X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4335 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Really good location. Only problem was there was no shower power when using hot water. Otherwise a good stay:-)

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, just outside the rail station. Friendly and helpful staff, but no kitchen access because it operates as a restaurant/bar (good pricing, though). Very busy; popular with younger folks, maybe too noisy at times, but good value none-the-less.


80%

It's nice and close to the train station, has a good bar and everyone gets a locker under you bed for all of your stuff. Most of the staff were really nice apart from one guy who was very rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I was very sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience with a staff member. If you would like to discuss the incident further please do not hesitate to contact me on jess.mccall@bedsandbars.com. I am sorry again and I hope this did not ruin your experience. All the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

86%

Well the place itself it's nice, the location is very good, you have the train station and the city centre very close, the staff are friendly, the only thing that I think they could improve are, they barely have ac plugs in the room, in mine they have like 3 and only 1 working, they don't have wi-fi in the room, only in the common area and in the bar and to have a shower you need to keep pressing a button every 10 seconds. In general I can say that it's a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. We are striving towards getting wifi in all of the rooms and hope it will be in the near future. Thank you for all of your feedback, we have taken it on board and will look at improving in these areas :) Thank you again and safe travels, Edinburgh Team x

100%

The staff was really helpful, i arrived earlier and my suitcase didnt fit in the lockers so they help me with that. The rooms were nice, but the shower was not easy to regulate. The location is fantastic and i met amazing people there!! Definitely going back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review :) I'm really happy to hear you had a good stay and your welcome back anytime! Look forward to seeing you again soon :) Edinburgh Team x

91%

The best stay in a hostel ever. I have been here 2 times before as a teacher with pupils and I must say, you have improved greatly.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you so much for your great review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will pass it onto our staff members :) We look forward to seeing you again soon!! Edinburgh Crew x

83%

The hostel is great - but: having only 1 bathroom in a 10-bed girls room (and no additional bathrooms in the hallway) is maybe not the best idea. But nobody got in a fight, so it all worked out for the best :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry you found the bathroom too small for the room. For future reference we have more communal bathrooms available on the 4th floor that you are welcome to use :) I hope everything else with your stay was ok and wish you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

89%

location is just too convenient if you wanna catch an early train or bus to the airport

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you made the most of our location, we think it's pretty awesome too. All the best with your travels :) Edinburgh Team

83%

Perfect location and very frendly staff. The common room was quite small and without windows, anyway a very good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our common room is certainly a work in progress, we welcome your comments so we can think of different ways to improve it :) I'm happy to hear everything else was ok and wish you all the best with your travels! Edinburgh Staff x

86%

Really great hostel in a great part of Edinburgh. Really helpful staff made it easy to book day trips and give advice on places to go and see. Huge rooms and couch-chairs in the rooms makes it a place to chill with people rather than just a place to go to sleep. Only downfall was that the wifi didn't work in the bedrooms (only in the communal chill out room and downstairs) not the worst thing in the world but a bit annoying!

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's really great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. I do apologise about the WIFI, we are most certainly looking at putting it in all of the rooms..so hopefully in the not so distant future :) All the best with your travels and hope to see you again soon! Edinburgh Team

91%

I liked staying at the hostel, perfect location the people working at the hostel were very good to me, the breakfast was also good. I did not like the bathroom and shower and also did not like the internet that does not work in the room and do not have an internet room, I had to access internet on the stairs of the building, but it was just that I did not like the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and made the most of our location. I'm sorry you had troubles with the wifi. We understand it can be hard not having it in all of the rooms and it is something we are most certainly aiming to have in the not so distant future. I hope everything else was ok and all the best with your travels :) Edinburgh Team

86%

Location is good and the staff is super friendly. You can only use wifi in the first floor.


54%

No kitchen and it looks to me as if social services are using the hostel as a stop gap for housing those coming out of prison and psychiatric units.


100%

Great staff - friendly, helpful, smiling.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon, and never stop smiling!! :) Edinburgh Team

66%

The bathroom was very dirty. My security cage for save things in my room was broken. Very good location, near of train and bus station and turistic places. Staff very nice and friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry to hear your bathroom was not up to standard, the cleanliness of the hostel is something we are always striving to improve. It is good to hear you made the most of our location and our staff were welcoming to you :) All the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

54%

Prior to booking, I was unaware that the bathrooms were going to be outside of my room. Not only that, but the bathrooms and communal showers were both co-Ed. At a "party hard" dorm, that's just not safe for women. Especially ones that travel alone. The security was barely there. The wifi was down for days, the elevator broke and I was on the 5th floor. You have to pay for storage for your luggage. This hostel just wants your money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a pleasant stay. I can assure you this was a hard time for us and most certainly for our guests. It was very unfortunate the wifi went down at the same time as our lift. The lift was up and running again the next day. I would like to assure you all of these things are fixed now. I'm sorry again for the issues during you stay and I hope you you enjoy the rest of your travels. Edinburgh Team

100%

Excellent location - so convenient if arriving by train particularly late. Also, close to bus to the airport. Right between old town and new town. Near the meet up points for many tours. Clean location, nice staff. The only annoying thing is a lot of people had to move rooms half way through our stay for some reason that wasn't really clear.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you made the most of our location, we love it too :) Bed changes can be due to people making different bookings in different rooms types. In some cases they can be unavoidable, this is when we offer free luggage storage through out the stay and a late check out if required :) Than you again for your review and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

89%

I loved my stay! Definitely worth my money because of the third floor view of new town from my room. Room was clean and bathroom too. The only things must improve is the small unused store room in my room. A dirty mattress full of dust was left in it. The sink in the toilet is small but I don't mind except for the hand wash was put on there, making it harder to use the sink. Waters spill on the floor because of this. Long breakfast queue due to lack of clean plates/slow in cleaning them.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you loved your stay. Breakfast has since been improved, we now have opened breakfast in both of our bars which has had a great improvement on breakfast during busy times :) Thank you again for your feedback and all the best with your travels Edinburgh Team

77%

A very excellent placed place. So close to the station and in the same time a few steps to the castle area. You can even bring your children here with isn't self clear in other Edinburgh hostels. But if you are afriad of some dirt or belive it will be like Sheraton hotel, please chose another stay.:-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Children are always welcome as long as the they are in a private room or private dorm room :) Thank you again for your review and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

66%

Little bit old and tidy

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our building is old but we like to think that it adds character to the hostel. I hope you enjoyed the city and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

(87 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback