X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2007 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This is my second stay at the St Christophers in Greenwich. I would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to London. The location is very close to the city, the facilities are excellent and the service is amasing. But most of all the staff at this hostel make it worth staying. They are extremely helpful and friendly and provide a very comfortable and enjoyable environment. They provide hostel activities which allow hostel guests to get to know each other and make the experience memor

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The entire hostel was extremely hot at all times, with fans only helping a bit. Thisade sleeping close to impossible. There was also dust and dirt all over our room and only one electrical socket for 8 of us to share. The bathrooms were dirty and the shower water was burning hot and had no way of being turned colder. The two times my key card stopped working during my stay the staff seemed grumpy to have to fix it and were generally not the friendliest. It was also hard to get into the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback counts! We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay, we take our guests' comments very seriously and all issues raised will be dealt with. Enjoy the rest of your travels, The St Christophers Greenwich Team

94%

Don't shower on the top floor if you don't like super hot showers! That's my only minus! Loved the hostel, loved the staff and loved the bar! Awesome hostel! And remember it's a hostel, not a hotel. It was over my expectations! :D

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Location is great, just next to the line. Staff are friendly and helpful. However the hostel is quite minimalist, breakfast is relatively very poor and during every night of my stay the lamps in the dorm are turned off after 10.30, very not convenient to reach your bed and to change clothes without any lights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review. We are glad you had a good stay. We are disappointed to hear about breakfast as we pride ourselves on a great continental breakfast which includes ham, cheese fresh fruit and yoghurt. Please accept our apologies. Thanks again, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

40%

The rating for this hostel is a bit deceiving, as I was very unimpressed overall. The hostel is very old, dirty and poorly maintained. The rooms were extremely hot in the middle of summer and made it basically impossible to sleep as they had no air conditioning. The showers are awful and unclean too. The other guests in my room were all much older than expected, and went to bed early and were very antisocial. I would absolutely not recommend this hostel to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback counts! We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay, we take our guests' comments very seriously and all issues raised will be dealt with. Enjoy the rest of your travels, The St Christophers Greenwich Team

77%

Stayed here after seeing a show at the O2. Staff provided helpful advice on how to get to the arena, and the location is pleasant and convenient for transportation. My only complaint is that it was a hot day and the room was sweltering, even with a fan.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review.We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The St Christophers Greenwich Team

77%

Not all magnetic doors/gates function properly all of the time. Next to the train station; easy walk to everything in Greenwich worth seeing. All staff seemed to have to "warm up" to you before they became quite friendly. Some of the younger female staff behaved like children and were downright rude to guests. Simon, Jen and Richard were awesome. The Chillout Room stays pretty filthy but they do a good job keeping bathrooms clean. Fire doors kept air from circulating and made the heat unbearable

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you again in the future. Happy travels. The St Christophers Greenwich Team

69%

The lack of electrical outlets int he room was a definite problem. The water in the shower was dangerously hot and almost impossible to stay put for more than 3 seconds without getting burned.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear your showers were too hot and you will be pleased to know, we are actually looking into getting plugs sockets for each bed, so hopefully if you come back in the future, you will see some improvements. Thanks for leaving a review. The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

91%

the smell in the floors wasnt that good. in the rooms itself it was good, just on the way to the rooms it was almost everywhere a disgusting smell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased to hear you liked your room. Sorry to hear the place smelt bad during your stay! We hope you will still come back in the future! Thanks for leaving a review, happy travels. The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

91%

I really enjoyed my time at St-Christopher's Inn, though it's location was not central. It is just beside the DLR which made it easy to get to the center. I really enjoyed Karaoke night on Sunday and the food was good. The room was quite stuffy but they brought in a fan and it got better. Thank you to all the staff for making my stay memorable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love hearing you had an awesome and memorable time with us! Happy travels and thanks for leaving a review! See you next time. The St. Christopher’s Greenwich team

63%

The location is far. You will have to take the DLR to get into the middle of London - which is an extra 6 or so stops. Not convenient. The area is very quiet, not much to do. Staff is very nice and helpful, but the 6-bed female dorm that I stayed in was terrible! So small, and only one incredibly small window in the ceiling above my bed. So so so hot and stuffy in July. And when it rains and you have the window open, it rains right into your bed. Cheap, but would not stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you didn't like your room, to improve the air flow we have now installed fans in each room. As for our location we are actually only two stops from London bridge, which is a 7 minute train ride and much quicker than the DLR. We hope you do change your mind and give St. Christopher's Inns another go. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

89%

Save for the location, and for some minor inconveniences/ unexpected surprises, over-all, my stay was just fine. It took me at least 8 nights of stay, to really appreciate what this hostel can best offer you--- Value for Money (especially in the expensive city of London), and, Some Great and Very Helpful Staff (Special Mention to RICHARD)! It was also nice to discover GREENWICH, as you try to explore this part of London where this hostel is located, and to learn how to commute via NIGHT BUS.


63%

Upon arrival, the three members of our party were assigned a room. After getting all settled in and laying down after a long day of travel, another person came into the room and said we were using the bed he was assigned. After being re assigned to another room, we went out for the night and came back around 2 a.m. There we found a man sleeping in one of the beds we were assigned. Worked it out with the staff and got reassigned again. Terrible experience. The place also smelled quite bad.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry to hear that there was such a mix up with your booking. We have hundreds of guests come through our doors and on very rare occasions these mix ups do happen and we hope that you accept our apology. We really hope you give St. Christopher's Inns a second chance and we apologise again for any inconvenience we caused. Enjoy your travels, The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

86%

Very helpful and friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased that you had a great stay. We hope to see you again in the future! The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

71%

Poor air quality in room. Window opened only slightly and no air con or fan. Room felt like 120 degrees and subsequently got no sleep. Second time stayed here and won't be staying again!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry to hear you had such a bad stay with us. Unfortunately at the time of your stay we had an unexpected heatwave and we have actually now installed fans in each room. We hope you accept our apology. The St. Christophers Greenwich team

89%

I had a great stay at this hostel. The staff were great and very helpful, and the facilities that I used were always kept clean and tidy.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review, we love that you had a great time. We hope to see you again, happy travels! The St. Christohpers Greenwich team

57%

There is no how to cook, there is only one microwave in the same place that people suppose to "chill out" which by the way looks a basement with sofas. It is very small, and it is over a pub, so at night the music doesn't stop, and you can listen it from the bedrooms.


77%

The location is AMAZING, however it was very loud at night because of the bar, and the rooms lacked ventilation, which meant they were really hot.


77%

Very nice staff! Booked the wrong date previously but the staff kindly agreed to switch the dates after couple emails back and forth.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad that everything got sorted for you and we are always happy to try and help! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we hope we see you in the future. The St. Christophers Greenwich team

37%

It was a very unhappy stay. The staff could not really help any of the guests because they were too busy with the bar, what I do not blame them but it is a fact, the facilities are bed because the anti fire system did not let us open the window more than some inches and the bedroom was really really hot, I would say like 35ºC, while outside was 25ºC, and while I needed to wait for my transport after the check out I could not even stay in the main area of the hostel. Sorry but I don't recommend.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback