X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4329 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Friendly staff and hostel in a central location. BUT: the rooms are so small; the floor and the toilets are little bit unclean (the toilets not smell well). My impression was that the pics on hostel's website were better than the reality. In case that I came back to Edinburgh I will try other hostel. But unfortunately I'm not sure about how different the others hostels are, in this historical city.


74%

The location is perfect. I just think it should exist a key to access the halls, and the guests should be instructed about silence rules. The hall dorm was just beside my bedroom (14) and the noise opening/closing annoyed my friends and I a little bit, besides people talking loud early in the morning... But the staff was very nice, the included breakfast was nice too. I surely recommend it!


57%

The six bed room was much less than expected. On photos they don't show that you stay in a very small room with 3 bunk beds, a very small bathroom with toilet, only two electricity points in the entire room, the light in the room that does not work (have provided however another light lamp) and a window that is not possible to open. Location is amazing and staff friendly, but the other points are basically far from optimal.


80%

I generally enjoyed my stay but the room I had was quite damp and pretty hot as it was almost too small for 6 people. Fruthermore I couldn't get to my "locket-box" because it was blocked by another bed. Also sockets next to the bed would be fine. Apart from that it was fine.


60%

The hostel had a great location and nice staff, but the place was such a big mess! The wifi did not work except in the ground floor and even there only part of the time. I enjoyed my stay, but I think the prices are too high with these problems.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry you had problems with the wifi during your stay here. We are upgrading it so it works on all levels very soon. Prices are a lot higher in August for the festival so we are back to our normal prices now. I hope you enjoyed the Fringe and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team x

60%

Stayed during Edinburgh festival, second cheapest in town.... basic but good location, helpful staff. No kitchen, just a microwave. Mattresses looked a bit mouldy. Bathroom door was falling apart but was fixed promptly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. I am sorry there was an issue with your bathroom door but happy to hear it was fixed right away for you :) Hope you enjoyed your time and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

54%

I stayed there for 2 nights during the festival time (= only few beds, expensive prices) Good: nice bar with special prices for some drinks/food for hostel guests. Food was very delicious!! Elevator worked. Bad: The 12-bed-dorm in the 4th floor was dirty (dust everywhere), it smelld very bad and there was only one window that you could only open a little bit. Only 4 dirty showers and 3 (!!) toilets for the whole floor, mixed men and female. Party-people in many rooms - loud most of the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear you had some noisy people in your room. I know it's not the best fix but we offer free ear plugs in the reception for next time :) I'm glad you enjoyed the food/drink deals and hope you enjoyed Edinburgh Festival. Wishing you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team x

51%

The place is not fit for purpose, it needs a serious re-vamp at the very least. If a safety inspector spent 1 hour there I have no doubt that it would be shut down. Something I am seriously considering actioning. The price per room was astronomical for the value of the accommodation . At £45 per night I would at least want basic cleanliness and a degree of personal safety . The prices rocket in the fringe season – everyone does it - but this was easily the worst fringe experience I have had

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very sorry to hear about your experience. We have received your email regarding these issues and you will be contacted shortly. Kindest regards, St. Christopher's Team

60%

Best location, very run down, dirty and unloved. Hot water not always available (cheap water heaters), great bar, awesome staff, bad bar food, miniature and super slow lifts.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

was in a good location has a bar down stairs but i thought the price for hostel in a 8 bedroom dorm was a bit steep charging 40 pounds for a bed everything was above par so it was ok probably for that price thou


74%

The staff were absolutely lovely and the location was fantastic but my bedding was dirty & stained when i arrived. After I asked if this could be dealt with, only the pillowcases were changed. However, overall a great stay.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Hostel well situated. No nice central room when you can meet other travellers. Would not go back and would try to find a better hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry if you did not come across the chill out room, this is place where guests can sit on the couches, watch tv, relax and meet each other. Good to hear you liked the location and wishing you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

80%

We have spent a night in a four-bed dorm. Needed a place for the night and hostel served really well, we had no higher expectations. I would, however, reconsider staying here for longer than 2-3 nights. Pros: online checkin, included breakfast, no extra costs like tourist tax or charge sheets, central location. Cons: Stuffy rooms with no shelf space, dirty common toilet, smelly common room, wifi only in the social areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Thank you for your feedback both pros and cons. With out honest feedback we cannot improve our hostel. We have taken everything you have said on board and will be spending extra time in areas mentioned. Thank you again and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team x

63%

We stayed for three nights in a four-person girls suite during the time of Edinburgh Fringe Festival. Room was fine, hostel facilities were a little outdated especially the bathroom which had a single floor for shower and toilet. Spotted mold on the shower/bathroom wall. Would not use towels. No Wifi in the room, only in bar/front-desk downstairs or the Chill Out Room. On a more positive note, complimentary breakfast from 7-9 a.m. was very good. Location was also great, central.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Good to hear you enjoyed the free breakfast and our location. Wifi in the rooms is something we are certainly striving towards in the near future. I will look into your booking to see which bathroom you are referring to and have this dealt with right away. Hope you enjoyed Edinburgh and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

63%

My room was FAR TOO SMALL for ten beds/people. It was impossible to move around and often I had to queue to get my stuff out.. It was impossible to open two draws at the same time, imagine 6 as they were set!! No good! Also, the bathroom was filthy and no one came to clean it in the two days I stayed there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I was sorry to hear you had a few issues with your stay. The cleaners come into the rooms every day to empty bins and clean showers/floors. If cleaning was not up to standard I do apologize for this and we will look into improving. I hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and wish you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

69%

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. My only concern was security. The bar's customer toilet is located on the first floor of the hostel so anyone could easily walk in. These toilets apparently were also shared with guests and they were completely dirty, The day I arrived there was a homeless person wandering the first floor. Other than that was a positive experience and I would recommend other. Cheers!

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

It is cheap but i have been in cleaner and better hostels for the same rates

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry the hostel cleanliness was not up to standard. It is something we are always striving to improve. I hope you enjoyed Edinburgh itself and wish you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

77%

My mattress was a little bit old and there were few power outlets in the room. No wifi at the rooms either. Location was very good, a few blocks away from the Royal Mile where all tours start, shops are, etc. The stuff girls were nice. Likely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. As the building is an older one we do not have a power point for all beds. We are more than happy to charge your phone, camera or laptop in the reception for you :) I hope everything else was ok and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

83%

A lovely small private room, but with no storage drawers or shelves. A small beside cabinet instead of the table or shelves in the cupboard would solve the problem. Otherwise an enjoyable stay although pricey.


86%

Excellent Location. Quite a large hostel with a nice bar underneath. Showers weren't the best but got the job done. Staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi only works in the chill out or bar areas not in the rooms unless your lucky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. All of your feedback is very valid and we are working on everything mentioned. The pressure is not a quick fix but we are hoping to have WIFI in all the rooms quite soon :) I hope you had a good time in Edinburgh and wishing you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(83 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback