X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Camden Reviews

48-50 Camden High Street, Camden NW1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2631 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

It was so dirty - Ive never ever see a hostel dirty like this one. I rather used public toilettes than those in the hostel. Simply disgusting. It smelled in the floor and rooms and there was in the toilette as well - and this just after a guy walked through it to clean it. I wondered what he actually did there cause obviously he wasnt cleaning a thing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, Thank you for taking the time for leaving us a review. We apologise about the cleanliness, our housekeeping clean rooms and bathrooms every day. 3 weeks ago we painted all ceilings in bathrooms. In short time we are doing also renovation works in bathrooms. We hope this does not put you off staying with us in the future Happy travels Camden team

91%

Thanks very much, one of the best hostel than I ever been but just to help to improve your service: You have to clean the public toilet bins more often, I been in two of toilets on the corridor and both had the toilet litter full. Didn't look very nice but I think was just after a busy day! Anyway was a very nice experience, I will recommend sure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We really appreciate you taking the time to review us. So happy that you really enjoyed your time with us! We apologise about the cleanliness, our housekeeping clean rooms and bathrooms every day. Thank you for information about bins, we will be using your comments to develop and improve our services for the benefit our guests. We hope that you will come back to visit us soon. Camden team

43%

When I arrived there was only one girl of the staff on all the hostel, and she was serving in the hostel's pub, apparently, the pub's clients are more important than the hostel's guest. The location is really far to the center, however there are a lot of party around the hostel during night. Really noisy at night, it isn't good election if you want sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time for leaving us a review. At first we would apologies that you that you didn't find the staff helpfull, we usually have great staff reviews. Unfortunately our site doesn't have separate reception so our staff need to serve also bar customers. We hope this does not put you off staying with us in the future Happy and safe travels St Christopher's team

74%

I and my boyfriend stayed in a 6 bed dormitory with bathroom. The room was good, but it has only a shower, the toilet is outside the room and you have to share it with other rooms. The shower isn't very good, you have to press a buttom to water flows and you cannot control the temperature. I didn''t have any problems with noise of the pub that, by the way, it is nice and cheap. The staff is very helpful and nice. It is a good hostel, but it needs some improvements.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time for leaving us a review. Thank you for the kind words about the staff, we will make sure and let them know. We are sorry you didn't like our shower unfortunately press button is the safest. In short time we are doing also renovation works in bathrooms. We provide 25% discount on food at the bar and discounts for drinks. We hope that you will come back to visit us soon in refresh hostel. Camden team

46%

O hostel é em cima de um bar, portanto sextas e sábados impossível dormir antes das 3 da manhã. Chuveiro com água temperatura ambiente ou seja não tome banho pela manhã pois a água é extremamente gelada. Fiquei numa beliche que quando eu me movia fazia barulho. Só gostei msm da localização.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Obrigado por tomar o tempo para deixar -nos um comentário . A maioria dos nossos clientes adoram o fato de que estamos situados à direita no coração de toda a acção em Camden. Desculpe sobre o ruído , a nossa recepção Fornecer tampões gratuitos para aqueles de nossos clientes que têm sono leve PARTICULAR . Esperamos que este não colocar-te ficar com a gente no futuro Feliz viagens e seguros Camden team

80%

It is very well run hostel and kept clean and secure. The bed was also comfortable and the breakfast was a nice bonus. . The only restriction was 1 shower and wc in the room which was restrictive. I think there should be a larger space for chilling out in a quiet space. However I do recognize that space is at a premium in Camden and it would be difficult to extend

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for your comments, we really appreciate all of them. We think our breakfast is the best with a great selection to choose from. Unfortunately with limited space we are unable to extend bathroom size but we make the most of what we have! Hopefully you will come and visit us again Happy traveling Camden Team

51%

The location is just perfect, I love Camden. It's a good area to be at, plus the metro station is 3-5 mins from the hostel. Now, the service and facilities leave much to be desired (at least, for the price you're charged for). I had booked a few nights there but when I arrived I was told I needed to change rooms and pay for a locker because I had to check out to switch rooms. Very moody, unkind and unhelpful staff at the front specially a blonde girl whose English was difficult to understand :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time for leaving us a review. We do apologize that your stay with us was not very positive. Sorry that you didn't find the staff friendly, we usually have great staff reviews. We apologise that you had to change rooms, sometimes is impossible to allocate guest in one bed for all stay. We hope this does not put you off staying with us in the future Happy travels St Christopher's team

89%

This guys are amazing! the most lovely staff I ever met.


91%

This was a brilliant hostel, great value for the money. The hostel is attached to a pub, which is very lively in its own right. Hostel customers get deals on drink and food. The hostel was safe - bring a padlock and you can lock your stuff in a cage under your bed. Really hip and trendy area of London. Very convenient for Camden Market and Horse Tunnel Market.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review! Your kind words are very much appreciated. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. The most of our guests love the fact that we are situated right in the heart of all the action in Camden. We hope that you will come back to visit us soon. Camden team

69%

I've stayed in two St. Christopher's brand hostels and have been pretty unimpressed both times. Nothing terrible but nothing very good either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thank you for review. We do apologize that your stay with us was not very positives. if you would like to email us with more information we will look into it for you. All time our staff try to do our best to give our guests a great time. We hope this does not put you off staying with us in the future Happy travels St Christopher's team

89%

Very friendly staff. Lively bar down stairs. FREE laundry facilities downstairs including iron and ironing board! Great location just a two minute walk from Mornington Crescent Tube station. Cheap - well it was when I went. Plenty of entertainment on site and advice in order to enjoy all that London has to offer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thank you for such a great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. Your kind words are very much appreciated. Our international staff love their jobs and they always try to help if they can. We are happy that you liked our free facilities. The most of our guests love the fact that we are situated right in the heart of all the action in Camden. Hope to see you again. SCInn Camden team

97%

Nice place to stay for backpackers, with Belushi's bar on the ground floor and live music. Clean enough for this kind of travels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, So glad that you enjoyed your time with us, we hope that you decide to stay with us again at some point. Safe travels Camden team

89%

This is my favourite hostel in London at the moment. The room was nice- and the bar is very cool. The chill out room is quite small, so if you don't fancy spending time in the bar it's quite limiting- still, a great hostel in a great location.


74%

This definitely isn't the hostel to come to if you are a single traveller. The common room is in the basement and smelled a little odd so no one hung out down there. The bar attached to the hostel has good food and decent prices for beer, especially since you get a discount for staying at the hostel. They showed the NFL games on Sunday, so that definitely made me a happy traveller!


60%

The day of my arrival, my booking was changed from a 6bed all female room in St. Christopher's Camden to an 8bed mixed dorm at their Village location. It's not an ideal situation for a solo female traveller coming off a 9.5 hr flight. Needless to say, I went with it and the village location is a bit more lively with the camden location more suited to an older crowd. At both locations, you got the bare basics and I wouldn't say they were clean, but it's cheap. Wifi was iffy too.


91%

It's a lovely place with pleasant atmosphere with live music in the bar. Clean and warm place in heart of Camden, however the room at the main road side is quite noisy. I really liked the separate shower room for the room but I missed a kitchen to make at least a cup of tea in the afternoon. It's a good place in average.


1 2 Next » last »
(36 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback