X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Hammersmith Reviews

28, Hammersmith Broadway, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2793 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

really well organised hostel (which seems to be at christophers in general because I stayed at their hostel 'The Village' also and it was similar), and the Hammersmith one was really nice because even in the biggest dorm each bed had a curtain and light for privacy. Big lockers under the beds and in a good location. Thought it was really good value and good vibe and heaps helpful staff and exactly what I would want in london


100%

Amazing location, greeted by the fantastic Amy and Jase - helpful, friendly. Comfy bed (no curtain though!), clean wash area. Vouchers at the bar were a nice touch - 2 for 1 beers, and a more than adequate complimentary breakfast. I WILL be back! :-)

  • 24th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

staff was very friendly. Federico was extremely helpful

  • 18th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I stay becuase of the location. I had an ok stay. there are a few things that you might want to take note of. - the photos are misleading, you only get the pod style beds if you are on the first floor. So if you book a female only dorm you will not get this, you will however be on the fourth floor with no elevator. - showers are hot, but quite small and have a push button system -there are no kitchen facilities so be prepared to buy all your food, but food at bar is nice. -Is a party hostel

  • 15th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It is a good place to stay, but its very noisy, and it is connected to a bar, so sometimes people are drunk when they get into the room .The room was very big, and confortable, but beds doesn´t have curtains.


71%

You have few toilets and bathrooms.

  • 12th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Location for getting to/from the airport is amazing with both the tube and buses being able to get you there 24/7. Not too much else going for it, wifi only works on certain floors and bar is public, so not only backpackers there so a tad harder to meet people. I would stay here again en route via the airport, but otherwise get somewhere else closer to the city if you want to actually spend a few nights.


80%

Convenient to Heathrow and central London, but I've learned St Christopher's Southwark is THE place to stay for sightseeing


100%

the staff was amazing, so helpeful and always happy. Caitlin, ally, and the 2 jasmines were such a great help with my travels and made my stay so delightful. Will definately be visiting again!!

  • 6th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is good for catching public transport, however finding the hostel is very difficult. Others also had problems finding it as it is not well signed, and it was noisy from other travellers and passing trafic.

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Lot of drunk guys everywhere. Maybe is not the hostel's fault, but was really annoying really. Staff was great though.


49%

The hostel works as a bar. so theres no common area and no socialization activities, just the bar. Also there were no lockers in the rooms and no wifi on the second and third flors.


77%

I stayed in the female only dorm which had clean, comfortable beds and was very quiet. However, the lockers were broken, and did not shut properly. The shower room, the showers were extremely hot!!!! And as the temperature thermostat dial ( all three of them) were stuck, it was not possible to alter. A branch of some sort would have been helpful to out belongings on as the hooks were not exactly able to hold much or anything. The water pressure was almost zilch. Location very good.


94%

it was very good, the staff was great and the food even better! :) although they didn't had mocha coffee haha jk it was awesome :)


91%

I wasn't happy that I couldn't use the PowerPoint plug in room 203 on the top bunk on the right to the window at bed 7. There was something Jammed in the plug.

  • 23rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

great snooze...nice gal at reception...great little hood of london...quick trip into central london on tube...breakfast was fine...bar was with good vibes.


74%

Breakfast was ok but would be much better if the juice at breakfast time was pure juice and not diluted stuff as was provided. It would also be much better if handwash/soap is provided in the toilets. I did not see any in the toilets I used. Otherwise the facilities are fine and its not a bad place to stay.

  • 21st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Good value for money, helpful and friendly staff, free Wi-Fi, large spacious rooms. The pub serves the purpose, but this hostel can be improved by having a common chill out room with coffee/tea facilities.


49%

I traveled all over Europe and this is one of my least favorite hostels. The bathrooms permanently smell of dank moist ass and probably rival truck stop toilets in terms of sanitation. The noise level is inane and they don't really tell you about all the hidden fees. For example, a locker is 4 pounds a day. Towels and hairdryers are an extra charge. Wifi is only available on one floor. The one redeeming quality is the breakfast. 3/10 would not return or recommend.

  • 16th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I would maybe come back here. It was in such a great location. Its neighborhood was wonderful, and we were literally just across the street from a picadilly stop. Downsides: we were a group of girls and the only way to get into the hostel is to go through the pub downstairs. This was fine with us, but on a couple of nights there were VERY shady characters, and it made us all uncomfortable. Also the dishes at breakfast were all dirty, and the only place to lock a bag is in the basement.


(1989 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback