X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Camden Reviews

48-50 Camden High Street, Camden NW1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2775 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The location of this hostel is excellent. However, that's about the only awesome thing about this hostel. I had paid for four nights, and after three sleepless ones decided to give it up and go and stay with a friend. Unfortunately the location directly above a High St pub full of young partygoers and local "characters" means that it's ridiculously loud and my room 8 bed was vibrating to the frequency of Craig David... If you're young and don't need sleep then it's great but otherwise avoid!

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The floors could do with some nails in them as they are super creaky. And it would have been nice to have some paper towels in the bathroom. But the location and staff were fantastic.


74%

You need outlets at every bed. 2 sets of outlets for a ten bed room is not enough. Alex and Steven were great. The blonde lady? Not so much.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location and spacious room. Large lockers underneath bed were a bonus and staff were always helpful


94%

Loved the downstairs 'chill out' room but really disappointed there was no sink to wash our own dishes (the ones down there were always dirty)...

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The location was superb and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. On a busy Saturday night I left my key card in my room and one of the friendly bar staff walked me to my room and let me in to get it. The next night I bought a lock set for my luggage but misplaced the keys while I was traveling so at 5:30am Stephen helped me get a maintence worked to get my bags open which was an absolute lifesaver! I highly recommend this hostel for location and staff alone but the food was also great!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good accommodation, warm room, comfortable beds, nice staff.

  • 17th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, we are really happy that you enjoyed stay in our site. We are glad to have regular customers like you. We are looking forward to see you again. Safe travels Camden staff

74%

Needs a better kitchen/cooking area, but a good breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thank you for take time to live us a review. Unfortunately we have small building and no space for the bigger kitchen, we provide discount for food and drinks at the bar. We hope that did not affect your stay with us again. Safe travels Camden team

83%

The staff was very nice, thank you Ella. The hostel itself needed a bit of improvement. Definitely needs a fridge! Beds are ok, bathroom very warm, that is a plus. Location is great in Camden. There is everything you need nearby. Breakfast was very good. I will come back

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thank you for taking time to live us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for kind words about the staff, we let Ella know :). We are changing our hostel- Did you seen our chiil out room? ! It is awesome! Unfortunately for all good things we need a little bit of time so please visit us again soon, you will see the different. Safe travels Camden happy team

91%

Best ever hostel in London!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you :) you made our day :) St Christopher's Inn staff

80%

Nice hostel, spoilt by having live, loud music on in the bar below the rooms. Also taped music is on until midnight, starting at 8.30am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We apologies for the noise, we are party hostel and we hope that our guest love party too. We just love rock'n'roll :) Hope to see you again. St Christopher's Inn

74%

Hostel was fine and provided exactly what it said it would. No surprises good or bad, great area for Camden markets!

Owner Comment (Hide)
heya, thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to see you again. Happy Camden staff

77%

My only complaint would be that my key card stopped working literally everyday and walking up and down the stairs to get a new one became a bit tedious, they were very kind about fixing it each time but still. When the weekend rolled around my quiet Swedish roommates checked out and were replaced by rowdy, drunken Irishmen, which isn't so much a problem, as that sometimes happens with hostels; however the baldy in the bunk below me tried to steal my beanie which I wasn't so keen on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thanks for the feedback, we appreciate all comments. We are glad that you had fun in our site. Apologies for the key problems. We fixed it and hopefully will be much better. happy travels and see you again. Camden staff

69%

Nice staff! Not a bad place to stay if you're just there to sleep! wasnt totally comfortable with the security for my things, but didn't have any negative experiences! Area is great and the bar is lively!

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I found it really basic and not up to the same standard as St.Christophers at the Winston in Amsterdam. The shower wasn't great, really small and not warm or adjustable, locker under the bed was fine but no plugs in bunks or shelves. Really basic, bed, good blanket and pillow but nothing else to write home about. Staff were friendly but I'm general as far as hostels go I've stayed in better for less money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great the you enjoyed the facilities in Amsterdam, and some of our London hostels have also had this feature put in but unfortunately not us yet. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! Camden team

74%

Friendly, but needs cooking and a fridge to keep milk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately our hostel is small and we do not have space for kitchen, but we will have small fridge in our 'Garage'. We hope this not affect your stay with us. safe travels Camden Team

100%

I was initially concerned about cleanliness and staff issues after reading some of the reviews but liked the idea of staying in Camden. On arrival I was welcomed warmly and given suggestions of nearby attractions and shows. It was the best backpackers I stayed in during my trip to London. The staff were all especially fantastic. Excellent all round.

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All the best with the rest of your travels! :) Camden team

80%

Was a great location with very helpful and friendly staff. Cheap drinks and food in the bar downstairs were great. Very expensive over the weekend but that was likely due to the rugby. I gave average security as people had belonging stolen from my dorm on my first and last night. But I'd still definitely recommend this hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya, We are glad you had an awesome time with us, and of course we will look forward to seeing you again. Unfortuately that kind of situation happen in share accomodation, we provide 100% safe lockers down stairs and padlocks for lockers in rooms. Hopefully that will not happen again. Thanks for your feedback Safe traveling Camden Crew

83%

Secure environment with lock up cages in dorms. Om,y problem in our dorm was you nearly got burnt to death in the shower each morning. There appeared to be no adjusting mechanism. Great staff, particularly Simon, Greg and the lady's name who I've temporarily forgotten. Sorry about that. Meals from bar area were good and reasonably priced. Only a 10 min walk from Camden Town Station with lots of supermarkets and shops close for anyone needing test type of thing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review, we are all very happy you enjoyed your time with us. Apologies for the water temperature, we have had maintenance in to check this out and is fixed now. Feel free to visit us again! Happy Travels Camden Team

77%

28€/night-well you can get a better deal in London (But small breakfast&wifi is included) Shower was fine - I got a bed right next to the window>great view>Camden *_* >great location btw:) Locker for everyone under the bed (but you need your own lock) Staff extremely friendly-you defiantly feel @ home there-Storage of luggage between £2-3 depending on size of locker (or for free if you trust people) -Nice common room+let me shower before check in! Would I come back? Sure, but also check others:)

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heeeey, thank you for review, we really appreciate all guests comments and it helps us improve all the time. Thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and let them know. All time our staff try to do our best to give our guests a great time. Really pleased you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again at some point Happy Travelling Camden Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback