X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Inn Canal Reviews

159, rue de Crimee, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
12654 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The location isn't ideal. There's a metro stop nearby but you're really far from everything. The bar is ok. Every night it was packed, but the prices are ridiculous. They have "deals" - 2 for 1 alc & mixer, but 1 is 7 euros to begin with. Beds were pretty comfy & the bathrooms seemed clean. The wifi was pretty crappy in rooms. Luggage storage is a pain cause you have to pull the entire thing out to open the lid. Sucked cause when my storage was out I blocked the entire pathway to leave the room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for taking time to give us your useful feedback on HostelWorld.com. Thanks for the good grades you gave us. We are working on getting better wifi coverage with optic fibre We have backpacker deals that are, compared to prices in Paris bars, pretty competitive, 2 mixers for 7€, 2 beers for 6€...Sorry you couldn't find your delight. Hope to see you soon in St Christopher's Thanks again

34%

No one came to clean our bathroom spend we stay (5days full). Just one sheet by bed and a slleping bad smell not well. Broken beds and dangerous without stairs for go up. Hot water that good but noisy room because the street. The room doesn't look like the picture on websit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for taking time to give us your useful feedback I was really sorry to read your stay with us was not what you expected Our cleaning staff try their best to keep the bathrooms clean, minimum of three full cleans per day and regular cleaning between 7am and 11pm. I am suprised about the bed cause all our bunks have ladders...Did you inform reception staff? We are curious to know the website you booked on? Thanks again for your time and I am looking forward to hearing from you!

97%

This place is an awesome time, very nice and it's easy to forget it's a hostel. It's like a resort.

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Next to the metro station, placed beside the channel with a nice view to have breakfast and with all the necessary you could need during your staying. Perfect!


89%

Had a fantastic stay here the staff are so friendly and polite. The bar was awesome played great music and a really fun atmosphere in the evenings enjoyed the beer pong and other drinking games we played at night. Free breakfast was great buffet style with lots of variety. The rooms were really nice liked the curtain in front of the bed and also two power points to charge your gadgets. The location was in a nice little area right next to the canal really pleasant. Really enjoyed my stay :D


91%

Its a really nice place to stay a meet people.

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great music and atmosphere at good value for money. Lovely staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for your feedback. We can learn a lot from your experiences so we really appreciate you took the time to reply. We are really happy to see you had a great time with us. If you do have any ideas of what we could do to make things even better we would love to know. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Your St Christopher’s Team Paris.

89%

I would highly recommend this hostel to those who are planning to visit Paris. The location is very strategic and there are some guidelines for the customers in order to use the metro. Definitely worth the money paid. 👍

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for your feedback. We can learn a lot from your experiences so we really appreciate you took the time to reply. We are really happy to see you had a great time with us. If you do have any ideas of what we could do to make things even better we would love to know. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Your St Christopher’s Team Paris.

46%

Although they provide for storage for before and after check in, it is not free, unlike many other hostels I have stayed at. The breakfast and overall cleanliness of the area is not that great. However, personal lamps and two charging ports are provided for each bed.

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for your feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to reply. We noticed that you have marked us lower for cleanliness and breakfast, and we are deeply sorry if you did not find it correct, as our guests used to find the breakfast really nice and varied. Although, we will take your opinion into account about the cleanliness as well, as we try to offer a clean place where people could feel as they do at home. Kind regards. St-Christopher Team Paris.

77%

Few WiFi was not working during my stay. Instead of offering internet use on their pay computers to make up for it, I was told to walk to MacDonalds and use their WiFi. The showers were kinda dirty too.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us. We are deeply sorry about our internet connection which was due to technical issue which was fixed since then. As for the cleanliness issue be assure that it will be reviewed with the housekeepers and proper step will be taken to avoid this kind of situation. Best regards,

54%

The hostel was incredibly loud and the bathrooms and showers were filthy. The room I stayed in absolutely wreaked... you could smell it from the hallway. I enjoyed the curtain and light every bed had, but I couldn't stand the smell or 24/7 noise from the hostel parties. I had to find another hostel the next day so that I could enjoy the rest of the week in Paris.

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

wifi was slow and kept dropping out the entire week i was there. about 15 minutes from the louvre by metro. a lot of patisseries and supermarkets nearby. bar downstairs has reasonably priced food. staff are really friendly and there's a good atmosphere. beds are little cubicles with own curtain, light and powerpoint which was excellent and rooms were clean. fresh towel each day. large lockers in rooms. no kitchen. a lot of toilets and showers but showers were a bit scummy.


86%

There was a night that the lights turned off. Sometimes we had problems with the wi fi system.

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us. We are deeply sorry about the problem with the lights, but it was a problem not just at the hostel but in the whole neighborhood, so unfortunately there was nothing we could do about it. About the internet connection, it was due to technical problems we have fixed since then. Kind regards

69%

Our night wasn't so good because of the noise the came of the street. Lots of people screaming (even barking). The showers wasn't clean. The breakfast was great. The bar was great also. I would recommend the hostel, just if the room has private toillet/bathroom and if it is not near the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We are so sorry about the noise problems which is coming mostly from outside the building, that is why we provide free earplugs at the reception, so our guests could have a nice sleep. About the cleanliness, we have taken it into account and informed the housekeepers in order to check the shower's state as much as necessary. Kind regards

86%

great bar. great breakfast. everything is good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for your feedback. We can learn a lot from your experiences so we really appreciate you took the time to reply. We are really happy to see you had a great time with us. If you do have any ideas of what we could do to make things even better we would love to know. Kind Regards, Your St Christopher’s Team Paris.

71%

Check out is after 2 pm, terrible, I arrived at 10 am after a 13 hours train trip from Berlin, and I had to wait 4 hours in the bar; I tried to leave the luggage and went out around the city, but I had to pay 5 euros, so I stayed there 4 hours, horrible! Location is not good, you are very far of everything, you have to take metro all time, and at night allways taxi. Bar is good, very friendly atmosphere, but too expensive; a Singha beer (tailandian beer) 4 euros: awfull! I wouldnt go again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us We are deeply sorry about your waiting for the check in, but as you would probably understand, from the check out time at 10:30am until 2pm, our housekeeping team is preparing the 365 beds for the hostelers coming. About the lockers price, it is just 2 euros for three hours, so we are sorry if we did not clarify this. Kind regards,

77%

Reluctant to stay here after reading previous reviews about location but its a nice area obviously have to be street wise like any other place. The Hostel itself is well secured although attracts a lot of super loud people at night due to the bar. Would be nice if they held other events other than bed-related and more cooking facilities such an a stove and a kettle. Also there are a lot of great things to see around - canal offers kayaking and theres a great park nearby - staff should tell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We are so sorry if we did not tell you about the nice places we have around, because we try to give all the information we can when checking in so guests can enjoy our area. About the events, we have concerts on Fridays, open mic on Sundays and more events during the week at the bar, so we are deeply sorry if you could not joined us those days. Kind regards, St-Christopher's Team

94%

This hostel is amazing, I've had great time there, In the ground floor there is a pub where people from the hostel and surrounding area go to drink and have fun and downstairs there is a mini club really nice. The guard guy could be more polite some times, he was treating everyone rudely.

  • 15th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for your feedback. We can learn a lot from your experiences so we really appreciate you took the time to reply. We are really happy to see you had a great time with us. As for the security guard be assure that proper step will be taken for him to have a more polite behaviour. If you do have any ideas of what we could do to make things even better we would love to know. We genuinely will look forward to hearing your reply. Kind Regards, Your St Christopher’s Team

63%

Nice hostel, cool people from all over, The hostal was a bit too big and with tooo many people making it a bit unconforable, a bit far away from the center but you´re right next to to metro stations. I might go back I might not, depends on the price of other hostels

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We are deeply sorry if you did not find comfortable being in a big hostel. We try to create a homely atmosphere where guests could feel part of the big family we are. About the location, we are sorry if we did not tell you about the nice places we have around, because we always try to give all the information we can when checking in. Kind regards, St-Christopher's Team

(170 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback