Hostelworld.com

St Christopher's Edinburgh

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 5,216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 5,216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
St Christopher's Edinburgh Located at Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh.
St Christopher's Edinburgh
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1DE Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street
84% 5216
55.9508337 -3.1900691
St Christopher's Edinburgh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Jun 2016
6.3

After emailing and confirming my late arrival time I arrived at the 24 hour hostel to find it locked. I waited outside for a long time until a guest let me in. By then there were many people waiting for service inside. Eventually the receptionist turned up. I was then overcharged in a different currency and the receptionist was annoyed I did not want to pay the extra money. Finally the supervisor turned up and fixed the receptionists mistake. Location is noisy but the breakfast was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jun 2016
5.7

Overall the hostel was nice, location was perfect. Right next ti Edinburgh Waverly trainstation. A bit of a tiny shower cabbin. They said: "If you show the room pass at the bar you would get a discount on the drink(s)"... Which we barely noticed... A normale pint + a Bulmers was £8,50... With the so called "discount"... That is actually very expensive.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2016
9.4

Wonderful location & was so easy to walk from it to all the amazing sites in we saw in Edinburgh (Castle tour, Dungeon, Holyroodhouse, Salsibury Crags up to Arthur's Seat & City of the Dead tour). Those staff we talked to were very friendly & helpful & when/if I go back to Edinburgh I shall certainly look to this hostel before any other.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your lovely comments make us super happy :) Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We're looking forward to seeing you back again in the future! Until then, safe travels. Much love, the Edinburgh Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
8.6

I stayed in the 14 bed mixed room over the weekend in June. The location of the hostel is amazing just in front of the train station. The staff was very kind and serviceable. The facilities are appropriate in genera. There is a good vibe and a feeling of security (if you feel unsure about leaving your belongings exposed there is a nice system of lockers). Even for a room with 14 people the place is spacious and comfortable, however the tiny en-suite shower can be saturated at points.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your travels to leave a review of your stay - we really appreciate it. Thanks for the heads up about the shower in your room, we'll get the maintenance team on it to see whether we can fix this for future guests. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed our amazing location as much as we do :) Hopefully we'll see you again in the future! Much love, the Edinburgh Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
10.0

Excellent value for money...very friendly. ..clean...great breakfast and superb location. It is our second stay in this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're so glad to hear that you had such a nice stay with us, and you were so satisfied last time that you decided to stay with us again. Fingers crossed we see you again in the future! Much love, the Edinburgh Team

15th Jun 2016
9.1

Super happy and safe environment. I'm overall really impressed by this place and plan to stay at the other hostels this company has. I'm about to head out on a free walking tour around Edinburgh that they have.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Woo thanks for the awesome review, so glad you've enjoyed your stay here with us in Beautiful Edinburgh! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your travels to comment on your stay. Hope you have a great onward journey! Love, the Edinburgh team xx

14th Jun 2016
5.7

Security: the hostel is "24 hrs." What it turns out to is that during all day and late into the evening you can literally go in the hostel and no one questions why you just walked in. Staff: a lot of new people and that are still getting their bearings Facilities: the rooms, showers and bathrooms are really small. The wifi was clocked at 0.1 MB download... the beds are metal and you can feel the person above/below you move at every instance. The floors are wood so a lot of crackling

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for your feedback. Our bars are open to the public, as well as our toilets so the general public are able to access these areas until 1am when our bars close. As soon as the last customer leaves, our front doors shut and can only be accessed by security key cards that only guests have. We have staff on the desk for 24 hours a day to ensure the security of the building. We hope that despite this concern you still enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2016
8.6

Really frindly staff. Super close to train station. 24 h reception. 4 levels but has lift. Should have more kitchen facility. Only a kettle and microwave provided and it is hard to find a tap to fill up kettle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking time to leave us a review! We're glad you enjoyed your time here. Sadly our kitchen has to be used for the bars, where you can enjoy a 25percent discount anytime on food though! The chillout room has a kettle, fridge and microwave. The bar staff are always happy to fill up the kettle for you at the bar so hope this doesn't deter you next time :-) Hope you come and visit us again, all best from the Edinburgh Team :-)

11th Jun 2016
8.9

Staff was amazing! So helpful! The two attached bars where great and the hostel gives you a discount at both of them! Rooms where clean and same with the facilities. Would stay with them again in their other locations!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review! It's always so great to hear such nice comments, and we'll be sure to pass them onto staff :) We do hope to see you again, but also hope you enjoy your stay at our other hostels just as much. Love the Edinburgh crew!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
8.9

I stayed in the large mixed dorm and took advantage of the pub crawl and the free walking tour. Both were great for acquainting me with Edinburgh and helping me--a solo traveller--meet new people. The free breakfast was simple (toast, ham, cheese, butter & jam, cereal) but good and because the hostel is a 2-minute walk from the Royal Mile, you can find some great places nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for leaving such a great review! We love hearing your feedback, and are so happy to hear that you had a great stay here in Edinburgh and at the Hostel! Pub crawls and tours are such a good way to meet people, especially when you have these crazy guys to introduce you around this beautiful city and its great bars :) We hope to see you back here soon! The Edinburgh team xx

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.