X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
4303 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

I stayed there for 2 nights during the festival time (= only few beds, expensive prices) Good: nice bar with special prices for some drinks/food for hostel guests. Food was very delicious!! Elevator worked. Bad: The 12-bed-dorm in the 4th floor was dirty (dust everywhere), it smelld very bad and there was only one window that you could only open a little bit. Only 4 dirty showers and 3 (!!) toilets for the whole floor, mixed men and female. Party-people in many rooms - loud most of the night.


51%

The place is not fit for purpose, it needs a serious re-vamp at the very least. If a safety inspector spent 1 hour there I have no doubt that it would be shut down. Something I am seriously considering actioning. The price per room was astronomical for the value of the accommodation . At £45 per night I would at least want basic cleanliness and a degree of personal safety . The prices rocket in the fringe season – everyone does it - but this was easily the worst fringe experience I have had

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very sorry to hear about your experience. We have received your email regarding these issues and you will be contacted shortly. Kindest regards, St. Christopher's Team

74%

The staff were absolutely lovely and the location was fantastic but my bedding was dirty & stained when i arrived. After I asked if this could be dealt with, only the pillowcases were changed. However, overall a great stay.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Hostel well situated. No nice central room when you can meet other travellers. Would not go back and would try to find a better hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry if you did not come across the chill out room, this is place where guests can sit on the couches, watch tv, relax and meet each other. Good to hear you liked the location and wishing you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

80%

We have spent a night in a four-bed dorm. Needed a place for the night and hostel served really well, we had no higher expectations. I would, however, reconsider staying here for longer than 2-3 nights. Pros: online checkin, included breakfast, no extra costs like tourist tax or charge sheets, central location. Cons: Stuffy rooms with no shelf space, dirty common toilet, smelly common room, wifi only in the social areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Thank you for your feedback both pros and cons. With out honest feedback we cannot improve our hostel. We have taken everything you have said on board and will be spending extra time in areas mentioned. Thank you again and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team x

63%

We stayed for three nights in a four-person girls suite during the time of Edinburgh Fringe Festival. Room was fine, hostel facilities were a little outdated especially the bathroom which had a single floor for shower and toilet. Spotted mold on the shower/bathroom wall. Would not use towels. No Wifi in the room, only in bar/front-desk downstairs or the Chill Out Room. On a more positive note, complimentary breakfast from 7-9 a.m. was very good. Location was also great, central.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Good to hear you enjoyed the free breakfast and our location. Wifi in the rooms is something we are certainly striving towards in the near future. I will look into your booking to see which bathroom you are referring to and have this dealt with right away. Hope you enjoyed Edinburgh and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

63%

My room was FAR TOO SMALL for ten beds/people. It was impossible to move around and often I had to queue to get my stuff out.. It was impossible to open two draws at the same time, imagine 6 as they were set!! No good! Also, the bathroom was filthy and no one came to clean it in the two days I stayed there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I was sorry to hear you had a few issues with your stay. The cleaners come into the rooms every day to empty bins and clean showers/floors. If cleaning was not up to standard I do apologize for this and we will look into improving. I hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and wish you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

60%

It is cheap but i have been in cleaner and better hostels for the same rates

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry the hostel cleanliness was not up to standard. It is something we are always striving to improve. I hope you enjoyed Edinburgh itself and wish you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

77%

My mattress was a little bit old and there were few power outlets in the room. No wifi at the rooms either. Location was very good, a few blocks away from the Royal Mile where all tours start, shops are, etc. The stuff girls were nice. Likely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. As the building is an older one we do not have a power point for all beds. We are more than happy to charge your phone, camera or laptop in the reception for you :) I hope everything else was ok and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

83%

A lovely small private room, but with no storage drawers or shelves. A small beside cabinet instead of the table or shelves in the cupboard would solve the problem. Otherwise an enjoyable stay although pricey.


86%

Excellent Location. Quite a large hostel with a nice bar underneath. Showers weren't the best but got the job done. Staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi only works in the chill out or bar areas not in the rooms unless your lucky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. All of your feedback is very valid and we are working on everything mentioned. The pressure is not a quick fix but we are hoping to have WIFI in all the rooms quite soon :) I hope you had a good time in Edinburgh and wishing you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

94%

Brilliant hostel if you are looking for a hassle free travel in Edinburgh. Breakfast can be improved though. Hostel had a weird lift.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. Our lift is a slow one but does the trick :) Hope everything else was ok and all the best with your travels! Edinburgh Crew x

89%

Great staff, great rooms with lockers for bags and enough power points (in the 4 bed dorm). Laundry was often full with the hostels own sheets but they allowed you to remove to do your own laundry. WiFi doesn't work everywhere. Common room not particularly social but is under going renovations. Great location easy walking distance to everything. Staff very informative and friendly


100%

This hostel is very conveniently located -only 2 minutes walk from the royal mile. The breakfast was basic but sufficient. Staff were friendly and helpful. The free walking tour promoted by the hostel was fantastic value for money. I would definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for you kind review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! All the best, Edinburgh Team x

57%

I'd expected it to be a partying hostel, though I'm not much of a party-goer myself. However, it was a bit dissapointing that the music was still audible with earbuds in. Also, the staff didn't tell or show me where the showers were, and once I found it, (it was in our room, but it was dark when I got there, so that;'s why |I had trouble finding it) it wasn't very clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. You booked an ensuite room which means the shower is in your room. I'm sorry you found the music loud, we aim to have all the music turned off at 12.30 so people who aren't in the party mode can still get a good nights sleep. Hope you enjoyed Edinburgh itself and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

46%

We did make the reservation for a family-room ten days in advance. When we called the day before to make shure the resevation is ok, they did not find us in the system. We had to send them a copy of the resevation on mail and then they told us, that now everything will be ok. When we arrived the day after, other people were in the room. Later, when we came back from the city, the room was open (not locked). The floor and the beds were very dirty. We had flea-bites after one night.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had issues with your stay. All of the things you have mentioned are taken very seriously. It is much easier for us to solve or compensate with these things if we are made aware at the time rather after. Please do not hesitate to contact me on jess.mccall@bedsandbars.com if you would like to discuss further. My sincere apologies again and all the best with you future travels. Jess

91%

The cafe on the ground floor is really good, and all the staff I met over the time were excellent - helpful, prompt, well presented, and always available to assist. The security was very good, probably the best I've seen. The cages under the bed are a good idea, but it would be good to have the top with a hinge in the middle as well so you don't have to pull the whole thing out to open it. Fantastic location for the rail/bus/metro and to the Royal Mile.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for you kind review :) So happy to hear you had a good time and we hope to see you again soon! Happy travels :) Edinburgh Crew x

71%

The place was decent in comparison to hostels we've been to (10 in the last two weeks). Breakfast was pretty decent just no where to sit The drink specials were non existent and the food specials weren't even available (sounds cheap but they advertise it hard and you can't get them)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you had a few issues with your stay. I know we did go through a short period where we were unable to obtain our beer special from the supplier and I think this may be what you are referring to. I'm sorry you had these experiences and I hope we have the opportunity to change your opinion of us in the future. All the best, Edinburgh Team

86%

its just outside train station and airport bus station is near, staff is so helpful as I forgot to book another night in the hostel and they immediately fix it, also help me on the online check-in for my flight! the room is ensuite and clean, hostel offers free breakfast and free wifi but wifi is only available in the common room and ground floor

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. I'm really happy to hear that our staff were able to assist you with your flight and extending your booking. Glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon :) Happy travels! Edinburgh Crew x

80%

This hostel's location is fabulous, right across the road from the train station. I was pretty happy with this hostel, it had a good vibe, how ever the bathrooms were always a little (or a lot) dirty and my locker under my bed was broken. I managed to work around it though. The staff were all really friendly, except for one girl who looked like she'd rather be anywhere but there. The breakfast was your average hostel fare. I'd recommend for the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our location. I'm sorry a member of our team let you down. We pride ourselves on our customer service so that is quite disappointing. I hope everything else was ok and wish you all the best with your holidays :) All the best, Edinburgh Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback