X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1939 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great place and a great bed, the staff were very polite and helpful, the people there were very nice to talk to, I would very much like to stay there again

  • 21st Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for taking the time to review us, your comments are always helpful and we can learn a lot from them. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you do come and stay with us again. Regards St Christopher's Team Greenwich

80%

The stay was gd the rooms were clean the staff very polite all in all i enjoyed my stay and will come back again .

  • 14th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are really pleased that your enjoyed your time with us at Greenwich, your comments are always helpful and we can learn a lot from them! We are really glad that you would like to return at some point, we look forward to seeing you in the future Regards St Christopher's Team, Greenwich

54%

Loved the location. The restaurant was good (minus the "breakfast", which was very disappointing). I had a few problems with the hostel: 1.despite saying that they offer baggage storage, when I arrived they told me they would not be locked up or supervised...basically that I was taking a chance 2.the bathrooms smelled/felt yucky 3.The common room "chill out room" downstairs was filthy 4. The window in our room was open, and could not be closed. In January. The room was freezing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your comments, we can learn a lot from your reviews. We do offer secure luggage to our guests which is down stairs in the chill out room. You should have been informed of this at check in, these lockers are secure and locked which the guests receives a ticket for to open and close their locker at their own convenience. We are able to close the windows in all of the rooms so it is unfortunate that you found this difficult to do. I will get maintenance to check all windows again. I am sorry you found your stay not as you had anticipated and shall investigate these issues that you have pointed out. Regards St Christopher's Team, Greenwich

80%

Great staff and a nice clean hostel. The chill out room was a little depressing but the bar made up for it. Very easy to get into London, two options on train types. I really enjoyed my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your comments, they are always appreciated and we can learn a lot from them! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. I would be really interested to hear your views on the chill out room, if you would like to email us with your thoughts they would be helpful. Regards St Christopher's Team, Greenwich

71%

It was a very good stay at the Hostel, Nice and Peaceful environment. The Hostel is adjacent to the Overground Railway Station which was quite good and saves time travelling to and from City and ofcourse the Staff were very much helpful. much appreciated. Vinay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your comments they are always very helpful. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always nice for us to hear that people have enjoyed themselves with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Regards St Christopher's Team ,Greenwich

91%

location good,staff helpfull,public transport good,free breakfast what more do you need,perfect. this is a loction i would recomend. thanks for a great stay St.Christophers.

  • 23rd Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks very much for your review, we always appreciate your feedback. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, it makes our job worthwhile knowing that our guests leave happy and satisfied. Hope to see you again at some point! Regards St Christopher's Team, Greenwich

49%

iv stayed in alot of hostels, and this was by far one of my least favourite. it was rather expensive to get to and from the city centre, and expensive in general per night. in my room all the beds very jammed very close together, the showers were crappy and kept going cold (not what you want in an english winter) i wouldnt go back if i was in london


54%

There was never anyone at reception when you needed something so you had to go to the bar and bother one of those staff members. You could not adjust the temp of the water in the showers and it would go from ice cold to scalding hot back and forth. The room was okay not much room between beds and there was only one outlet behind a bunk so you didn't have access to it. The common room did not smell good and that was the only place that had outlets to use where you could sit. Far from city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your review, we really appreciate them and can learn a lot from them. Unfortunately when the reception is quiet the staff also work the bar/hostel, the staff are always happy to help guests and are never bothered by anyone as it is their job to assist guests! We do have a sign up saying that you can come to the bar should you need assistance and it is never any trouble. We are aware that the chill out room is a small space and we are trying our best to make this space nicer! As we have an old building, it is difficult to have everything the way you like but we try to make best use of the space we do have. We check the temperature of the water daily and make adjustments when necessary. We are lucky to be situated next to the train station and it takes only 10mins on the overground to the city. We are also lucky to have the DLR close by so we have access to all forms of transport into the city. Apologies if your stay was not what you had anticipated and we will discuss your review at our weekly meeting and see how we can improve on things. Regards St Christopher's Greenwich

100%

Very friendly staff and great atmosphere. Good breakfast

  • 11th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your feedback, we really can learn a lot from our reviews. We are really glad you enjoyed you stay with us and we hope you choose to visit again. Regards St Christopher's Greenwich

86%

Nice people, good kitchen, very good value for money Too bad they did not wanted to selle me nice T-shirt.... thakns! it was great!

  • 11th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your comments, they are always helpful to us and help us to improve on things which may affect your stay. Glad you had a really good time, unfortunately we only had staff t shirts left so were unable to sell these ones to guests. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. Regards St Christopher's Greenwich

100%

thanks ollie to help me with my booking....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to comment. Olly is very good and we are glad to help you. Regards St Christopher's Greenwich

100%

GOOD PEOPLE GOOD ATMOSPHERE/// IN THIS HOTEL I FOUND A JOB TOO.....THANK YOU AURELIEN FOR THIS HELP.....AND ALL THE GIRLS OF THE STAFF......GOOD QUALITY AND CLEAR

  • 10th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We appreciate your taking the time to review us. Your comments are always appreciated. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, all the staff are happy to help our guests and glad to have been of help to you. Regards St Christopher's Greenwich

100%

Friendly staff, clean room, and good price. The only problem was the shared toilets on the 2nd floor didn't flush properly.


91%

The staff was great, really friendly and nice, and very helpful!

  • 9th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are really grateful that you have taken the time to review us. We appreciate all guests comments and do our very best to make sure that we can be helpful to you during your stay. We hope we see our guests return to stay with us as it makes our jobs worthwhile. Regards St Christopher's Greenwich

83%

The hostel was quite clean, the staff was really nice and helpful, location is great if you want to get to the O2 Arena, which was our case. Connection with the city centre is quite good too with the trains running every few minutes.

  • 6th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We really appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. Its really great for all of us when guests enjoy there stay and leave happy and satisfied. The connections into the centre are really good and we are lucky to be situated right next door to the station. We do hope you choose to stay with us here in Greenwich, at some point in the future. Regards St Christopher's, Greenwich

100%

Nice hostel right outside the train station in Greenwich. Nice staff, fun atmosphere. Arelien is a golden member of the staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for taking the time to review us, we discuss our reviews at our meetings and we learn a lot from them. All our staff are fantastic and they all do their best to help our guests feel at home whilst here..We are really glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you choose to stay with us again some time Regards St Christopher's Greenwich

91%

Had an excellent experience. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and tidy and the bar downstairs was great. Will definitely be back!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We really appreciate you taking the time to review us, it really helps us to improve on things. Its really nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, the staff are great and all work hard to make sure guests have the best time. We do hope we see you at some point again, in the future Thanks St Christopher;s Team, Greenwich

60%

The bathrooms desperately need to be fixed. Toilets always overflowing and leaking on the floor and the showers cold and terrible pressure. Getting woken up without warning to have our dorm painted and not knowing if we'd have to sleep amongst paint fumes that night was also pretty average. And Greenwich sucks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your comments, we really appreciate you taking the time to send us your thoughts. We have been working on the bathrooms and have hopefully resolved these issues now, the shower temperature was also changed so the showers are hot. We did have to do some painting in one of the dorm rooms although we did let the guests know beforehand, for some reason you were not informed and we apologies sincerely for this. We made arrangements to move all the guests into another room as we were aware this room would smelling of paint. We are really sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as anticipated. If you would like to email us your comments on how best we could have improved your stay we will be happy to listen to them. Regards St Christopher's Greenwich

94%

Great location for taking the train. You can get the zone 1and 2 pass and ride the train everywhere. Had a great time.

  • 22nd Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We really appreciate your time in reviewing our hostel, we can learn a lot from guests feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us! We are really lucky to be situated next to the train station and you are correct that a daily/weekly pass allows you to travel as much as you like on the overground, underground, DLR and London Buses. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us. Regards St Christopher's Team, Greenwich

49%

Was ok, but not good enought, not very clean the showers, staff are okay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thankyou for your feedback, it is very helpful and we take all comments on board. We are working hard to improve our shower area. They are cleaned daily and we are always communicating with our housekeepers to make sure they are done to satisfaction. Thanks St Christopher's Team Greenwich

(1413 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback