X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Hammersmith Reviews

28, Hammersmith Broadway, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2979 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

I made a mistake with my booking and the staffs were really helpful and cooperative. I must have caused a lot of headache but Chloe was really patient replying all my queries and trying to help me the best way possible. Thank you so much Chloe, please manager reward her with a drink or something. She deserves a medal! The bar downstairs had great vibes. I stayed in the 8 bedded female dorm, had everything I needed. The staffs actually made the whole stay very pleasant. Cheers to all of you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Many thanks for leaving us such a nice review! Chloe is amazing and we are lucky to have her in our team! We are happy to know that she treated you well ! We hope you had a great stay here and hope we will see you very soon! All the team fron STC!

60%

the location is quite comfy but the facilities still in need such as lift or common area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello There Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy you enjoyed staying with us. Our Hostel does not provide any common area unfortunatly, but our guests does meet and chill in our bar! We hope that we will see you soon STC team

57%

The bedroom was clean but too small. Bathrooms are not the ones shown in the picture, and they are dirty. And the worst is that there is no elevator, so I had to rise my luggage four floors, that really seré six.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there Thank you for leaving us a review! We are sorry you find our bathrooms too small and that clealiness didn't match our standards. Cleanliness is a main thing for us and we try our best to stay on top everyday. We do not provide any lift as our building is not recent enough. We do not hesitate to help our guest with their luggage if they struggle. We hope toi see you soon! STC team

69%

Very convenient to Heathrow airport. Had to wait at the desk for a while before anyone was available to come and check me in. Literally the worst shower I have ever had... Dirty, cold, and sporadic flow of water. Good wifi. Felt safe. Forgot to ask for my key deposit back when I checked out, and the staff didn't say anything so that's a bit stink. You get what you pay for here.


86%

This is my go to hostel nearly every time I'm in London. Love the bar where you can hang out all day, meet the locals, and use the wifi. The only problem is the stairs, sometimes you are going up 4-5 flights and it's really tiring when you have your bags! Some staff are more competent and helpful than others, too, as they deal with the bar and checkins at the same time. But it's steps away from hammersmith station, which can lead you into all the main London attractions so easily.


80%

My room was a dorm on the very top floor, and it got uncomfortably warm as the night went on. Also, you can hear the noise from the bar on the main floor until about 2am ... just be warned! Decent, clean facilities, great location, and good breakfast offered in the morning.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • ahanson84
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Place was clean enough to walk barefoot. lots of bathrooms and showers to accomodate everyone. Great discounts at belushi's that e used often.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello There Thank you for leaving us such a nice review,we are happy you liked our facilities and our great discounts and hope you had a great time with us! We hope to see you soon St Christopher's Inn team

63%

Atmosphere was not very welcoming for a female solo traveller - lots of "older" men seemingly staying there long-term, getting so comfortable that they leave the bathroom door open while peeing etc. Not really creating a "backpacker" culture where people want to get to know each other, made me feel like I'm intruding someones home. VERY noisy due to street noise and a club next to the hostel,made it impossible to sleep. Wifi reception didn't work at times. No common room available. Good location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello There Thank you for leaving us a feedback. We are sorry your experience went bad.Issues regarding long-stay guest are going to be sorted soon as we want this hostel to have a backpacker culture! We are glad you mentioned those issues in your review! Thanks again We hope to see you soon

89%

Had a great time staying at this social, fun hostel. Staff were all top notch and the fairly busy bar downstairs was fun to have on my doorstep. A bit of street noise and bass from the bar comes upstairs so maybe don't book it for your business trip, but if your after a good time at a safe, friendly spot with great transport links and a decent price for london, look no further.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for this lovely review, we are really happy to read that you loved our amazing staff and our busy bar! We are glad you had a lovely stay and hope we will see you very soon

51%

Bad atmosphere.I don't have a problem with people living temporarily in hostels while they set up their lives, but when someone gets up at 5am every morning and switches the lights on to iron their clothes and do their hair,that's just ridiculous.Others would like to sleep.You won't get much of that here though;sirens blaring on the streets all night and loud moaning pipes going through the hostel walls all night...and cold showers.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for taking the time for sharing with us your experience. We are sorry you had a bad experience during your stay.It's sometimes quite hard to roomshare with people who have different way of life.We know that and that's why we are always happy to find a better solution for our guests(moving room etc) We hope to see you soon

89%

Great location and very friendly staff. Angie and the guy is the nice staff I will remember.It's a good place to stay for a short time.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello you Many thanks for this great review, we are proud you had a great time here and liked our staff. We hope to see you very soon!

71%

There were a lot of older folk there, a few who seemed not to be backpacking but living there. It was around 12 when they told me and my friend, who were talking quietly in our bunk that it was too late. Also would be nice to have a common area with a table and some chairs etc. But overall good value.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for leaving us a feedback, we really appreciate it. We are happy you choosed us for your stay in London. We know we should provide a nice chill out area for our guests but unfortunately, we don't have a lot of space here

60%

Avoid staying in room 111. Otherwise hostel is in good location.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there I have sent you an email to have more information about your stay as it's important for us to know what we should improve. I am looking forward to ear fromyou

46%

Close to the tube and lots of shoping! However.... I was dissapointed that it's almost impossible to meet forgien travellers at this hostel as it is mainly used by imagrant workers while they look for homes. Of he 8 beds In my room 6 were used by workers. His creates a bad atmosphere as the are not really there to socialize.. Day staff were friendly and helpfull, was very disappointed with drunk staff on check out this morning... Very unhelpful and quite rude. Unfortunate to leave on a sour note

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there Thank you for sharing with us your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our location and had good times shopping around. We are sorry your experience with Hostellers wasn't that great , our foreign guests are often in the bar meeting up and sharing a nice pint of beer. We apologize for the issue that you had during your check out,this is not matching our standards and we will look into it. We hope to see you soon!

69%

The lockers below each bed are big, but they require an extra lock which you need to bring yourself or purchase at the reception desk. Such an addition shouldn't be necessary. Lockers should lock by default! But the breakfast is amazing!


80%

Great experience

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

unfortunately my bed was "cleaned" instead of the girl above me(who was actually leaving). my stuff has been removed from my bed and my charger for my iphone was not able to be found again :/ all in all hammersmith is a great place to stay, its clean and very handy with the connection...


74%

Great staff and great location. However do NOT come here if you want a social hostel .


74%

Very simple, basic place. No real issues with the place and a fantastic price. Shame there was no common areas except the bar downstairs. Not too loud although right next to Hammersmith station and main roads so great transport links. Again, no real complaints. Loved the Winehouse mural too!


94%

I stayed at the biggest dorm in the hostel. There are own curtain, light and electric plug so that you can keep your provacy.


(47 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback