X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Edinburgh Reviews

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4327 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The best stay in a hostel ever. I have been here 2 times before as a teacher with pupils and I must say, you have improved greatly.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you so much for your great review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will pass it onto our staff members :) We look forward to seeing you again soon!! Edinburgh Crew x

83%

The hostel is great - but: having only 1 bathroom in a 10-bed girls room (and no additional bathrooms in the hallway) is maybe not the best idea. But nobody got in a fight, so it all worked out for the best :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry you found the bathroom too small for the room. For future reference we have more communal bathrooms available on the 4th floor that you are welcome to use :) I hope everything else with your stay was ok and wish you all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

89%

location is just too convenient if you wanna catch an early train or bus to the airport

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you made the most of our location, we think it's pretty awesome too. All the best with your travels :) Edinburgh Team

83%

Perfect location and very frendly staff. The common room was quite small and without windows, anyway a very good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our common room is certainly a work in progress, we welcome your comments so we can think of different ways to improve it :) I'm happy to hear everything else was ok and wish you all the best with your travels! Edinburgh Staff x

86%

Really great hostel in a great part of Edinburgh. Really helpful staff made it easy to book day trips and give advice on places to go and see. Huge rooms and couch-chairs in the rooms makes it a place to chill with people rather than just a place to go to sleep. Only downfall was that the wifi didn't work in the bedrooms (only in the communal chill out room and downstairs) not the worst thing in the world but a bit annoying!

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's really great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. I do apologise about the WIFI, we are most certainly looking at putting it in all of the rooms..so hopefully in the not so distant future :) All the best with your travels and hope to see you again soon! Edinburgh Team

91%

I liked staying at the hostel, perfect location the people working at the hostel were very good to me, the breakfast was also good. I did not like the bathroom and shower and also did not like the internet that does not work in the room and do not have an internet room, I had to access internet on the stairs of the building, but it was just that I did not like the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and made the most of our location. I'm sorry you had troubles with the wifi. We understand it can be hard not having it in all of the rooms and it is something we are most certainly aiming to have in the not so distant future. I hope everything else was ok and all the best with your travels :) Edinburgh Team

86%

Location is good and the staff is super friendly. You can only use wifi in the first floor.


54%

No kitchen and it looks to me as if social services are using the hostel as a stop gap for housing those coming out of prison and psychiatric units.


100%

Great staff - friendly, helpful, smiling.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon, and never stop smiling!! :) Edinburgh Team

66%

The bathroom was very dirty. My security cage for save things in my room was broken. Very good location, near of train and bus station and turistic places. Staff very nice and friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry to hear your bathroom was not up to standard, the cleanliness of the hostel is something we are always striving to improve. It is good to hear you made the most of our location and our staff were welcoming to you :) All the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

54%

Prior to booking, I was unaware that the bathrooms were going to be outside of my room. Not only that, but the bathrooms and communal showers were both co-Ed. At a "party hard" dorm, that's just not safe for women. Especially ones that travel alone. The security was barely there. The wifi was down for days, the elevator broke and I was on the 5th floor. You have to pay for storage for your luggage. This hostel just wants your money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a pleasant stay. I can assure you this was a hard time for us and most certainly for our guests. It was very unfortunate the wifi went down at the same time as our lift. The lift was up and running again the next day. I would like to assure you all of these things are fixed now. I'm sorry again for the issues during you stay and I hope you you enjoy the rest of your travels. Edinburgh Team

100%

Excellent location - so convenient if arriving by train particularly late. Also, close to bus to the airport. Right between old town and new town. Near the meet up points for many tours. Clean location, nice staff. The only annoying thing is a lot of people had to move rooms half way through our stay for some reason that wasn't really clear.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you made the most of our location, we love it too :) Bed changes can be due to people making different bookings in different rooms types. In some cases they can be unavoidable, this is when we offer free luggage storage through out the stay and a late check out if required :) Than you again for your review and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

89%

I loved my stay! Definitely worth my money because of the third floor view of new town from my room. Room was clean and bathroom too. The only things must improve is the small unused store room in my room. A dirty mattress full of dust was left in it. The sink in the toilet is small but I don't mind except for the hand wash was put on there, making it harder to use the sink. Waters spill on the floor because of this. Long breakfast queue due to lack of clean plates/slow in cleaning them.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you loved your stay. Breakfast has since been improved, we now have opened breakfast in both of our bars which has had a great improvement on breakfast during busy times :) Thank you again for your feedback and all the best with your travels Edinburgh Team

77%

A very excellent placed place. So close to the station and in the same time a few steps to the castle area. You can even bring your children here with isn't self clear in other Edinburgh hostels. But if you are afriad of some dirt or belive it will be like Sheraton hotel, please chose another stay.:-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Children are always welcome as long as the they are in a private room or private dorm room :) Thank you again for your review and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

66%

Little bit old and tidy

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our building is old but we like to think that it adds character to the hostel. I hope you enjoyed the city and all the best with your travels. Edinburgh Team

86%

Over the road from Waverley train station so ideal location for me that night. Breakfast included. Locker cages under beds.


66%

It was very noisy with windows facing a street with bars and almost impossible to close effectively the curtains.Wifi was not functioning properly and you couldn't use it your dorm. On the other hand the staff was very helpful, the dorm was ensuite which was nice and the breakfast is included and served in the bar which is very nice and a good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I’m sorry to hear you had noise issues with your room. I will look at replacing the curtains in the room you slept in immediately, thank you for the feedback. I’m glad the rest of your stay was enjoyable and I hope to see you again. Happy travels, Edinburgh Team.

74%

Very good central location. Good entertainment in Belushi's bar. 4 bed Private could have been cleaner. No space in bathroom to hang clothes/towels whilst showering. Breakfast not well organised - not enough space in the bar to support the breakfast. Mainly the other hostel guests that made breakfast difficult - pushing in and leaving mess! Breakfast was okay considering it was free - but have had much better free breakfasts elsewhere. No kitchen to prepare/store own food and access tap water

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our bar Belushi’s and I’ll pass on the good review. We have purchased some hooks for the bathrooms and will be putting them up shortly, thank you for the feedback. I’m sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience during the free breakfast. We are currently looking at ways to improve the system to make it easier on our guests. I hope you enjoyed the city and all the best with your travels.

71%

I booked this after staying in St. Christopher's Bruges thinking it would be just as great, unfortunately it wasn't. The staff weren't particularly helpful, they seemed friendly with each other though. Spills in common areas would be there all day, and the layout is kind of weird. The bunk beds were small and moved a lot when people sat up, no outlets or lights on the bunks. Breakfast was free but not great and poorly organized. Luckily not so expensive and great location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear your stay at our hostel was not up to your standards. We are always striving to improve our service to our guests and will take all your points on board. I hope that you do return one day so we can change your opinion of our site. Happy travels. Edinburgh team

57%

Very dirty common areas. Poor plumbing with toilets that barely flush, breakfast very ordinary - they ran out of plates and bowls and took ages to replace them. My room very smelly and stuffy. Rooms are tiny. Staff dies treated. One of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear that you had a few problems during your stay. Unfortunately due to the building being quiet old the plumbing isn’t the best and the toilets can be a bit tricky. We have recently purchased more plates and bowls and are looking at new ways to make breakfast better. Thank you again for your feedback. Safe travels. Edinburgh team

(82 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback