X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Canal Reviews

159, rue de Crimee, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
13399 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

The Wifi was really really bad! There was no signal inside the dorm and even in places with strong sign it worked poorly. Also, the only men's bathroom was closed on my floor (and you can only use the one on your dorm's floor) so there was only the 2 bathroom for disabled people available for all men in the floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We apologise that the bathrooms on your floor were undergoing maintenance during your stay, we completely understand it would have been frustrating however it was only a temporary situation. We do have two separate wifi connections, one for the rooms and one for downstairs so it is possible you weren't connected to the correct server. We hope you managed to have a fantastic time and enjoyed your trip to Paris! St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

66%

Bar staff is poor. Facilities are clean but just unlogical. club/nightlife is ok. It's cheap though. A good amount of young people. Would go again, but I'd pay a lil extra to check out the 2 bedroom suite.


83%

loads of showers not all working well I stayed in a 12 bed dorm windows were open so all I could hear was the bar downstairs thumping music all night long, when that finally stopped the noise of trucks and street sweepers boomed through the open windows. room was huge plenty of space beds are clean with a powerpoint each small underbed lockers no good for backpacks staff AMAZING helpful and friendly breakfast was great tea/coffee cereal bread toast juice cheese would recommend this hostel to all

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the fantastic feedback! We're sorry some of the bathrooms were under maintenance during your stay but we love hearing you'd recommend us to others. We look forward to seeing you at St Christopher's again in the future. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

69%

Only complaint is that the toilets/hallways constantly smelt absolutely horrible. Didn't feel that clean after a shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do apologise that some of our bathrooms/showers were under maintenance during your stay, however we're pleased you rated the rest of your stay highly and we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

60%

This hostel is ok. The location is pretty cool since you are close to the canal. But its not the best neighborhood in paris. The facilities are okay but you have to share them with houndreds of guests on each floor. The elevator didnt work which was annoying since we lived on the fifth floor. One guy got stuck in there for 45 minutes. With all this said i would consider going back since its cheap. You pretty much get what you pay for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We're sorry the lift was out during your stay, we understand the frustration but rest assured it is not a usual occurrence and we consider ourselves lucky to have an elevator. We're glad you would stay with us again and wish you all the best! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

83%

Staff were not super helpful and did things very slowly. Cool atmosphere with the bar downstairs. They had little pieces of paper with instructions on how to get to attractions around the city which were awesome. Close to a metro but still a 20 min ride to any attraction

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We always pride ourselves on our level of customer service and we don't usually have any complaints about our great team, but we will be sure to pass this feedback forward. It's always great to hear our guests having such a great time, and we hope to see you at St Christopher's again in the future. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

94%

Very spacious, comfortable to walk around with large luggages. Personal powerpoint spots per bed was awesome

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review! Best wishes, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

80%

Only issue is one if our lockers were broken and it was not lockable

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive feedback! We're sorry you had a problem with your locker, but we trust all your belongings were kept safe and secure and you were able to have a great time with us! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

91%

Clean and modern hostel. Beds were comfortable and private. Breakfast provided was great! The place had a really good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for much for the great review. We're so glad you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you at St Christopher's again soon. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

91%

I've stayed in St.chris' before it's a good chain and I know what to expect. This was a nice clean hostel and the location was good, easy to find from both metro stations, crimee and laumiere :) I would stay here again because it's a good quality hostel but it lacks that cosy social vibe. I loved that they have a club downstairs but I wish they did activities so it's easier to make friends, especially for solo travellers. Bottom line, great hostel just missing that personal touch :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad you had a great stay. For future reference we have loads of daily and weekly activities for our guests to take part in so they can see Paris and make loads of new friends at the same time, all the information is at our tours and activities desk just next to reception. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

91%

Great location along the canal, with excellent staff. Everyone was helpful and knowledgable, doing their best to answer every question I had. The restaurant/bar was spacious, clean and fun to hang out in. The co-ed hostel room had a sink and mirror, with a small table and some chairs, adding comfort to the room.


86%

The best st Christopher's I've stayed in! Really good bar, good location to Paris metro and helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Such great news! We're thrilled you loved your time with us and we really hope to see you at St Christopher's again in the future. Best wishes, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

86%

I had agreat stay. Great location slightly out of the main tourist area but in a lovely area on the canal. Very close to metro straight into the city. My biggest moan is out room door didn't lock properly so you had to double check ALLL the time. My smaller moan is the Internet service was very unreliable. Otherwise a cool place. With a bar, good breakfast and other facilities were very good.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for giving us such great feedback! We're so pleased your enjoyed your time with us, and we apologise for the troubles you had with your door locking, we will be sure to have maintenance fixing that up immediately! Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

57%

The wi fi was terrible each 5 minutes you hace to connect again The garbage of the guests of the last week stayed in the room until the day i left You got charged for the lockers and the machines doesnt give any change so if you hace to pay 5 ando you instert 6 you lose your money The breakfast has only one choise sándwich The bath was flooded The staff was really nice The hotel its ideal to party there are discountsnof drinks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your review! The WiFi does require you to reconnect if you leave your device dormant for a certain amount of time (due to the amount of people we have using the service). While we provide locker space in the room at no extra cost if you wish to hire our lockers downstairs there is a charge for those. As for our breakfast we also have cereals, toast, yoghurt, fruit and tea and coffee too! We're thrilled you loved our staff and made the most of your specials at the bar!

83%

Nice big hostel with loud bar downstairs. Easy to get to the center by metro and much easier to get to nord and est railway stations. Few supermarkets and restaurants around. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean restrooms.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the great feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your time at St Christopher's. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal

77%

It was probably a one off thing, but they double booked my bed, which was very irritating. In addition, I left a towel to dry in my bunk but when I returned at the end of the day it was missing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're so sorry about the mix up with your bed! We can assure you that is certainly not a regular occurrence and we hope our staff were able to remedy the problem immediately! As for the missing towel, we know how frustrating it can be when things like that happen, we assume a fellow bunk-mate mistook it for their own? Regardless we hope you had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed your stay! Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

71%

Had a nice stay at this hostel pretty much did what it says on the tin, really good place to meet poeple and socialise but not the cleanest place. The bar staff were cool and hopefully the polish/Canadian girl Eva will add me on FB didn have a chance to speak to her again before I left! Dominic Phillips :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the great feedback! We're glad you had a great time with our staff, certainly sounds like you made some new pals! Best wishes, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

86%

Good vibe here among travelers! Hostel in General could do with some maintance especially the dorms..

Owner Comment (Hide)
So great to hear! We're currently working on our maintenance, so thank you for the great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

71%

The WiFi was horrible. And my.friends phone was stolen out front of the hostel and the staff didn't care at all and weren't very helpful

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! It's never nice to here about theft, and whilst there is not always a lot we can personally do in those situations we sincerely hope you able to file a police report and take the necessary steps to having the phone replaced. In regards to the wifi, we don't usually have many troubles, however the servers may have been temporarily down and we apologise for this. We really appreciate the feedback, and we hope to see you in the future!

80%

Had a lot of noise from outside every night. Definitely worth getting the free earplugs from reception if you're a light sleeper.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the positive feedback regarding your stay. We apologise for there being noise outside, we definitely do everything we can to keep the noise from fellow guests to a minimum after hours but we're glad you knew where to find the ear plugs at reception! Best wishes, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

(215 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback