Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Christopher's Inn - Bauhaus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 7,160 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 7,160 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
St Christopher's Inn - Bauhaus Hostel Located at 135-137 Langestraat, 8000 Bruges (Brugge), Bruges.
St Christopher's Inn - Bauhaus Hostel
Belgium
Bruges B-8000 135-137 Langestraat, 8000 Bruges (Brugge)
86% 7160
51.2121596 3.2379090
St Christopher's Inn - Bauhaus Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
5.1

I was very excited to stay at the Bauhaus as I'd never been to Bruges before and I love staying at St Christopher's Hostel's. I was very disappointed with my stay to be honest. I felt as though the staff were quite rude and weren't that keen to help us out. The bathrooms were always pretty dirty and smelled quite bad. One positive was that it was fairly close to the centre of town (about a 10 minute walk). It was a very disappointing experience for me at a St Christopher's Hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Firstly we would like to apologise if you felt that the staff were rude during your stay. We consider friendly customer one of our highest priorities and have re-iterated our procedures to the staff member responsible for handling your check-in. We also understand that cleanliness of particularly the bathroom areas is essential for a comfortable guest experience. In this instance we been unable to meet the standards that we set and can only apologise for the negative impact on your stay. We have taken steps to tighten our cleaning procedures since your visit and hope that if you choose to stay with us again the facilities will be to your satisfaction. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your travels. Thank you. -The Bauhaus Staff

30th Dec 2016
9.1

I loved the atmosphere of the hostel. The facilities were pretty clean and accessible. Security was fine. My only complaint was the staff, which occasionally were not as accessible/professional.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
10.0

It is an amazing place. As there is not many hostels this one is full of young people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your great review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed yourself with us and we hope to see you again some day. - The Bauhaus Staff

28th Dec 2016
4.0

The bar is pretty great, the rest was dissapointing. It has no kitchen, no common area (so its practically impossible to meet other people), many rooms are in separate buildings so people did their own thing and there was no control over anything, half the times I went to the bathroom there was no toilet paper at all, many guests are very young or old (not necesarily bad, but doesnt create a great hostel atmosphere either), pretty far from the historic city center.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of renovating our older rooms, installing shelves, lights and power sockets for all beds as well as working on the plans for a guest kitchen and chill-out area away from the bar. We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy better facilities during your stay, but by utilising your helpful feedback we hope to improve the experience for future guests. - The Bauhaus Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.6

Fairly well located, cheap and excelent breakfast. I wish they had more toilets per floor. But overall, great hostel. They have a cool bar also. Comfy beds and good locker. The girl in the front desk was not very helpful, but she seemed to be under a lost of stress... So I dont want to say she was rude... But she was a little.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your great review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our standards of service seriously and rely on feedback from guests such as yourself to maintain those standards. From the details left in your Hostelworld review we were able to identify the staff member in question and have now taken time to provide her with additional customer service training to prevent future occurrences of this kind. - The Bauhaus Staff

27th Dec 2016
5.1

The Bauhaus is far from the main action in Bruges. While the bar is fun, there is no sense of style in the hostel itself, nor any design sense with things like the shower area. No common areas for food storage, or prep. It's a very plain / basic lodge.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
8.9

Great location and nice staff. The pod beds were amazing and everything was kept clean. The breakfast was excellent. It should be noted that you have to pay €3 unless you book directly on their website in which case breakfast is free. There is an interesting bar downstairs but no guest kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your great review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your trip - The Bauhaus Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.1

Really nice hostel and bar, I stayed in a room for 8, room was big and mostly clean, beds are quite comfy. Showers and toilets are very clean. Nice location ~10 minute walk to town square. Unfortunately a little bit expensive but that's maybe because I went the week between chistmas and new years. Staff seemed friendly. If you book directly on the hostels webpage breakfast will be included, otherwise you can get it for €3/day

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Dec 2016
6.3

After travelling for some while we now know a good hostel when we see it. This was recommended on the famous hostels website but in all honesty it was average. Breakfast was ok and plentiful though. The atmosphere was rubbish; a lot of big groups which the hostel looks after but not soleo travellers or pairs. The groups were so rowdy and hostel staff not telling them to calm down a little made it hard to bare. Also seeing staff pissed in the evening wasn't great. Rooms were good though and clean

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for leaving feedback about your stay. During your reservation we were hosting an unusually large group of over 100 people that chose to drink in our bar at night. This does not reflect the normal bar atmosphere we try to cultivate, that usually engages well with solo travellers/pairs. That said the bartenders cater to the majority atmosphere - if 90% of guests in the bar (groups or not) want to be loud and party then we do not consider that a problem unless they become aggressive or offensive, in which case they will be asked to leave. Alternatively if there is a quiet relaxed atmosphere in the majority of the bar and one rowdy group they will be asked to calm down. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our breakfast and room cleanliness. Thank you - The Bauhaus Staff

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
9.7

Must stay place if you are gonna do a lot of walking! No complaints really from the place.. one of the good hostels that I've stayed in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for leaving feedback about your stay! We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again! - The Bauhaus Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.