X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2029 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

This hostel was in a weird area away from central london. the stairs were very narrow and it was creepy. i wasn't able to sleep because there were weird people around me. i would not recommend this hostel. it was cheap but i would stay some where else


77%

This felt like a safe place to stay and was ideally located for Greenwich and also for transport to London city. If you do not want to spend your time at the bar downstairs (which had a lots of atmosphere, really was thriving on the friday i was there) there is not much atmosphere in the rest of the hostel. The staff also tend bar so are over worked. I tried to talk to them about a bed change but couldnt get their attention. Not their fault, the hostel should employ someone for the hostel only!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We welcome suggestions and they will be taken seriously. Happy travels. The St Christophers Greenwich Team

77%

Nice Hostel, the Bar downstairs is fun and they serve good food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Enjoy the rest of your travels. The St Christophers Greenwich Team

86%

the guy whos doing breakfast needs to look for another job its seems......and the guys cleaning the rooms could do with a little more love and care...but otherwise it was fine...would come again if i had the chance...thanks

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Enjoy the rest of your travels. The St Christophers Greenwich Team

69%

First time staying in a st. Christopher's and I wasn't really impressed. Staff was pretty hit or miss there was one really helpful guy when I was checking out but besides that they were more concerned with the bar. Greenwich was a bit out of the way but a really lovely place to be. Hostel was generally pretty clean but they have those stupid showers that just have the push button and no temp control and the room was so hot because the windows only open a couple inches.


100%

Outstanding value for money.very friendly and helpful staff.good shower vacilities.this is an inn so be prepared for a little music noise till late but really was no problem for me (always traval with ear plugs) also includes breakfast 7am/9am.well recommended.close to rail station and 10 mins walk from the cutty sark and royal greenwich obsevatoty.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a fantastic review! Happy travels. The St Christophers Greenwich Team

100%

Great location next door to the train station. The staff were helpful and friendly and I thought that my stay was very reasonable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! Enjoy the rest of your travels. The St Christophers Greenwich Team

63%

Lack of power sockets was an issue. Especially considering leaving my phone charger in the shared socket over night resulted in it being stolen. The room I was was in is in need of some tlc. The hostel could be a little gem if it was brought up to the standard of the others in the chain. Nothing a clean and a lick of paint wouldn't handle.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! The issues raised have been looked into. Happy travels! The St Christopers Greenwich Team

83%

Good hostel if staying in Greenwich, 30 second walk from tube station. Bar downstairs is very nice and they let us sit in it all day long as we did neccessary research on our ipad. The actually hangout area for hostel guests is in the basement with no windows, feels like a dungeon. This is where you can find a microwave but no other cooking appliances. The bedrooms rooms are clean and tidy with very comfy beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are sorry to hear you were disappointed that we have no other cooking appliances, we do try to make up for this by offering 25% off all food in the bar. Enjoy the rest of your travels. The St Christophers Greenwich Team

100%

This is my second stay at the St Christophers in Greenwich. I would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to London. The location is very close to the city, the facilities are excellent and the service is amasing. But most of all the staff at this hostel make it worth staying. They are extremely helpful and friendly and provide a very comfortable and enjoyable environment. They provide hostel activities which allow hostel guests to get to know each other and make the experience memor

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave this awesome review! We are happy to hear you had such a good experience. The St Christophers Greenwich Team

63%

This hostel has a lot of potential that is being wasted. Facilities are basic. The bedrooms & bathrooms are ok but there is no air conditioning, minimal ventilation & no privacy curtaining. The common area was disgusting each time we attended it. The laundry was the same & the machines don't work properly either. Breakfast was limited but ok however the crockery, cutlery & glassware were all putrid. It was visibly obvious they had not been cleaned properly and the staff couldn't care less.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay, we take our guests' comments very seriously and all issues raised will be dealt with. Enjoy the rest of your travels, The St Christophers Greenwich Team

43%

The entire hostel was extremely hot at all times, with fans only helping a bit. Thisade sleeping close to impossible. There was also dust and dirt all over our room and only one electrical socket for 8 of us to share. The bathrooms were dirty and the shower water was burning hot and had no way of being turned colder. The two times my key card stopped working during my stay the staff seemed grumpy to have to fix it and were generally not the friendliest. It was also hard to get into the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback counts! We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay, we take our guests' comments very seriously and all issues raised will be dealt with. Enjoy the rest of your travels, The St Christophers Greenwich Team

94%

Don't shower on the top floor if you don't like super hot showers! That's my only minus! Loved the hostel, loved the staff and loved the bar! Awesome hostel! And remember it's a hostel, not a hotel. It was over my expectations! :D

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Location is great, just next to the line. Staff are friendly and helpful. However the hostel is quite minimalist, breakfast is relatively very poor and during every night of my stay the lamps in the dorm are turned off after 10.30, very not convenient to reach your bed and to change clothes without any lights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review. We are glad you had a good stay. We are disappointed to hear about breakfast as we pride ourselves on a great continental breakfast which includes ham, cheese fresh fruit and yoghurt. Please accept our apologies. Thanks again, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

40%

The rating for this hostel is a bit deceiving, as I was very unimpressed overall. The hostel is very old, dirty and poorly maintained. The rooms were extremely hot in the middle of summer and made it basically impossible to sleep as they had no air conditioning. The showers are awful and unclean too. The other guests in my room were all much older than expected, and went to bed early and were very antisocial. I would absolutely not recommend this hostel to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback counts! We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay, we take our guests' comments very seriously and all issues raised will be dealt with. Enjoy the rest of your travels, The St Christophers Greenwich Team

77%

Stayed here after seeing a show at the O2. Staff provided helpful advice on how to get to the arena, and the location is pleasant and convenient for transportation. My only complaint is that it was a hot day and the room was sweltering, even with a fan.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review.We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The St Christophers Greenwich Team

77%

Not all magnetic doors/gates function properly all of the time. Next to the train station; easy walk to everything in Greenwich worth seeing. All staff seemed to have to "warm up" to you before they became quite friendly. Some of the younger female staff behaved like children and were downright rude to guests. Simon, Jen and Richard were awesome. The Chillout Room stays pretty filthy but they do a good job keeping bathrooms clean. Fire doors kept air from circulating and made the heat unbearable

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you again in the future. Happy travels. The St Christophers Greenwich Team

69%

The lack of electrical outlets int he room was a definite problem. The water in the shower was dangerously hot and almost impossible to stay put for more than 3 seconds without getting burned.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear your showers were too hot and you will be pleased to know, we are actually looking into getting plugs sockets for each bed, so hopefully if you come back in the future, you will see some improvements. Thanks for leaving a review. The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

91%

the smell in the floors wasnt that good. in the rooms itself it was good, just on the way to the rooms it was almost everywhere a disgusting smell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased to hear you liked your room. Sorry to hear the place smelt bad during your stay! We hope you will still come back in the future! Thanks for leaving a review, happy travels. The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

91%

I really enjoyed my time at St-Christopher's Inn, though it's location was not central. It is just beside the DLR which made it easy to get to the center. I really enjoyed Karaoke night on Sunday and the food was good. The room was quite stuffy but they brought in a fan and it got better. Thank you to all the staff for making my stay memorable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love hearing you had an awesome and memorable time with us! Happy travels and thanks for leaving a review! See you next time. The St. Christopher’s Greenwich team

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback