X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4275 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

I'd expected it to be a partying hostel, though I'm not much of a party-goer myself. However, it was a bit dissapointing that the music was still audible with earbuds in. Also, the staff didn't tell or show me where the showers were, and once I found it, (it was in our room, but it was dark when I got there, so that;'s why |I had trouble finding it) it wasn't very clean.


80%

This hostel's location is fabulous, right across the road from the train station. I was pretty happy with this hostel, it had a good vibe, how ever the bathrooms were always a little (or a lot) dirty and my locker under my bed was broken. I managed to work around it though. The staff were all really friendly, except for one girl who looked like she'd rather be anywhere but there. The breakfast was your average hostel fare. I'd recommend for the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our location. I'm sorry a member of our team let you down. We pride ourselves on our customer service so that is quite disappointing. I hope everything else was ok and wish you all the best with your holidays :) All the best, Edinburgh Team

91%

-perfect location; just in front of the Waverly railway station; airport shuttle 2 mins walk; attractions, restaurants, shops within walking distance; -extremely efficient, friendly staff

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you for your very kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed anything. We hope to see you again soon. All the best! :) Edinburgh Crew x

80%

Really good location, nice rooms, helpful staff :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you for your kind review :) Hope to see you again soon and all the best with your travels! Edinburgh Team

69%

I stayed in a full 8 bed dorm. Some people of that room went out and came back at 2:30am. For some reason a 9th. person managed to get in our room and had taken a bed that was already taken. She was in the wrong room, how is this possible if every room has a locked door and she was not let in by anybody? Therefore a bad night sleep as things needed to be rearranged in the middle of the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very sorry you had this issue with your stay. We run a strict one person per bed policy so this should never have happened although It can be difficult to monitor late at night. I hope your enjoyed Edinburgh and we wish you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew

86%

The Staff is amazing but the cold showers is something really bad. Although the price was great, so I cant complain more.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your kind review. I am sorry you had issues with your shower, It can be a problem and we are looking into ways of improving water pressure and temperature. I'm happy to hear you were still able to enjoy yourself in spite of this :) Hope to see you again soon! Edinburgh Team

86%

Great location! Nice staff! Awesome food in the bar! Reasonable priced drinks! It was also really close to the train station which made it easy to get to with our bags. I loved the old town and this hostel is located near by. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you so much for your awesome review :) We are really happy your had a good time. Be sure to pop in for a cheeky pint if your ever up this way again! :) Edinburgh Crew x

63%

We had a 6 bed dorm, and no one else arrived in the room so we had it to ourselves which was great!! However the swipe access to the floor didn't work all the time and you could just pull the door to enter. Not enough bathroom facilities and it was unisex. View outside window was of a garbage filled rooftop next door and staff on checkin seemed too busy talking about their social lives then giving good customer service! Stayed at budget backpackers post haggis tour.. Trumps this place!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I was very sorry to hear you had issues with your recent stay. Unfortunately the building next to us is run down and the roof is unstable so it would be dangerous to collect rubbish. Just for future reference, most of the dorm rooms have private bathrooms, and the difference in price is quite small so this may be a better option. I would like to apologise again and I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Edinburgh Crew

97%

The hostel was in a fantastic area and the staff were super helpful, especially when a small problem arose. They did everything in their power to help me out and fix the situation and I was extremely impressed. I would definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your kind review :) I'm really happy to hear we assisted you when a problem came about. I hope you enjoyed Edinburgh and wish you all the best with your travels. Hope to see you again soon! :) Edinburgh Crew x

97%

stayed 1 night in a private room with a splendid view of city, great location - close to airport bus/trains and coach terminal. i would stay here again. the only issue was no wifi in the bedrooms and the breakfast was average compared to other st christophers. overall i was satisfied and i enjoyed my stay

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed yourself :) We have now opened up breakfast in our second bar to provide more space at busy times and wifi in the rooms is definitely sometime we are striving towards in the near future. Wishing you all the best with your travels, Edinburgh Crew

91%

Great location. Room a bit hot. Love a free/ included breakfast, but really nowhere to sit, as served in the bar which is small.. but all in all, a good convenient stay :)


97%

Perfect, internet only on common areas but ypu can manage, its great even if there's a lot of people there....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your kind review :) Good to hear you had a good time and we hope to see you again soon! Edinburgh Team

86%

Nice hostal. The very big plus is the location of it, unbeatable. Should consider having wifi in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. We are most definitely looking into getting wifi in all of the rooms, hopefully we will have it by your next visit :) I'm glad you made the most of your location and all the best with your travels! Edinburgh Team x

94%

As always the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank your for your kind review :) We hope to see you again soon! Edinburgh Crew x

91%

I had a great stay. Really good vibe in the hostel. Loved having the chill out room, super helpful and friendly staff, great recommendations on things to see and do. Will be highly recommending :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your very kind review. So happy you had a good time and we hope to see you again soon! Edinburgh Team x

60%

I was really excited to stay here, but the age group staying at these hostels are ones that definitely need full blown wifi, not just in common rooms. Plus, the common room is so small. How are we supposed to be able to get in touch with those we need to if we're all cramped in a room? I didn't feel that the room was exactly clean, either. I'm sad. I wanted to use this hostel in Paris and Amsterdam, too. Now I won't be.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you taking the time to review us. I was sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience. Our hostels in Paris and Amsterdam are fantastic so if you do reconsider I would highly recommend staying at any of these sites. Wifi in the rooms is something we are definitely striving towards and hope for in the near future. All the best with your future travels, Edinburgh Crew

77%

I had a great time in this hostel. Exspecially the staff were so friendly und happy :-) The whole hostel had a great atmosphere, everyone was there to meet people, go out with people, everyone was talking to everyone. I loved it!! I met nice people there. The breakfast and rooms were good! I would definitely come again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you for your awesome review :) We are really happy to hear you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again next time! All the best, Edinburgh Crew x

83%

Great stay. The common room could be a little more comfortable (pub benches are not comfortable for anything, even just sitting). Overall I had a fantastic time here and it's one of the better hostels I have stayed at. Don't listen to the negative reviews, this is the place in Edinburgh.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There, Thank you for your kind review. We are definitely looking into ways to improve the chillout room. Really happy to hear you had a good time and we hope to see you next visit! :) Edinburgh Team x

86%

Room was quite small (6 bed dorm with ensuite) and the ensuite had a bit of wear and tear, but it was nonetheless satisfactory and excellent value for money. Good atmosphere in the common room, although the room itself was really small. a bar and a restaurant downstairs which seemed good although I didn't get to try either. Fantastic location if you're arriving by train!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. I'm really happy to hear you found the hostel good value for money and thank you for your honest feedback. Hope you enjoyed Edinburgh and all the best with your travels :) Edinburgh Staff

94%

Overall one of the better hostels I have stayed at so far on my journeys. The location could not be better, right next to the train station. The staff was friendly and helpful, there are lifts to the different floors, and free breakfast in the morning. The only complaints that I do have is that the 'Chill Room' has only 2 places to sit with a counter to place your lap top on and some places the free wifi was difficult to access, stronger signal would be nice. I would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. We have recognized that the chillout room does need to be made more comfortable and inviting and are hoping to renovate in the near future. Thank you for your honest feedback and hoping by next time you visit you will be able to see the changes we have made :) All the best with your travels! Edinburgh Crew x

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback