X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2016 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Poor air quality in room. Window opened only slightly and no air con or fan. Room felt like 120 degrees and subsequently got no sleep. Second time stayed here and won't be staying again!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry to hear you had such a bad stay with us. Unfortunately at the time of your stay we had an unexpected heatwave and we have actually now installed fans in each room. We hope you accept our apology. The St. Christophers Greenwich team

89%

I had a great stay at this hostel. The staff were great and very helpful, and the facilities that I used were always kept clean and tidy.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review, we love that you had a great time. We hope to see you again, happy travels! The St. Christohpers Greenwich team

57%

There is no how to cook, there is only one microwave in the same place that people suppose to "chill out" which by the way looks a basement with sofas. It is very small, and it is over a pub, so at night the music doesn't stop, and you can listen it from the bedrooms.


77%

The location is AMAZING, however it was very loud at night because of the bar, and the rooms lacked ventilation, which meant they were really hot.


77%

Very nice staff! Booked the wrong date previously but the staff kindly agreed to switch the dates after couple emails back and forth.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad that everything got sorted for you and we are always happy to try and help! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we hope we see you in the future. The St. Christophers Greenwich team

37%

It was a very unhappy stay. The staff could not really help any of the guests because they were too busy with the bar, what I do not blame them but it is a fact, the facilities are bed because the anti fire system did not let us open the window more than some inches and the bedroom was really really hot, I would say like 35ºC, while outside was 25ºC, and while I needed to wait for my transport after the check out I could not even stay in the main area of the hostel. Sorry but I don't recommend.


83%

Very useful place to stay from which you can explore Greenwich and the rest of London with a tube stop just next door. Facilities were great. Breakfast was rather disappointing however, there was hardly anything other than bread and a toaster available along with a jug of water so don't expect anything special on that front.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are glad you had a good stay. We are really disappointed to hear about breakfast as we pride ourselves on a great continental breakfast which even includes ham, cheese fresh fruit and yoghurt. Perhaps you came after 9am as free breakfast is only from 7am-9am. Please accept our apologies. Thanks again, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

97%

WONDERFUL STAY WITH GREAT STAFF, COMFORTABLE CLEAN ROOM WITH A GREAT ATMOSPHERE IN THE PLACE ESPECIALLY IN THE PEACEFUL AND QUIET BACK PATIO AREA IN THE EVENINGS. A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL, NOT ONLY THE MANAGEMENT AND STAFF BUT ALSO THE GUESTS WHO MADE IT SO WELCOME. EMMA YOUR A STAR.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel in Greenwich. Right next to train so no problem to get into city center. Very clean and not too loud considering it's above a bar. Good drink and food deals. Close to Greenwich park.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review. We are really happy to hear that you had a great time and we are glad you enjoyed our drinks and food deals. We hope to see you again. The St. Christophers Greenwich team

66%

Bit boring for a "party" hostel, staff were very friendly and room was clean, but in a boring location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that you found us boring, here in Greenwich we like the best of both worlds and tend to have a quiet week but a party on weekends. Perhaps next time try staying with us on the weekend and we can show you how we really party (hint: It involves lots of Jager)! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

66%

I spent two days here, though originally I had booked just one night. Having rebooked in the morning, I didn't expect I woold have to change rooms when I returned. There was a "computer says no" response to my enquiries. I had to book my second night online, despite being stood in reception. Not enough electric points in the rooms. The security cages under the beds are awkward to use, the lids can't be lifted without pulling the whole cage from under the bed. The beds and duvets are excellent

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear you extended your stay with us but are really sorry that our customer service lacked a little, this has now been dealt with, and we promise the "computer says no" response will never happen again! As for power sockets, as an old building it is difficult for us to install more at this moment in time however we are very happy to hear you had a good sleep in our comfy beds! Thanks again for the review, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

91%

The staff/bartenders were VERY friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is very secure, you need a card to swipe into anywhere here. It's located on top of a bar, so it can get slightly loud at night, but nothing unbearable. It's less than a 5 minute walk from the Greenwich station, and the surrounding neighborhood is pretty safe. The rooms and facilities are all kept clean and they even provide a storage cage than can be locked. Linens and storage are free, but we brought our own towels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you had a great time with us! We love getting such positive feedback so thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We hope we see you again in the future! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

83%

I had the most amazing time at St. Christopher's in Greenwich. The facilities were clean, the location is great (out of the city, close to stuff in Greenwich, and just a quick train ride away from central London), food at the bar was good, but most of all the staff was awesome. So friendly, humble and welcoming, just great people, which created a great sense of community. Richard checked me in, and he was very helpful and friendly my entire stay, always eager to hang out and chat with travelers.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review! We are glad you had such an awesome time with us, we loved that you came and partied often with us too! Thanks for Richards shout out, we will pass this on to him. Happy Travels! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

97%

This hostel is great. Richie, Kelsey and every staff member are dope! There a bunch of jaded people who complain on these review boards about nitpicky things. Dont let them dissuade you of staying here. Though a bit out of the city center, St. Christophers in Greenwich is a super fun place to stay. Met more friends here than at any other hostel. There is always a party downstairs at Belushies which is great. Drink and food prices are cheap for London standards. Dont hesitate to stay here!!!!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you here too and glad you came back for a second time before you headed home! See you next year perhaps! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

77%

They really need to check out why there was an extra two beds in our six bed dorm. When you pay for a six bed you do not expect eight beds. Neiher of the beds had numbers so it was rather weird and not the usual you would expect from the brand.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry that you were not informed that the female room has changed from a 6 bed to an 8 bed dorm. We had new beds put in the room the week you arrived. We hope you accept our apology and hope that you still continued to have a good stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

100%

What makes the difference between a Hostel being good and great is the people and the atmosphere, the staff at St Christopher's Greenwich were all amazing and without them my stay in Greenwich would have never been the same! All very helpful, friendly and accommodating, I owe a huge thanks to Kelsey, Emma, Rich, Marlon, Hamish and the rest of the team for all their hospitality. St C's Greenwich is not only a top spot locally, with top facilities, but very quick via rail to anywhere in London!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for this awesome review! We loved having you here as much as you loved being here! We hope you had a safe flight home! Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

100%

I had an amazing time here thanks to all the staff, who were extremely helpful! Great atmosphere, great location and definitely great value for money! It was also really clean. Will definitely use St. Christopher's again!

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for this amazing review! we are glad you had such a great time and took the time to tell everyone about it! Thanks again and see you next time! Happy travels! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

94%

I had the most amazing stay here. The staff is 100% fantastic; I felt like a princess. The hostel bathrooms could be cleaner, but that is my only complaint. I ate most of my meals at Belushi's, the attached restaurant-bar. Great deals offered for guests. And the regulars are fantastic to interact with. St. Christopher's is definitely a lively hostel, so you'll have a great time there. If you're looking for a quiet hostel, this might not be the right one for you. It's a fun place for fun people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy to read this review! That is exactly how we want all guest leaving, feeling like they have had VIP treatment! We are glad you had such an awesome time. We hope we see you again in the future! Thanks for taking the time to tell everyone about your experience. The St. Chritophers Greenwich team

80%

Great hostel if you want to see things around Greenwhich. Its right next door to Greenwich station so you can get the DLR or a train - a few buses will be around there too. The staff are nice, you get free continental breakfast and I think theres power sockets next to the beds. Greenwich is a little bit out from the centre of London so expect the 25/35 minute journey if youre going to the centre. Personal rating 7/10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you had great time with us and hope to see you again in the future! Thanks also for the comment about extra plug sockets, this is something we are looking into. Take care, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

80%

Really friendly, helpful staff, lovely bathrooms. Sadly nowhere to cook.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We are glad to hear you had a great time with us! We are sorry you were disappointed that we have no kitchen, we are an old building an unfortunately have no room for this, but to make up for it we do offer all guests 25% off food. Happy travels! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

(54 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback