X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2161 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I arrived 10 minutes late for my reservation, but I had the best service you could ask for, everyone I met and I spoke to the staff were excellent at all. I felt at home, always willing to take any questions, help in whatever was possible. A complete hostel with a fantastic environment and a location that makes it a visit to repeat, very tasty food, very varied breakfast. A family environment hostel where each person with a smile is a friend we will do. No negatives points. Hugs from Portugal

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for you kind words in this review! Should your travels bring you back to London we would love to host you again. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

100%

I highly recommend this hostel. You have everything for all the tastes in there. Quality sleep for the backpacker, as well as the most appealing pub in Greenwich right downstairs. A clean, functional and pleasant environment, a gorgeous breakfast and always a smile and kindness from the staff. Highest value for the smallest price. To quote an English lady accommodated there with her daughter: "The price equals a London meal. So, consider paying for the breakfast, and you were given the bed free"


80%

Location & staff share the crown... Facilities & "chill out room" can b improved. Over all it was a tidy and recommendable experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear you had a good stay with us. Happy travels! The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

63%

Im Zimmer war eine (ältere) Frau, die mich belästigte und diskriminierende (nazihaft) und hasserfüllte Ausdrücke gegen weitere Mitbewohnerinnen von sich ließ; das ruinierte unseren Aufenthalt.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely, friendly and very helpful staff. The food is also excellent. Will definitely come back!

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review! We would be delighted to welcome you back again. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

94%

Staff was extremely helpful and great entertainment. The locals were were also friendly and great fun.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

100%

The backpacker not being exposed to the St Christopher's Greenwich experience will remain just a traveler in search of the human and compassionate meaning of being hosted, without fully finding it. I stayed across London and UK hostels but St.Cristopher's Greenwich are the first real amphitryons I encountered, with Hamish - the symbol of genuine kindness, respect and compassion in hospitality. A memory one can never forget, a stay that shines among all experiences! A must!


100%

Clean, comfortable, right next to the train into central London, and nice staff. Had a great stay (over one week) and definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving some great feedback. It is very good to know you would recommend this hostel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

94%

Absolutely brilliant hostel. One minute from the train station so very ideal location. Short walk to the town centre where there's loads of lovely little pubs

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for the amazing review! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

100%

Clockmakers know Greenwich as the meridian helping people all over to synchronize their clocks to GMT. Backpackers know Greenwich St.Cristopher's as the standard of accommodation for the decent traveler, an ideal balance of cleanliness, comfort, geographical location, budget price and welcoming considerate staff. To me, St.Cristopher's Greenwich is really the GMT meridian for the accommodation industry, all other hostels should follow its standards. Define GBT=Greenwich Backpackers Time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to leave an amazing review! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

89%

I stayed in a 8-bed dorm and it was not very spacious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that the room did not exceed your expectations. We are happy to see you did enjoy your stay with us. Happy travels! The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

74%

only two plugs in a 8 people dorm, which is absolutely not enough. but the stuff are nice and it's a really nice location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear it was difficult to share the two sockets, we are working on getting individual ones next to each bed. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

94%

Had a great time, would definitely recommend! Only possible complaint would be the squeaky floorboards, but you get free earplugs to help with that so it wasn't that bad. Maybe a small fridge in the basement for milk?

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate you constructive feedback. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

66%

Nice staff. Decent location- easy access to public transit. Strange atmosphere,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It is great to hear kind words about our staff. We are sorry to hear you found the atmosphere a bit strange. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

46%

Cramped rooms, very small common area, wifi average. Showers not very clean and you having to turn them back on every 30 seconds. Great breakfast but nothing else great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed to hear the facilities were not up to your expectations and we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.. When any challenges are brought to our staff's attention, they are happy to remedy the situation. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

74%

Generally a good place to stay. Located in charming Greenwich, the hostel attracts a nice range of both nomad travellers and longer term visitors to London. The hostel sits on top of a pub for those that are looking to party or socialise in the evenings otherwise the chill out area in the basement provides a much quieter space to relax outside of your dorm. One of the better St. Christopher hostels in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

100%

The backpacker not being exposed to the St Christopher's Greenwich experience will remain just a traveler in search of the human and compassionate meaning of being hosted, without fully finding it. I stayed across London and UK hostels but St.Cristopher's Greenwich are the first real amphitryons I encountered, with Hamish - the symbol of genuine kindness, respect and empathy in hospitality. A memory one can never forget, a stay that shines among all experiences. A must!


91%

When i first arrived a was pissed because someone was in my bed but as soon as i went to the staff, they had someone change everything. Bring your own lock since the lock is a cage under the bunkbed. The bathroon is really clean and the room as well. The bed was pretty nice since the last hostel i was in had a super hard bed and flat blanket. Breakfast was standard but the coffee was hot water and mix. The previous hostel i was in had a machine with different coffee choices.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share a great review. It is wonderful to hear you had a pleasant stay and we hope to welcome you back again. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

100%

This hostel is a little jewel in the heart of Greenwhich. Cozy and functional, close to every point of interest in town. Though, the most valuable jewel is the team, starting with Hamish, efficient, full of of consideration and always finding solutions for every problem of every customer, in a kind and dignifying manner. The best hosts ever!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the amazing review, and thank you for your very kind words about one of our staff members. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

97%

Located in a beautiful area, so pinturesque. Staff is the best I've ever met. They're all so kind, caring and always willing to help u. Share bedrooms are quite big. The bar has good parties downstairs. And the food is quite tasty. Congrats boss! Angel from Spain

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind words. We would love to welcome you back some day. The St. Christopher's Greenwich Team

(1531 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback