Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Christopher's Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5685 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5685 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel, great city, great experience. One of the most conveniently located sites I have ever stayed, the combination of a wonderful establishment and a city I fell in love with led to me extending my stay twice. Not only am I utterly certain that I will be returning to Edinburgh in the future, I cannot see me, circumstances allowing, staying anywhere else. The rooms, the breakfast, the staff, every facet of the experience was top drawer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
4.9

Paid for a 6 bed mixed dorm, private bathroom. Shower didn't work shower fuse kept blowing, hot water tab busted, room heater broken, lockers couldn't fit backpacks, very tight quarters. Overall great location

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time out of your trip to leave us a review, it really helps us to keep improving when we get to hear all of your comments. It is disappointing about the shower fuse needing switched a couple of times during your stay and that you weren't pleased with the heater on the first night however we are working on all issues raised and hopefully this didn't hinder your enjoyment of your time in our beautiful city! Safe travels from the Edinburgh team :)

15th Mar 2017
9.1

Great staff and belushis and jakes downstairs are great as well! Good food and drinks and nights at the bars. Also center to anywhere u need to go and right next to the waverly bus station and across from the Scot rail

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review and the great ratings! Hope we see you again! Staff.

15th Mar 2017
6.6

While there were a lot of things I liked about this hostel - free laundry, privacy curtains of the bunks, good location and the walking tour - I would never stay there again. The cleaning was half ass, there was trash in between the bunks and walls and mounds of dust that messed with my allergies so bad I ended up switch hostels because I was miserable the first few days. I watched the cleaning staff half ass clean the rooms and was so grossed out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - we really do appreciate any comments we can get in order to improve our services for future guests! All the best, Staff.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
8.0

Prime location, near city centre and near the train station so you're near all the sights,tours, pubs and restaurants! Staff is friendly, they were able to sort out a 2nd night for us and keep us in the same room and beds. As for facilities and security or other things, it's what you expect from a hostel so it's good enough to be satisfied, felt safe always. Overall, it's a great value especially of you book thru their website cuz you get free breakfast and possibly other deals or information.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for the review! Glad you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Mar 2017
10.0

Stayed in the 18 person dorm (biggest size ive stayed in yet) and was surprised by the fact that I would do it again, very good room and comfy bed. Pubcrawl next door is a blast, and hostel is in a perfect location. Showers have hot water (which after previous hostels is a big plus).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for this awesome review! Glad you enjoyed your accommodation and our pub crawl! All the best for you from our team! Staff.

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.0

Good place. Clean, no noise. Good internet, facilities and good staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
8.6

Great location Friendly staff Close to public transport

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, we hope to see you again! Staff.

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
7.4

The hostel is great for a hostel, but rooms are too small, which in a room with 15 people are a problem. Facilities are clean everyday and very well, but because of the number of guests, they were horrible at night time. No plug in toilets for hair dryer. Great ambiance with the 2 pubs underneath and the pub crawl. Very central, 2 min from the central station. Staff is not very informed, but they have free maps that you can take with you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - we really do appreciate any comments we can get in order to improve our services for future guests! It's disappointing that you didn't enjoy the 15 bed dorm room that you booked, it is a lot of people. We don't have wall sockets in the toilets for safety purposes, however there are plug sockets in all of the rooms and you're always free to use the chill-out room too. We do pride ourselves on our location and our pub crawl is always a hit so brilliant you decided to join us and party it up Edinburgh style! We hope that your large dorm did not hinder your enjoyment of this beautiful city and that you enjoy the rest of your travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
8.3

Perfect location, lovely staff, acceptable hygiene

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review really appreciate the positive comments. Big ups from the Edinburgh team would love to see you again :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.