X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1939 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Location was excellent and staff were lovely but this hostel needs refurbishment. Even a coat of paint would make the place look cleaner. Not to same standard as other st. Christopher hostels I have stayed in.


63%

I only stayed one night for a concert in the O2 as I thought the hostel was close to the arena. But going by tube took a really long time as you have to change lines. A £13 taxi fare back to the hotel so it was not too bad. The hostel was too small and very hot. In a 6 bedroom dorm there is no need to have the heating on that high and there was only a very small window. Toilets were really small and the sinks were tiny so when I had to wash myself without having a shower this wasn't possible.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

the cleaners girls were unpolite, they spesk loud when people is sleepping Nd get into the rooms when people is inside.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Just stayed for a night coming up to London to see a friend. Great for a cheap bed in Greenwich. Breakfast is good as well.


60%

Really just a bed to stay in. Location next to train station is convenient but sometimes noisy. Terrible atmosphere with no common area except the bar or a dingy, smelly basement

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great time with us in Greenwich. The chill out room in the basement is often where guests hang out and party, we are sorry that it was not like this for you. We hope you have not been put of staying with us in the future. Regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

91%

Had a fantastic stay at another St Christopher's Hostel, staff was amazing and were happy to answer any questions that I had. Great atmosphere in the bar although it was a bit of a sausage fest. The only things that I can fault is the cleanliness/drainage with the showers, some wooden grating outside the shower cubicle would stop the massive puddles all on the floor. That and the showers by rooms 9/10 not having a temperature control like in the showers down a floor, apart from that perfect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had such a great time. We have noted your comment on the wooden grating and are looking into this! We hope to see you in the future! Regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

43%

Everything was filthy, overcrowded and smelt really bad especially on the weekend since located over a bar. Most of the time toilets had no toilet paper and there is never any towels to rent or anywhere close by to purchase one! Once you stay there you will never feel clean again!!! Only saw one cleaner on my stay and she just changed sheets the bathrooms and showers were always untouched!

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This place pounds down the walls on the weekend with a noisy DJ and townie clientele…you won't be able to sleep until 2 or 3am. They even crank up the music on Sunday night! Not a relaxing environment. The "Chillout" room is way too small and buried in the basement, so I had trouble finding a place to read. Additionally, there was so much disorder with bed numbers that I repeatedly came back to find someone in my bed and the staff were too busy bartending to help me. Location is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We are sorry to hear you didnt have an awesome experience with us. As a party hostel there is a DJ on weekends until 2am,we do offer free ear plugs to all guests and tell guests to be considerate of others. We are also sorry to hear there was a mix up with your bed, this does not happen often and we try to sort any issues out immediately, even if the bar is busy. we hope you stay with St. Christophers again, regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

77%

I really enjoyed my stay in the hostel especially when I found the kind assistance from Richard and Othman, they were really so kind and friendly. The Price was really affordable and worth it. It is also cheap comparing to the expensive prices of the other hostels in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sounds like you had a great time here at St. Christophers Greenwich! Thanks for taking the time to write the review and thanks for the shout out to Richard and Atheman, we have let them know that you think they are awesome! We hope to see you again! Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

43%

I have stayed in many hostels in London, and many St. Christopher's throughout Europe. The more I seem to stay at them, the more I am disappointed. The have a good bar atmosphere, but they seem to forget that they are a hostel first and a bar second. It's disappointing when you have to wait for the customer to stop flirting with the bartender / reception so you can check in. Unacceptable. It's a great location in Greenwich, so it was fine for my quick weekend away, but too far from the city


94%

It is good that there's a hairdryer for free! But I found it is difficult to use the shower facility so I just took a shower as fast as possible. I think it's better for visitors to ask the staff how to use it first. People there are very friendly. It is a nice hostel to make friends. And Greenwich is a good place to visit. :)) btw, their breakfast is so abundant!


94%

Great place, great staff!


77%

The hostel is worth it to who want to stay at greenwich, is really near the train station and about 10 minutes walking from the center of greenwich. The reception and entrance of the hostel is inside a bar, but there is a separate common room too. There is no internet in the rooms, but there are lockers under the bed and individual light. Sometimes the sound from the bar annoys who want to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We have taken on-board your comments and you will be happy to know internet is now available in all rooms. We also offer free earplugs to all guests as we appreciate the music can be loud from Belushis bar on the weekends. We hope you choose to stay with St. Christopher's again in the future. Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

80%

This hostel was perfect for me but you have to be concious that there is a pub downstairs so it's a bit noisy. I won't recommend it for families (specially because one of my Roomates have been really sick during the night because she was drunk).

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it's greatly appreciated. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as nothing makes us happier than a guest who's had a good stay. We do offer free earplugs to all guests as we know that the bar can be noisy on weekends. We hope to see you back at St. Christophers Greenwich again in the future. Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

77%

Far from central London but transportation is literally next door. Greenwich is a cute area to check out when you're taking a break from seeing London. Enjoyed the Belushi's bar and pretty good food. There was no computer station and wifi was spotty for me but the vibe of the place outshined all. Also, there's nearby coffee spots so I just used their wifi. Breakfast was decent. Staff was very friendly.


86%

Had a great time at this hostel. Dorms were comfortable and clean. The attached bar is the heart and soul of this hostel which plenty of deals for guests. Great location for the Greenwich and Docklands area. Online check-in seemed a little pointless as I still had to wait 15 minutes to get my keycard but the staff were all helpful, friendly and knowledgable. Free breakfast was good. Would stay again.


100%

Location is brilliant. I feel as though I'm at the heart of the world. Staff are brilliant. Extremely friendly, willing to make conversation, beautiful, and love to have fun (I even got a cheerful hug!). Feel completely safe, the facilities are simple and effective, and the environment is consistently clean. A lot of international flavour here, which ripens the everyday conversation, and forms unique friendships. I would stay forever if I could.


86%

The hostel has a very cosy atmosphere. The rooms and facilities are really clean and tidy. The location is a bit off the centre but the transport links are not too bad so it doesn't matter very much. Some of the staff could be more welcoming yet everyone is polite and helpful.


97%

Been to this hostel almost a year ago and I have noted an overall improvement in most key areas, particularly in cleanliness. Showers and toilets all working and not smelly. Dormitory security has also been enhanced. Security for access to hostel was noticeably visible at week-end and effective. In my short stay I noted that the young guy who seem to run the show was pleasant, attentive and dealt with each and everyone's enquiries promptly.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Essentially just a place to have a bed. Hostel is attached to a bar so the staff are dealing with those customers and can rarely get to you. Didn't even have maps to provide and staff couldn't really answer any questions. Hot water in showers was spotty. Bathrooms are just one long set of stalls and sink for both male and female. Common room not really a place to hang out, just a weird spot in the basement. I hung out in the bar mostly which is the only place could get wifi. Breakfast good/norm


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback