X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Inn - London Bridge Reviews

121 Borough High Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1612 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The staff is a little bit rude, the problem is, there's no reception at the hostel, if you end up having any problem, you have to walk about 2 minutes on the street to arrive at the reception. However, the pub is very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, it's much appreciated. Glad you liked the pub! We appreciate the walk to reception can be a pain. The staff in the pub are always more than willing to help if you have any issues. We do hope that you'll stay with us again next time you're in London. The St. Christopher's Inn team.

77%

The staff werent the most friendly. It was a bit too commercial. Not enough powerpoints in rooms. Otherwise good.

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, it's much appreciated and all will be taken on board as we use these comments to help us improve our service to our guests. We hope that you stay with us if you visit London again, The St. Christopher's Inn team

66%

The location of the hostel is quite good, but unfortunately the rest of it is not so great. There was no reception at the actual hostel, you always had to go down the street. The bathrooms were not very clean and one of the toilets was broken for my entire stay which made the already delicate bathroom to people ratio even more uncomfortable. The breakfast was okay but I wish it would have been until 10 and the checck-out until 11, that would have made our stay much nicer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, it's much appreciated. We take valuable comments like these on board as we constantly strive to improve the service we are offering our guests. Apologies for the broken bathroom. We do try to resolve any maintenance issues quickly, but some are a little trickier than others and occasionally take a few days. We hope that you do choose to stay with us if you were to visit London again. Thank you again, The St. Christopher's Inn team

100%

Nice hostel in a great location and really cleaned. Nice pub under the hostel.

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback, it's much appreciated. We are so glad you had a good time and hope to see you back here someday! The St. Christopher's Inn team

57%

Booking a shared room was expensive - twice the price over where else we stayed in London & Paris. Breakfast was supplied but ran out in part well before the scheduled time. Of course the place is a party hostel and extremely noisy until bar closing time. The room was small and basic. My daughter has never had an allergy problem before but managed to need first aid during the night - likely cause the washing powder used on bed linen. Your internet was expensive - some hostels offer it free and w

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback- this is valuable to us as we take it on board and strive to improve the service we offer our customers. I'm sorry to hear of daughter's incident, we have been looking in to- it is the first time we've experienced this problem and have checked all the products we use to ensure it doesn't happen again. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review, The St. Christopher's Inn team

63%

Can have better breakfast.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's valuable to us and helps us to improve the service we offer our customers. We have recently added some new products to our breakfast so hope you come back someday to try them! The St. Christopher's Inn team

100%

Everythyng was perfect, clean, well connected and friendly staff in the pub downstairs.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. Glad you had a good time, we hope to see you back here someday! The St. Christopher's Inn team

74%

Good hostel and worth the money. Great central location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for your feedback, it's much appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back here someday. The St. Christopher's Inn team

77%

Compared to other St. Christopher's i have stayed at I was a bit let down. The good: Location is central to everything, staff is very friendly and helpful, the bar was good to meet people and hang out. The bad: there was about one washroom for 3 or 4 rooms, and it was always dirty. There was no A/C and, with the window open, it is very loud outside with alarms going off and people drunk from the bar. AND, there was no wifi in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback, it's much appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, & sorry for those you didn't. Your comments are very valuable to us as they help us to improve the service provided to guests. We take this feedback on board and action as much as we can for example, there are now more frequent bathroom checks carried out to keep them clean for all guests. Thank you, The St. Christopher's Inn team

83%

Cleaning staff were rude and barged into our room without knocking at 9 AM, not impressed with that. Also my key "stopped working" the day of my checkout (before checkout time) and I was stranded in the hallway in my underpants. Other than that, the bar staff was good, I really enjoyed having 2 bars available with cheap drinks and discounts on food. The pillows and mattresses could use updating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Comments like this are so valuable to us as they help us to improve the service we are giving our guests. We're glad you enjoyed some some aspects of your stay, and sorry for those you didn't. We've looked in to the issues you raised and are making sure they don't arise again. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back here next time you're in London. The St. Christopher's Inn team

74%

Nice staff, good breakfast.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you stay with us again next time you're in London, The St. Christopher's Inn team

49%

Very loud location, above quite a lively pub that is open late. Main building had strong urine smell in common areas and hallways. Staff insisted on cleaning bathrooms from 8-10am, when everyone is trying to get ready and check out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's much appreciated. Comments such as these are so valuable to us as they help us to improve the service we offer our guests. We now clean the bathrooms earlier, thanks to feedback from people such as yourself so a big thank you for your comments, The St. Christopher's Inn team

74%

The hostel is well located. Biggest issue for me during my stay was the room was extremely hot - myself and my 3 room mates were waking up in the middle of the night sweating. The room needed a bigger window. In hindsight should have gone and asked reception for a fan but at 3am half asleep you don't feel like getting dressed and walking 200m down the road to ask for 1! Also, I wasn't a fan of having to pay to store luggage after checkout. Overall an ok hostel but not the best 1 I have stayed in

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback, it's much appreciated. We would love to make the windows bigger but unfortunately we can't make any structural changes to the building as it's a historically listed site. We will make sure we are armed with fans for every room next time London goes through a heatwave. Thanks again, your comments are very valuable to us, The St. Christopher's Inn team

83%

Staff was very helpful and sweet. Rooms had very secure under the bed lockers that easily fit our backpacks. One of the showers flooded the first night and they never fixed it for the 3 nights we were there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, it's much appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed some aspects of your stay. Sorry for the issues with the showers, we do have the occasional maintenance issue but do get them fixed as quickly as possible. Hope to see you back here next time you're in London, The St. Christopher's Inn team

89%

Very good location, nice staff and with a great pub.

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. We're glad you had a great time and hope to see you back here someday, The St. Christopher's Inn team

77%

Really nice the only problem was that my vacation were in summer and the hostel was really hot !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, it's much appreciated. Sorry for the temperature- we had a heatwave this year and it was much hotter than usual. I hope this didn't ruin your stay and you will still consider staying with us in the future. The St. Christopher's Inn team

57%

The room had very poor or say not at all any air conditoning. The door was broken. The bathrom was not nice.

  • 14th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback, it's much appreciated. I'm sorry you weren't happy with some aspects of your stay. The heatwave this summer was unusual for England, we don't usually experience such heat. We'll be armed with fans next summer in case it happens again. Sorry about the door being broken- unfortunately things do get broken from time to time but we do always ensure they are fixed as quickly as possible. The St. Christopher's Inn team

37%

Everything is difficult. The rooms and corridors are very hot with windows that can't be fully opened.. The showers are just OK but not enough of them. Breakfast is toast or cereal-self serve.Everywhere is playing loud music.. The rooms are too small for 8 beds The pub downstairs is noisy and has loud live bands on til 2 0r 3 am or karaoke The sitting room is a dark cave. There is no TV and no really nice chairs or peaceful space. I was not expecting to share a dorm with couples in single beds.

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. London was particularly hot this summer as we had a heatwave. We are prepared with fans in case it happens again. Unfortunately we are not allowed to have windows that open fully due to the council's health and safety guidelines. The music does go on until late as we are a party hostel. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the aspects of your stay that you didn't enjoy. The St. Christopher's Inn team

91%

This was our first experience in a hostel. The location of our room was not good being over an alley way where tables and chairs were set out for the pub clientele so found 3.30am heariing people tallking and laughing rather hard to take but after four nights we did start to get use to it. Rooms very small with bunk beds, hard mattress and pillows. On the up side everything was clean and the staff were very cheerful and happy to help wherever they could.

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. I'm sorry the noise disturbed you. As we're a party hostel, people are sometimes awake late. I hope this didn't ruin your stay and you'll come back to visit next time you're in London. The St Christopher's Inn team.

66%

Very noisy on late nights. The pub below has tables on the outside with customers acting extremely noisy for a monday night. Small number of showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving your feedback. I'm sorry if the noise disturbed you, we are a party hostel with a late night bar so sometimes you can hear some noise unfortunately. We hope to see you next time you are in London! Kind regards, Your St. Christopher's Inn team

(1024 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback