X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4349 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

friendly staff - meals have got smaller over the years


71%

The location to the train station and last airport bus stop was fantastic, and the staff were very friendly, but my duvet had blonde hair alll over it (I am not blonde!) and the shower flooded the bathroom whenever it was used, and the lockers are small so you can't fit a decent sized bag in them, but overall is a good place.


74%

Staff were friendly, rooms were cleaned. breakfast was included in the price.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

I had a good experience, I'd like the staff to be more friendly and customer- focused. the reception is such a small place. The restaurant must be cleaned on regular basis so it is nice to sit to enjoy breakfast.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice stuff, great location ,excellent atmosphere

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Only good location. Only one staff for doing everything. Very dirty hotel. No wifi. in the room. Common area is in the bar which is very noisy area. Lift is very slow.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry you had issues with your stay. Wifi in the rooms is something we are working towards in the near future. Hope you enjoyed Edinburgh and best of luck with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

57%

Only good location. It's one of the worst hostels I have ever been. Very dirty and stinky. Broken lift. Horrible laundry facilities. And again: VERY dirty!


94%

Great Experience, excellent Staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thanks very much for your kind review. So great to hear you had a good time. Hope to see you again soon and best of luck with your travels! Edinburgh Crew x

86%

Awsome location and facilities, staff helpful

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thanks for the kind review :) Glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon! Safe travels, Edinburgh Crew x

54%

Friendly staff and hostel in a central location. BUT: the rooms are so small; the floor and the toilets are little bit unclean (the toilets not smell well). My impression was that the pics on hostel's website were better than the reality. In case that I came back to Edinburgh I will try other hostel. But unfortunately I'm not sure about how different the others hostels are, in this historical city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to review us. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. The cleanliness of the hostel is something we are always striving to improve. We hope to have the opportunity to change your opinion of us in the future. Wishing you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

74%

The location is perfect. I just think it should exist a key to access the halls, and the guests should be instructed about silence rules. The hall dorm was just beside my bedroom (14) and the noise opening/closing annoyed my friends and I a little bit, besides people talking loud early in the morning... But the staff was very nice, the included breakfast was nice too. I surely recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thanks for your review. Sorry that there were some rowdy hostel guests that had a negative impact on your stay. I hope that you got some good rest afterwards and wishing you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

57%

The six bed room was much less than expected. On photos they don't show that you stay in a very small room with 3 bunk beds, a very small bathroom with toilet, only two electricity points in the entire room, the light in the room that does not work (have provided however another light lamp) and a window that is not possible to open. Location is amazing and staff friendly, but the other points are basically far from optimal.


80%

I generally enjoyed my stay but the room I had was quite damp and pretty hot as it was almost too small for 6 people. Fruthermore I couldn't get to my "locket-box" because it was blocked by another bed. Also sockets next to the bed would be fine. Apart from that it was fine.


60%

The hostel had a great location and nice staff, but the place was such a big mess! The wifi did not work except in the ground floor and even there only part of the time. I enjoyed my stay, but I think the prices are too high with these problems.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry you had problems with the wifi during your stay here. We are upgrading it so it works on all levels very soon. Prices are a lot higher in August for the festival so we are back to our normal prices now. I hope you enjoyed the Fringe and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team x

60%

Stayed during Edinburgh festival, second cheapest in town.... basic but good location, helpful staff. No kitchen, just a microwave. Mattresses looked a bit mouldy. Bathroom door was falling apart but was fixed promptly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. I am sorry there was an issue with your bathroom door but happy to hear it was fixed right away for you :) Hope you enjoyed your time and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

54%

I stayed there for 2 nights during the festival time (= only few beds, expensive prices) Good: nice bar with special prices for some drinks/food for hostel guests. Food was very delicious!! Elevator worked. Bad: The 12-bed-dorm in the 4th floor was dirty (dust everywhere), it smelld very bad and there was only one window that you could only open a little bit. Only 4 dirty showers and 3 (!!) toilets for the whole floor, mixed men and female. Party-people in many rooms - loud most of the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear you had some noisy people in your room. I know it's not the best fix but we offer free ear plugs in the reception for next time :) I'm glad you enjoyed the food/drink deals and hope you enjoyed Edinburgh Festival. Wishing you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team x

51%

The place is not fit for purpose, it needs a serious re-vamp at the very least. If a safety inspector spent 1 hour there I have no doubt that it would be shut down. Something I am seriously considering actioning. The price per room was astronomical for the value of the accommodation . At £45 per night I would at least want basic cleanliness and a degree of personal safety . The prices rocket in the fringe season – everyone does it - but this was easily the worst fringe experience I have had

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very sorry to hear about your experience. We have received your email regarding these issues and you will be contacted shortly. Kindest regards, St. Christopher's Team

60%

Best location, very run down, dirty and unloved. Hot water not always available (cheap water heaters), great bar, awesome staff, bad bar food, miniature and super slow lifts.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

was in a good location has a bar down stairs but i thought the price for hostel in a 8 bedroom dorm was a bit steep charging 40 pounds for a bed everything was above par so it was ok probably for that price thou


74%

The staff were absolutely lovely and the location was fantastic but my bedding was dirty & stained when i arrived. After I asked if this could be dealt with, only the pillowcases were changed. However, overall a great stay.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback