X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Bath Reviews

9 Green Street, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1911 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I enjoyed my stay here, the location is perfect and with earplugs, the noise from outside is not a problem. The dorms are clean and tidy and the breakfast is good. The only thing which can be greatly improved is the cleanliness of bathrooms and toilets.


60%

Not a fan of coed washrooms like they have. One person in the room is up everyone is as the beds are loud and squeaky. Great location though.


66%

I don't live hostel too often, most were good..but this is just... In my room, a Spanish guy said he lives there permenantly...next day roommate told me how rude he is , making me feel weird all the time...no one reminded me about locker, until I called them by phone, then telling me4£ to Buy a locker...cannt rent, must buy..in the evening, woke up a few times because drunk ppl shouting on street! Day we left,another permenent livinSpanish man put hand in pant(right near his xx)in breakfast time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking time leaving us feedback. Sorry to hear you did not feel too comfortable during your stay, if there ever is any problems, guests or other things, please come and see us in reception and we will take care of it - the situation has been addressed with the guests in question. All dorms are equipped with lockers, either bring own padlock or buy in reception. We wish you a great time on your travels! The Bath Team

94%

Alice helped a lot , people there were great, I will be back with my family Thank you all !!!!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely words, it was a pleasure having you and we look forward having you back with your family! Until next time, take care! The Bath Team

94%

Shower water was freezing. Breakfast was excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we value our guests comments as it helps us being even better! Great that you took advantage of our free breakfast buffet, less great to hear you had trouble with cold water in the shower - this is something we will look into straight away! Have a great time during your adventure in Europe! The Bath Team

40%

Absurdly, scandalously overpriced. Perhaps £20 would have been reasonable for such a shoddy place but we paid £88. We were truly ripped off.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Andorra
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are truly sorry to hear your stay was not up to our usual standard, it is a huge disappointment that we failed providing you a pleasant stay. If there ever is any problems we encourage our guests to come down and see us in reception, we are here to help! We hope that you enjoyed your trip in Bath nonetheless, and the rest of your travels will turn a brighter corner! The Bath Team

69%

Excellent location and breakfast is included! But there is no kitchen (only a microwave and a kettle) and the beds are rather worn.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. We do indeed have the most amazing location being right in the city centre, and we know just how important it is to have a full stomach before a busy day of sightseeing in this beautiful world heritage city so free breakfast buffet is always a win! Guests has access to fridge, microwave and kettle as well as having 25% discount of food in our pub Belushi's! Best thing of all, new beds are arriving in a few weeks - we are as excited as you are! The Bath Team

60%

The "Chill-Out" room at the very top of the building is not very comfortable, and with no cooking facilities, there is little reason to stick around and talk to other people in the hostel. Also, can anything be done to reduce the echoing in the corridors? Some carpets might help muffle the creaky stairs or the loud parties.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Our Chill-Out room is equipped with TV, books, games, sofas, microwave, fridge and kettle and in our bar Belushi's all our guests have 25% discount on food and offers on drinks - both great places to meet fellow travelers! Thank you for your comment regarding carpets - we will definitely look into this! We wish you a great time in Europe! The Bath Team

97%

The staff were very helpful and positive, helped with my lost baggage with no complaint. Super location. Overall, great experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time leaving us a review. Great to know you had a superb stay with us! All of our staff are travelers so we can certainly appreciate what a difficult situation it is with lost baggage, of course we do what ever we can to help! We hope to see you soon again in one of our many brilliant locations around Europe! The Bath Team

74%

The staff is nice but the place is quite loud, so maybe not the best for people who enjoy quiet times ? Quite cold too but February is what it is ; also our room wasn't clean yet when we entered (lots of wet paper towels on the floor) but on the three days we spent there I only saw one person cleaning after check-outs and if she has to do everything on her own it's understandable that some things are not perfect. Very good location ! (A kitchen would be great, considering the prices around).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Being in the heart of this wonderful world heritage city, we can certainly appreciate that sometimes noise can unfortunately drift over from the busy city life. Sorry about that. Our reception provide free earplugs for those of our guests who are particularly light sleepers. We do check our facilities on a regular basis to ensure a pleasant environment for our guests, but if ever any problems please see us in reception! Fridge, microwave and kettle can be found in the chill-out room! Take care!

100%

Even if i stayed one night only i've really enjoyed the hostel! Emily at the reception was very nice and welcoming! Definitely going back there if around bath!! Clean hostel and amazing position, in the centre of the city, less than 5 mins walkin from all main attraction!

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely comments! Staff is always happy to help! We do have the most amazing location being right in the centre of this wonderful world heritage city, with major sights within walking distance! We look forward welcome you soon again, take care! The Bath Team

77%

The location is really good. But for me, it is too noisy at night cause the music from the downstairs pub, I tried very hard to fall in sleep. And about the bed, the duvet cover is deep blue and made my friend felt not sure about its clearness. By the way, the staff there are very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback! Indeed we do have a very central location being in the heart of Bath, so we can certainly appreciate that sometimes noise can unfortunately drift over from the busy city life. Sorry about that. Our reception provide free earplugs for those of our guests who are particularly light sleepers. Our guys love their job and are always around to help in any way they can, and recognition like this is what helps keeping their massive smiles staying up! The Bath Team

97%

This was my first experience in a hostel, and I was pleasantly surprised. The location was central although on a noisy street. Everything was very clean. There were adequate facilities. In the very top of the hostel was a chill out room with a TV and DVDs to rent. You get 25% off food at the bar. My only complaint is that the radiator didn't seem to work well or at all because it was very cold in my room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
How lovely to read! We hope your future experiences in hostels will be equally awesome! As you probably already know, we do have a very central location in the heart of Bath, so we can certainly appreciate that sometimes noise can unfortunately drift over from the busy city life. Sorry about that. Our reception provide free earplugs for those of our guests who are particularly light sleepers. There was an issue with guests turning off the radiators but that has all been sorted! Safe travels!

57%

The hostel was freezing! The radiator in our room wasn't on the first day

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, sorry to hear your stay was not up to our usual standard! There was an issue with guests turning off the radiators but we have modified the radiators so only staff are able to. We apologize for this, next time you are staying with us it will be all warm and cosy! Safe travels! The Bath Team

83%

I had an unexpectedly enjoyable time at St Christopher's Inn, it's definitely the place to stay in Bath, all thanks to the lovely Alice for being such a welcoming and sane Earth human morning person :)

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us a review, it is always nice to have you here! We look forward seeing you next week! The Bath Team

71%

Everything is ok except the showering water is not warm enough and the bar downstairs really noisy and the room inside is cold.quiet people may consider if they really would like to come here.the other thing is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. The hot water in the showers and radiators in the rooms has all been fixed up and now working fine, we do apologize for any inconvenience! Being located in the heart of this magnificent world heritage city, we can certainly appreciate that sometimes noise can unfortunately drift over from the busy city life - but not too worry! - free earplugs available in reception! Enjoy the rest of your travels! The Bath Team

89%

I stayed for two nights with my partner in a private double room ,from the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiles and staff were very helpfull ,St Christopher's inns has a great atmosphere surrounding the whole place ,big thank you to all your staff .♥

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A big thank you for taking the time writing us this review - this puts a massive smile on our staffs faces getting recognition for their hard work! Our guys love their job and goes out of their way to help our guests in any way they can. We hope to see you soon again, have a great time in Europe! The Bath Team

86%

excellent staff and great location

Owner Comment (Hide)
And an excellent guest you were! It was a treat getting to know you and we hope to see you soon again! Have a superb time on your adventure! The Bath Team

94%

A fantastic hostel in a gorgeous city. Strong wifi, free brekky, discounts on pub food/drink and really friendly staff. I had an issue with my laptop charger being "borrowed" from my bed and the staff could not have been nicer or more committed to helping me get it back. I've seen missing items in other hostels be completely dismissed, so this was so refreshing. The one downside to St Christophers are the showers. 15 seconds of water and no temperature control so its either freezing or scalding.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time writing us a review! Fantastic to hear you had a fabulous stay with us and that we took well care of you! Free breakfast buffet and offers/discounts on food/drinks is always a win! We at St Christopher's Inns do our best to play our part for the environment, think what a massive impact we are making with the water saving procedure with the number of guests staying with us everyday! Shower temperatures has been looked at and now working fine. Safe travels!

80%

Very nice style of room But not very nice bathroom

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Great that you enjoyed your room but less great to hear you were not satisfied with out bathroom. We check our facilities regularly and encourage our guests to come and see us in reception if there ever is any problems, we are here to help! Have a great time in Europe! The Bath Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback