are happy to know that our staff looked after you. We are so glad you had an awesome experience. We love having guests like you in our hostel. Safe travels and see you next time!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.9

I've stayed at this property many times before - and also reviewed it - but I have to say that it's the best accommodation of its kind in the area. £14 per night during Easter midweek was great value for money. One of the few things which I'd love to see change here, is the type of locker in use beneath resident's beds. The wheels rumble along the wooden floor, the cage doors creak quite loudly and people generally struggle with their locks which create a loud clanking noise. Great otherwise

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are happy to know you find us the best accommodation in our area and great value for money. We really appreciate that. We are sorry to hear you do not find the cages easy to use. We find that they are the best way to store our guests' luggage without cluttering the room. However we will look into improving how they roll along the floor. We hope to see you again next time!

24th Mar 2016
5.4

The staff was Nice and helpful but the hostel is really not the best. There's only one shower for the whole room which is inconvenient. They have a rug inside the shower room that gets wet and when you step on it is disgusting. The breakfast was acceptable however they put out some jam that looked like already expired. Finally the room itself was not too bad but it had a window that faced the street and you can pretty much listen to everything happening outside. Not good for delicate sleepers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review We will pass on your kind words to our staff. We are sorry to hear some aspects of our hostel were not up to your expectations. We are a lively hostel with an awesome location on Camden High Street. Of a Friday or Saturday night some of the noise from the street does drift up to the rooms. We are so close to restaurants, shops and pubs however. Free ear plugs are available at reception 24 hours if you are concerned about the noise. Cleanliness of the dorms and bathrooms is our priority. The hostel is cleaned thoroughly everyday. The shower mats are washed daily. If something is not up to standard a member of staff is happy to help 24 hours, please let us know. We offer a free continental breakfast every day including juices, coffee, tea, toast, cheese, ham, cereals, yogurt and fruit. All of our foods expiry dates are checked daily. We hope this will not affect you staying with us again and we wish you safe travels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.