X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Camden Reviews

48-50 Camden High Street, Camden NW1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2618 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Wifi didn't work in the rooms. Free laundry was great. Didn't try breakfast as it ended too soon. Our room for 8 people was small and the lockers were kind of dented. Location was good and staff was pretty nice and helpful, especially the cleaners. The layout was weird for a hostel as it was a small building and everything was stacked on each floor.


69%

Perfect location and the heart of London, nice staff, laud noise specially weekends as it's literally a pup, Clean place, clean beds, clean bathrooms, medium safety due to the pup and a lot of drunks around, poor breakfast but okay

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thank you for review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The most of our guests love the fact that we are situated right in the heart of all the action in Camden. We apologise about noise, unfortunately on Friday nd Saturday night we have live music in our bar. Our reception desk provide free earplugs for those of our guests who are particularly light sleepers. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel Camden Team

89%

the chill zone is one of the smaller rooms out all st Christopher in london and they had problem with heating down there which made it quite hot , but the staff are very friendly , helpful made my stay very enjoyable definitely when i back in London i would stay there again the with access to Camden market and Camden lock all with with walking distant make perfect place stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thank you for review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our chiil out room will be refresh in a few weaks. All time our staff try to do our best to give our guests a great time. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel happy travels Camden Team

97%

Since we arrived at 9am there weren't any rooms available but they showed us to a "chill-out" room. immediately I could sense the climate amongst the staff, friendly and helpful. We were able to get ready for the day downstairs and store our luggage so we could head outThe beds were clean, comfortable pillows and comforters. Throughout our stay the staff greeted us with warm smiles and were happy to help. They also had great deals for guests that were staying there, drinks and food!

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review! Your kind words are very much appreciated. Thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and let them know. All time our guys try to do our best to give our guests a great time in our site. Hope see you next time. camden team

77%

Great location, great staff! Generally clean and comfy. The bathrooms, however, reek of urine. Overall I definitely recommend it though. Great deals at the bar and on food for guests too!


100%

Great location! Having a bar in the hostel is always fantastic!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your review, they mean a great deal to us. We live in a great location and there is always so much going on so you never get bored. Glad you enjoyed our bar we always have a great time Happy travels St Christopher's team, Camden

100%

Amazing staff. Awesome breakfast. This place rules. Definitely recommend to friend

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the awesome review, we are really happy you enjoy our place as much as we do. We have a great breakfast and try to offer our guests a good selection to set you up for the day ahead. Hope to see you again The Team St Christopher's Camden

69%

Staff wasn't firendly but wasn't friendly either. Not a hostel to meet people (they have a bar basically inside the hostel)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are really sorry that you didn't find the staff friendly, we usually always have great staff reviews and they always try their very best to make friends with our guests. if you would like to email us with more information we will look into it for you. We have a chill out room which many of our guests use to meet other travelers such as yourself, we hope this does not put you off staying with us in the future Happy and safe travels St Christopher's team

100%

I stayed here for 1 night and was really glad i chose St Christopher's. It was really great value for money and the free breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice, you could even upgrade to a cooked breakfast for a small charge! I was amazed that they didn't charge for use of laundry machines which is great for backpackers. IThe bar downstairs was very cool and the staff were really friendly! I was sad that i was only able to spend one night here but will come back again, for sure.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We really appreciate you taking the time to review us. So happy that you really enjoyed your time with us! We think we offer a great service for travelers and our amazing free breakfast always gets the thumbs up. We know how difficult it is when you are traveling so offering free laundry is the least we can do Happy traveling St Chris Team, Camden

100%

Great hostel with an awesome atmosphere and the best staff. Will definitely recommend to my friends

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, So glad that you enjoyed your time with us, we hope that you decide to stay with us again at some point. Safe travels Camden team

91%

great place, great people!! It is a young and cool place where you will feel as at home! Really known in the area.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for your comments, we take them on board. Very glad that you had a great time here Camden Team

71%

It's far from the center but you can arrive there with one bus or in subway. The room was ok and it had private bathroom. I disliked that I didn't have my own room key and I had always to wait for some one of the staff to open my room and the breakfast wasn't so good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Firstly we would like to make apologies about the room key, we had some real issues with our system for few days and we did everything we could to minimize the trouble to our guests, unfortunately it was out of our control. It is all back up and running again and we sorted it as soon as we possibly could. Apologies you didn't find our breakfast to your satisfaction, most of our guests enjoy the wide selection we offer but we understand not everyone enjoys continental.

77%

Great value for money, even though it's above a pub, I couldn't really hear the music, however it is central London so the roads and underground can be loud up until 11ish, something I had to get used to but you can't complain for the price. Breakfast is very basic but it will get you started for the day. Definitely great for a short stay, worth the money!

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We really appreciate your review and are grateful you took the time to leave us one. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. We try to offer our guests the best free breakfast and we always have a good selection. If you can think of anything that we could have added please feel free to email us your thoughts Happy traveling St Christopher's Team, Camden

57%

It was so dirty - Ive never ever see a hostel dirty like this one. I rather used public toilettes than those in the hostel. Simply disgusting. It smelled in the floor and rooms and there was in the toilette as well - and this just after a guy walked through it to clean it. I wondered what he actually did there cause obviously he wasnt cleaning a thing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, Thank you for taking the time for leaving us a review. We apologise about the cleanliness, our housekeeping clean rooms and bathrooms every day. 3 weeks ago we painted all ceilings in bathrooms. In short time we are doing also renovation works in bathrooms. We hope this does not put you off staying with us in the future Happy travels Camden team

91%

Thanks very much, one of the best hostel than I ever been but just to help to improve your service: You have to clean the public toilet bins more often, I been in two of toilets on the corridor and both had the toilet litter full. Didn't look very nice but I think was just after a busy day! Anyway was a very nice experience, I will recommend sure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We really appreciate you taking the time to review us. So happy that you really enjoyed your time with us! We apologise about the cleanliness, our housekeeping clean rooms and bathrooms every day. Thank you for information about bins, we will be using your comments to develop and improve our services for the benefit our guests. We hope that you will come back to visit us soon. Camden team

43%

When I arrived there was only one girl of the staff on all the hostel, and she was serving in the hostel's pub, apparently, the pub's clients are more important than the hostel's guest. The location is really far to the center, however there are a lot of party around the hostel during night. Really noisy at night, it isn't good election if you want sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time for leaving us a review. At first we would apologies that you that you didn't find the staff helpfull, we usually have great staff reviews. Unfortunately our site doesn't have separate reception so our staff need to serve also bar customers. We hope this does not put you off staying with us in the future Happy and safe travels St Christopher's team

74%

I and my boyfriend stayed in a 6 bed dormitory with bathroom. The room was good, but it has only a shower, the toilet is outside the room and you have to share it with other rooms. The shower isn't very good, you have to press a buttom to water flows and you cannot control the temperature. I didn''t have any problems with noise of the pub that, by the way, it is nice and cheap. The staff is very helpful and nice. It is a good hostel, but it needs some improvements.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time for leaving us a review. Thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and let them know. We are sorry you didn't like our shower unfortunately press button is the safest. In short time we are doing also renovation works in bathrooms. We provide 25% discount on food at the bar and discounts for drinks. We hope that you will come back to visit us soon in refresh hostel. Camden team

46%

O hostel é em cima de um bar, portanto sextas e sábados impossível dormir antes das 3 da manhã. Chuveiro com água temperatura ambiente ou seja não tome banho pela manhã pois a água é extremamente gelada. Fiquei numa beliche que quando eu me movia fazia barulho. Só gostei msm da localização.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Obrigado por tomar o tempo para deixar -nos um comentário . A maioria dos nossos clientes adoram o fato de que estamos situados à direita no coração de toda a acção em Camden. Desculpe sobre o ruído , a nossa recepção Fornecer tampões gratuitos para aqueles de nossos clientes que têm sono leve PARTICULAR . Esperamos que este não colocar-te ficar com a gente no futuro Feliz viagens e seguros Camden team

80%

It is very well run hostel and kept clean and secure. The bed was also comfortable and the breakfast was a nice bonus. . The only restriction was 1 shower and wc in the room which was restrictive. I think there should be a larger space for chilling out in a quiet space. However I do recognize that space is at a premium in Camden and it would be difficult to extend

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for your comments, we really appreciate all of them. We think our breakfast is the best with a great selection to choose from. Unfortunately with limited space we are unable to extend bathroom size but we make the most of what we have! Hopefully you will come and visit us again Happy traveling Camden Team

51%

The location is just perfect, I love Camden. It's a good area to be at, plus the metro station is 3-5 mins from the hostel. Now, the service and facilities leave much to be desired (at least, for the price you're charged for). I had booked a few nights there but when I arrived I was told I needed to change rooms and pay for a locker because I had to check out to switch rooms. Very moody, unkind and unhelpful staff at the front specially a blonde girl whose English was difficult to understand :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time for leaving us a review. We do apologize that your stay with us was not very positive. Sorry that you didn't find the staff friendly, we usually have great staff reviews. We apologise that you had to change rooms, sometimes is impossible to allocate guest in one bed for all stay. We hope this does not put you off staying with us in the future Happy travels St Christopher's team

« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback