Hostelworld.com

St Christopher's Edinburgh

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Feb 2017
8.0

Very good! I just disappointed because was some floors repairs due on the day that we arrive until very late. They finished about 21:30 or even later. The food wasn't good too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We have recently had some new flooring laid and appreciate your patience while the floors were being worked on. Disappointing you did not enjoy the food. Thanks again for the review

  • Harry12
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.9

Very social with great atmosphere, even in the off season. A pub crawl every night, two restaurant/bars, a chill out room, and free laundry (though admittedly only 2 washers and 2 dryers is not enough for such a big hostel) plus an absolutely fantastic location. There is not much more you could ask for!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for this AMAZING review! As a staff we really appreciated your point of view, we all hope to see you again in Edinburgh! All the best! Staff.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Best hostel i've stayed in so far!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome review! Hope to see you back here sometime. Chur :D

8th Feb 2017
8.6

This hostel is pretty decent. It's in a good location on the edge of the old town, where you can easily go sightseeing, but also go shopping,etc in new town. It isn't the cleanest hostel, but the beds are comfy and private with curtains, so the fact there is a lot of people to a room doesn't matter too much. Their laundry facilities are great. My only complaint is that the shower would go from boiling hot to freezing cold interchangeably, so it was a dance to wash in the between temps.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.0

Great place and location ! The airport bus, the Everly train station were SO close. And the hostel itself was so close to Northbridge and The Royal Mile. Most attractions were within 15minutes walking distance, Arthurs seat, the castle, the Palace, Scotts Monument, St Giles Cathedral etc. The common room was cool to chill, however would suggest more lighting, to read ;) . All in all, good hostel, will recommend . Staff were polite , especially the guy from Poland. Keep up the good work !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments really pleasing you enjoyed your stay and Polish staff made a great impression. Thanks heaps!

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

The location of this place is absolutely fantastic. Just beside the Waverly Station and round the corner one would be able to get to the Royal Mile either by the many closes or just following the main road. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. With a sports bar and a live band bar, one will be able to find get drink anytime.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback! Really pleased you enjoyed yourself. Much love from the Edinburgh team :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
9.7

Awesome staff and great vibe. Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for the review. Awesome you enjoyed yourself and we would love for you to stay again! Chur

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
9.4

The bathrooms of the room were quite dirty and so the toilets. And downstairs, 2 of the three toilets were not working Apart from that it was really good and everything was excellent!! Thanks for all and be sure I'll recomend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all comments as they help us to monitor and improve our hostel. All of our bathrooms in every room are cleaned thoroughly every day and our communal bathrooms 3 times a day, however sometimes people use the bathroom straight afterwards which can lead to them being dirty again. We are currently looking at a new system to clean the bathrooms in the rooms even more regularly. We are so glad to hear that overall you really enjoyed your stay with us. Edinburgh is a very unique city and we always try our best to make sure our guests get to enjoy as much as they can of the city during their stay with us. Safe travels, hopefully we see you again some time soon! :) The Edinburgh team

25th Jan 2017
8.0

On the pro side... perfect location (very close to train station, old town and all the sights), very nice and helpful stuff. On the con... rooms are tiny and cramped (first time I saw 3 bed bunks in a hostel), super loud. When I stayed there the hostel was full of 18 year olds getting drunk 24/7. Moved after one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments really appreciate the feedback. Unfortunate you encountered some noisy guests during your stay. Glads you made the most of the location and staff were friendly! Thanks again

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
21st Jan 2017
6.3

Dirty bathrooms/toilets and rooms are cramped - bunks are 3 high. No nice social space, wouldn't stay here again. Nice staff though St Christophers in Barcelona was 500x better, would reccommend that one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review appreciate the feedback. Very disappointing you were not satisfied with your toilets/room. Guests usually use our chill out room in the 1st floor as social space, we hope that you still had a good time exploring our beautiful city and enjoy the rest of your travels - thanks again from the whole Edinburgh team!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.