X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2248 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great hostel

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place and staff very friendly. Chilling out area probably needs to be on the ground floor with windows and ventilation but apart from that everything else is tops for the money you pay...

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Enjoyed my stay. The bed was comfortable for the price I paid.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback, it's always great to hear back from guests. We're very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay here with us in Greenwich and that you found the bed to be comfy as we know the importance of a good nights sleep! Happy travels and we hope to see you again, the St. Christopher's Greenwich team.

51%

The bar music was extremely loud at night, the rooms were hot, bathrooms were dirty, staff were not overly friendly, breakfast hours were not long enough

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for getting back to us with your feedback. We're sorry to read that you found our facilities did not live up to your expectations, we understand that during very hot periods the rooms can get warm so we do try and accommodate this by placing fans in all the rooms. We're sorry you felt the staff weren't very friendly, our guys love their jobs so perhaps there was something that stood out which we can work on to improve for next time? The St Christopher's Greenwich team.

66%

This hostel if fairly low-cost for central London, but for good reason. It is quite run-down, really needs a renovation. Paintwork is very rough. Mould growing on bedroom ceilings. Showers have poor ventilation. "Chill-out" room is a windowless basement level with no ventilation, dark and smells very bad. On the plus side, it does have free breakfast and laundry which is good. There are nicer places for similar money in London if that is what you seek.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback and comments, it's reviews like yours that allow us to continue to improve. It's good to read that you enjoyed our free breakfast and laundry facilities. We're sorry that certain facilities didn't live up to your expectations; we have listened to reviews like yours and are currently renovating our entire chill out room so hope this will meet your standards in future. Happy travels, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

100%

Awesome hostel!!!!

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very kind and helpful staff, nice chillout room with all you need, nonstop laundry service, tasty breakfast, simply the best place for either individual traveler, group of friends or people coming to london for business. I recommend this hostel to everyone!!!

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, firstly thank you very much for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback and scores, it's reviews like yours that allow us to improve! It's great to read that you enjoyed your time here and found all the facilities to be to your liking. It's also wonderful to read that you would be happy to recommend us to other people! Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon, the St Christopher's Greenwich.

77%

Greenwich is a beautiful little part of town. Great location for relaxing and seeing things outside the typical London tourist stuff. The hostel is great, there are lots of stairs to get to the rooms. Good events to get people mingling. Lots of people my age to hang out with. Could improve chill space, especially those metal chairs. Also, the showers are a little sketchy on the cleanliness side. I loved it here, though. The bar downstairs is amazing. I definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thank you very much for taking the time out your day to get back to us with your thoughts and comments. It's great to read that you had a good time during your stay with us and that you got to explore the very picturesque Greenwich! We're pleased to read you enjoyed our events and got to meet new people. We hope you will be pleased to know we are currently working on improving our chill out room including getting more comfy chairs! Thank you again the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

97%

Great staff, great atmosphere and a lively place to be. Always enjoy my frequent stays here, wouldn't stay anywhere else. Can't recommend the place enough.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks very much for taking the time to get back to us with your scores and comments we love hearing back from guests. It's wonderful to read that you enjoy your stays here in Greenwich and especially great to read that you would recommend us to others! Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon! The St Christopher's Greenwich team.

71%

It's quite far from thr center. Specially if you wish to go out at night, the dlr sistem closes at 23h and night buses don't go there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, firstly thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your scores and comments. It's good to read that you found our facilities lived up to your expectations. If you come to stay again it might be helpful to know that London Bridge is just a ten minutes train ride away and that the N1 night bus and 53 run all night, both to central and back to the hostel. We hope you enjoy your future travels the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

54%

This is decent for a cheap hostel in London. Be prepared for shared bathrooms and showers. It's loud bc its above a bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you very much for getting back to us with your feedback, it's comments like yours that allow us to continue to improve. We're pleased to read that you found us to be good value for money as we know every penny counts when travelling. If you stay again it may be helpful to know that free earplugs are available in rooms and at reception as we hold some epic parties and some noise can unfortunately drift into some rooms. Thank you, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

91%

I had a good stay, staff very helpful and hostel in a good location, and good WiFi.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to get back to us with your scores and review, we really value our guests feedback. It's great to read that you had a good stay with us here in Greenwich and that you made the most of our central location! Happy travels and we hope to see you again, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

91%

It was great .I spend a lovely time.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for getting back to us with your comments and feedback, we love hearing back from our guests. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us in Greenwich and hope to see you again soon. Happy travels, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

83%

It is a really nice place to stay. Clean, cheap and in good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, firstly thank you very much for taking the time to get back to us with your comments and feedback it's always great to hear back from guests. We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Greenwich and found all our facilities lived up to your expectations. Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

89%

This is the perfect hostel for extended, non-weekend stay. The bar does make noise in the weekends, but on weekday it closes early. There is a free washing machine (!) and dryer (!!) and iron, free breakfast that is better than most paid breakfasts I've seen in London. It's right next to the DLR, which does add ~4GBP to every one-way trip you make. But it's timely. It's the perfect "getting started in London" hostel (and there's loads of people here with that purpose).

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your scores and comments, it's reviews like yours that allow us to continue to improve. It's great to see you found our facilities lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed our free breakfast buffet! It's also great to see you took advantage of our central location and proximity to London's transport systems. We hope you enjoy your travels, the St. Christopher's Greenwich team.

66%

Fun bar with good food, but beds and pillows were very uncomfortable, rooms were sweltering when windows were closed, showers were annoying to use, and floors creaked, which annoyed the other people in our room if we came in late. Staff were very nice and helpful, but overall not a great stay at St Christopher's.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for taking the time out your day to get back to us with your comments. It's great to read that you enjoyed our bar and its food and we hope you took advantage of the 25% discount hostel guests can enjoy. While most of our guests find out beds comfy we're very sorry to read this wasn't the case for you and would love to know which room you where staying in so we can continue to improve our facilities? Happy travels, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

94%

This is the hostel I use most. It's amazing value, the staff are absolutely awesome, and the bar downstairs is great. Food is good too, and it's right next to the train station which is really handy.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for getting back to us with you feedback and scores it's always great to here back from our guests. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Greenwich and that you enjoyed our delicious bar menu, we hope you remembered to make the most of our 25% discount for hostel guests! Happy travels and hope to see you again soon, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

89%

tempted to mark everything as excellent but had to highlight location / staff and cleanliness as superb. Security was not an issue either for me......I missed out a little on atmosphere as I was busy elsewhere and did not make it to the bar! Under £20 is pretty damn good.......but could it have been two or three pounds less? Maybe / maybe not. Call me old fashioned but I guess a separate male / female shower and toilet facility would have been preferable for me.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, firstly thanks very much for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback, we always enjoy hearing back from guests as it allows us to continue to improve. We're pleased to read you had a good stay with us here in Greenwich and will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff as they love knowing they have helped make someone's stay that bit better. We hope you enjoy your travels and will come and stay with us again, the St. Christopher's Greenwich team.

63%

Overall the hostel was fine and a decent value for your money considering this is London. The atmosphere was a bit distant though. From my experience people were either in groups or by themselves. It's far from Heathrow airport so I suggest finding another place if you're only there in passing. Also, the eight bed female dorm room did not have Wi-Fi access which was a huge disappointment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for taking time to get back to us with your thoughts and comments, it's always great to hear back form our guests. We're glad to read you found us to be value for money as we know how important it is to save money when travelling. We're sorry to read that you had issues connecting to the WiFi in the female dorm as this shouldn't be the case and will look into it to ensure this does not happen again. We hope you enjoy your onward travels the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

60%

It was fine. Be sure to bring earplugs if you value sleep. Also, not a comfortable place to sit around to socialize. There's the creepy, smelly chill out room in the basement, but not so cozy. Nice breakfast though. Also, I was put in a top bunk with a security light directly over my face. It wasn't easy to sleep, but when I asked for a new bed they helped me change, so that was cool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for getting back to us with your feedback. It's great to read that you enjoyed our free breakfast buffet. We do hold some epic parties and noise can unfortunately drift into the hostel, we're sorry about that. For next time, we do provide free earplugs in all the rooms and at reception to try and counter this. We hope you will be pleased to know that we are currently working on a plan to improve our chill out room facilities. Happy travels the St. Christopher's Greenwich team.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(84 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback