X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4942 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Had and absolutely killer time at this place everyone was so chill and the hostel was in the best possible place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yiewwww! We're always happy when our guests have a great time with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to send us some feedback. We can't wait to see you back again in the future. Happy Travels! Much love, the Edinburgh Team.

83%

Great for the price. But unfortunately there were less lockers than beds in the dorm I stayed in. Also the chill out areas can be a bit cramped. Other than that pretty top notch.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. We're looking to get the locker situation fixed as soon as possible, our apologies that there were not enough lockers in your room during your stay with us. Despite this we're pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and hopefully we'll see you again in the future. Much love, the Edinburgh Team.

94%

Fantastic atmosphere! The staff was very friendly and polite. The locker to leave the bags is very useful. I strongly recommend it! We did the free walking tour. Everything was fine! The guide had a excellent knowledge about the city history.

  • 12th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time out of your travels to review your stay with us. We're so pleased to hear you had such a great time in Edinburgh. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future. Until then, happy travels! Much love, the Edinburgh Team

100%

St Christopher's never fails to exceed my expectations

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the feedback! We're so pleased to hear you had such a rad time with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Until then, happy travels! Much love, the Edinburgh Team.

86%

The staff was excellent. Great suggestions, always friendly, very funny.

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers so much for taking the time out of your travels to leave a review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and we really hope we'll be able to hang out again soon. Until then, safe travels! Much love, Team Edinburgh.

91%

Sociable, comfortable, delicious breakfast. Disliked that you had to pay for left luggage facilities, that there was only one bathroom for 10 girls in the female dorm - was very crowded in the mornings!, that the staff often smoked next to the main entrance- sometimes when they were working leaving no one on the front desk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time out of your travels to provide feedback regarding your time with us. We're disappointed to hear that we did not always meet your expectations, however all of your comments have been taken on board and will be addressed accordingly. We would love to see you back here in Edinburgh again. Kind regards, the Edinburgh team.

89%

I loved getting there ad being received so nicely. Everyone was very caring and love giving. The lockers wherevery secure, and it was very nice to have different environments. The breakfast was good and the location is very good too. The only thigs I woud complain about is the electrical shower that didnt have a lot of pressure ad it was difficult to find a good temperature to shower; and the heatting in the room, because the roo was quite chilli.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here in Edinburgh. Our apologies the water pressure in the showers wasn't amazing - sometimes this happens when there are many guests showering at the same time. We're looking into the heating situation in preparation for a chilly winter here, thanks for letting us know. We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, happy travels. Love, the Edinburgh Team

91%

Really nice hostel, perfect location and good staff, the only bad thing is the lack of kitchen. It's really problematic to don't have a kitchen when the stay is more than one or two nights.

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you so much for taking the time out of your travels to provide a review of your stay with us. We understand that it can be an inconvenience to not have a kitchen in the hostel, so we try our best by providing kettles, a microwave and fridge for use in the Chillout room which can be accessed 24 hours. We hope that this didn't hinder your opinion of the hostel and we would love to see you back again soon. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team.

94%

Very close to Waverly Station, which is conveniently where the airport bus dropped us off. 10 Bed Dorm was surprisingly spacious, and had a great view of Princes St out the window. 4 power-points for 10 people was a little bit tricky, as was the shower that decided it would change its temperature between boiling and freezing while it was on. Other than that, a really pleasant experience, great location, and even greater free breakfast every morning!

  • 4th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review on the hostel. Im happy to hear you thought the room was spacious and had a great view. We are sorry about the lack of power points, we have extra power boards at reception if you ever need. We have reported the issue with the shower temp not remaining constant. We do hope to see you again. Safe travels The Edinburgh Crew

63%

Room and chill out room really smelly!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Hopefully we can rectify this if you're ever in Edinburgh again. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team

97%

It would have been better to have a small kitchen area, to make hot drinks , cook.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time away for your travels to leave us feedback on the hostel, It means a lot to us. We understand that not having a kitchen can be very inconvenient but we do offer 25 percent discount to all guests in our bars. The tea and coffee area is a great idea, we will look in to it. Once again thank you and safe travels. Regards The Edinburgh Crew

74%

Very good location close to all tourist areas. Rooms nice and big although putting beds next to the bathroom makes it very awkward and hard to get out cage etc. wifi also only works in chill out room or reception which was disappointing. Showers were a bit difficult to operate taps very different to standard. Feels smaller than looks on Internet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your stay at St. Christopher'S Edinburgh. We will look in to the lay out of your room after this feedback. By the New Year we should have internet through out the building. We do hope to see you again Regards The Edinburgh Team Safe Travels

80%

Itis very closeto the train station, and reasonably close to the bus station (as longas you are OK with going up and down lots a stairs). There is no kitchen and the WiFi is unsecured and only works downstairs. The storage lockers are very expensive and tend to not work. The staff were helpful and the breakfast is good. It helps being the cheapest in town too

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for your review of the hostel and your stay. Our apologies regarding the WIFI by the new year we should have internet thought out the building. Glad to hear we where the right price for you. We do hope you stay again and have safe travels. Regards St Christopher'S Edinburgh

100%

This hostel has it all - perfect location, dorms with double ensuites, free breakfast, a rowdy pub quiz and live music in belushis bar below, and Arlene. Who's Arlene you wonder? The manager who knows how to run the joint, keep everyone happy and an all-round bloody legend!! If it wasn't for hostel policy we would make this place home.. But then again, policies are made to be broken... See you soon St Christopher's !!

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review on the hostel and bars. Glad to see you had a great time and found Arlene great host. We are also a fan of breaking the rules :) We do hope to see your party animal face again soon. Love The Edinburgh Team

86%

Stayed in an 8 bed ensuite dorm. Very comfortable beds and 2 showers in the ensuite which was a nice surprise. The room is small but with lockers under the bed. Not enough power outlets and located in impractical locations. The hostel bar is a nice place to meet people and watch sports. The hostel has no kitchen so you're forced to eat out which can become quite expensive. The location is great and it's real cheap so definitely worth staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for leaving us feedback on the bars and hostel. We do have extra power board at reception if you ever have problems with charging your phone,laptop ect. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our bars and sports. We do hope you find the time to stay again . Regards The Edinburgh Team

89%

Had a great stay there for a coupla days. Best value for money place in Edinburgh for sure! Only complaint was the common room area was a tad dark but overall stoked!

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed in the 4 bed female dorm. Everything was very tidy with large lockers to store your belongings in under the bed. The bedroom that I was in also had an amazing view! The shower pressure was good and with hot water, all linens were provided. The staff was also incredibly friendly and welcoming. As I checked in they told me of the night's activities and about the free breakfast. I would highly recommend this hostel for its wonderful location, clean environment and helpful staff.

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on our hostel, it means a lots to us. So happy to hear that you though our room views are amazing. Our staff are always so happy to have a guest to talk to and join in our actives. We do hope you can stay with us again. Regards The Edinburgh Team

97%

THE FACULTY HERE IS AMAZING!!! the best St. Christopher's I've stayed at (I've been to 3). SO SO SO nice and easy to talk to. The staff makes everything about a hostel, and this place definitely chose a great one! Also, greattttt location in the city. Super easy to walk to everything. So much to do!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your wonderful review :) . We do love our Staff they are what makes this hostel along with all our great guests. We do hope you can take the time to stay with us again and safe travels Love The Edinburgh Team

66%

There was band playing VERY loud in the bar downstairs still after midnight. Too few bathrooms and lock that didn't work. Breakfast bar was very crowded but considering the price I was very happy with it.

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello , Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback on the hostel. We have bathrooms on the 4th and 1st floor at peaks time there may be a wait our apologies. We do have live music in our bars most nights they play until 12am most nights. There is always free ear plugs available at reception for our guests. we do hope you find the time to stay again and safe travels. Regards The Edinburgh Team

100%

I loved!! It's the best!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time out of traveling to leave us feed back. So happy to hear you had a great time:) Safe travels The Edinburgh Team

(129 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback