X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4943 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

great hostel, nice staff, good breakfast, general feeling was great.

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel in Edinburgh, hands down. It is centrally located so access to the castle, Holyroodhouse Palace, Royal Mile, bus and train stations, and Prince street shops are very close- 10 minutes or less! The hostel its self is one of the cleanest I've stayed at and has wifi and a great, modern common space. They offer great discounts at the bars attached to the hostel and have free breakfast. A great way to meet fellow travelers! They also have on site laundry and ensure bathrooms/showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the amazing feedback! We're so pleased to hear you had such an amazing time with us. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future whenever you're back in Edinburgh (don't forget to tell your friends as well!). Until then, happy travelling! Much love, the Edinburgh Team.

49%

Provide wifi throughout entire hostel. It is a necessity for some when traveling to keep in touch with family. The "chill out" room does not encourage new connections since everyone is simply staring at their screens anyway. Bathroom cleanliness needs drastic improving, lockers should be more secure and without holes/spaces to access contents even when locked. Bar is too noisy and renders the "chill out" room the only sensible option for phonecalls through apps. Elevator was incredibly slow.

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The place was great! The beds are comfortable and they have free laundry also they have free breakfast! Location is perfect as well it's near the train and the bus station. It's also near the royal mile! I just wish the "chill out room" and the kitchen was a bit bigger but other than that this place is an okay place to stay :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We too would love to be able to expand our common room, and maybe we could look into how we could do that in the future. Despite this, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team

97%

We love it, the staff are very friendly and helpful, strongly recommend it. But there is no wifi in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! We promise, we're slowly crawling into the 21st century and high speed internet will be installed in the very near future. We understand the lack of WiFi throughout the building can be a wee bit frustrating, however all common areas have WifI available for all guests to use. Thank you for recommending us, we really appreciate it. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team

91%

Really happy with this hostel. Best St Christopher's I've stayed at so far. Only thing annoying is the lack of a kitchen. The common room is kind of lame too. Set out like a waiting room and most people are on their phones. But bar is great and it's super cheap to stay so highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the feedback. We agree, the Chillout room needs a little bit more atmosphere some days, so we're open to any suggestions you may want to send over! We're glad you enjoyed the bars, and hope you took advantage of the free welcome whisky on offer in Jake's Place! Until we meet again, have some amazing adventures. Much love, the Edinburgh Team.

74%

The main drawback is that theres no kitchen and no social lounge. The chill out room is great and all but rather small and people prefer to be quiet there. Not having a kitchen means you need microwave meals or just dont eat as healthy and when youre travelling long term, eating unhealthy food all the time isn't so great.


89%

I really enjoed my stay in. Excellent position, 2 minutes walking from bus station and 5 to old town. I staied in a female room with 12 hostes and everything was cleaned , the bathroom too. To have included breakfast was why i choosed St Cristopher in and i did't commit a mistake : caffee , juice, milk, 3/4 different cereals type, , fruit, toasts, butter and jams, cheese and ham. Staff excellent: friendly and you can ask everything, they'll really try to help you!

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us here in Edinburgh. We strive to ensure our guests are happy with the services and facilities we provide. We would love to see you back again in the future, either here or in any of our other locations. Happy travels! The Edinburgh Team.

80%

fantastic location and very good stuff and the breakfast is very good . downside is no kitchen and too small chill out aera . sound profness also very poor and on seems to hear every step from people walking in the floor (room 401)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you very much for taking the time in leaving a review. We are indeed a bit limited with the space we have but we try to make the most of it. We offer free breakfast and 25% discount in our bar menus to compensate for the lack of kitchen. We will also look into the noise in that room, we also have free earplugs in reception :) Anyway, thanks again and we are glad to had a very nice stay overall. Kind regards, The Edinburgh Team.

80%

Although it was a little bit annoying that there weren't enough plugins for the amount of people and the elevator never worked, overall experience was pretty good. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We do have a limited number of electrical outlets in each room, so we provide extension leads to ensure there are enough points for all guests. Unfortunately, these leads tend to grow legs and disappear on a frequent basis. We try to keep on top of this, however it seems we may have missed your room during your stay. We will be triple checking all rooms and we hope to have enough plugs again very shortly. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team

86%

There was no Wifi in our rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time in leaving some feedback. We are working in having fast speed internet in the whole building, hopefully we will have it in the next couple of months. We really hope that did not stop you from having a great time with us. Kind regards. The Edinburgh Team.

100%

Excellent value for money hostel. Everyone were friendly and I had no problems to check in and out.

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank toy for your review. We are very glad to hear to had a pleasant stay with us, please think about us for your next visit to Edinburgh. Until then, safe travels. The Edinburgh Team

100%

I had an amazing stay at St. Christopher's Edinburgh. The staff is always willing to help you. Besides, the hostel offers a delicious breakfast and the music is awesome!! Cheers!

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really good hostel. The beds were fantastic compared to other hostels I have stayed in. We saw the room get cleaned each day we were there. Never woke up in time to check out the breakfast. Stayed on the 4th floor. One thing to note for some people is that the bathroom and showers were unisex on my floor. I for one had no problem with it though. Great showers. Hot water each time. Definitely would recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're super happy to hear you had such a great time with us. Thank you for recommending our hostel, we really appreciate it. Hopefully we'll see you back again in the future, either here in Edinburgh or at any of our other great locations. Until then, happy travels! Love, the Edinburgh Team.

77%

The staff were awesome, very helpful with anything you could ask for from great service to awesome recommendations and directions.I was really happy with how clean the place was but I felt sorry for the girls having to share showers and toilets with the males. If I worked there I would be be an organiser for pub crawls and day tours for groups as it would make st Christopher's a much desirable place to be for travellers. I'm well travelled, I know this. Would stay again.

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the feedback, and the suggestions! We have a walking tour that leaves the hostel everyday - rain, hail or shine - as well as a pub crawl that meets in Jake's Place every night from 8pm. We're sorry if you missed these events during your time with us. We're glad to hear you'd stay again, you're always welcome here at St. Christopher's, Edinburgh. Keep on travelling the world!

100%

we had such a hassle-free trip in edinburgh thanks to st. christopher's! we felt safe, got great sleep & loved the 3-4 min. walk up to the royal mile. staff was friendly & our double room was cozy, clean & more spacious than i had expected. great deal, & we would stay here again.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd love to have you back here again! Hopefully we'll see you again back in Edinburgh :) Cheers, the Edinburgh Team.

80%

Great place! Close to the main streets.. I will stay here again, also the staff is quite friendly :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for providing feedback about your stay :) We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time here and you made the most of the excellent location and friendly staff. We hope to see you again back here soon! Cheers, the Edinburgh Crew.

91%

Great place to stay , Breakfast is included, nice staff ,

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

would be great if there was a kitchen though...but overall, my stay in this hostel was awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. We understand the lack of kitchen can be a downfall but that is the reason why we offer a 25 per cent off our food menu! Very glad that that did not stop you from staying with us and from having a great time. Please visit us again in the future. Kind regards. The Edinburgh team.

63%

Just not bad about prices, and also airline bus stop is really close so if you want to go airport early in the morning here is good place. But not too clean, not too good. Otherwise staff was kind

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we're glad you made the most of the location and the staff helped make your time here nice :) We'll work on improving the cleanliness, and I trust this did not detract from your enjoyment. Thank you again, the Edinburgh Crew.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(128 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback