X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Camden Reviews

48-50 Camden High Street, Camden NW1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2631 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Love the breakfast! The location couldn't be better, too.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Really great place, except for their horrible WiFi. You can only surf the web, all other ports are blocked and it's REALLY Slow!


91%

Friendly staff, amazing location!

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. The most of our guest love the fact that we are situated right in the heart of all attractions in Camden. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel happy travels Camden Team

83%

Great location close to Camden Town tube station. Felt very safe. Not too much noise. Great price. Free wi-fi!

Owner Comment (Hide)
heya, Thank you for review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to see that you felt safe in our hostel. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel Camden Team

77%

The locked cages are awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear that you like locked cages. Until next time, safe travels! Camden team

80%

The wifi was terrible, pretty much non-existent in the rooms. Had to go up to McDonalds to get a decent signal. Also, no kitchen facilities was a drawback for me. Even if there was a sink and a microwave, that would be great but there was only a kettle, but no cups. Not sure if I'll go back. Apart from the excellent location, nothing really makes me want to book in again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thank you for leave us review, We are sorry that your stay with us was not very positive or what you had anticipated. Unfortunately we have really small building and we do not have space for kitchen. We are sorry for problems with wifi, we are trying to fix it. we hope this does not put you off staying with us in the future. Happy travels St Christopher's team

86%

Wifi didn't work in the rooms. Free laundry was great. Didn't try breakfast as it ended too soon. Our room for 8 people was small and the lockers were kind of dented. Location was good and staff was pretty nice and helpful, especially the cleaners. The layout was weird for a hostel as it was a small building and everything was stacked on each floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thank you for review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We are happy that you like laundry :) Thank you for kind words about sfaff, we will make sure and let them know. All time our staff try to do our best to give our guests a great time. Unfortunately we have really small building and space is really limited. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel Camden Team

69%

Perfect location and the heart of London, nice staff, laud noise specially weekends as it's literally a pup, Clean place, clean beds, clean bathrooms, medium safety due to the pup and a lot of drunks around, poor breakfast but okay

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thank you for review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The most of our guests love the fact that we are situated right in the heart of all the action in Camden. We apologise about noise, unfortunately on Friday nd Saturday night we have live music in our bar. Our reception desk provide free earplugs for those of our guests who are particularly light sleepers. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel Camden Team

89%

the chill zone is one of the smaller rooms out all st Christopher in london and they had problem with heating down there which made it quite hot , but the staff are very friendly , helpful made my stay very enjoyable definitely when i back in London i would stay there again the with access to Camden market and Camden lock all with with walking distant make perfect place stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thank you for review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our chiil out room will be refresh in a few weaks. All time our staff try to do our best to give our guests a great time. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel happy travels Camden Team

74%

Very basic bunk beds with metallic cage lockers underneath. Near the camden market, so it's easy to get cheap food and tour around the market. Short distance from metro station. Decent bar with friendly staff on the first floor, but was noisy on my first night there.


97%

Since we arrived at 9am there weren't any rooms available but they showed us to a "chill-out" room. immediately I could sense the climate amongst the staff, friendly and helpful. We were able to get ready for the day downstairs and store our luggage so we could head outThe beds were clean, comfortable pillows and comforters. Throughout our stay the staff greeted us with warm smiles and were happy to help. They also had great deals for guests that were staying there, drinks and food!

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review! Your kind words are very much appreciated. Thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and let them know. All time our guys try to do our best to give our guests a great time in our site. Hope see you next time. camden team

77%

Great location, great staff! Generally clean and comfy. The bathrooms, however, reek of urine. Overall I definitely recommend it though. Great deals at the bar and on food for guests too!


100%

Great location! Having a bar in the hostel is always fantastic!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your review, they mean a great deal to us. We live in a great location and there is always so much going on so you never get bored. Glad you enjoyed our bar we always have a great time Happy travels St Christopher's team, Camden

100%

Amazing staff. Awesome breakfast. This place rules. Definitely recommend to friend

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the awesome review, we are really happy you enjoy our place as much as we do. We have a great breakfast and try to offer our guests a good selection to set you up for the day ahead. Hope to see you again The Team St Christopher's Camden

69%

Staff wasn't firendly but wasn't friendly either. Not a hostel to meet people (they have a bar basically inside the hostel)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are really sorry that you didn't find the staff friendly, we usually always have great staff reviews and they always try their very best to make friends with our guests. if you would like to email us with more information we will look into it for you. We have a chill out room which many of our guests use to meet other travelers such as yourself, we hope this does not put you off staying with us in the future Happy and safe travels St Christopher's team

100%

I stayed here for 1 night and was really glad i chose St Christopher's. It was really great value for money and the free breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice, you could even upgrade to a cooked breakfast for a small charge! I was amazed that they didn't charge for use of laundry machines which is great for backpackers. IThe bar downstairs was very cool and the staff were really friendly! I was sad that i was only able to spend one night here but will come back again, for sure.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We really appreciate you taking the time to review us. So happy that you really enjoyed your time with us! We think we offer a great service for travelers and our amazing free breakfast always gets the thumbs up. We know how difficult it is when you are traveling so offering free laundry is the least we can do Happy traveling St Chris Team, Camden

100%

Great hostel with an awesome atmosphere and the best staff. Will definitely recommend to my friends

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, So glad that you enjoyed your time with us, we hope that you decide to stay with us again at some point. Safe travels Camden team

91%

great place, great people!! It is a young and cool place where you will feel as at home! Really known in the area.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for your comments, we take them on board. Very glad that you had a great time here Camden Team

71%

It's far from the center but you can arrive there with one bus or in subway. The room was ok and it had private bathroom. I disliked that I didn't have my own room key and I had always to wait for some one of the staff to open my room and the breakfast wasn't so good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Firstly we would like to make apologies about the room key, we had some real issues with our system for few days and we did everything we could to minimize the trouble to our guests, unfortunately it was out of our control. It is all back up and running again and we sorted it as soon as we possibly could. Apologies you didn't find our breakfast to your satisfaction, most of our guests enjoy the wide selection we offer but we understand not everyone enjoys continental.

77%

Great value for money, even though it's above a pub, I couldn't really hear the music, however it is central London so the roads and underground can be loud up until 11ish, something I had to get used to but you can't complain for the price. Breakfast is very basic but it will get you started for the day. Definitely great for a short stay, worth the money!

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We really appreciate your review and are grateful you took the time to leave us one. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. We try to offer our guests the best free breakfast and we always have a good selection. If you can think of anything that we could have added please feel free to email us your thoughts Happy traveling St Christopher's Team, Camden

« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback