X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2015 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Not a bad stay. Perhaps better suited to a younger crowd, there is usually noise from the bar until late.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. As a party hostel, we do attract a young crowd however we like to think we cater for all ages and we do offer free earplugs to those who want them. We hope you stay with St. Christophers again, Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

77%

Great place, great stuff but could make more of an effort to change sheets for guests staying longer than 3 days


83%

Excellent andf friendly staff and good connections into central and south london. I extended my stay and would have appreciated a change of sheets every 3 or so days rather than once a week or only when a guest leaves

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving a review! We are sorry your bed sheets were not changed every three days, we have looked into this to ensure this does not happen again. We are glad that overall you had a great stay! Hope to see you again! Kind regards, The st. Christophers Greenwich team

100%

Awesome hostel with great staff! Everyone was friendly and helpfull, and it was very clean and organized. Would definitely recommend this place. Had a fantastic time there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the Awesome review! We loved having you here too! Thanks for leaving the review and recommending us, we look forward to seeing you again next time! Happy travels! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

49%

The facilities are very very very poor. There are five toilets, but only two can be locked. And the hairdryer doesn't work at all !!!!!!!! The music from the bar can be heard clearly as if I was in the middle of the dance floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, We are sorry you did not have a great time with us. We take all your feedback seriously so we are really happy you took the time to leave a review. All issues you have raised have been resolved immediately and as we are party hostel, we know it can be loud so we do offer free ear plugs to all guests to help reduce the noise for those who would rather rest . We hope you will still come back to us in the future. Thanks again, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

60%

This hostel is pretty far out. Greenwich is a really cute village-y area, but far from the center of London. The rooms were nice enough, but there was no real kitchen or nice common area... Everything seemed to revolve around the bar. The bar was cool for when you wanted to be at a bar, but didn't quite cut it in the way of a normal kitchen/sitting area for me. Also the staff was plenty friendly, but I felt like asking for help even to check in was getting in the way of their duties at the bar.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Location was excellent and staff were lovely but this hostel needs refurbishment. Even a coat of paint would make the place look cleaner. Not to same standard as other st. Christopher hostels I have stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had a good time and you loved the location of Greenwich as much as we do! We hope you continue to keep using St. Christophers. Take care , The St. Christophers Greenwich team

100%

Super friendly staff and very delicious breakfast. In a room of 8 beds it was incredibly quiet even with a (really nice) sports bar downstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review Sandra! It really means a lot to us and we love happy guests! We hope we see you again in the future and thanks again for leaving a review. Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

63%

I only stayed one night for a concert in the O2 as I thought the hostel was close to the arena. But going by tube took a really long time as you have to change lines. A £13 taxi fare back to the hotel so it was not too bad. The hostel was too small and very hot. In a 6 bedroom dorm there is no need to have the heating on that high and there was only a very small window. Toilets were really small and the sinks were tiny so when I had to wash myself without having a shower this wasn't possible.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Hannah. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and have taken note of the issues raised so that we can improve upon them. We hope you will still continue to use St. Christophers in the future. Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

80%

the cleaners girls were unpolite, they spesk loud when people is sleepping Nd get into the rooms when people is inside.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to hear that our cleaners disturbed your sleep. We have spoke to the girls to ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope that this has not put you off staying with St. Christophers again. Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

83%

Just stayed for a night coming up to London to see a friend. Great for a cheap bed in Greenwich. Breakfast is good as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! We are glad to hear you had a good time with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave the review. Take care, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

49%

If you like waiting an age for any type of help at reception because the staff are busy serving drinks to bar patrons with little interest in anything but getting filthy drunk, this is the place for you.


60%

Really just a bed to stay in. Location next to train station is convenient but sometimes noisy. Terrible atmosphere with no common area except the bar or a dingy, smelly basement

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great time with us in Greenwich. The chill out room in the basement is often where guests hang out and party, we are sorry that it was not like this for you. We hope you have not been put of staying with us in the future. Regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

91%

Had a fantastic stay at another St Christopher's Hostel, staff was amazing and were happy to answer any questions that I had. Great atmosphere in the bar although it was a bit of a sausage fest. The only things that I can fault is the cleanliness/drainage with the showers, some wooden grating outside the shower cubicle would stop the massive puddles all on the floor. That and the showers by rooms 9/10 not having a temperature control like in the showers down a floor, apart from that perfect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had such a great time. We have noted your comment on the wooden grating and are looking into this! We hope to see you in the future! Regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
43%

Everything was filthy, overcrowded and smelt really bad especially on the weekend since located over a bar. Most of the time toilets had no toilet paper and there is never any towels to rent or anywhere close by to purchase one! Once you stay there you will never feel clean again!!! Only saw one cleaner on my stay and she just changed sheets the bathrooms and showers were always untouched!

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This place pounds down the walls on the weekend with a noisy DJ and townie clientele…you won't be able to sleep until 2 or 3am. They even crank up the music on Sunday night! Not a relaxing environment. The "Chillout" room is way too small and buried in the basement, so I had trouble finding a place to read. Additionally, there was so much disorder with bed numbers that I repeatedly came back to find someone in my bed and the staff were too busy bartending to help me. Location is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We are sorry to hear you didnt have an awesome experience with us. As a party hostel there is a DJ on weekends until 2am,we do offer free ear plugs to all guests and tell guests to be considerate of others. We are also sorry to hear there was a mix up with your bed, this does not happen often and we try to sort any issues out immediately, even if the bar is busy. we hope you stay with St. Christophers again, regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

77%

I really enjoyed my stay in the hostel especially when I found the kind assistance from Richard and Othman, they were really so kind and friendly. The Price was really affordable and worth it. It is also cheap comparing to the expensive prices of the other hostels in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sounds like you had a great time here at St. Christophers Greenwich! Thanks for taking the time to write the review and thanks for the shout out to Richard and Atheman, we have let them know that you think they are awesome! We hope to see you again! Kind regards, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

43%

I have stayed in many hostels in London, and many St. Christopher's throughout Europe. The more I seem to stay at them, the more I am disappointed. The have a good bar atmosphere, but they seem to forget that they are a hostel first and a bar second. It's disappointing when you have to wait for the customer to stop flirting with the bartender / reception so you can check in. Unacceptable. It's a great location in Greenwich, so it was fine for my quick weekend away, but too far from the city


94%

It is good that there's a hairdryer for free! But I found it is difficult to use the shower facility so I just took a shower as fast as possible. I think it's better for visitors to ask the staff how to use it first. People there are very friendly. It is a nice hostel to make friends. And Greenwich is a good place to visit. :)) btw, their breakfast is so abundant!


94%

Great place, great staff!


(1461 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback