Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Christopher's Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5830 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5830 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jun 2017
7.1

Staff were okay. Told me two different things regarding breakfast. No free lockers/space to store luggage for 2 hours, had to pay £3.50. Lift to get to upper floors. Great location, parallel to royal mile and 1 minute walk from Waverley station. Room was okay, with underbunk lockable storage but creeky bunks. Right above 2 pubs so can be loud

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
7.1

3 storey bunk bed made it impossible to even sit up.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2017
3.1

Triple bunk beds in very small crowded rooms made our stay very uncomfortable. The hostel is dirty and smells horrible. For £25 a night I expected better. I have stayed at st Christopher's hostels before and haven't had a problem but this one is disgraceful. Definitely would not recommend

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We appreciate your feedback and try to improve our hostel every single day. Did you know we also have private rooms and single & double ensuites? this might be a better fit for you:) If there is anything wrong the next time (if), we're here for you 24 hours a day:) Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Literally the ONLY thing about this place that wasn't perfect were the mattresses (a little hard) but the bunks were super private despite the large number of them in the rooms. The people were absolutely amazing!! We loved Edinburgh and we'll definitely be back to stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm so happy you enjoyed your time here!! I hope you have a great evening and I'm looking forward to seeing you again!:) Loves, Team St Christopher's EDI

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jun 2017
8.6

One-night stay, everything was ok, location is the strongest point

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
7.4

decent enough hostel, clean enough and extremely close to the train.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for the review - glad you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you back again soon :) Much love from the Edinburgh team!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jun 2017
6.9

Dorm was too full (not to mention the triple bunk beds). No kitchen. Chill out room was nearly disgusting. It claims to be a party hostel, that I do believe, but for other uses I wouldn't recomend it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here - we are in fact a party hostel and don't claim to be anything else! However thank you for your comments and we hope you still enjoyed your time here in Edinburgh :)

4th Jun 2017
6.3

I've stayed at st Christopher inns in other countries this one has absolutely no right calling itself a part of the chain. Horribly managed. Dirty. Like really dirty. The common room gets turned into a locker room. The lockers are a total nightmare. They charge for them and someone else could open them and take the stuff out. I saw it happen. Staff very friendly. Zero atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to write us some comments! It's disappointing that you didn't enjoy your stay here however it's great you found our staff friendly as we rate customer service extremely highly and hopefully your stay here didn't stop you from enjoying your time in Edinburgh! I can guarantee that our lockers are safe and the only way someone could access another persons is if they had ended their hire themself! These lockers are checked daily and we have CCTV in action 24/7 as well to ensure that everything stays secure. Thanks again and safe travels from the Edinburgh team.

  • mjgrockwell2161
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jun 2017
5.4

Stay here if you want to pay for amenities you don't get to use. Everything was broken. Private shower, the shared showers, shared toilets, private sink, and washer and dryer all broken for my entire 4 day stay. Absolute garbage. I will never stay in one of these again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey!:) I'm sorry to hear you have so many dislikes about our hostel. If there are any problems during your stay: we're at the reception 24/7 and always glad to help and find solutions. I do hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and have an amazing day! Loves, St Christopher's Team EDI

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
6.0

I wouldn't stay here again. When I stayed, there were multiple stag groups in the mixed dorms which was really disruptive. The kitchen isn't really a kitchen, just mini fridge/kettle/microwave, and you have to go to another floor and line up at the bar to get crockery and cutlery. The cost is excessive for little return - huge dorms, disrupted sleep, no kitchen, run down rooms, and having to pay to store luggage. There are other hostels in Edinburgh that are better value for money.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sad to here there are so many things you disliked about our hostel. For the next time maybe: we're at the reception 24 hours a day and if there is any problem we're here to fix them! We could search for solutions together:) How ever I do hope you made some great memories here and met some amazing people! Loves, St Christopher's Team EDI

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.