X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Canal Reviews

159, rue de Crimee, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
13266 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Breakfast was amazing and included! Not your average breakfast, as there were so many options to chose from! Definitely a plus to have a bar and club in the hostel! Overall was super clean and a great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merciiiiii! Yes we have real Nutella for breakfast!!! That's A really nice review. Hope you to come back.

77%

You had to get the metro to the city centre but other than that it was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks a lot for taking time to reply, and according to your rating you appreciate your stay here. And Yes you are right we need to take a subway to reach the city center but it takes only 15 minutes and the subway is 5 min walk from here. Have fun for the rest of your holiday. St Christopher's Team.

77%

Pretty location right on the water. Not far from a subway station. The complimentary breakfast is really good! Rooms are clean and very spacious, have a table and chairs which is nice. Beds have curtains, lights and outlets. Wifi was very on-and-off. Nice, easy to use laundry room for a few euros.


89%

Great stay at St. Christopher's! It is a little way from the centre of Paris, but very close to the metro. Only about 10 minutes on the metro. Free breakfast was great! Staff were also great! Very happy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review! Glad you had such a wicked stay. The Team at St Christopher's, Canal.

83%

Would have liked there to be air conditioning in rooms or for there to be screens on the windows as mosquitoes were in the room all night.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the feedback. Unfortunately we are unable to use any screens on our windows due to the hostel's fire safety regulations as they need to be able to be opened quickly from the outside if need be, but we understand how much of a pain summer mosquitoes can be. We sincerely hope you weren't bothered too much. Kind Regards, St Christopher's, Canal.

31%

This was the most disgusting hostel I have ever stayed at. the staff were horrible and dismissive when I said that my safety felt compromised due to a roommate doing drugs in the bunk above me and staring through my curtain at 5am. the cleaning staff were rude and made vulgar comments to girls in the toilet. it was constantly dirty and smelt like a sewer. I am so utterly disappointed - this was a truly horrible experience. I will not ever reccommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. We draw a strong line on our policy of illegal substances on our premises and are extremely sorry you had such a negative experience when you approached our staff with this issue. Our staff are constantly commended on their service and approach to helping guests, so this will be investigated further. Our bathroom's on certain floor's were undergoing maintenance during your stay, but rest assured this issue has now been fixed.

31%

It was disgustingly filthy, staff were horrible, service was extremely slow, the lift doesn't work, the toilets don't have seats and the city is very far away!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Seeing as we have had nothing but positive feedback on our facilities and staff during the time of your stay (with the exception of the lift which is currently under maintenance), it would be fantastic if you could provide us a more detailed review so we can better provide feedback and ensure we're delivering the best service we can. Would you mind sending an email to bianca.smith@bedsandbars.com with further details? Kind Regards St Christopher's, Canal.

100%

We had the time of our lives at this hostel and can't recommend it enough! Easy access to the metros, the staff are super helpful and the bar is great!

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

While staying in this hostel, although it's located on the beautiful canal, there are always people outside, and the noise travels. It can be very disruptive when trying to sleep after travelling around. The bathrooms were clean, the rooms were clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I'm not sure if I would ever stay at this location again, but I would stay at another St. Christophers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time with our staff. We apologise for the noise level, we do encourage security to monitor this in the evenings to ensure our guests get a good sleep, so we will be sure to pass this feedback along. We look forward to having you at St Christopher's again in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

80%

Overall a nice hostel but the bathrooms had a smell that didn't leave my towels for days.


89%

Great Thanks fro the 4 nights!

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us, we're glad you enjoyed your stay! St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

91%

The staff were super funny and friendly! There is a downstairs bar which was always full, served great cheap meals and has an electric atomsphere. It was near a metro station which was good for going to visit the sights. Only slightly annoying thing was the dogdy wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the wicked review! We're so happy you loved your stay with us, we hope to see you again in the future. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

66%

Typical place. Party atmosphere, lots of easy girls.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. Sounds like you enjoyed yourself! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

46%

This hostel was very loud and the location was very distant from the main areas of Paris. The staff at check in were more focused on flirting with the girls than in getting people checked in and I found them rude during other parts of our stay. I realize that we are not the typical hostel travelers, but we were treated much better at all of the other locations where we have stayed in Europe (so far).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We very much appreciate the feedback and will be sure to pass it on. Kind regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

86%

Overall a great st Christopher's location. The staff is nice and the bar is usually very lively - lots of opportunities to meet people :) laundry is easy, and it's mostly a very clean hostel. Only issue is the number of Mosquitos.... Sooooooo many. Stayed there 4 nights in July, think that I got 10 Mosquito bites. Nothing you can really do because it's close to the canal. Nice stay- pricier than hostels in other places but everything in Paris is a little pricier.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your time with us. We really appreciate the feedback and are thrilled you had such a fantastic time with us! We hope to see you again in the future. The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

89%

A bit far out but easy to go into town on the metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you all the best on your future travels! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

91%

A little expensive considering it's a bit out of the way, but our overall experience was great. The beds in our rooms had their own curtains and large storage lockers under the bed that we fit our entire suitcases in. The wifi was pretty crummy but the restaurant and bar were relatively nice and it was fun having a dance club in the basement, especially considering how far out the hostel was. Overall, it was a great experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for all your feedback and taking the time to write us a review. We're glad you had such a great experience with us and we wish you all the best on your future travel adventures. Kind regards, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

86%

The staff was wonderful and attentive. They were helpful and genuinely seemed interested in us having a great time in paris. Definitely would stay here again but maybe in a private room instead of a dorm.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks so much for the great review. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

97%

Fun environment, friendly/entusiastic staff, and always something going on! Enjoyed the stay and will definitely be back in the future.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us! We're glad you had a great time in our hostel and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes, The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

86%

Great hostel, professionally run and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks ! The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

(250 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback