Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Christopher's Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5,605 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5,605 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
St Christopher's Edinburgh Located at Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh.
St Christopher's Edinburgh
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1DE Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street
82% 5605
55.9508337 -3.1900691
St Christopher's Edinburgh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.1

This hostel is convenient and suits my needs very well. I like the privacy curtains on the bunks, but there's not very much head height . The fan in the dormitory bathroom area is MUCH too loud, so is bound to disturb others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Appreciate the feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services and facilities. We will look into the noisy fan and get that fixed. Thanks again

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.6

Excellent hostel in a perfect location. It's right beside the train station and the airport bus stop. Staff were very friendly and the pub crawl was excellent. Probably the best part of the whole trip. The only downfall was the lockers in our room. Half of the lockers didn't close which could really put valuables at risk. Other people noted the same problem in their rooms and had to leave them unlocked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review glad you enjoyed your time and the famous pub crawl! The lockers do not lock as a padlock is required to lock them. We have padlocks available to buy at reception. Thanks again for the feedback

  • zoebraybrooke
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jan 2017
7.4

Our biggest issue was the cleanliness of the room and the fact that when we checked out we weren't acknowledged or responded to when we spoke to the guy at the desk. We checked out on the morning of the 14th of Jan and where like we are checking out to which we receive a hand pointing at the jar on the counter, no eye contact or words spoken he just kept staring forward. My friend then said goodbye to which she was ignored as was my goodbye. I said rude and then he said "bye" (no eye contact).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay in St. Chrispher's. We were a group of 9 girls and our room was perfect. The staff were so friendly and helpful all the time. The location of the hostel couldn't be better, and the facilities were great; wifi, luggage storage, restaurant/bar. The pub crawl was a lot of fun too! I'd definitely recommend for a college group or young travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.0

Brilliant location, and a great vibe - I had a great time on the pub crawl recommended by the staff. Only complaint would be lack of a proper common area, but on the up side they did have a laundry.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We really appreciate nice reviews like yours! It's so rewarding to hear you enjoyed your time here! All the best, St. Christopher Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.6

A central hostel with an awesome night life. Had everything you needed and was comfortable to stay at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks a lot to leave us this nice review, all the best and hope to see you again in Edinburgh! St. Christopher Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing staff and great location. Will be back for another visit soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome! Great review love to see you back! :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
8.3

Clean, affordable, great location. The ensuite needed some maintenance (broken shower) the communal facilities laundry, luggage storage, chill out areas were a good bonus. Cheap drink deals, and fun atmosphere. Staff were friendly but generally unprofessional- girls beware! Its definately a party hostel but the rooms are far enough away you can still get a good sleep if you're lucky enough to have good room mates.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks a lot to leave us your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in Edinburgh! All the best, St. Christopher Staff

3rd Jan 2017
7.7

The front desk staff weren't very friendly or informed, but the bartender was kind and helpful. The lockers in the rooms were extremely small with little room to fit all belongings. The rooms were overcrowded and the bunks were stacked three high in the 18 bed mixed dorms. It was convenient that there was a bathroom attached directly to our room. The beds had curtains to keep light out while sleeping. The location was good and convenient for the Waverley train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. Disappointed to hear about the front desk staff but glad bar staff made a good impression. Appreciate the comments as it helps us monitor and improve the services and facilities. Thanks again

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
8.0

WARNING* you only get the free breakfast if you book through their website. NO free breakfast if you book through hostel world. Great location. Stayed in the mixed dorm with ensuite- has blinds for all the beds so you get more privacy. But the shower area is quite small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there thank you for your review :) We appreciate all comments left as they help us to monitor and improve our hostel. Unfortunately now the breakfast rule for booking online is company wide, although we do offer a wide range at the buffet breakfast plus all our guests are entitled to 25% off all food including the cooked breakfasts menu. We hope to see you again soon, safe travels! :) The Edinburgh team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.