X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4615 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I had a nice stay, the hostel has an amazing location. I was disappointed to see the beds didnt have curtains like the one in Paris, and there was no bed light for each bed or plug to charge your phone. Also the bathrooms in my room were extremely smelly and dirty and the showers were too tiny


100%

Excellent location just in front of waverly station...cooperative n enthu staff....good quality food

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback on the hostel. We hope you find the time to stay with us again. Regards The Edinburgh team

94%

I arrived late so the 24hour reception was handy and nice and close to the train station which was good for me. Breakfast was pretty basic (cereal, a bit of canned fruit, toast, tea and coffee) but did the job. Off the Main Street of Edinburgh but still easy enough to get around the city. I really like the locker cages underneath the bed as they could fit whole bag in there and I could lock it securely.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel. We're so glad you had a great time here and we hope to see you back in the future! Kind regards, The Edinburgh Team

74%

Very comfy clean beds, I had an ensuite was good but a bit old looking. The public bathroom was quite dirty in the morning but maybe the cleaners hadn't started yet. Great location so close to the station and the city center. bar staff were really pleasant, one of the staff gave almost like a restaurant service (don't know her name though). Will stay there again.


80%

Quite a small St Christopher's Inn. Very Clean - would be great if there was Wifi in the rooms. Great location though, right next to the Waverley train station and easy to get in and out of town. The Chill out room is very small and become very crowded and hot. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and the rooms are really small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. We've taken your comments on board and will definitely look into the heating situation in the Chillout Room. Kind regards, The Edinburgh Team

100%

Just an ideal place for me to stay while travelling and a wonderful Belushi's bar with great food, beer and atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for staying with us! So glad to hear you had a great time. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, The Edinburgh Team

100%

Great hostel! Loved the free breakfast and luggage storage!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your review. Glad you had a fun stay , Regards The Edinburgh team

94%

I really enjoyed my stay at St. Christopher's. The train station is right across the street, the staff was helpful and friendly, and the facilities were great. The beds were very comfortable and I got a good nights rest. I also enjoyed the luggage storage cages under the beds and the luggage lockers in the common room so that you have a place to store your stuff before and after checking in or out. The restaurant attached to the hostel was good and I like that guests got discounts.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you so much for your feed back on the hostel. We are very happy to hear to had a great time in the hostel, hope you find the time to visit again. Regards The Edinburgh Team

100%

Next to main station and 50mtrs from where airpirt bua drops off.and right in middle of Edinburgh perfect location . Hostel is wesome. Check in was great. Loads of info... FREE breakfast wow !.... no kitchen but food in bar downstairs was awesome and you get discount . Live music at night was cool and not What a brilliant place.... edinurgh we love u .....

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to get back to us with your opinion of the hostel. We really hope you find the time to stay again. Regards The Edinburgh team

97%

St. Christophers was a great hostel. The rooms had bathrooms which were very clean. The location is great, just down from the Royal Mile so you are close to all the action, but don't need to worry about night time noise when you need rest. The only bad thing is you need to use wifi in the common room, it doesn't work in the bedrooms.


91%

Although the check-in is only after 2pm, it was great that we could put our stuff in lockers and hang out in the common room.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Arrived to friendly staff, great facilities and central location. The food at the bar was amazing! Met heaps of travel buddies in the common room and by far the best hostel ive stayed in. Cheers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the feedback on the hostel. We are happy to hear you had a great time, We hope to see you again . Regards The Edinburgh Team

74%

It's an OK hostel, but no the best in Edinburgh. Good points were that it was fairly clean, was in a good location and offers free breakfast. Find it odd that it doesn't have a kitchen - I thought all hostels did. There is a microwave in the chillout room, so all you can eat at this hostels are ready meals or meals served at their bar (which are still kinda pricey despite the guest discount. Social vibe isn't great here either if you're on your own.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the hostel. I am sorry about the kitchen , but the bar will always be happy to give you hot water, knifes, plates and any other things to make food. We hope you stay again. Regards The Edinburgh Team

100%

Great environment to stay in around Edinburgh. When I come back to Edinburgh, I will stay at thisplace again!

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review on the hostel. Happy to hear to had a good stay. Regards The Edinburgh Team

60%

The staff was pleasant enough, but not too great in the customer service side. Often times no one was at the front desk. I think the worst part of the stay was that the room smelled atrocious. The room (which was a double private ensuite bathroom) smelled of rotten fish and feces. The smell lingered no matter how well we ventilated the room. When we asked the desk about it they said there was nothing they could do. The free secure lockers were great however, and the location was fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feed back. Regarding the room I am investigating the issues mentioned so this does not happen again. I am very sorry this effected your stay and enjoyment. Regards The Edinburgh Team

80%

Great location, and staff! And good food at Belushi's. Note the wifi is only at reception and in the bar, it doesn't extend up to the rooms.


97%

absolutely loved this place! Such an amazing staff that was so helpful (and beautiful). Restaurant/bar was good and decently priced. Great location right next to royal mile. Great vibes throughout the hostel and everyone is really social, will definitely be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad you had a fun time here. I agree we are a good looking bunch, we look forward to your return visit. Regards The Edinburgh Team

74%

Breakfast area was cluttered, with hardly any clean plates, mugs, cutlery.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanking for leaving us a review on the hostel. Im very sorry the breakfast area the cluttered when you stayed, I promise to look in to this. Regards The Edinburgh Team

71%

The place is quite noisy at night as there is a night club next to it.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I understand that the city can be loud this is the down side of a central location. There is always free ear plugs at reception. Regards The Edinburgh Team

71%

Good location close to bus and train station and in the old town. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. No wifi in the rooms, no sockets next to upper beds, no kitchen, no computer for common use, breakfast lasts for 2 hours only making the area too crowded and running out of milk and toast early. Also a noisy place since there is a busy bar downstairs and lot of traffic on the street. Common area has very unconfy seats.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our hostel. I am very sorry that the hostel was not to your liking. I promise to look in to the points you have raised in your feed back. Regards The Edinburgh Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(94 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback