X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Canal Reviews

159, rue de Crimee, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
13288 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Loved the room, big and spacious!! Only downside is neighbourhood as it feels unsafe

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We're glad you loved our hostel! Whilst we can definitely vouch for the area's safety and rarely hear of any trouble , in any big city it's always best to take care after dark if you're out on your own! Safety is always a priority for our guests, and we hope our service and facilities reflected this. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

63%

It should have at least a small kitchen (just to have some knifes, forks, ...) or a fridge in the dorm room (12people).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback! We do provide cutlery and plates etc at the bar downstairs just for future reference. We hope to see you again soon! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

77%

Bedrooms were so hot and so many mosquitoes. So far away from anything but everything else was great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank yo so much for the feedback. We're definitely aware that during the super hot weather mosquitoes tend to lurk around seeing as we're situated right on the water. Whilst there's not too much we can do about it, we could perhaps look at offering mosquito repellent at reception or something similar. We're thrilled you had a great time with us none the less and we hope to see you again in the future! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

60%

Stay at St. Chistopher's Gare du Nord instead, it's so much nicer and cleaner. St. Christopher's Canal Street was gross: very unclean toilets, showers, stained sheets, dirty tables at the restaurant. ZERO wifi anywhere, ever. Unless you're here traveling with your frat buddies, really miss playing beer pong at home and are under age 24, don't even bother.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we'll be sure to pass it along and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

89%

Great hostel to meet people. Location is near a really pretty canal. Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to make friends and have a good time in paris

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! We're glad you had such a fantastic time with us! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

83%

Always enjoy our stay at St Chris.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear! We look forward to having you again soon! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

71%

Atmosphere is good, lively bar area with seating over looking the canal. A bit out from the main sites but only 5min walk to metro station. Very expensive hostel, although everything in Paris seems to be expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much! We're glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to seeing you at St Christopher's again soon. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

86%

The beds are comfortable and the wifi good. Although there is loud music in the bar until late, I didn't hear it when in my dorm on the first floor. The hostel is a little far from the city centre and many of the big attractions, the metro is close by and easy to use. The bathrooms were kept clean. Expect to wait a while at check-in/out as there are always lots of people coming /going and only one or two people on reception. expect to pay to store luggage before check-in or when changing rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great feedback! We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you'll stay with us again. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

69%

St Christophers was a bit out of the way from the main city, but the canal was nice and there were nice restaurants around. The hostel had a great atmosphere and it was really easy to meet people and hang out. The showers were a bit mouldy but the rooms were good and it was nice to have a curtain, light and powerpoint in each bunk. A bit expensive but I guess that's Paris!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you taking the time to write a review for us! You've given us some great feedback, and we're always thrilled to hear people having such a great time in our hostel! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

71%

A bit far away from downtown Paris but close to metro. Check-in process takes way too long. Spacious dorms and clean facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great feedback! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

97%

I loved this hostel, it was fantastic on it's own, but the staff were absolutely amazing. They helped so much in a situation where a friend had their stuff stolen, which meant we were able to get there stuff back. Thanks again, would love to return one day! (:

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience with us, it's what we love to hear! We very much hope to see you again in the near future. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

80%

Not central but easy to get around with Metro stations 5 minutes away, and a Velib dock (the city's bike hire scheme) just outside. The hostel was relatively clean although the male bathrooms on our floor were all out of order for the whole 3 days we were staying there, and there was some suspicious mould growing around the metal of our bunk bed. The bar and restaurant were lively and relatively good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for telling us about your stay and giving us some great feedback! We apologise the bathrooms were out of order at the time, our maintenance team are working to get them up and running as soon as possible, but we're glad it didn't impact the quality of your stay! We hope to see you again soon. The Team at St Christopher's , Paris Canal.

94%

I stayed here because of recommendations from many friends who stayed at St. Christopher's as well. One pf the best hostels I've stayed at, atmosphere wise. The bar was such a great place to meet so many other backpackers. The beds are comfy with privacy curtains, and the lockers are the biggest I've ever seen at a hostel! The staff is so friendly and they have so many helpful flyers and sheets at the front desk including a helpful metro guide. Love this place and wish I could go back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We absolutely love when people come and stay with us due to friends recommendations, and we're so pleased you had such a wicked time with our staff! We look forward to seeing you at St Christopher's again in the future! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

80%

For Paris it's fine. Location is near two subway stops which is convenient since its far out from the city centre (but you're not going to find better prices closer).it's a party hostel so be aware. Lot of up late at night roommates if that's your thing. WiFi was perfect in rooms. Privacy curtains were nice. Each bed has AC outlets (not sure why others have been saying USB plugs...). Nice big lockers under the beds - bring a lock. No complaints about free breakfast - decent spread for the price!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

83%

Great for young adult travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you had a great time with us! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

83%

Really nice place, slightly far from the centre, not too bad though. Terrible wifi though, didn't work for me at all


40%

I was checked in and given a keycard to our private room, however I found it already occupied. Sorted by reception. The room's door would not lock from the inside, one night we had a man come into our room at midnight. Our balcony door also would not lock - a huge safety issue as the balcony could easily be climbed from the outside. Only 1 locking female shower for whole corridor, and 2 (UNISEX) toilets for 20+ rooms. Taps leaking loudly all night. Bed bugs. Wifi was useless. I could go on..

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we apologise your stay was negatively influenced and we will absolutely pass on this information to ensure this doesn't happen again. The issue with the room keys is an administrative task which is easily avoidable and our maintenance team is currently working on fixing the bathrooms on your floor so these can be up and running perfectly. We trust our staff were able to help you to enjoy your stay nonetheless. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

80%

Great hostel but no fans or air in rooms would make me reconsider staying here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you had such a great stay with us! For future reference we do have fans available at reception for our guests for when the rooms get warmer in summer! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

89%

I stayed in a 12 bed dorm. The atmosphere and the offers of the hostel are very huge (integrated bar/restaurant/club, laundry facility, etc). Free Walking Tour is starting every day in the hostel. Very kind and helpful staff. Location is okay, metrostation in 5 mins walking distance. Due to renovation works the toilets in my floor were closed so it was necessary to walk down in the basement. And the showers smelled bad. Breakfast is included and very nice. All in all, a great place to go!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great feedback! We hope to see you at St Christopher's again soon. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

89%

Good place to stay easy to get to everything

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear! Thank you for taking the time to share your review. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

(247 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback