X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Bath Reviews

9 Green Street, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2159 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

very good location, but terribly uncomfortable bed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for taking the time leaving us a review. We are sad to see your scores does not reflect our usual standard, and would love to know what caused this besides finding your bed uncomfortable to enable us to action and improve! We will look into which bed you were in to ensure the beds stays up to best possible standard! Thank you for staying with us and we wish you a fabulous time on your travels! The Bath Team

37%

Sorry but I can hardly believe you call this a hostel. Terrible beds, noisy construction, too many people on too little square meters, poor cooking facilities, poorly maintained building, etc. It's not the cleaners that do not do their job, this building cannot be cleaned due to very poor maintenance. Im sorry but I'd recommend serious rebuilding this location.

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time leaving us feedback, we wish all our guests to have the utmost pleasant stay with us and we are truly sorry to read your stay was not up to our usual standard. Staying in a 12-bed dorm is not to everyone's taste but we do have 6-bed dorms and private rooms as options. Due to our amazing central location in this wonderful world heritage city occasional noise can drift over from the busy city life, we are sorry about this. Take care! The Bath Team

89%

Chiling experience. Security, staff, breakfast everything was good except rooms were cold as the window glasses were single glazed i think!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
A big thank you for your kind words, it is always great to read what a superb stay our guests has had with us! The free breakfast buffet is always a great way to start a day before heading out exploring this wonderful world heritage city - toast, cereal, fruit, juice and hot drinks is the treat offered to you. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to have you back with us soon again in one of our many fabulous locations around Europe! The Bath Team

91%

fantastic location within walking distance of the abbey, baths, station, river etc. wonderful service of the staff and the free earplugs, abundance of power plugs, towels, bedsheets and so on Plus, you get 25% off food/a 2-for-1 drink pass and some more coupons :) the hostel is inside Belushi's bar, so if you find yourself lost but definitely in the right street, look for Belushi's there're lots of stairs, so beware if you're not capable of that, otherwise not a problem

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your kind words, it is truly wonderful hearing back from our guests saying what a fantstic stay they have had with us! It was an absolute pleasure having you and we hope to have you back soon again in one of our many fabulous hostels around Europe! The Bath Team

100%

Location is great. Good rates. Individual lights and energy sources on the bed wotud make the place perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for leaving us a review with your thoughts and feedback. We sure do have the most amazing central location and staying with us does not have a significant impact on your wallet, enabling you to spend more time and resources exploring this wonderful world heritage city! Thank you for your suggestions, we will look into this! Have a superb time on your continuous journey! The Bath Team

80%

Only stayed one night but was all we needed. Good beds and pretty clean toilets and showers, best part was the bar downstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time leaving us a review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the rooms and facilities. Indeed our pub Belushi's is a great part - even more so as all our guests has amazing offers and discounts on food and drinks while staying with us! We hope you also joined us for our fun-filled events. It was great having you, have a fantastic time on your onward travels! The Bath Team

57%

Crowded, too many beds per room, crappy showers, zero maintenance. It's an old building and nothing's been done recently to make it more comfortable. A little bit of investment from a company as big as St Christopher's would go a long way, but they're content renting out dodgy accommodations in a city where there aren't many other affordable options. I definitely wouldn't stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time leaving us feedback, we wish all our guests to have the utmost pleasant stay with us and we are truly sorry to read your stay was not up to our usual standard. Staying in a 12-bed dorm is not to everyone's taste but we do have 6-bed dorms and private rooms as options. We do hope you had a superb time exploring in beautiful Bath. The Bath Team

94%

Great stay overall :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words, it was really nice meeting you and we hope to have you back with us soon again! The Bath Team

97%

Great place!! Really good atmosphere. Great chill room with tons of movies, awesome bar downstairs with good discounts!! Very helpful and friendly staff. Met lots of cool people here. Close to everything in Bath and grocery store. Only downside is no kitchen, but they do have a microwave, kettle, plates and cutlery. Would definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts and comments of your stay, we highly value our guests feedback! It is great to hear you took advantage of the Chill-Out room and offers/discounts in our fabulous pub Belushi's, and that we took very good care of you! It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon in one of our many fantastic locations around Europe! The Bath Team

54%

Some of the staff is really rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We are very sad to read that you found some of our staff members being rude and we would really like to know what caused this so we can look into it and take action to ensure this will not occur again, and we have sent you a separate email asking for more details. We are really sorry that your stay was not the greatest and that we did not succeed in making your stay the most positive experience. Take care and we look forward hearing from you! The Bath Team

66%

Terrible showers, no wifi in a room, room cold / nice staff, cool chilling room, great location. Could be better for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for taking the time out of your day to get back to us with your feedback and comments, it is reviews like these that allows us to continue to improve! We are sorry to hear there was an issue with the shower, wifi and cold room, please do not hesitate letting us know and we will look into it straight away! We do hope your visit in Bath was utmost pleasant and we wish you all the best on your continuous adventure! The Bath Team

83%

Checking in at the Belushi's bar was difficult when there was a big sporting event on tv because the bar was full of people. But overall the experience was good. The washrooms were clean and the staff were very friendly. Better insulation in the upstairs dorm bedroom windows might be a good idea, as you can hear people yelling on the streets all through the night, as if the windows are open, even though they were closed.

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts and comments of your stay, we highly value our guests feedback! If you do like your sports it is heaven but we can understand the frustration if the general interest for sport is not there, but great to hear you still have a very nice experience and that we took well care of you. Have a great time in Europe! The Bath Team

100%

Awesome hostel, great facilities. The bar and it's food is great too

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are awesome - it was great meeting you and fantastic to hear you took advantage of the brilliant offers and discounts on food and drinks in our fabulous pub Belushi's! We hope you joined us for the weekly events as well! It was really nice having you and we hope to see your smiling face with us soon again! The Bath Team

91%

I really enjoyed my stay here. I met a heap of nice people in my 12 bed dorm however there was one weirdo in my room that was staying there because he let too many people stay in his house (so he said), but managed to avoid him. One of the showers was constantly blocked but the other two were always free when I was in there. The common room is very stuffy and small but I spent very little time in there. The hostel itself is very easy to find and walking distance to everything.


80%

Good stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
And it was very good having the pleasure of meeting you! All the best on your onward journey! The Baht Team

74%

Decent hostel just off the center of town. Staff were the standard fair but otherwise a nice, clean and relatively quiet hostel to spend the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your review and taking the time leaving us your thoughts about your stay. Nice to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and we wish you a great time on your onward journey! The Bath Team

66%

This hostel had really nice rooms with big windows, a vanity section and was overall clean. The location is also excellent. However, the bathrooms in both the hostel and the bar were filthy, and I mean filthy. No soap and hair in the drains, plus overflowing bins. Also, I don't see the point in offering female only dorms if the bathrooms are mixed? Girls need their own loos.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time leaving us feedback, we wish all our guests to have the utmost pleasant stay with us and we are truly sorry to read your stay was not up to our usual standard. We do check our facilities on a regular basis, but please do let us know if you happen to catch something before us and we will get straight on it! We do hope you had a superb time in beautiful Bath and we hope to see you soon again in one of our several brilliant locations around Europe! The Bath Team

86%

Great hostel in a very nice town. Great to watch the rugby and cool tours. Nice locals and lots of great parties to have with local students

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback, we really love hearing back from our guests and it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are connected to the sports bar Belushi's so if you are a rugby fan you are definitely in the right place, and Bath is a big student city so never have to walk far to find them. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to have to back soon again! The Bath Team

100%

It was a bit noisy, even with earplugs. The security and location were excellent. I also really enjoyed the free breakfast. The only thing I have mixed feelings about were the eco friendly showers. I like that they're environmentally aware, but after a long day of travel, a long soak helps to rejuvenate. I never thought of that as a luxury when traveling before.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time leaving us a review with your thoughts and feedback. It was great meeting you and we wish you all the best on your onward adventure! The Bath Team

46%

Loudest hostel I ever stayed in

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time leaving us a review! We are sorry to see your scores does not reflect our usual standard. We do have the most amazing central location, which can entail occasional noise drifting over from the busy city life, sorry about this. If you happen to be a light sleeper we do have free earplugs available, just come and see the lovely staff in reception! Happy travels! The Bath Team

(77 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback