Hostelworld.com

St Christopher's Edinburgh

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 5,101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 5,101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
St Christopher's Edinburgh Located at Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh.
St Christopher's Edinburgh
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1DE Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street
85% 5101
55.9508337 -3.1900691
St Christopher's Edinburgh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2016
9.1

Great place. Good location. Good night life entertainment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
7.4

Excellent location. Just could do with more staff maybe, it seems like the front desk was not always manned. Overall would recommend, just go with a bit of patience! Staff were very nice!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
10.0

Fantastic experience fabulous city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Whooooo! How much do you love Edinburgh! It is such an amazing city and we love to show it off. We're so glad to hear you have such a fabulous time and we would be so chuffed if you came back to visit. Enjoy the rest of your travels and fingers crossed you can come back and visit us again soon. Stay rad! Love, the Edinburgh Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
7.7

great location, 30 seconds away from Waverley Station. and a less than 5 minute walk from the royal mile. wifi not strong enough to FaceTime/audio. Breakfast is basic. bathrooms are clean. good stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review! We're glad to hear that you were happy with your stay with us. We recently updated the wifi throughout the building and there have been some expected teething problems. We're hoping this will be all sorted over the coming week. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team

22nd Apr 2016
8.0

Amazing city, great location, reasonable price. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your comments make us so happy - thank you for taking the time out of your travels to write them. We hope that you had an amazing time here in this beautiful city. Tell your friends and family how amazing it is, we love to share our love of this city with everyone. We hope you have may more great experiences on your future travels. Much love, the Edinburgh Team.

19th Apr 2016
8.9

Wfi dont work @ room and just 2 place for charging mobile on 8 bed ((. but location is top 🔝

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
6.3

Apart from good location & lovely staff, pretty rubbish. I'm a student and was in city for a conference, had a private room: hot water etc ok, but ensuite grossly unclean, pubes & hair & random gunk & muddy footprints & toilet not cleaned when I checked in. The world's stingiest blanket on the bed. Worst two nights' sleep because of noise from other guests until a.m. (thin walls/floors) & constant noise outside. Fine for backpackers but seriously don't bother otherwise, spend more elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at St. Christopher's Edinburgh. We are disappointed to hear that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations, and we are endeavouring to investigate and rectify every point that you have raised. We have passed on your comments to the cleaning team to ensure that this is not something that is overlooked in the future. Once again, we thank you for your feedback. We hope that you will return in the future to experience the excellent services and facilities we know we can deliver. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.7

Really liked this hostel! The location is great and the staff was super friendly! Also liked the food in the restaurant :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heeeeeey it sounds like you had an amazing time here in Edinburgh! When our guests are happy, we are happy. Don't forget to come back and visit us again if you're ever in town again. Until then, happy travels! Cheers, the Edinburgh Team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Apr 2016
7.4

Nice hostel in a perfect location with great atmosphere. Unfortunately the Wifi didn't work, which I found really annoying!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our apologies that the WiFi wasn't working 100% during your stay with us - we have technicians arriving this week to come to our rescue. We will be in the 21st century before you know it (insert huge sigh of relief here). Hopefully you'll be back again in the future to experience our high speed internet. Until then, happy travels. Much love, the Edinburgh Team.

14th Apr 2016
6.9

Positives: Nice bar on first floor with live music on weekends and discounts for hostel guests. Free laundry after 8pm. Free breakfast until 0930. Daily pub crawls you can go on for 7 pounds. Room was warm and clean. Negatives: 6-person room was way too small! Couldn’t even open some of the underbid lockers or the window fully. No wi-fi in rooms, only in common areas. No kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are 100% working on the wifi situation so there is internet throughout the hostel - we have engineers in this week (we are so excited about this) so hopefully this will jump up on to your positive list next time you're visiting us. We'll look into the room to see whether we can make any changes to the way it's set up, cheers for the heads up about the lockers as well. Despite these issues we hope you still had a great time here in this beautiful city. Until next time, have some amazing adventures. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.