X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Camden Reviews

48-50 Camden High Street, Camden NW1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2646 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Two words: FREE. LAUNDRY. Definitely enough to win any long term backpacker over. This is a really great place above an awesome bar where guests get good discounts. The hostel was very clean and staff were always friendly and helpful. Probably the best place I've stayed in London.


100%

Great staff at the bar/ reception area - ideal location on camden high street - short walk to Camden Tube station. Good chilled/friendly atmosphere in the bar main area - I will come again!

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comments, we really appreciate them. Its nice to know that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again Camden Team

94%

As i said earlier, I had no hassle with the hostel. I checked in at 2300 and checkout at 0400 without a problem, the music and ambiance of the bar were welcome and the ensuite room beckoned my sleep. Friendly people in and out of the place, a coin locker useful and working good, my only worry is that i didn't manage to stay for breakfast or have a pint and a bit to eat before being on my way. WIll come back!

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ooh you must try and visit us again sometime for a beer and a bite to eat. We like to enjoy ourselves with our guests so we hope that you choose to come back and see us in the future. Cheers for your lovely review Camden Team

71%

Set up of the hostel was cool. The bar downstairs and the people who work there were awesome. Wifi not great and charging room was extremely warm. Also the laundry services were extremely unclean and we opted not to use. Many travelers live at the hostel two weeks on and two weeks off and they were disrespectful to other guests.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We really value our guest comments so thankyou for taking the time to leave them for us. We have a 2 week maximum policy at the hostel so that we do not have long term guests getting too comfortable. All of our guests are important to us and we take steps to resolve anyone being disrespectful to others! Apologies if you found the laundry area unclean, housekeeping clean this area daily but guests are free to use the rest of the time. Happy travelling Team Camden

80%

Good party atmosphere, friendly staff, value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Cheers for your review We do like to party and we have just launched our Cavern at the back of the bar to host live music nights which looks and sounds amazing. You should come back again and enjoy one of our live music nights with us Safe Travels St Christopher's Team at Camden

97%

Friendly staff, very clean beds, friendly people. Got to know most people I can across. Mostly 20-25 guests, some older folk. Close to northern line, a few km from downtown london.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, We appreciate your review, it makes us very happy when we have satisfied guests. We hope to see you again. Let us know you have been here before and we will give you are free shot at the bar Happy Travels Camden Team

71%

Fairly good hostel, good location to Camden market...clean, basic. Not good social environment


74%

I stayed here before and decided to come back as I had a nice time last time. This time I opted for a smaller room and it actually felt a bit more cramped than the larger room I was in previously with more beds. The only downside was the check in process as the bar was packed and the two staff were focussed only serving them that it took nearly 10 minutes to get their attention.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thankyou so much for your review, we really appreciate them. Apologies for your wait at check in time. At times we can get unexpectedly busy and try our very best to deal with guests asap. We do hope that you choose to visit us again and we will give you a free shot for your trouble this time around. Just let us know who you are on arrival Happy travelling Camden Team

80%

Typical London hostel above a bar, Belushis which is super cool to hang out with locals. Room was good and breakfast was nothing special but did the job. I didn't like that you can't control the water temperature in the shower and that the toilet flush almost didn't work. The ventilation shafts across the bathroom are extremely loud and very annoying and most people in my room where complaining. Bring ear plugs! All in all a nice hostel and I will stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We thankyou for your comments, they helps us a lot. We are glad you had a nice time with us. Apologies for the water temp, we have had maintenance look into the issue. We do have free ear plugs at reception for those who wish them. We will look forward to you coming back again, let us know and we will give you a free shot at the bar Take care Camden Team

89%

Overall this hostel was really good! Super fun location with lots of pubs and markets. Also you may think it's far from everything, like the big sites, but it's only about an hour walk. Breakfast was good but ended kind of early if you wanted to sleep in. Everything was clean enough, shower kinda sucked though. They have really good deals on the food and drinks in the bar there and the food was good. I would definitely stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thank you for review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.The most of our guest loved the fact that we are situated near to all attractions in Camden. We are happy that you like our free breakfast. Hope see you next time. Safe travel Camden team

89%

Love the breakfast! The location couldn't be better, too.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It's awesome to hear good feedback about our location and breakfast. It really does mean a lot. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon! There is no place like Camden! :)

89%

Really great place, except for their horrible WiFi. You can only surf the web, all other ports are blocked and it's REALLY Slow!


91%

Friendly staff, amazing location!

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. The most of our guest love the fact that we are situated right in the heart of all attractions in Camden. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel happy travels Camden Team

83%

Great location close to Camden Town tube station. Felt very safe. Not too much noise. Great price. Free wi-fi!

Owner Comment (Hide)
heya, Thank you for review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to see that you felt safe in our hostel. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel Camden Team

83%

Great location in Camden! Bathrooms need attention but it was clean and comfy and safe and breaky was great!


77%

The locked cages are awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear that you like locked cages. Until next time, safe travels! Camden team

80%

The wifi was terrible, pretty much non-existent in the rooms. Had to go up to McDonalds to get a decent signal. Also, no kitchen facilities was a drawback for me. Even if there was a sink and a microwave, that would be great but there was only a kettle, but no cups. Not sure if I'll go back. Apart from the excellent location, nothing really makes me want to book in again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thank you for leave us review, We are sorry that your stay with us was not very positive or what you had anticipated. Unfortunately we have really small building and we do not have space for kitchen. We are sorry for problems with wifi, we are trying to fix it. we hope this does not put you off staying with us in the future. Happy travels St Christopher's team

86%

Wifi didn't work in the rooms. Free laundry was great. Didn't try breakfast as it ended too soon. Our room for 8 people was small and the lockers were kind of dented. Location was good and staff was pretty nice and helpful, especially the cleaners. The layout was weird for a hostel as it was a small building and everything was stacked on each floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thank you for review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We are happy that you like laundry :) Thank you for kind words about sfaff, we will make sure and let them know. All time our staff try to do our best to give our guests a great time. Unfortunately we have really small building and space is really limited. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel Camden Team

69%

Perfect location and the heart of London, nice staff, laud noise specially weekends as it's literally a pup, Clean place, clean beds, clean bathrooms, medium safety due to the pup and a lot of drunks around, poor breakfast but okay

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thank you for review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The most of our guests love the fact that we are situated right in the heart of all the action in Camden. We apologise about noise, unfortunately on Friday nd Saturday night we have live music in our bar. Our reception desk provide free earplugs for those of our guests who are particularly light sleepers. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel Camden Team

89%

the chill zone is one of the smaller rooms out all st Christopher in london and they had problem with heating down there which made it quite hot , but the staff are very friendly , helpful made my stay very enjoyable definitely when i back in London i would stay there again the with access to Camden market and Camden lock all with with walking distant make perfect place stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thank you for review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our chiil out room will be refresh in a few weaks. All time our staff try to do our best to give our guests a great time. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in our hostel happy travels Camden Team

« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback