Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Christopher's Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 5940 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 5940 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
5.4

The room is quite small. Definitely not enough space for storing anything.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya, thank you for your review! We are looking for improvements every day. We are trying our hardest to create more space for the guests at the moment:) In the rooms we have lockers available and also there are extra lockers on the first floor if needed:) Thank you for staying with us and we'll hopefully see you soon:) Loves, Team Christophers

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
8.9

Having stayed in two St Christopher's hostels by now (Bath and Edinburgh), I'm becoming convinced that they are doing something right as a chain. Here, too, the staff's been kind and helpful, the beds comfortable, the level of cleanliness satisfying, and the overall atmosphere nice and friendly. Definitely recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good afternoon! Thank you so much for this gorgeous review!! i hope you made lots and lots of amazing memories! Loves, team St Christophers

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Aug 2017
6.0

It located at the centre of city so it was very convenience. but room is too dirty and not cleaned by housekeeper

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good afternoon! Thank you for your review, we are looking for improvements every day! Sad to hear the room wasn't clean, for the next time if you are coming back: the reception is 24/7 and we'd gladly help you to make your stay as amazing as possible. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh! Loves, team St Christophers

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2017
7.7

This Hostel is perfect location, however my room had this horrible smell of mold. The beds are 3 high, and the rooms are very small. I did also have a drunk guy knocking on a all girls dorm thinking it was his room. Alright hostel in a great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey:) thank you for your review! We are trying to improve our hostel every day. at the moment we are trying to create more space for the guests to make them feel more comfortable. Sorry to hear that happened, unfortunately we can not always see everything but we try our hardest! I do hope you had a great time here and in EDI! Loves, Team St Christophers

31st Jul 2017
9.7

I was only here one night but the staff were really lovely, and the place was clean. Very close to the train station, and central to both the new and old town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya!:) thank you for your lovely review, I hope you had a great time:) Loves, Team St Christophers

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
5.4

I spent only one night on my way back to my home country. I must say that it's a bit run down (broken lockers, not too clean...) but that's OK (I've been in way worse places). Leaving aside the extortionate prices of the bar (e.g., I paid £6.10 for two glasses of Tennents and one glass of lemonade), my main complain is the staff. The bed was all right, though. And it was only 11 quid.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Buenos Tardes! Sorry to hear your stay wasn't as good as it was supposed to be! We are trying to improve our hostel every day so I hope if you come back: you'll have an amazing time! I wish you all the best and safe travels! Loves, team St Christophers

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
6.0

Pictures not reliable indeed. We booked here because we thought the rooms were like the ones in the pitcures but once we checked in we foud out they weren't. Totally useless the bathroom in a 6 beds (triple bunk bed) room if then there's not even space to move yoursef in there. Dirty floor and small lockers. Good idea the bed curtain thing, gives you lot of privacy, expecially if you're in a so tiny room. Comfortable and good location anyway, right in front of the main train station.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey :) We have different types of rooms and on different level, so things might differ from the photo's. We have more and bigger lockers on the first floor if needed. I hope you enjoyed your stay though, and made some amazing memories:) Loves, Team St. Christophers

28th Jul 2017
8.3

The building is under construction at the moment. The check in desk was absolutely tiny and hard to check in/out. There is one elevator that is quite small and slow so be ready to climb some steps. Not a lot of toilets/showers. A 3 stacked bunkbed was new for someone hostel jumping for 2 months and the room felt very crammed. Overall clean and decent hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.1

As ALWAYS St Christopher's is a safe bet. The hostel you know in a different location. Staff were great food is solid beers are cheap but only the cheap ones. Love staying with these guys. If you shower during the checkout rush expect fluctuation in temp and some extra dirt and grunge as that's when everyone showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind comments, love your attitude to hostel life! Hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and you're welcome back always! Big love from the Edinburgh team.

28th Jul 2017
7.4

Staff is friendly. Next to the bus stop and train station. Cons: beds are 3 bunks tall and you can feel every movement of the bunk mates. The mattress are warn and sage. No space to put bags. Very cramped room. If you book directly with their website you get a free breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! We are located slap bang in the city centre so it's great to hear that this is appreciated :) We are actually in the process of removing some bunk beds from rooms in order to make them spacious following guest feedback so this will be sorted soon! Our triple bunks are sturdy, not to worry! Then also come with curtains for privacy, UK, EU and USB plug sockets and lights at every bed. We hope you enjoyed your time exploring our beautiful city, and best of luck on the rest of your travels! Cheers from the Edinburgh team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.