X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Canal Reviews

159, rue de Crimee, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
13220 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

My locker did not even pull out from under the bunk bed and neither of our padlocks fit on my friends locker, so we both slept with all of our belongings in our beds with us. The cleanliness of the showers was extremely questionable. The hostel is located very far out from the city centre. We booked a room very reluctantly at 35 euro a night as this was over both of our budgets .. only to find that the price had dropped by a huge 10 EURO a few days later. Not happy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your feedback. If something isn't working properly in your room just notify our staff immediately we will always sort something out for you asap. We're located less than 20 mins via Velib from places such as Notre Dame and the Louvre and also have 2 metro stations minutes walk from our front door. The rates of our rooms change daily according to the time of week and year and this is unavoidable but we hope you enjoyed yourself nonetheless and had a great stay in Paris!

51%

Hostel wasn't as good as I expected. It was very noisy during a night and room wasn't clean at all. We came to dirty beds and cleaner came at last day of our four night trip. Hostel was very big and made by bigger corporation so it didn't feel so lovely as others. Staff was very helpful but you had to wait for them like 20 minutes every time because they were so understaffed. Breakfast was very good and FREE! Location was 20 minutes by metro from centre. I wouldn't recommend it.


77%

The room was large. We had to kill five spiders before going to bed. There were no male showers on the floor we were on, so I had to use the handicapped shower - for some reason this room was extremely hot. WiFi worked well. Security was good - had to prox on to floor. Location - had to transit to city centre, but the station was close. Bar downstairs was expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for all your feedback! Unfortunately we have been conducting maintenance on certain bathrooms so some are out of order until this is complete, we apologise for this inconvenience. We hope you had a great time with us and would love to see you at St Christopher's again. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

77%

Hostel was located quite far from all the sights and attractions but was close to a Metro stop. Really new and updated so was very clean and had a lot of amenities. Only problem was Wifi which was not working from my room - had to go down to the common area every time. The staff also made an error in booking my airport transfer. Room was also ridiculously hot and there is no A/C!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate all the feedback and are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and had a great time with us. We do have a separate wifi connection for the rooms, so perhaps you weren't connected? But we're glad you had no trouble with the wifi downstairs. Unfortunately it can get hot in the rooms during high summer and this is something we're currently. We hope to see you again soon. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

80%

Stayed here twice this year had great fun, good atmosphere, NIce dorms, privacy curtain is great. Only downside is level of heavy rock music in the main bar. Not t everyone taste so we mainly sat outside with the smokers when out of control. However had live music several nights which was good.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The breakfast was great here. The staff were friendly and helpful with making bairport transfers and tours. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. The 8bed female dorm had lots of floor space and a small sink and mirror in the room too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the lovely feedback! We very much hope to have you at St Christopher's again in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

83%

I particularly love the curtain on each bed, more privacy. The bar on the ground floor is amazing, serving excellent food. However, everywhere is crowded. There is not enough bathroom. Expect to wait for a shower☝


94%

Great hostel. Good vibe for solo travellers as the bar is always pumping. MAKE SUEE YOU BOOK IN ADVANCE so many people got turned away. Great beds with a private curtain (score) and great location. Many people say the area is "dodgy" but it's not at all. Close to metro, canal next door which is nice for a wine and picnic. Would stay again. Can be very pricy in high season/weekends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for writing such a great review for us! We're always stoked to hear you loved the vibe and managed to have a great time in our downstairs bar. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

77%

Awesome location on the canal, not massively central but only about 25 minutes on the metro from most major sights. Free breakfast was delicious and an unexpected bonus! Only slight issue was that dorm doors occasionally didn't close properly (the automated locks would kick in so you couldn't shut the door) but the hostel felt pretty safe on the whole so it wasn't really a problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we're so glad you loved your stay with us! We understand the doors can on occasion lock automatically - you just need to make sure you have your room key on you to unlock it. While it can be frustrating we use the system we have to provide optimum security and peace of mind for our guests. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

83%

Bit far out but metro stops are close, liked the pod beds and the sense of privacy you got.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your review with us, we're glad you had such a great time with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

97%

Absolutely loved this hotel, the food in the bar was really yummy too (and it was reasonable because of the 10-25% discount). Felt like we were in a boutique hostel which brought a smile to our faces! One of our favourite hostels around Europe, also get to learn the metro system quickly - there is a close station and then you're straight into the centre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing such great feedback with us! We always love hearing about our guests having such a great time with us. We hope to see you at a St Christopher's again in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

51%

There was a mix up with beds and on my return my bed had been remade and someone else had checked in. I had left my toiletry bag, big bag of clean clothes, travel pillow and phone charger on my bed all to which had been removed (obviously by the cleaner) and never to be seen again. I had to deal with 4 different staff members and was not impressed when they said none of the cleaners knew nothing about the situation. They dealt with it very poorly. Also drains in toilets and showers stink.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for informing us of the mix-up situation. We apologise for the events and hope everything was eventually found and taken care of. There are times during peak-season when guests are required to change beds during their stay, however in these scenario's the guest should always be notified upon check-in. We pride ourselves on our customer care and we're sorry this occurred, we will be sure to pass this information forward. We hope you enjoyed your stay aside from this error.

83%

The internet in the computer rooms should have been free! The lockers required a HUGE pad lock for the lockers under the bed. Carrying such a big / heavy locker isn't practical.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. The Wifi in our entire complex is completely free, it's just the actual computers we charge for in case you don't have access to a phone/tablet/laptop. And we do have padlocks available at reception for our under bed lockers. We realise they may be larger than a usual luggage lock however it does ensure optimum security for our guests. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you at St Christopher's again soon! The Team at St Christopher's.

74%

Good hostel, but the rooms can get a bit hot during the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you had a great stay with us! For future reference fans are available from our reception desk for those nights when it gets a little too hot. We hope to see you again in the near future. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

80%

Maids were surly and unfriendly. I never knew when they'd be coming to clean the bathroom or sweep the room and so I felt like I was always accidentally in their way and they weren't too nice about it. Maybe they could hang signs on the bathroom doors saying they are cleaning or what times they're in there so no one gets in their way.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Our cleaning staff will come to clean your room at a specific time of day depending on if you're in a dorm or a private room, usually between 11-1.30pm unless you request them not to. We do have signs for you to hang up if you don't wish to be disturbed, but we love your suggestion of the sign for our staff, thank you! We're glad you had a great time with us and we hope to see you again soon. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

77%

Location a bit far out of the city and away from main sights of Paris but the metro station is close by and easy to use. Room was spacious and the pod style beds were great as they added privacy and comfort.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great feedback! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

86%

Was only here for one night but thought the vibe downstairs in the common areas and the bar was really good.Rooms were clean as were the communal bathrooms.Directions given to the hostel were easy to follow and hostel was easily accessed from the metro.Area that the hostel was in seemed at times a little dodgy but I encountered no problems.Under-bed lockers were a pain when on top bunk in corner,had to move others luggage to access my locker.Particularly liked the privacy curtain on beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review! Were glad you had a great time with us and made the most of the bar and club downstairs, it's what we love to hear. We wish you all the best on your travels and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

63%

Just like any other st Christopher's: bar downstairs, card for elevators and rooms, good breakfast, good internet and hot showers. BAD THINGS: bad location; disgusting sewage smell from bathrooms, at least on the fifth floor; few toilets and showers in each floor (2 for girls, 2 for boys, 2 for disabled); AND horrible staff members. I needed an adaptor and they wouldnt sell me one cause I had to wait in line like the rest of (at least 20!) newcomers doing check in. Just one small favor! C'mon!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're glad you enjoy staying with St Christopher's and we hope you will continue staying with us in the future. We do apologise for the water damage/bathrooms on the fifth floor, we are currently fixing this issue so the smell will be gone asap! And we do understand your frustration in having to wait in line but we do aim to provide the best service with a "first come first serve" attitude regardless of what our guest needs.

80%

Bathrooms are clean but smelly. Annoying that there's no kitchen but the food available at the bar is good and breakfast is great for a hostel. The neighbourhood feels a bit unsafe at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it! We're glad you got to enjoy the food and drink at our bar and hope you had a great time with us. We also trust you felt safe and secure and didn't have any trouble in the area after dark, your security with us is one of our top priorities! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

91%

It was a very pleasant expereince. Staff was friendly and they had the best breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear! We always love hearing great reviews about our staff, we love them too! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(259 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback