X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Greenwich Reviews

189 Greenwich High Road, Greenwich, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1997 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

The rating for this hostel is a bit deceiving, as I was very unimpressed overall. The hostel is very old, dirty and poorly maintained. The rooms were extremely hot in the middle of summer and made it basically impossible to sleep as they had no air conditioning. The showers are awful and unclean too. The other guests in my room were all much older than expected, and went to bed early and were very antisocial. I would absolutely not recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The lack of electrical outlets int he room was a definite problem. The water in the shower was dangerously hot and almost impossible to stay put for more than 3 seconds without getting burned.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear your showers were too hot and you will be pleased to know, we are actually looking into getting plugs sockets for each bed, so hopefully if you come back in the future, you will see some improvements. Thanks for leaving a review. The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

91%

the smell in the floors wasnt that good. in the rooms itself it was good, just on the way to the rooms it was almost everywhere a disgusting smell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased to hear you liked your room. Sorry to hear the place smelt bad during your stay! We hope you will still come back in the future! Thanks for leaving a review, happy travels. The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

91%

I really enjoyed my time at St-Christopher's Inn, though it's location was not central. It is just beside the DLR which made it easy to get to the center. I really enjoyed Karaoke night on Sunday and the food was good. The room was quite stuffy but they brought in a fan and it got better. Thank you to all the staff for making my stay memorable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love hearing you had an awesome and memorable time with us! Happy travels and thanks for leaving a review! See you next time. The St. Christopher’s Greenwich team

63%

The location is far. You will have to take the DLR to get into the middle of London - which is an extra 6 or so stops. Not convenient. The area is very quiet, not much to do. Staff is very nice and helpful, but the 6-bed female dorm that I stayed in was terrible! So small, and only one incredibly small window in the ceiling above my bed. So so so hot and stuffy in July. And when it rains and you have the window open, it rains right into your bed. Cheap, but would not stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you didn't like your room, to improve the air flow we have now installed fans in each room. As for our location we are actually only two stops from London bridge, which is a 7 minute train ride and much quicker than the DLR. We hope you do change your mind and give St. Christopher's Inns another go. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

63%

Upon arrival, the three members of our party were assigned a room. After getting all settled in and laying down after a long day of travel, another person came into the room and said we were using the bed he was assigned. After being re assigned to another room, we went out for the night and came back around 2 a.m. There we found a man sleeping in one of the beds we were assigned. Worked it out with the staff and got reassigned again. Terrible experience. The place also smelled quite bad.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry to hear that there was such a mix up with your booking. We have hundreds of guests come through our doors and on very rare occasions these mix ups do happen and we hope that you accept our apology. We really hope you give St. Christopher's Inns a second chance and we apologise again for any inconvenience we caused. Enjoy your travels, The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

86%

Very helpful and friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased that you had a great stay. We hope to see you again in the future! The St. Christopher's Greenwich team

89%

El hostel queda lejano al centro de la ciudad, en la noche es difícil volver ya que el metro funciona sólo hasta las 12 de la noche. Nadie del hostel supo indicarme correctamente cuál bus tomar de vuelta en la noche.


71%

Poor air quality in room. Window opened only slightly and no air con or fan. Room felt like 120 degrees and subsequently got no sleep. Second time stayed here and won't be staying again!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry to hear you had such a bad stay with us. Unfortunately at the time of your stay we had an unexpected heatwave and we have actually now installed fans in each room. We hope you accept our apology. The St. Christophers Greenwich team

71%

하룻밤을 보내기엔 좋지만, 시내에서 너무 멀리 떨어져있고, 직원들이 딴청을 많이 부립니다.


89%

I had a great stay at this hostel. The staff were great and very helpful, and the facilities that I used were always kept clean and tidy.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review, we love that you had a great time. We hope to see you again, happy travels! The St. Christohpers Greenwich team

57%

There is no how to cook, there is only one microwave in the same place that people suppose to "chill out" which by the way looks a basement with sofas. It is very small, and it is over a pub, so at night the music doesn't stop, and you can listen it from the bedrooms.


77%

The location is AMAZING, however it was very loud at night because of the bar, and the rooms lacked ventilation, which meant they were really hot.


77%

Very nice staff! Booked the wrong date previously but the staff kindly agreed to switch the dates after couple emails back and forth.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad that everything got sorted for you and we are always happy to try and help! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we hope we see you in the future. The St. Christophers Greenwich team

37%

It was a very unhappy stay. The staff could not really help any of the guests because they were too busy with the bar, what I do not blame them but it is a fact, the facilities are bed because the anti fire system did not let us open the window more than some inches and the bedroom was really really hot, I would say like 35ºC, while outside was 25ºC, and while I needed to wait for my transport after the check out I could not even stay in the main area of the hostel. Sorry but I don't recommend.


83%

Very useful place to stay from which you can explore Greenwich and the rest of London with a tube stop just next door. Facilities were great. Breakfast was rather disappointing however, there was hardly anything other than bread and a toaster available along with a jug of water so don't expect anything special on that front.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are glad you had a good stay. We are really disappointed to hear about breakfast as we pride ourselves on a great continental breakfast which even includes ham, cheese fresh fruit and yoghurt. Perhaps you came after 9am as free breakfast is only from 7am-9am. Please accept our apologies. Thanks again, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

100%

Gostei muito de tudo no Hostel, ambiente agradável, já recomendei aos meus amigos no Brasil, em breve estarei de volta! Abraços!

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! We look forward to seeing you and your friends very soon! The St. Christophers Greenwich team

91%

Great hostel in Greenwich. Right next to train so no problem to get into city center. Very clean and not too loud considering it's above a bar. Good drink and food deals. Close to Greenwich park.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review. We are really happy to hear that you had a great time and we are glad you enjoyed our drinks and food deals. We hope to see you again. The St. Christophers Greenwich team

66%

Bit boring for a "party" hostel, staff were very friendly and room was clean, but in a boring location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that you found us boring, here in Greenwich we like the best of both worlds and tend to have a quiet week but a party on weekends. Perhaps next time try staying with us on the weekend and we can show you how we really party (hint: It involves lots of Jager)! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

66%

I spent two days here, though originally I had booked just one night. Having rebooked in the morning, I didn't expect I woold have to change rooms when I returned. There was a "computer says no" response to my enquiries. I had to book my second night online, despite being stood in reception. Not enough electric points in the rooms. The security cages under the beds are awkward to use, the lids can't be lifted without pulling the whole cage from under the bed. The beds and duvets are excellent

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear you extended your stay with us but are really sorry that our customer service lacked a little, this has now been dealt with, and we promise the "computer says no" response will never happen again! As for power sockets, as an old building it is difficult for us to install more at this moment in time however we are very happy to hear you had a good sleep in our comfy beds! Thanks again for the review, The St. Christophers Greenwich team

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback