X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1999 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The staff/bartenders were VERY friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is very secure, you need a card to swipe into anywhere here. It's located on top of a bar, so it can get slightly loud at night, but nothing unbearable. It's less than a 5 minute walk from the Greenwich station, and the surrounding neighborhood is pretty safe. The rooms and facilities are all kept clean and they even provide a storage cage than can be locked. Linens and storage are free, but we brought our own towels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you had a great time with us! We love getting such positive feedback so thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We hope we see you again in the future! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

83%

I had the most amazing time at St. Christopher's in Greenwich. The facilities were clean, the location is great (out of the city, close to stuff in Greenwich, and just a quick train ride away from central London), food at the bar was good, but most of all the staff was awesome. So friendly, humble and welcoming, just great people, which created a great sense of community. Richard checked me in, and he was very helpful and friendly my entire stay, always eager to hang out and chat with travelers.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review! We are glad you had such an awesome time with us, we loved that you came and partied often with us too! Thanks for Richards shout out, we will pass this on to him. Happy Travels! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

97%

This hostel is great. Richie, Kelsey and every staff member are dope! There a bunch of jaded people who complain on these review boards about nitpicky things. Dont let them dissuade you of staying here. Though a bit out of the city center, St. Christophers in Greenwich is a super fun place to stay. Met more friends here than at any other hostel. There is always a party downstairs at Belushies which is great. Drink and food prices are cheap for London standards. Dont hesitate to stay here!!!!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you here too and glad you came back for a second time before you headed home! See you next year perhaps! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

77%

They really need to check out why there was an extra two beds in our six bed dorm. When you pay for a six bed you do not expect eight beds. Neiher of the beds had numbers so it was rather weird and not the usual you would expect from the brand.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry that you were not informed that the female room has changed from a 6 bed to an 8 bed dorm. We had new beds put in the room the week you arrived. We hope you accept our apology and hope that you still continued to have a good stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

100%

What makes the difference between a Hostel being good and great is the people and the atmosphere, the staff at St Christopher's Greenwich were all amazing and without them my stay in Greenwich would have never been the same! All very helpful, friendly and accommodating, I owe a huge thanks to Kelsey, Emma, Rich, Marlon, Hamish and the rest of the team for all their hospitality. St C's Greenwich is not only a top spot locally, with top facilities, but very quick via rail to anywhere in London!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for this awesome review! We loved having you here as much as you loved being here! We hope you had a safe flight home! Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

100%

I had an amazing time here thanks to all the staff, who were extremely helpful! Great atmosphere, great location and definitely great value for money! It was also really clean. Will definitely use St. Christopher's again!

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for this amazing review! we are glad you had such a great time and took the time to tell everyone about it! Thanks again and see you next time! Happy travels! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

94%

I had the most amazing stay here. The staff is 100% fantastic; I felt like a princess. The hostel bathrooms could be cleaner, but that is my only complaint. I ate most of my meals at Belushi's, the attached restaurant-bar. Great deals offered for guests. And the regulars are fantastic to interact with. St. Christopher's is definitely a lively hostel, so you'll have a great time there. If you're looking for a quiet hostel, this might not be the right one for you. It's a fun place for fun people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy to read this review! That is exactly how we want all guest leaving, feeling like they have had VIP treatment! We are glad you had such an awesome time. We hope we see you again in the future! Thanks for taking the time to tell everyone about your experience. The St. Chritophers Greenwich team

80%

Great hostel if you want to see things around Greenwhich. Its right next door to Greenwich station so you can get the DLR or a train - a few buses will be around there too. The staff are nice, you get free continental breakfast and I think theres power sockets next to the beds. Greenwich is a little bit out from the centre of London so expect the 25/35 minute journey if youre going to the centre. Personal rating 7/10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you had great time with us and hope to see you again in the future! Thanks also for the comment about extra plug sockets, this is something we are looking into. Take care, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

80%

Really friendly, helpful staff, lovely bathrooms. Sadly nowhere to cook.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We are glad to hear you had a great time with us! We are sorry you were disappointed that we have no kitchen, we are an old building an unfortunately have no room for this, but to make up for it we do offer all guests 25% off food. Happy travels! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

77%

Not a bad stay. Perhaps better suited to a younger crowd, there is usually noise from the bar until late.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. As a party hostel, we do attract a young crowd however we like to think we cater for all ages and we do offer free earplugs to those who want them. We hope you stay with St. Christophers again, Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

77%

Great place, great stuff but could make more of an effort to change sheets for guests staying longer than 3 days


83%

Excellent andf friendly staff and good connections into central and south london. I extended my stay and would have appreciated a change of sheets every 3 or so days rather than once a week or only when a guest leaves

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving a review! We are sorry your bed sheets were not changed every three days, we have looked into this to ensure this does not happen again. We are glad that overall you had a great stay! Hope to see you again! Kind regards, The st. Christophers Greenwich team

100%

Awesome hostel with great staff! Everyone was friendly and helpfull, and it was very clean and organized. Would definitely recommend this place. Had a fantastic time there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the Awesome review! We loved having you here too! Thanks for leaving the review and recommending us, we look forward to seeing you again next time! Happy travels! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

49%

The facilities are very very very poor. There are five toilets, but only two can be locked. And the hairdryer doesn't work at all !!!!!!!! The music from the bar can be heard clearly as if I was in the middle of the dance floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, We are sorry you did not have a great time with us. We take all your feedback seriously so we are really happy you took the time to leave a review. All issues you have raised have been resolved immediately and as we are party hostel, we know it can be loud so we do offer free ear plugs to all guests to help reduce the noise for those who would rather rest . We hope you will still come back to us in the future. Thanks again, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

60%

This hostel is pretty far out. Greenwich is a really cute village-y area, but far from the center of London. The rooms were nice enough, but there was no real kitchen or nice common area... Everything seemed to revolve around the bar. The bar was cool for when you wanted to be at a bar, but didn't quite cut it in the way of a normal kitchen/sitting area for me. Also the staff was plenty friendly, but I felt like asking for help even to check in was getting in the way of their duties at the bar.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Location was excellent and staff were lovely but this hostel needs refurbishment. Even a coat of paint would make the place look cleaner. Not to same standard as other st. Christopher hostels I have stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had a good time and you loved the location of Greenwich as much as we do! We hope you continue to keep using St. Christophers. Take care , The St. Christophers Greenwich team

100%

Super friendly staff and very delicious breakfast. In a room of 8 beds it was incredibly quiet even with a (really nice) sports bar downstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review Sandra! It really means a lot to us and we love happy guests! We hope we see you again in the future and thanks again for leaving a review. Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

63%

I only stayed one night for a concert in the O2 as I thought the hostel was close to the arena. But going by tube took a really long time as you have to change lines. A £13 taxi fare back to the hotel so it was not too bad. The hostel was too small and very hot. In a 6 bedroom dorm there is no need to have the heating on that high and there was only a very small window. Toilets were really small and the sinks were tiny so when I had to wash myself without having a shower this wasn't possible.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Hannah. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and have taken note of the issues raised so that we can improve upon them. We hope you will still continue to use St. Christophers in the future. Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

80%

the cleaners girls were unpolite, they spesk loud when people is sleepping Nd get into the rooms when people is inside.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to hear that our cleaners disturbed your sleep. We have spoke to the girls to ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope that this has not put you off staying with St. Christophers again. Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

83%

Just stayed for a night coming up to London to see a friend. Great for a cheap bed in Greenwich. Breakfast is good as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! We are glad to hear you had a good time with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave the review. Take care, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

(48 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback