X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2010 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Confusing to find, right next to the station. Good place.


51%

If you are traveling alone and want to meet people I would not stay here. The atmosphere is poor to say the least. Too far from the city.

  • 30th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Friendly staff and cool to have a bar attached. The food in the bar was great and good value with residents' vouchers. Good location for the O2. It's pretty expensive for a hostel, but I realise it is average for London. Showers were clean as was the room. We booked a twin and were expecting two twin beds, but it was actually a bunk bed. But we survived!


74%

Beware: they do NOT accept children under 18; I had 16 year old with me and the staff reluctantly let us stay but only very reluctantly, and with lots of provisos and talk of signing disclaimers etc


43%

Very poor location!! Worth money to stay closer to city (at least 30 min from actual city part of London) . No elevator or 24 hr security and it is located in a bar -- reception desk between the taps and the dirty towels they give you. Only redeeming factors were nice staff (tried to be helpful) and located next to train (not underground!).


89%

Great place with friendly staff quite close to a tube station. All facilities are modern and well maintained.

  • 19th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Ok, sometimes smelly. Breakfast could have been better.


83%

Staff is really helpful, good location (many access ways- bus, DLR), place felt really secure, free lockers under bed, EXCELLENT bed mattress, good breakfast, perhaps the only minus is no kitchen or at least a microwave in a common room. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone.


74%

The first 2 evenings there was party at the Hostel Bar, so we could not sleep because we could feel the bass very well in our rooms. The last night there was a stranger in my beed. thinks can happen but not like this. I had the feeling, the staff does not take care about the people who stay there. I even did not touch the, what they called it: breakfast. The area is nice and close to the city, but not 10 min. You Need half hour to get to the city.

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

You have to press the button every 10 seconds to keep the showers going, that's 30 times in 5 minutes! And the water changes its mind frequently, alternating between burning hot and freezing cold water. There are no lockers in the room! The only lockers are downstairs; there aren't enough of them for everyone and they cost money! So in that sense, the security is awful. The WiFis reach isn't very good either.

  • 1st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great stay here! Staff were very friendly and helpful - would recommend to friends ( although not the Fosters - as it tasted a bit funny ;) )

  • 30th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a fantastic hostel and I would highly recommend it if you want to stay in London! :)

  • 22nd Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The actual hostel itself was pretty good. Although in Greenwich, it was right next to a train station that could get you into central London in 15 minutes. However, the staff could not have been worse. Each and every one working there had a bad attitude, was rude and unaccommodating.


83%

Very clean and friendly hostel.


100%

I stayed at the hostel for two nights but keep returning to visit the staff and to chill out. Very friendly people, great music, great environment. I recommend Greenwich st Christopher's to anyone travelling to London as its close enough to the city while still being far enough out that its cheaper.


77%

The hostel is located near the station that makes it easy to be accessed, although it needs 30 mins to get to city center. The staff was also helpful and kind. The toilet and shower room were good and clean. However, I stayed in a room with some people who stayed there for a long time and the room didn't smell nice. The room window couldn't close completely (there was a little gap) that made the room a little bit cold.

  • 3rd Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • sriediaprilianti2568
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good hostel, a bit out of the way but


86%

the hostel is very nice, the only problem is the cold water in the shower. The staff is awesome


97%

A forty-minute tube trip from Victoria Coach Station, but right next to the metro stop and a five minute walk from the center of Greenwich and all its attractions. A great value, especially considering inflation in London - free breakfast, wifi, nice facilities and helpful staff. The bar downstairs is perfect for a cheap bite to eat or a few drinks before going out, and the lounge in the basement is equipped for movie nights. A good branch of St. Christopher's.


97%

The hostels was great value for money with spacious rooms and great food available at the bar.

  • 15th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1457 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback