X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4578 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

All the staff were super friendly and helpful at recommending things to do in Edinburgh. Had an excellent friendly and chill atmosphere -only wish I could've stayed longer!

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This place was great. It is literally a minute away from Waverly station by foot (great if you aren't a light packer), and the staff is so friendly. The facilities are clean, linens are provided, towels are available for just 2 pounds, and there are great discounts for the pub on the ground floor. I felt like all of my belongings were safe, and the overall experience exceeded my expectations. I would definitely stay here again!

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hostel. We really appreciate the feed back. We hope you find the time to stay with us again. Regards The Edinburgh Team

80%

This hostel was pretty good. The restaurant was great and we were actually able to do our laundry before we checked in which was fantastic. We did also have a couple of issues. The wifi is very poor and is only available in the restaurant and tiny reception area. We also had a mix up with one of our beds. Making a long story short my sister had to sleep in an unmade bed :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're glad you had a good experience with our facilities. However, we sincerely apologise for your bed situation; whenever anything like this happens please report it to our staff at reception and they will deal with it as efficiently as possible. St Christopher's Staff.

100%

Great Hostel

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feed back on the hostel. We hope you find the time to stay again. Thanks The Edinburgh Team

97%

Clean and pleasant with two bars on the ground floor, bag storage in both the rooms and the common area in lockers. No free access computer although that is a small complaint when you take the tiny cost into account.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise for the computer situation, however there are lots of internet cafes around Edinburgh for next time you stay with us. St Christopher's Staff.

83%

Was good stay, great location to airport busses, was clean and comfortable. Dull and quiet though was a monday night.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again. St Christopher's Staff.

94%

Central location, clean and nice rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again. St Christopher's Staff.

80%

Overall, we had a good stay. Clean room, great staff, awesome location. Just had one sleepless night because there was a huge party going on in the room next door - the risks of hostel living!

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we do apologise for the noise you experienced during your stay. We do hope to see you again. St Christopher's Staff.

37%

The staff was far from friendly, the hostel was always busy and full of people everywhere, drunk people from the 2 bars underneath it, and it was noisy at all times. The floors make a lot of noise, not great for a light sleeper. On 3 times I went to the bathroom on the first floor and the toilet was dirty, pee'd on. And the dryer wasn't working. Another annoying thing is that there is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, in fact, the Wi-Fi will only work on the bars and in the "chill out" room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We sincerely apologise for experience with us, however we do hope you stay with us again and we can rectify these problems. St Christopher's Staff.

91%

I love staying in this hostel. Some staff is very nice and ready to help me. Bathroom is very clean but in female dorm room there is only one bathroom so it was a bit unconvenient. Next time in Edinburgh I will saty there again.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to see you again. St Christopher's Staff.

86%

The staff was so great, they were so kind during our stay and were very accommodating to help with whatever I needed.

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted you had a good experience with our staff and we hope you decide to stay with us again. St Christopher's Staff.

89%

Stayed here for one night before travelling back to London as I've stayed in a few St Christopher's around Europe. The facilities are good- shower is strong and the beds are comfortable. The wifi is quite weak throughout the entire hostel (even in the common rooms) and they didn't have power points next to the beds which was a bit annoying. Otherwise the location is incredible and the staff are friendly! Worth the money but probably wouldn't stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you decide to stay with us next time you're in Edinburgh. St Christopher's Team.

77%

We had the double private room and it was great. The biggest issue was out last night when we had other residents knocking on the doors, trying to open our door and being loud for hours. It was amazingly disruptive. The rest of the stay was great. It would have been nice to have wifi on all floors as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We sincerely apologise for the noise you had to endure during your stay. However, we're delighted you enjoyed the rest of your stay. St Christopher's Staff.

100%

No further comments needed. Very satisfied with everything provided. Will definitely consider returning again when travelling to Edinburgh.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. St Christopher's Staff.

91%

Brilliant hostel - great location, great atmosphere. Had free breakfast and wifi in communal areas which is always a plus! Lockers available as well. Stayed in 14 bed mixed dorm, can be a bit crowded if everyone is awake, but for the price I wouldn't complain at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a good time. We hope to see you again. St Christopher's Team.

100%

Loved our stay in St Christopher's, Edinburgh. Lovely atmosphere, great location, clean comfortable room and nice hot shower, friendly helpful staff, and breakfast ~ toast/cereal/fruit juice and hot drinks included. Would definitely stay again.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we're extremely happy with your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. St Christopher's Staff.

60%

-Good place if you're not interested in meeting people and just need a bed. -Drunks have access to the hostel, bar toilets are inside the hostel. -Bar is kind of shady due to the characters that frequent it, also poor variety on drinks and beer. -Showers could use hooks or shelves. -No kitchen, no plates or utensils available. You have to get them at the bar. -Chill lounge is out of the way and not very inviting. -Wifi only works on the first 2 floors. -Bar kitchen closed at 7pm

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We do apologise for the troubles you had while staying with us, and we are looking into solving some of these problems. Our kitchen usually closes at 10pm every night, however we have had to close it early as it is undergoing a makeover! We sincerely apologise for this. We hope to see you again soon. St Christopher's Team.

66%

The location is excellent as it's right next to the train station and everything at the hostel was in good working order. Towels, hair dryers and lockers were all affordable and handy to use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. St Christopher's Staff.

94%

Too bad wifi is only accessible in the lounge and cafe. That's the only gripe I have for this hostel. The rest aspect? No complaints and thumbs up for them. Will come back again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon. St Christopher's Staff.

94%

Everything was perfact. Especially breakfast was amazing But shower facillity was non-sense

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. St Christopher's Staff.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(83 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback