X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Canal Reviews

159, rue de Crimee, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
13266 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Loved this place. The highlight of this place was the staff. They made everything great. The tours available from front desk are also great and cheap all things considered! Bathrooms were kept generally pretty clean and the bedrooms were comfy and spacious, especially on the girls floor.


91%

The staff was pretty Nice and helpful. It is a good place for those who want to party during the night. It is also very clean. The only thing is that it is a little far from everything in the city, but there is a metro close to the hostel.


80%

Me and my three friends were in a six bed dorm which was relatively spacious. It was nice to have little curtains on your bed for privacy. We had a little basin in our room which was handy. The reception/ bar area was always really noisy from the music that they played. I found it really hard to hear the reception staff. The music was even loud in the mornings when you just want to eat your breakfast in a peaceful environment. Location far out but metro in Paris is really good!


89%

We had a great time staying here. Stayed for 5 nights and it's a great value for your money. Spacious rooms, privacy curtain and outlet next to bed is amazing! Bar area is easy to meet other travelers. Only down side is location is a little far from the main sights in Paris. But nothing that a 25 min Metro ride can't fix ;)


74%

The hostel was great. The bathrooms were relatively clean. The rooms were very nice and private. However, the area the hostel is located in is not very safe. I would not go out after dark in the area.


71%

Great place with good facilities but it's pretty far from everything if you are wanting to walk everywhere.


89%

nice place with good free breakfast but no kitchen and no free use of computer for internet.


86%

He estado en varios de

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is not in the centre but right to the canal which is a very relaxing, chill area. It's a nice walk or you can rent a bike which I would def recommend. Even though it's a big hostel you get to meet people very easily whether it's in your room or in the bar or club downstairs. Had a really fun time there and would go back. Only throwback is the lockers that cost 4€ and the queue for the reception can be endlessly long and slow


94%

A bit far from the touristic area but in a nice parisian location and also there are 2 metro stations close to the hostel. Staff are very friendly they do everything to help you out.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The Wifi was really really bad! There was no signal inside the dorm and even in places with strong sign it worked poorly. Also, the only men's bathroom was closed on my floor (and you can only use the one on your dorm's floor) so there was only the 2 bathroom for disabled people available for all men in the floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We apologise that the bathrooms on your floor were undergoing maintenance during your stay, we completely understand it would have been frustrating however it was only a temporary situation. We do have two separate wifi connections, one for the rooms and one for downstairs so it is possible you weren't connected to the correct server. We hope you managed to have a fantastic time and enjoyed your trip to Paris! St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

66%

Bar staff is poor. Facilities are clean but just unlogical. club/nightlife is ok. It's cheap though. A good amount of young people. Would go again, but I'd pay a lil extra to check out the 2 bedroom suite.


83%

loads of showers not all working well I stayed in a 12 bed dorm windows were open so all I could hear was the bar downstairs thumping music all night long, when that finally stopped the noise of trucks and street sweepers boomed through the open windows. room was huge plenty of space beds are clean with a powerpoint each small underbed lockers no good for backpacks staff AMAZING helpful and friendly breakfast was great tea/coffee cereal bread toast juice cheese would recommend this hostel to all

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the fantastic feedback! We're sorry some of the bathrooms were under maintenance during your stay but we love hearing you'd recommend us to others. We look forward to seeing you at St Christopher's again in the future. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

69%

Only complaint is that the toilets/hallways constantly smelt absolutely horrible. Didn't feel that clean after a shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do apologise that some of our bathrooms/showers were under maintenance during your stay, however we're pleased you rated the rest of your stay highly and we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

60%

This hostel is ok. The location is pretty cool since you are close to the canal. But its not the best neighborhood in paris. The facilities are okay but you have to share them with houndreds of guests on each floor. The elevator didnt work which was annoying since we lived on the fifth floor. One guy got stuck in there for 45 minutes. With all this said i would consider going back since its cheap. You pretty much get what you pay for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We're sorry the lift was out during your stay, we understand the frustration but rest assured it is not a usual occurrence and we consider ourselves lucky to have an elevator. We're glad you would stay with us again and wish you all the best! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

83%

Staff were not super helpful and did things very slowly. Cool atmosphere with the bar downstairs. They had little pieces of paper with instructions on how to get to attractions around the city which were awesome. Close to a metro but still a 20 min ride to any attraction

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We always pride ourselves on our level of customer service and we don't usually have any complaints about our great team, but we will be sure to pass this feedback forward. It's always great to hear our guests having such a great time, and we hope to see you at St Christopher's again in the future. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

94%

Very spacious, comfortable to walk around with large luggages. Personal powerpoint spots per bed was awesome

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review! Best wishes, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

80%

Only issue is one if our lockers were broken and it was not lockable

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive feedback! We're sorry you had a problem with your locker, but we trust all your belongings were kept safe and secure and you were able to have a great time with us! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

91%

Clean and modern hostel. Beds were comfortable and private. Breakfast provided was great! The place had a really good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for much for the great review. We're so glad you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you at St Christopher's again soon. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

91%

I've stayed in St.chris' before it's a good chain and I know what to expect. This was a nice clean hostel and the location was good, easy to find from both metro stations, crimee and laumiere :) I would stay here again because it's a good quality hostel but it lacks that cosy social vibe. I loved that they have a club downstairs but I wish they did activities so it's easier to make friends, especially for solo travellers. Bottom line, great hostel just missing that personal touch :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad you had a great stay. For future reference we have loads of daily and weekly activities for our guests to take part in so they can see Paris and make loads of new friends at the same time, all the information is at our tours and activities desk just next to reception. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

(250 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback