X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4350 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The shower doesn't work properly. The lamp is too low intense. The cleanliness of linen was poor. However, its location strategic in front of edinburgh station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We have new linen on the way :) The cleanliness of the hostel is something we are always striving to improve and we hope to have the opportunity to change your opinion of us in the future. All the best with your travels, Edinburgh Team

89%

The location is very accessible and the staffs are very friendly the room was good only that the door of the bathroom was difficult to closed it need to give a bit of force to pull or push....

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. I will look into your booking and ensure we have the bathroom door fixed. I'm glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon :) Edinburgh Crew x

71%

Staff are great and helpful. Not really a backpacker place so please stop advertizing it as such! Just be real and say 'hostel'. Diversity in age was great but mostly it is a hostel for the under 30 yr crowd and noisy with intent to drink not those exploring and hiking and walking the country. Older building which is perfect for the feel of Edinburgh but they are neglecting basic things like tighten facets, and door knobs and fix shower curtains. Basic maintaince would go a long way!!!!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We have a on site maintenance team so I will most definitely have them look into the issues you have mentioned. We very much appreciate your honesty and feedback. I hope everything else was ok and wish you all the best with your travels/hiking adventures :) Edinburgh Team

66%

Near from Royal Mile (5 min). The room was nice, bed sheets cleaned. There is no curfews in the bedroom, you can rent a curfew located in the social room. They just provide in the room something like a cage that you can put your things inside and lock with a padlock if you have one. The bathroom was very small, but clean, the shower was problematic, sometimes extremely hot or just cold, really hard to deal with. The breakfast is in the bar downstairs, very busy, sometimes de tables were dirty.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry you encountered a few issue with your stay. We welcome your honest feedback because without it it we can not work towards improving the hostel. I hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Crew x

83%

The hostel is amazing.. but there is no wireless on the floors...

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall great stay! The staff were great and helped us find everything we were looking for. Rooms and bathrooms for the most part were clean. Fantastic location right in the center of Edinburgh, makes it very easy to walk everywhere, and the bar downstairs was great! Only problem was the laundry... Dryer did not dry clothes after one cycle and we had to pay for two, which took up a ton of time. Enjoyed the stay and would love to stay again at St. Christopher's Edinburgh.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your great review. I am really happy to hear you had a good time :) I will go investigate the dryer situation so this does not become a problem for other guests. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future! Edinburgh Team :)

77%

Really good location. Only problem was there was no shower power when using hot water. Otherwise a good stay:-)

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, just outside the rail station. Friendly and helpful staff, but no kitchen access because it operates as a restaurant/bar (good pricing, though). Very busy; popular with younger folks, maybe too noisy at times, but good value none-the-less.


80%

It's nice and close to the train station, has a good bar and everyone gets a locker under you bed for all of your stuff. Most of the staff were really nice apart from one guy who was very rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I was very sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience with a staff member. If you would like to discuss the incident further please do not hesitate to contact me on jess.mccall@bedsandbars.com. I am sorry again and I hope this did not ruin your experience. All the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

86%

Well the place itself it's nice, the location is very good, you have the train station and the city centre very close, the staff are friendly, the only thing that I think they could improve are, they barely have ac plugs in the room, in mine they have like 3 and only 1 working, they don't have wi-fi in the room, only in the common area and in the bar and to have a shower you need to keep pressing a button every 10 seconds. In general I can say that it's a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. We are striving towards getting wifi in all of the rooms and hope it will be in the near future. Thank you for all of your feedback, we have taken it on board and will look at improving in these areas :) Thank you again and safe travels, Edinburgh Team x

100%

The staff was really helpful, i arrived earlier and my suitcase didnt fit in the lockers so they help me with that. The rooms were nice, but the shower was not easy to regulate. The location is fantastic and i met amazing people there!! Definitely going back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review :) I'm really happy to hear you had a good stay and your welcome back anytime! Look forward to seeing you again soon :) Edinburgh Team x

91%

The best stay in a hostel ever. I have been here 2 times before as a teacher with pupils and I must say, you have improved greatly.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you so much for your great review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will pass it onto our staff members :) We look forward to seeing you again soon!! Edinburgh Crew x

83%

The hostel is great - but: having only 1 bathroom in a 10-bed girls room (and no additional bathrooms in the hallway) is maybe not the best idea. But nobody got in a fight, so it all worked out for the best :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry you found the bathroom too small for the room. For future reference we have more communal bathrooms available on the 4th floor that you are welcome to use :) I hope everything else with your stay was ok and wish you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

89%

location is just too convenient if you wanna catch an early train or bus to the airport

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you made the most of our location, we think it's pretty awesome too. All the best with your travels :) Edinburgh Team

83%

Perfect location and very frendly staff. The common room was quite small and without windows, anyway a very good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our common room is certainly a work in progress, we welcome your comments so we can think of different ways to improve it :) I'm happy to hear everything else was ok and wish you all the best with your travels! Edinburgh Staff x

86%

Really great hostel in a great part of Edinburgh. Really helpful staff made it easy to book day trips and give advice on places to go and see. Huge rooms and couch-chairs in the rooms makes it a place to chill with people rather than just a place to go to sleep. Only downfall was that the wifi didn't work in the bedrooms (only in the communal chill out room and downstairs) not the worst thing in the world but a bit annoying!

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's really great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. I do apologise about the WIFI, we are most certainly looking at putting it in all of the rooms..so hopefully in the not so distant future :) All the best with your travels and hope to see you again soon! Edinburgh Team

91%

I liked staying at the hostel, perfect location the people working at the hostel were very good to me, the breakfast was also good. I did not like the bathroom and shower and also did not like the internet that does not work in the room and do not have an internet room, I had to access internet on the stairs of the building, but it was just that I did not like the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and made the most of our location. I'm sorry you had troubles with the wifi. We understand it can be hard not having it in all of the rooms and it is something we are most certainly aiming to have in the not so distant future. I hope everything else was ok and all the best with your travels :) Edinburgh Team

86%

Location is good and the staff is super friendly. You can only use wifi in the first floor.


54%

No kitchen and it looks to me as if social services are using the hostel as a stop gap for housing those coming out of prison and psychiatric units.


100%

Great staff - friendly, helpful, smiling.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon, and never stop smiling!! :) Edinburgh Team

(81 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback