X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Canal Reviews

159, rue de Crimee, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
14194 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Location was amazing! Situated right on the canal in a suburban style area between two train line stations,..perfect for travelling in and around the Paris area. Staff were brilliant! Bed was very comfortable, amenities were clean and operated efficiently. Free breakfast was a bonus.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there. Thanks for your fantastic comments, we are very happy that you enjoyed the area so much, it really has such a different atmosphere to many areas of Paris. Overall it seems like you had such a great stay and we are ever grateful you decided to let everyone know about this. St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal

71%

Good hostel but the location is pretty inconvenient. As a solo traveller at night I always got a bit stressed thinking about how I would get home because walking from the central paris (Eiffel tower/Notre dame etc) you have to go through lots of dodgy areas to get home which is a shame. The staff are friendly but aren't very specific when they help you. A bit more detail on how to get to places once off to metro would have been good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we are grateful that you took some time to leave us these tips. We understand that being in a new place you may struggle to find different sites, however they are all very well sign posted once you exit the metro stations. As for our location we understand that getting back from the eiffel tower can be tricky as it too is also a little far from the centre. In all everything is very spread out and requires the metro ot taxi unfortunately. St Christopher's Inn Canal

100%

This is just an excellent hostel in a great location! They do all the important things right - amazing staff, great breakfast, proper bunk beds with curtains and individual charging points, excellent common areas, clean, secure etc etc...definitely the best place to stay in Paris!


83%

A very nice location in the 19th arrondissement. The hostel is nice, clean, and has a real international vocation. Staff is international, only a few of them are french. My room was clean and big enough for 6 people. The Belushi's bar is awsome but a bit expensive, lots of french enjoy their night here. I'm really disappointed with the 5€ charge for using lockers to keep luggage after checkout. I defenitly recommend this hostel but stay away if you are on a low budget. Never use lockers!!


80%

Not bad for the price, metro close


94%

Good staf


94%

This hostel is in an amazing neighborhood. During the summer, there's all sorts of fun, free activities along the canal. I loved the outlets & lights & curtains at every bed, but what I would like even more is a kitchen! The atmosphere is great--easy to meet people.


94%

This was the second time I've stayed here and I'd definitely stay a third! Super clean place, with an includes breakfast in a cute little cafe overlooking the canal. Staff were friendly, beds were comfy, can't complain!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us your thoughts, it's really great to read that you've come back to us again and really happy that you enjoyed it so much you'll come back again. We hope to see you again soon! St Christopher's Inn Canal

86%

The hostel is very nice, good for parties and meeting people!! there is a bar and a nightclub on the ground floor and basement. The beds have curtains. They are far from most of touristic places, but near to metro stations. The place around is very nice! there is a canal and in summer there was sand next to the canal and also there were pubs and games for children, so the place was full of french people until 23:30hs (when everything there closes).


100%

Super friendly staff and management, brilliant location, comfortable beds, great facilities including laundry and free breakfast,...well done


60%

Seemed good at first, American guy is really nice at reception but that's where it ends. The beds we were given already had people in them, lift was broken which no one even mentioned, no help lugging our bags upstairs. Quite far from the centre, need to get trams everywhere. When leaving, we asked them to book us a taxi as we ordered food. After 30 mins still no food - asked about it and they had just left it in the kitchen to go cold - had to leave most of it because taxi arrived.


86%

Not exactly central location, but makes up for it in atmosphere. Clean rooms and bathrooms, easy to connect with other travellers. Definitely best value for money.


83%

The staff were really helpful and nice. The rooms were clean, but I can't say the same for the bathrooms. It's a nice hostel, but it was surely missing some things that I prefer to have while traveling, like a fridge and kitchen. There's only a DIRTY microwave to cook anything in. Other than that, it was a great stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your help in identifying some issues and we have been quick to rectify them! We are pleased that overall you really enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll be back again soon! St Christopher's Inn Canal

97%

Totaly Perfect!

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup! We hope to have you back again soon! St Christopher's Inn Canal

100%

Top notch hostel. The sheer size of it with multiple floors and countless dorms made it feel a bit more like a hotel. Breakfast is free and a great time to meet people; staff is helpful, the information provided on how to get around and where to go is priceless. And hey, you're in Paris, right?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the amazing review, hope you come back soon! St. Christopher's Inn.

91%

Great hostel, very welcoming and helpful. Booking the same company in different countries in Europe due to how much we liked it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we re very happy to read that you loved it so much you're going to keep using our chain in other countries! St Christopher's Inn Canal

100%

Great hostel, everything was good, literally can't complain about anything!


94%

Awesome stay. If felt more like a hotel than a hostel. Staff were very knowledgeable and kind, they provide awesome services to see and get around Paris. Really close to the metro, so the city is very easy to access. The free breakfast in the morning wasn't to shabby either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great review, we'r pleased to see that you rated us so highly! We hope you'll be back again soon for another great experience here in Paris. We are very grateful for your comments about our great staff too! St Christopher's Inn Canal

74%

The rooms were clean and spacious, the common area was nice. The location was poor however the metro makes it easier but still not amazing. Overall it's certainly value for money, with good facilities and clean rooms however if location is important I would look somewhere else

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your comments, we are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to read that you found the location not ideal, we are making it known online exactly where we are and there are still some great things to do in this area. In fact you could stay anywhere in Paris and feel the same way, everything is very spread out. St Christopher's Inn Canal

80%

One of the better hostels that I've stayed at. Really nice restaurant/bar, free printing and most staff were friendly, however quite slow with customer service. Loved the curtains on the bed, after travelling for over a month, it's so nice to have your own private space. Only thing I really didn't like is the hygiene in the females bathrooms, I'm not sure if the sanitary bins were changed once while I was there. Many others were complaining as well.


(267 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback