X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn - Bauhaus Hostel Reviews

135-137 Langestraat, 8000 Bruges (Brugge), Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
5971 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Hostel had a very nice atmosphere and staff were very polite and helpful. The beds were a bit uncomfortable and the bathroom and showering facilities were small and a bit grubby.


71%

The Bauhaus is a cool hostel no two ways about it but come on 1 shower and 1 toilet for at least 20 people on a floor?? The shower smelt really bad and was slimey on the floor. The beds were really comfy though and they have some good events running every night- beer tasting/ pub crawl ect.. The staff were all hilarious and really friendly and the location was great (5/10 minute walk to the main square) would recommend this hostel but just expect to wait for a shower and bring flip flops


66%

This was one of the worst hostels we've stayed in. The chill/ bar area was nicely furnished and really comfy, giving the illusion that the rest of the hostel would be the same. The bunk beds were creaky and when we arrived, one of our beds was unmade and had dirty sheets. Male bathrooms were dirty, the whole hostel smelt weird and the showers were bad. The ceiling leaked continually, leaving gross dirt patches on the ground. On the bright side, the free breakfast was great.


86%

Great place. One let down was the smell in the corridor in the second building. Everything else spot on though.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

lovely hostel, however the dorms were very simple ... would definitely recommenced spending the few extra euro and staying in one of the rooms with the pods. slightly further out than some of the other hostels but bruge is small and its actually a nice walk! only downfall about the facillities is that there is no kitchen to cook your own food

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback, we are in process of constructing a guest kitchen as we understand that it is a useful facility and hope to have it completed as soon as possible. Thanks - The Bauhaus

94%

Great hostel overall. Slightly out of the way as it is on the opposite side of town as the train station, but in a small town like Bruges that hardly matters. Great beer selection at the bar and very friendly staff. Get a pod bed if you can, they're worth the extra price for the comfort of privacy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the great review, we hope you come and stay again in the future! - The Bauhaus

74%

Pretty awesome hostel. Atmosphere is good, I wish the bar had a bigger beer selection though, kinda out of the way, but still a ton of fun. One complaint is that the halls in the second building smelled SO BAD. They need to air that out. The rooms were fine though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and had fun! We were experiencing a slight problem with the city's street drainage that has now been repaired. We hope you come and stay with us again. - The Bauhaus

80%

There's a bar and the rooms were separate in a different building. Room with curtains and own charging port was very nice. You have to pay to store your luggage though, per hour

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the feedback, we are happy to hear that you were comfortable in the pod beds. In addition to the free luggage storage within rooms we also offer secure electronic lockers for storage before and after checkout. We hope to see you in the future! - The Bauhaus

71%

Make sure you stay in the dorms with the "pod"-type beds, these are far more modern buildings with good bathrooms and the beds themselves are really nice and private. The bar downstairs was OK, but mostly filled with people on their phones as it was the only place you can get the WiFi! Staff were pretty indifferent, to be honest, and the lack of kitchen / washing facilities wasn't very handy. 30min walk from station, 15min from town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. The bar atmosphere varies greatly with the particular guests staying with us at the time and we are hoping to expand the WiFi range soon. We are sorry to hear that you found the staff indifferent, we will contact you privately for more information on the staff members concerned. For future reference, we are located 10minutes bus ride from the train station. We hope to see you again. - The Bauhaus

57%

The staff in this hostel were very nice and helpful. Hostel location was fine, 10 min walk to centre. Supermarket and laundrette within close location. I was not fond of this hostel due to the limited facilities provided. There is a lack of bathroom facilities in the hostel with a few single block toilets being shared with many people. Lack of cleanliness with the toilets also. There is no wash basin within the to small a toilet room, leading to having to open several doors before washing hands.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review, it's great that you found the staff friendly and helpful. There are a small number of toilets that do not contain sinks among the many within each building. Due to constructive feedback on this issue we intend to install wall mounted hand sanitizers to improve hygiene, as well as improved signage to make guests better aware of all available bathrooms. - The Bauhaus

89%

It was great! The atmosphere is awsome and the staff is really kind and always trying to help you. The bar is also really great!

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the great review! We hope you come and stay again! - The Bauhaus

97%

Rooms and shared bathrooms were very clean. I stayed in a dorm with "pod beds" which were bunk beds with curtains around the edge. I really liked this idea as the curtains kept the light out. Good bar with large variety of beers and even cider. Staff were helpful. The hostel is located on the edge of the old town but it is only a short walk to the centre as the old town is quite small.


66%

Come into this hostel knowing you paid a cheap rate for it. When you accept that, its actually decent value for your money. About a kilometer walk from the main attractions in the city. Great atmosphere in the bar downstairs. The wifi only extends to the bar so youre SOL in your dorm. Only a few showers in the basement and one bathroom per 2 to 3 rooms. The breakfast was exceptional. Cereal, eggs, nutella, toast, juice. Really friendly and helpful staff.


51%

I was very disappointed with this hostel. The location is good (15 minutes walk from the center), but the facilities are not clean and not in good shape. The price for a private room without private bathroom is expensive compared to the service I obtained. The room door was difficult to close, the light making a noise during the entire night, the window blind was closing but it was impossible to reopen it, the sheets didn't seem so clean (black marks) and the bathrooms are not convenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that you found the facilities unsatisfactory and are currently reviewing our cleaning and check procedures. We have a responsive maintenance team and always encourage guests to report any issues such as a damaged door or light to the reception as soon as possible so that the problem can be immediately fixed. We hope that your experience of Bruges was not negatively affected. - The Bauhaus

80%

My stay at St Christopher's Inn - Bauhaus Hostel for 3 nights in August 2015 overall was faultless... maybe except for the minor problem of the bunk beds in room 31... they were quite vobbly as they were not secured to the walls. The hostel was clean, only 10 to 15 walk from town centre with a very pleasant, atmospheric bar/lobby area. The staff was also very efficient and friendly.An OK, Better-than-Non type of breakfast was included in the room price. Definitely recommend this property.


57%

Staff ignorant and unwilling to help on several occasions. Bar and seating area constantly full of a large amount of flys, irritating to say the least, luckily we didn't have to spend much time in there. Room was ridiculously cramped with only one person at a time being able to access the lockers underneath the beds, and whilst someone is on the bottom bunk you can't access the lockers due to the weight. Only positive for this hostel is the bathrooms which are of a decent size and standard.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we appreciate you providing feedback about your stay. You will be contacted personally for more information on the staff members involved in your response. We continuously aim to provide a high standard of customer service and find any poor staff attitude unacceptable. Maintenance has now resolved the issue with your bed locker. We hope you stay with us in future and allow us to provide the service you deserve. - The Bauhaus

66%

There was only one shower and one toilet on our whole floor which was very disappointing! Rooms had no wifi and were very hot even when it was cold weather. Staff were very friendly and helpful however!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review! After some complaints we have now increased the signage to all of our available bathrooms as all floors contain more than one. We hope this did not affect the quality of your stay and hope that you visit us again. - The Bauhaus

37%

Very disappointing place to such a nice city. I don't know what some people took to classify it as "very nice place to stay" or to recommend it, but I sum it up so others really have the chance to think twice before booking there: - Reception guy: funeral face, barely looks at you, seems he thinks he is doing you a big favor; - Rooms: not clean (a lot of dusty and smelly), very tiny bathroom in the ensuite private room, no wifi - Poor breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. The night receptionist in question has now been re-trained after concerns about his level of customer service and we apologise for your experience. Wifi is always available in the bar and reception area, though we are looking to expand this range as soon as possible. We are currently reviewing our cleaning procedures but encourage guests to inform reception immediately if any room does not meet their standard of cleanliness. Thank you. - The Bauhaus

60%

Its a little far from the city center and the train station, maybe they could offer more informations about the bus that takes you from the station to the hostel. They don't have wifi at the rooms, only the at reception/bar.


97%

First hostel, didn't know what to expect. I was very pleased! It clean and friendly. I would definitely go back. The beds are awesome! Good walk to town, bus stop right near it too.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(212 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback