X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Canal Reviews

159, rue de Crimee, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
13265 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

Decent enough for a few nights but the toilets smelt absolutely vile, quite far out of paris so you'll have to get the tube everywhere & the surrounding area is full of a lot of dodgy folks. Nice enough but for the price it could've been a whole lot better and the staff could've been less rude. Lockers underneath the beds are awkward & noisy and the cleaners are rude too.


91%

I enjoyed my stay here. It's a big hostel, with lots of people so I felt really safe. There's a great bar downstairs which is good and a computer room. I liked the set up how beds have curtains and bathrooms were clean. Only downfall is NO WIFI on second and third floors. Not good!! Had to go downstairs to use.. Breakfast was great and staff were helpful. Would stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We're sorry you had troubles with the wifi, we do have two separate login's for downstairs and the hostel rooms, which perhaps you were unaware of, but we will be sure to pass this along! We look forward to seeing you again soon. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

71%

Location is good for sight seeing, 10 minutes from a metro station. Lively bar and club in the hostel so you don't even need to go out. Bar food excellent. Floors and walls FILTHY upstairs in the halls and rooms, bed sheet stains. Comfy beds though, very personal with curtain. Perfect party hostel, expect to be woken up by roommates if you go to bed early!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for all your great feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the process of fixing some water damage on certain floors which is why some of the walls are looking a little down, however we have certainly not had any complaints about dirty linen. Please always inform staff about issue's such as the linen so we can fix that for you immediately as there may have been a mix up with the housekeeping. Thanks again!

74%

Nice hostel bath room in renovation

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you liked your stay with us, and we hope to see you again once our bathrooms are finished being renovated! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

66%

I got sick while staying and they was nowhere for my to put my medicates in a fridge

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are always able to store medication in our fridges, you simply need to speak to either our hostel or bar staff so we can name and label it before we store it for you. We hope you were feeling better quickly and still managed to have a good time with us. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

69%

For the cost of this place I expected clean bathrooms. They stink like mold plus there is no windows so if you get stinky people in your room, it really stays in there. Awesome location, great place if you don't intend on sleeping while in Barcelona.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

nice busy place

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Not the cheapest but had a cracking time here. Have a night club and bar attached so it's easy to meet other groups here, would definitely reccomend to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much! We can't wait to see you at St Christopher's again in the future! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

54%

I was eaten by mosquitos all night and couldn't sleep. I had to wait 15min to check in because the staff were just laughing with each other and didn't notice me. Checking out was the same. There are loads of people walking around not paying attention the the huge queue of people wanting to escape this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay. We're sorry you felt that our staff weren't attentive enough, we absolutely pride ourselves on our customer service and will be sure to pass this feedback along. In regards to the mosquitoes, it can be an issue during summer seeing as we are located right on the Canal, and we hope you managed to find some mosquito repellent to help you out! Thanks again, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

69%

Interesting place, but very uncool people w- we ended up leaving. I bet that it could have been a good Place, it was just not for us who wanted to stay closer to the sights.


54%

It wasn't my style. I understand it's a party hostel, but due to the facilities it's not like you can really opt out of those activities (super noisy, shared everything). Which again, is fine, but not my style.


89%

Loved the room, big and spacious!! Only downside is neighbourhood as it feels unsafe

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We're glad you loved our hostel! Whilst we can definitely vouch for the area's safety and rarely hear of any trouble , in any big city it's always best to take care after dark if you're out on your own! Safety is always a priority for our guests, and we hope our service and facilities reflected this. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

63%

It should have at least a small kitchen (just to have some knifes, forks, ...) or a fridge in the dorm room (12people).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback! We do provide cutlery and plates etc at the bar downstairs just for future reference. We hope to see you again soon! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

77%

Bedrooms were so hot and so many mosquitoes. So far away from anything but everything else was great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank yo so much for the feedback. We're definitely aware that during the super hot weather mosquitoes tend to lurk around seeing as we're situated right on the water. Whilst there's not too much we can do about it, we could perhaps look at offering mosquito repellent at reception or something similar. We're thrilled you had a great time with us none the less and we hope to see you again in the future! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

60%

Stay at St. Chistopher's Gare du Nord instead, it's so much nicer and cleaner. St. Christopher's Canal Street was gross: very unclean toilets, showers, stained sheets, dirty tables at the restaurant. ZERO wifi anywhere, ever. Unless you're here traveling with your frat buddies, really miss playing beer pong at home and are under age 24, don't even bother.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we'll be sure to pass it along and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

89%

Great hostel to meet people. Location is near a really pretty canal. Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to make friends and have a good time in paris

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! We're glad you had such a fantastic time with us! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

83%

Always enjoy our stay at St Chris.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear! We look forward to having you again soon! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

71%

Atmosphere is good, lively bar area with seating over looking the canal. A bit out from the main sites but only 5min walk to metro station. Very expensive hostel, although everything in Paris seems to be expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much! We're glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to seeing you at St Christopher's again soon. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

86%

The beds are comfortable and the wifi good. Although there is loud music in the bar until late, I didn't hear it when in my dorm on the first floor. The hostel is a little far from the city centre and many of the big attractions, the metro is close by and easy to use. The bathrooms were kept clean. Expect to wait a while at check-in/out as there are always lots of people coming /going and only one or two people on reception. expect to pay to store luggage before check-in or when changing rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great feedback! We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you'll stay with us again. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

69%

St Christophers was a bit out of the way from the main city, but the canal was nice and there were nice restaurants around. The hostel had a great atmosphere and it was really easy to meet people and hang out. The showers were a bit mouldy but the rooms were good and it was nice to have a curtain, light and powerpoint in each bunk. A bit expensive but I guess that's Paris!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you taking the time to write a review for us! You've given us some great feedback, and we're always thrilled to hear people having such a great time in our hostel! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

(251 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback