X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Canal Reviews

159, rue de Crimee, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
13407 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Had a lot of noise from outside every night. Definitely worth getting the free earplugs from reception if you're a light sleeper.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the positive feedback regarding your stay. We apologise for there being noise outside, we definitely do everything we can to keep the noise from fellow guests to a minimum after hours but we're glad you knew where to find the ear plugs at reception! Best wishes, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

86%

A very well run hostel, toilets and dorms cleaned every day, good security system and good wifi. The bar and restaurant are great and the noise doesn't transfer at all to the dorms. Great location in the suburbs, overlooking a canal and close to two metro stations. Ticked all the boxes for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

91%

The restaurant that seves as the common area is fantastic. The rooms are very big and allow your own space with curtains. The bathrooms were inconvenient as there was only two working on the floor, as others were being renovated. However the ones in use were not very clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

80%

I only stayed here for one night. The location is not ideal - far from major sights - but the metro is straight forward. The area is quite modern for Paris with lots of locals out around in the evening. It felt more authentic than some areas in central Paris (where I also stayed). The hostel was very clean and new - 6th floor had amazing views. The beds were creaky. The bathroom door didn't shut because the tp dispenser is in the way (bad planning). Breakfast mediocre, loud downstairs at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank for the wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us. We hope you had a great time and will continue to stay with St Christopher's again in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

97%

wifi would only work in the dorms...no access downstairs in the common room where you would have more chance to use it

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback about the wifi, we do have a different wifi connection for downstairs which is perhaps why you had trouble getting a signal? We're so happy you enjoyed everything else about the hostel, and we very much hope to see you again in the future!

71%

Hostel was close to a metro station, they have abar and restaurant which is good , music a little too loud, wifi was not so good on the 2nd floor . The club downstairs is ok. Close to a canal which is cool. The beds have a cover for privacy and thd lockers are big. We took a trip to Versailles with transportation included. Staff are friendly and they have a security at the front at night. Showers were fine .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great feedback! We hope to see you at St Christopher's again in the future. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

86%

Shower rooms and toilets weren't clean enough, but it is hostel, so it was predictable. We really enjoyed our stay in St Christopher's Inn Canal. thank you for that.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. The Team a St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

94%

Good hostel with great facilities and fantastic atmosphere. Only complaint is it gets really hot in the rooms as no fans or aircon, and windows only open a little.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great feedback, we're glad you had a fantastic time with us! It's true during the hottest times of the year the rooms can get a little heated, but we always have fans available at reception to help make things more comfortable for you! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal

86%

The rooms and bathrooms needed some work, there are shared toilets/showers on every floor. They do not have a kitchen which was inconvenient at times.Dispite the facilities themself I recommend this property on the social aspect alone. The hostel is perfect for meeting and hanging out with new people. They have a club open on the weekend until 5am, the bar itself closes at midnight. The food was actually really good as well and you get a discount. It's close to the metro line 7 which is perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for all your great feedback about your stay with us! We're well aware some of our bathrooms/showers aren't in perfect condition, we're currently undergoing maintenance on these so we'll have them in great working order asap. We very much hope to see you at St Christopher's again in the future! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

100%

The best hostel that I have stayed at. Rooms were amazing, location was great, staff were amazingly helpful... 10/10 Would and will stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for giving us such a great review! We're pleased you'll be staying with us again in the future and we wish you all the best on your future world travels! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

77%

10 euros for a towel and 4.50 to store your luggage. Sucha ripjob

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Just for future reference, we do charge a 10 euro deposit for the use of a towel (which can be changed for a clean one at any time) and which 6 euro's is returned to you at the end of your stay making the total cost of hire 4 euros. Also, we have complimentary lockers under each of our beds, it is only the basement lockers which guests must hire if they require extra storage space. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

86%

This was very expensive, but a good hostel. The bar downstairs is great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed the bar downstairs and hope you met lots of fellow travellers during your stay. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

49%

Decent enough for a few nights but the toilets smelt absolutely vile, quite far out of paris so you'll have to get the tube everywhere & the surrounding area is full of a lot of dodgy folks. Nice enough but for the price it could've been a whole lot better and the staff could've been less rude. Lockers underneath the beds are awkward & noisy and the cleaners are rude too.


91%

I enjoyed my stay here. It's a big hostel, with lots of people so I felt really safe. There's a great bar downstairs which is good and a computer room. I liked the set up how beds have curtains and bathrooms were clean. Only downfall is NO WIFI on second and third floors. Not good!! Had to go downstairs to use.. Breakfast was great and staff were helpful. Would stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We're sorry you had troubles with the wifi, we do have two separate login's for downstairs and the hostel rooms, which perhaps you were unaware of, but we will be sure to pass this along! We look forward to seeing you again soon. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

71%

Location is good for sight seeing, 10 minutes from a metro station. Lively bar and club in the hostel so you don't even need to go out. Bar food excellent. Floors and walls FILTHY upstairs in the halls and rooms, bed sheet stains. Comfy beds though, very personal with curtain. Perfect party hostel, expect to be woken up by roommates if you go to bed early!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for all your great feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the process of fixing some water damage on certain floors which is why some of the walls are looking a little down, however we have certainly not had any complaints about dirty linen. Please always inform staff about issue's such as the linen so we can fix that for you immediately as there may have been a mix up with the housekeeping. Thanks again!

74%

Nice hostel bath room in renovation

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you liked your stay with us, and we hope to see you again once our bathrooms are finished being renovated! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

66%

I got sick while staying and they was nowhere for my to put my medicates in a fridge

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are always able to store medication in our fridges, you simply need to speak to either our hostel or bar staff so we can name and label it before we store it for you. We hope you were feeling better quickly and still managed to have a good time with us. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

74%

Pretty cool.


69%

For the cost of this place I expected clean bathrooms. They stink like mold plus there is no windows so if you get stinky people in your room, it really stays in there. Awesome location, great place if you don't intend on sleeping while in Barcelona.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

nice busy place

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(207 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback