X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Canal Reviews

159, rue de Crimee, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
13401 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Positive: Staff at bar were friendly, close to metro, Negative: Bathrooms always seemed dirty, rooms were extremely noisy, French locals ended up on the platform coming through our window one night at 1 am (security threat), wifi mine as well not have existed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We will be sure to pass this forward as we do pride ourselves on exceptional standards of service. We apologise for the security threat, please be reassured this is certainly not a regular occurrence, and all windows in our building are intentionally designed so that they cannot be opened fully to allow anyone in unless in case of an emergency. Rest assured we take the safety of our guests as the highest priority. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future!

80%

this hostel was really clean. and there is a club in the hostel which is quite good and fun. but not good for someone who wants to see center of the paris because of location. It takes more than 40mins by metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think! We may be away from the center of paris, but the metro station by our hostel takes you directly to the center. It is a shame you didn't stay long enough to explore the neighborhood more, you would have found parks, shopping areas, and much more! We would love to have you again, and safe travels!

74%

It is fine. .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment and I hope you had a great stay!

57%

My locker did not even pull out from under the bunk bed and neither of our padlocks fit on my friends locker, so we both slept with all of our belongings in our beds with us. The cleanliness of the showers was extremely questionable. The hostel is located very far out from the city centre. We booked a room very reluctantly at 35 euro a night as this was over both of our budgets .. only to find that the price had dropped by a huge 10 EURO a few days later. Not happy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your feedback. If something isn't working properly in your room just notify our staff immediately we will always sort something out for you asap. We're located less than 20 mins via Velib from places such as Notre Dame and the Louvre and also have 2 metro stations minutes walk from our front door. The rates of our rooms change daily according to the time of week and year and this is unavoidable but we hope you enjoyed yourself nonetheless and had a great stay in Paris!

51%

Hostel wasn't as good as I expected. It was very noisy during a night and room wasn't clean at all. We came to dirty beds and cleaner came at last day of our four night trip. Hostel was very big and made by bigger corporation so it didn't feel so lovely as others. Staff was very helpful but you had to wait for them like 20 minutes every time because they were so understaffed. Breakfast was very good and FREE! Location was 20 minutes by metro from centre. I wouldn't recommend it.


77%

The room was large. We had to kill five spiders before going to bed. There were no male showers on the floor we were on, so I had to use the handicapped shower - for some reason this room was extremely hot. WiFi worked well. Security was good - had to prox on to floor. Location - had to transit to city centre, but the station was close. Bar downstairs was expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for all your feedback! Unfortunately we have been conducting maintenance on certain bathrooms so some are out of order until this is complete, we apologise for this inconvenience. We hope you had a great time with us and would love to see you at St Christopher's again. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

77%

Hostel was located quite far from all the sights and attractions but was close to a Metro stop. Really new and updated so was very clean and had a lot of amenities. Only problem was Wifi which was not working from my room - had to go down to the common area every time. The staff also made an error in booking my airport transfer. Room was also ridiculously hot and there is no A/C!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate all the feedback and are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and had a great time with us. We do have a separate wifi connection for the rooms, so perhaps you weren't connected? But we're glad you had no trouble with the wifi downstairs. Unfortunately it can get hot in the rooms during high summer and this is something we're currently. We hope to see you again soon. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

80%

Stayed here twice this year had great fun, good atmosphere, NIce dorms, privacy curtain is great. Only downside is level of heavy rock music in the main bar. Not t everyone taste so we mainly sat outside with the smokers when out of control. However had live music several nights which was good.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello , Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and we're very glad to hear you had a blast for both times. We see how the rock music can be disliked by some people, but we are a rock bar after all, it is one of our brand identities, along with sports, food, and internationals. We hope you come for a third time and safe travels!

74%

The breakfast was great here. The staff were friendly and helpful with making bairport transfers and tours. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. The 8bed female dorm had lots of floor space and a small sink and mirror in the room too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the lovely feedback! We very much hope to have you at St Christopher's again in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

83%

I particularly love the curtain on each bed, more privacy. The bar on the ground floor is amazing, serving excellent food. However, everywhere is crowded. There is not enough bathroom. Expect to wait for a shower☝

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, bathrooms can get congested at peek time, which can cause problems to some of the hostelers. We hope to see you soon!

94%

Great hostel. Good vibe for solo travellers as the bar is always pumping. MAKE SUEE YOU BOOK IN ADVANCE so many people got turned away. Great beds with a private curtain (score) and great location. Many people say the area is "dodgy" but it's not at all. Close to metro, canal next door which is nice for a wine and picnic. Would stay again. Can be very pricy in high season/weekends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for writing such a great review for us! We're always stoked to hear you loved the vibe and managed to have a great time in our downstairs bar. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

77%

Awesome location on the canal, not massively central but only about 25 minutes on the metro from most major sights. Free breakfast was delicious and an unexpected bonus! Only slight issue was that dorm doors occasionally didn't close properly (the automated locks would kick in so you couldn't shut the door) but the hostel felt pretty safe on the whole so it wasn't really a problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we're so glad you loved your stay with us! We understand the doors can on occasion lock automatically - you just need to make sure you have your room key on you to unlock it. While it can be frustrating we use the system we have to provide optimum security and peace of mind for our guests. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

83%

Bit far out but metro stops are close, liked the pod beds and the sense of privacy you got.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your review with us, we're glad you had such a great time with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

97%

Absolutely loved this hotel, the food in the bar was really yummy too (and it was reasonable because of the 10-25% discount). Felt like we were in a boutique hostel which brought a smile to our faces! One of our favourite hostels around Europe, also get to learn the metro system quickly - there is a close station and then you're straight into the centre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing such great feedback with us! We always love hearing about our guests having such a great time with us. We hope to see you at a St Christopher's again in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

51%

There was a mix up with beds and on my return my bed had been remade and someone else had checked in. I had left my toiletry bag, big bag of clean clothes, travel pillow and phone charger on my bed all to which had been removed (obviously by the cleaner) and never to be seen again. I had to deal with 4 different staff members and was not impressed when they said none of the cleaners knew nothing about the situation. They dealt with it very poorly. Also drains in toilets and showers stink.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for informing us of the mix-up situation. We apologise for the events and hope everything was eventually found and taken care of. There are times during peak-season when guests are required to change beds during their stay, however in these scenario's the guest should always be notified upon check-in. We pride ourselves on our customer care and we're sorry this occurred, we will be sure to pass this information forward. We hope you enjoyed your stay aside from this error.

83%

The internet in the computer rooms should have been free! The lockers required a HUGE pad lock for the lockers under the bed. Carrying such a big / heavy locker isn't practical.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. The Wifi in our entire complex is completely free, it's just the actual computers we charge for in case you don't have access to a phone/tablet/laptop. And we do have padlocks available at reception for our under bed lockers. We realise they may be larger than a usual luggage lock however it does ensure optimum security for our guests. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you at St Christopher's again soon! The Team at St Christopher's.

69%

Stayed in the 6 bed ensuite for 3 nights. Good room, single beds, no bunk beds, and the bathroom was nice and big. The bar downstairs is usually a good place to get a drink and meet people. The worst thing was the location. It's an inconvenient metro stop to get to (2 transfers from eiffel tower/louvre/any attraction really). Also the area at night is pretty dead. Trying to get food after 11pm was very inconvenient, the bar stops serving food even before it closes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment, We appreciate your feedback on your stay at our hostel. We enjoyed reading about your good experience with the rooms and the bar. It's a shame you couldn't stay long enough to explore the local area further, there are a couple of really cool parks that are worth checking out. if you decide to come back to our hostel, make sure to ask our reception team for late-night food options in the neighborhood. We hope to see you soon!

74%

Good hostel, but the rooms can get a bit hot during the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you had a great stay with us! For future reference fans are available from our reception desk for those nights when it gets a little too hot. We hope to see you again in the near future. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

80%

Maids were surly and unfriendly. I never knew when they'd be coming to clean the bathroom or sweep the room and so I felt like I was always accidentally in their way and they weren't too nice about it. Maybe they could hang signs on the bathroom doors saying they are cleaning or what times they're in there so no one gets in their way.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Our cleaning staff will come to clean your room at a specific time of day depending on if you're in a dorm or a private room, usually between 11-1.30pm unless you request them not to. We do have signs for you to hang up if you don't wish to be disturbed, but we love your suggestion of the sign for our staff, thank you! We're glad you had a great time with us and we hope to see you again soon. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

77%

Location a bit far out of the city and away from main sights of Paris but the metro station is close by and easy to use. Room was spacious and the pod style beds were great as they added privacy and comfort.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great feedback! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

(213 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback