Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained


4731 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Only bad thing is that wifi doesn't reach rooms - otherwise tops!


Definitely one of the better hostels I've been too! It has a great atmosphere and hanging out in the bars was really fun, and what was even better was the fact that it was still quite in our room! This place is really close to everywhere, and the free breakfast was nice :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the rad feedback! We're so happy you had such a great time staying with us and you enjoyed the bars and atmosphere. Hopefully see you again soon? Happy travels! The Edinburgh Team.


St. Christopher's was dirty and the staff was not very helpful. It was a fairly large hostel, so you are not specifically helped or invested into. Also, the discounts advertised for the bar below are not as great as they seem and it remains fairly expensive. Storage under your bed (bring a lock!), but if you want to leave a bag during the day it costs. Granted, I stayed in a select room with a select (random) group of people, so my experience could differ greatly in another situation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We're disappointed to read your comments about the helpfulness of staff, especially as we strive to cater to each guest individually. We would like to apologise if this effected your stay with us in any way and we would love the opportunity to remedy this if you're ever in Edinburgh again. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team.


If they ask you to pay online before you arrive, that's a bad sign. Mould in the showers, Wi-Fi only in the chill out room, push button/timed showers, no kitchen, loud crappy cover bands at night. One girl reported her food had been stolen and the staff's response was, "Yea, I would keep food in that fridge." The place was disgusting. Only good things were free laundry (but only at night), and location.


On the whole the hostel was great, no problems at all. However I do have two suggestions: 1) The 4 bed dorm was way too small, there was hardly any moving space, really cramped. 2) There was no free luggage storage, I had to pay a fee to store my luggage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback regarding the room sizing and locker fees. We've taken your suggestions on board and will look into them. Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback - we appreciate it. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team


Loved this hostel for it's location. Right by the train station and round the corner from the airlink buses make this hostel very appealing for travellers. Royal Mile and Princess St are also very close and accessible. The main downside is the lack of kitchen facilities. One fridge for the entire hostel in an unfriendly common room. There's a microwave but no sink for water in the room or surface area or facilities to prepare food or snacks. If you don't need this, this hostel otherwise is great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the great location we have. We understand that the lack of kitchen can be an inconvenience at times, but you're more than welcome to use plates and cutlery from the bars, as well as request boiling water. We provide a microwave and a fridge for guests to use, and offer our guests a 25% discount off all food at both bars. We hope that this didn't hinder your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Regards, the Edinburgh Team


Great place stay in the heart of Edinbra. Probably the best hostel you will find in the city. Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the great feedback. We're happy to hear you had such a great time here and would recommend it to other travellers. We hope to see you back soon in the future! Until then, happy travels. Regards, the Edinburgh Team.


+ value for money, great location, friendly staff, large lock boxes and a good locker system - not the cleanest, too big, WiFi doesn't work everywhere and not all the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the feedback! We've taken your comments on board regarding the cleanliness of the hostel and will look into this, and we're currently in the process of upgrading the WiFi throughout the building. Once again, thank you for your feedback, hope to see you again in the future! Until then, happy travels. Love, the Edinburgh Team.


No kitchen but amazing staff and free laundry! Excellent location.


It was really nice hostel:) I stayed two days in there, i was satisfied with that! Everything was good. Location was good, just 2-3minute from station. Also receptionist staying whole night. There are many toliet and bedroom in the foor. It was clean and good facility. If i will have plan to go edinburgh again, i am sure that i will choose again this hostel. (Next reception there is pub, you can join that anytime. It was good)

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad to hear you had such a great stay with us! You're welcome to come and stay with us any time you're in Edinburgh, or you could also check out our other hostels throughout the UK and Europe. Happy Travels! The Edinburgh Team.


Can't beat the location of this place. Right at the base of old town across from princes st. The hostel felt very secure and the staff was mostly helpful. Our room was missing one luggage locker. It did not affect me but would have given negative marks had I been the unfortunate one without a locker. The wifi did not work in the room which is always slightly annoying. The free breakfast left quite a bit to be desired even as free hostel breakfasts go.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your feedback. We're currently upgrading the WiFi network so it reaches guests rooms, and new lockers have been ordered. Hopefully they arrive in the very near future. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the free continental breakfast, however guests also have the option to upgrade to a cooked breakfast, with a 25% discount off. Thanks again for providing your feedback, and hopefully we'll see you again soon. Kind regards, The Edinburgh Team.


Wifi was inaccessable from my room. The 'chillout room' is basically just tired people waiting to check-in, otherwise cramped and not ideal for chilling. Considering the chillout room is not suitable for chilling, and there is no kitchen, the bar/restaurant downstairs just doesn't have the right stuff to be the sole 'meeting other people' and 'just hanging out' space. It's quite small, aesthetically boring, and the staff would seem to prefer if you weren't there. 2 stars


Just ok. right across the street from a night club so if you want sleep you should book somewhere else. wifi only good in chill out room. mattresses comfy but pillows are flat. worth coming back but only if the price is right.


Coming from a disappointing hostel in Edinburgh, St Christopher's totally made up for it. Friendly staff, cool bar Belushi's next door with good food and discounts for guests. (Just the american girl who was working didn't really do her job well as a waitress) Was slightly surprised to share a room with two travelling 60yr old ladies but they were super cool. Want to be just like them when I reach their age. I really enjoyed my stay here. Will definitely come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Joni, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be delighted to see you again here or in any of our other hostels in Europe. Best regards Jakub


Very nice place for the money, clean and good location etc. Only two downsides were that breakfast finished an hour before checkout time (checkout at 10 already!) and that the toilets are located inside the rooms, making it difficult not to wake the rest of the room up. Other from that I really enjoyed my stay, and can recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback! The free breakfast finishes at 9am to give guests plenty of time to eat breakfast and check out on time, however there is the option to upgrade to a cooked breakfast which is available at the bar until midday. We've never had a guest inform us about being woken up from the ensuite bathrooms, but it's definitely something to consider. Thanks again for your feedback and hopefully we'll see you again soon! Cheers, The Edinburgh Team


Just felt a little commercialised.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. I hope that you still enjoyed your time here at St. Christopher's and we would love to hear any suggestions you might have to improve the hostel. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team.


Very cental location and close to Princes Street and the Royal Mile. Nice and helpful staff with lots of advice to explore the city. Comfortable bed and a quiet night sleep even though I stayed in the 14 bed dorm and there was a party downstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, Regards, Edinburgh Team


Wifi is only available in common room and the common room isn't really situated in a way that makes it easy to meet people. Great location though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. We would love to hear some suggestions from our guests on ways to improve the hostel. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team.


I liked our stay at St Christopher's. We spent a few nights there to be close to our work while we were looking for a flat. When we found a flat and could move in almost straight away, we got a refund of the remaining nights. The staff at the reception and the bar was very nice and helpful as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! Have fun in your new place! Regards, Edinburgh Team


Lack of wifi in the rooms is slightly annoying. The "chill out room" has an odd layout and isn't very conducive to chilling out. I wish that it was more of an open, common space. The way things are organised downstairs is strange - such a small reception area. Maybe it would be possible to move reception up to the first floor. Otherwise, amazing location. Pretty decent value for money. Rebecca on reception was very friendly and helpful with some recommendations.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(113 results)

View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback