X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn - Bauhaus Hostel Reviews

135-137 Langestraat, 8000 Bruges (Brugge), Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
5335 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

No wifi in the rooms is something that I hate and also they have a problem with drainage because the hallways and the bar smell like sewage. Would stay somewhere else next time if I could


83%

The toilets/showers were okay but not great - there weren't very many of them, some were out of order, and they were all tiny and cramped. The room was about average for a hostel - been in better, but certainly been in worse. But the downstairs area of the hostel was great, we loved the atmosphere in the bar in the evening and the chillout area around reception was great for relaxing in!


91%

Good location, walking distance from sights


97%

Stayed here during a weekend. It was probably the best hostel I've ever been to. The atmosphere in the common room was awesome and it felt really homely. The breakfast is also very great and it almost feels like a hotel breakfast. The rooms were clean and tidy and the staff speaks perfect english and are very helpful. If I had to criticise one thing, it would probably be the slighlty clogged sink in our room ...


80%

Booked online via hostel world-very easy. Check in process was easy & the staff very friendly. Security cards to access rooms (great), lockers available but need to bring your own lock or buy one from reception. Ate and drank at the bar, food was good and plenty of drinks to choose from at affordable price.


100%

The bar in the hostel is wonderful and their staff is lovely.


86%

Great Hostel, a little bit off center.


89%

Absolutely fantastic. Great facilities and staff. The atmosphere in the very cozy bar and lobby area was very lively. Even locals used the bar, so it was very easy to meet both international travelers and natives of Brugge. One of my new favorite hostels. Only downsides are the lack of food options from the bar, and it's a little bit of a walk from the city center. These are just minor, however. I recommend.


66%

Had a bit of a bad experience at this hostel mainly due to the dorm room i stayed in being right next door to all the rubbish and recycling from the bar. The room stunk as a result and opening the window/door decreases security and not to mention makes the smell worse. Also it is a decent walk from this hostel in to the city. Unfortunately I wouldn't recommend this hostel if you are going to Bruges.


71%

Cons: No kitchen and the common area is a bar where you can only drink what they sell, which doesn’t really fit the whole hostel idea. Plus, the showers system is quite uncomfortable. Wifi doesn’t really work in the rooms. Pros: Good breakfast, rather helpful staff. All in all, not a bad place to stay.


89%

Very much enjoyed our stay here and in Bruges. Very highly recommended and would go again! The staff were friendly, the atmosphere was both chilled and warm (yes I realise those words are contradictory). The free walking tour (with our guide Matt) was excellent.


86%

the stairs to the rooms are quite narrow; otherwise it's been a great experience. we will surely come again!

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your coment! Great to hear you want to come back again! Feel always welcome! Safe travels!

26%

What do you expect if complete random people have access to property and they do not let the guests sleep by making noise till 4 in the morning. Strange place with no hospitality and no sleep. Horrible.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The bar is great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We glad you like it! See you next time and take care!

71%

The ambience was great however the rooms dont have the bedside plugpoints and lights as promised. Moreover the lockers require a padlock so buy your own. The bathrooms are shared and most had broken doors. Also they don't have a kitchen, just a microwave to heat the food. I'd say go for the pod beds over the 6 bed dorms at the same price. Overall i enjoyed myself because of all the buzz in the hostel, but yeah the facillities were poor to say the least. Dont rely on free breakfast.


86%

Apart from a weird smell in one of the stairwells, it was nice and clean. The curtains on each bunk were good. Good breakfast provided and helpful staff.


91%

Staff were extremely helpful. Tons of showers/toilets and power points. Clean rooms. Location about 10-15min walk from Grand place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot! :) We always try to do our best! Great you saw it! Safe travels!

86%

We didn't have much like being assigned a bunk (we booked pods but were given bunks without curtains. We were then moved and given a bunk that wasn't bolted to the wall like the others so the whole thing swung noisily back and forth at the slightest wriggle. The staff were super nice in trying to help although I'm just not sure regular maintenance or inspection of bunks is carried out before offering them to guests (e.g.none of the reading lights worked either). Everything else was great though.


91%

All of the staff was very helpful- above and beyond, but especially Willie. The common room was a great place to meet people and the beer tasting was great. It was super busy ALL the time, so not really a good place to make calls or anything quiet, but fun. Made it a little dirty- lots of flies. Ros were great. Especially having a curtain for each bed and it's own outlet! Right on the edge of the main city- but it is very small so easy to walk everywhere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Can't be better! Thank you a lot! Take care and safe travels! :)

100%

Enjoyed absolutely everything! Laundry service is just next door which turned out to be good news.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear good news :) it was awsome to having you! See you again! :)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(226 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback