X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2302 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

It's a pub with cheap rooms above. Very good location. Good drink prices. WiFi is patchy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, firstly thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback and scores, its'a always great to hear back from guests. It's great to see you made the most of our central location and we hope you took full advantage of exclusive hostel drinks deals! Happy travels, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

91%

Overall good experience. Better room ventilation would help. Nice free breakfast. No complaints really

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback and comments. It's great to read that you had a good stay with us here in Greenwich and that you enjoyed our free breakfast buffet as we know how important starting the day on a full stomach is! We hope you enjoy your onward travels, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

97%

This hostel is getting better and better since the first Time I got there. To me, it is the best in London (among all those I visited) regarding the value for money.


74%

The temperature downstairs and in the dorm is horribly hot and stuffy. With eight females but one tiny window and a fan. Couldn't even breathe properly! Didn't have proper sleep those nights. Kept sweating. If the hostel isn't doing anything about that, I'm pretty sure I won't choose this hostel again in summer. Apart from that, others were totally fine.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your review and comments. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Greenwich! Enjoy your onwards travels and we hope to see you again soon, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

97%

I loved my stay at this hostel. I endured a few problems, but staff were able to help me even if it was 1am In the morning. I loved my stay, especially as it was 35 degrees and one of the hottest days of the year. The hostel provided fans and kept the rooms too a really good temperature. I would thoroughly recdomened staying here if you are looking for value for money. The location is great. DLR is in walking distance and plenty shops are near by. 4.5 stars

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to get back us with your feedback and comments, it's reviews like yours that allow us to continue to improve. We're very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Greenwich and that you found us to be good value for money as we know how every penny counts when travelling. We're also very happy to read that you would recommend us to a friend! Happy travels, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

91%

Great place and staff very friendly. Chilling out area probably needs to be on the ground floor with windows and ventilation but apart from that everything else is tops for the money you pay...

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time out your day to get back to us with your feedback and scores. It's great to read that you enjoyed your time with us here in Greenwich. It's great to read that you found all our facilities lived up to your expectations and we hope you will be happy to know that we are currently working on improving our chill out room with work starting this week! Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

91%

Enjoyed my stay. The bed was comfortable for the price I paid.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback, it's always great to hear back from guests. We're very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay here with us in Greenwich and that you found the bed to be comfy as we know the importance of a good nights sleep! Happy travels and we hope to see you again, the St. Christopher's Greenwich team.

51%

The bar music was extremely loud at night, the rooms were hot, bathrooms were dirty, staff were not overly friendly, breakfast hours were not long enough

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for getting back to us with your feedback. We're sorry to read that you found our facilities did not live up to your expectations, we understand that during very hot periods the rooms can get warm so we do try and accommodate this by placing fans in all the rooms. We're sorry you felt the staff weren't very friendly, our guys love their jobs so perhaps there was something that stood out which we can work on to improve for next time? The St Christopher's Greenwich team.

83%

The smell in the common room needs to be addressed, as well as issues with lockers. The staff was very good about dealing with any problems.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback. We're happy to read that you found our staff to be helpful and we will be sure to pass on your kind words as our guys love their job and it makes their day to know they have helped make someone's stay. We hope you will be happy to know that we have just finished a complete refurbishment of our chill out room. Thanks again the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

94%

Great value for the cost. Staff were lovely and the convenience of the pub is great. Also, the free breakfast is rather generous. There's also free laundry available (well- almost free, you do pay a pound for detergent). Only problems were that the room was packed. Opening your suitcase instantly took up most of the floor space. Also there was only two electrical sockets for the entire room. So if 2/8 people in the room happened to be charging their phone, you were out of luck.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback and scores. It's great to read that you enjoyed our free breakfast buffet and laundry facilities. We hope you will be happy to know that we are working on a plan to put more plug sockets in every room so that each guest can have easy access. We're also pleased to read you found us to be value for money as we know how every penny counts, thank you again the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

66%

This hostel if fairly low-cost for central London, but for good reason. It is quite run-down, really needs a renovation. Paintwork is very rough. Mould growing on bedroom ceilings. Showers have poor ventilation. "Chill-out" room is a windowless basement level with no ventilation, dark and smells very bad. On the plus side, it does have free breakfast and laundry which is good. There are nicer places for similar money in London if that is what you seek.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback and comments, it's reviews like yours that allow us to continue to improve. It's good to read that you enjoyed our free breakfast and laundry facilities. We're sorry that certain facilities didn't live up to your expectations; we have listened to reviews like yours and are currently renovating our entire chill out room so hope this will meet your standards in future. Happy travels, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

100%

Awesome hostel!!!!

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you so much for taking the time out your day to give us your feedback and comments, we genuinly love to hear back from our guests. We're very pleased to see that you had such a good stay with us in Greenwich! We hope you enjoy your future travels and that you will come see us again, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

100%

Very kind and helpful staff, nice chillout room with all you need, nonstop laundry service, tasty breakfast, simply the best place for either individual traveler, group of friends or people coming to london for business. I recommend this hostel to everyone!!!

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, firstly thank you very much for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback and scores, it's reviews like yours that allow us to improve! It's great to read that you enjoyed your time here and found all the facilities to be to your liking. It's also wonderful to read that you would be happy to recommend us to other people! Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon, the St Christopher's Greenwich.

77%

Greenwich is a beautiful little part of town. Great location for relaxing and seeing things outside the typical London tourist stuff. The hostel is great, there are lots of stairs to get to the rooms. Good events to get people mingling. Lots of people my age to hang out with. Could improve chill space, especially those metal chairs. Also, the showers are a little sketchy on the cleanliness side. I loved it here, though. The bar downstairs is amazing. I definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thank you very much for taking the time out your day to get back to us with your thoughts and comments. It's great to read that you had a good time during your stay with us and that you got to explore the very picturesque Greenwich! We're pleased to read you enjoyed our events and got to meet new people. We hope you will be pleased to know we are currently working on improving our chill out room including getting more comfy chairs! Thank you again the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

97%

Great staff, great atmosphere and a lively place to be. Always enjoy my frequent stays here, wouldn't stay anywhere else. Can't recommend the place enough.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks very much for taking the time to get back to us with your scores and comments we love hearing back from guests. It's wonderful to read that you enjoy your stays here in Greenwich and especially great to read that you would recommend us to others! Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon! The St Christopher's Greenwich team.

71%

It's quite far from thr center. Specially if you wish to go out at night, the dlr sistem closes at 23h and night buses don't go there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, firstly thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your scores and comments. It's good to read that you found our facilities lived up to your expectations. If you come to stay again it might be helpful to know that London Bridge is just a ten minutes train ride away and that the N1 night bus and 53 run all night, both to central and back to the hostel. We hope you enjoy your future travels the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

54%

This is decent for a cheap hostel in London. Be prepared for shared bathrooms and showers. It's loud bc its above a bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you very much for getting back to us with your feedback, it's comments like yours that allow us to continue to improve. We're pleased to read that you found us to be good value for money as we know every penny counts when travelling. If you stay again it may be helpful to know that free earplugs are available in rooms and at reception as we hold some epic parties and some noise can unfortunately drift into some rooms. Thank you, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

91%

I had a good stay, staff very helpful and hostel in a good location, and good WiFi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to get back to us with your scores and review, we really value our guests feedback. It's great to read that you had a good stay with us here in Greenwich and that you made the most of our central location! Happy travels and we hope to see you again, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

91%

It was great .I spend a lovely time.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for getting back to us with your comments and feedback, we love hearing back from our guests. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us in Greenwich and hope to see you again soon. Happy travels, the St Christopher's Greenwich team.

(82 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback