Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Christopher's Inn Newquay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.7
St Christopher's Inn Newquay Located at 35 Fore Street, TR7 1HR, Newquay.
St Christopher's Inn Newquay
England
Newquay 35 Fore Street, TR7 1HR
75% 657
50.4152384 -5.0868523
St Christopher's Inn Newquay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Sep 2016
3.1

Worst hostel I have stayed in for a very long time. Top 3 worst of all time. 1. Banging Boom Boom from the speakers in the bar until 2am, so no sleep 2. Dirty room with stains and holes on the walls and holes in the door, plus a broken socket. 3. Breakfast was the cheapest white bread on offer with something that may have been orange flavoured water. Ham that also came from the bottom of the value range. Been staying in hostels for 25 years. These guys need a serious rethink.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
5.7

I have payed less for centrally located hostels with a much better service. I was absolutely disgsted by the state of the premises - I did not see a cleaner once in my whole stay, the rooms and especially the second floor smell atrociously bad. The lack of hygiene was honestly a very very big issue, especially because of the humidity and the fact that most people staying at the hostel go swimming/durfing, it should be impecable otherwise bacteria is more than likely to spread in a damp place

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2016
8.3

I would definitely recommend staying here. Great location, reasonably priced and friendly staff. Not really a 'family' hostel as the bar does run quite late. Good accommodation with a great atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
9.4

Great location right on the beach. There is a pub downstairs where you can get discounted for and drinks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.7

We really enjoyed or stay here. thr location of this hostel could not be better! Beach views from the bar, and two minutes down to go surfing. The bar had a really good atmosphere and they tried to put on entertainment every night which was great. Good fry ups in the morning too! Also the staff were great. Always really happy to chat and talk about what we were up to. Overall... A top stay! Would definitely go again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Matt, Thank you so much for your kind review, really appreciate it your time! We certainly agree, the location is incredible, we are very lucky indeed. So glad to hear you enjoyed your time here. Would love to see you again one day soon! St Christopher's Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.7

St. Christopher's Inn was a decent hostel, everything was clean. The room was quite small though and you could hear the music from the bar quite well until 2am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Aug 2016
4.0

Perfect location and amazing view. Hostel wise, terrible. Not enough facilities (2 toilets and a shower on the top floor) and only one hand basin for the whole floor (except ensuite rooms) staff weren't helpful at all, ignored me when I asked for assistance. Male toilets downstairs in bar only had one functional tap.. To top it off had a luck of sleep..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, all feedback is taken on board. We do agree, the location is phenomenal, we are very lucky indeed. Most dorms have a private ensuite and the bathrooms available are for the 2 standards dorms without an ensuite. I apologise for the staff members ignorance, you are our guest and should be assisted without hesitation. The WC are available for the general public as well, the summer time has definitely given all our facilities a work out. Apologies again for only having one functional tap for the duration of your stay. Hope it doesn't deter you from returning, we would love to see you again one day soon. St Christopher's Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
10.0

I arrived very early and was able to store my bags and go off for the day til I checked in. The guy on reception was funny and welcoming. The room was nice and clean, and we had the most amazing sea view!!! At night I went in the bar and met some amazing people, danced and the music was awesome. Stay here....it's great!!(oh and the best Mac 'n cheese I've ever tasted) 😄

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Tilly, Thank you so much for you kind review! We pride ourselves on cleanliness and making guests feel welcome, I'm glad you enjoyed your time here. We sure do enjoy the atmosphere and views also. We would love to see you again one day soon! St Christopher's Crew

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
9th Aug 2016
5.4

The location is great and if it didn't have the bar for people staying at the hostel and for anyone else, it would be terrible. The staff are hardly ever there and the bar staff can't answer questions. The cleaner lady was so rude when I told her there was mouldy food in the room. I stayed for four nights and they didn't once clean the room- it was filthy especially the floor. The bathroom was mostly clean. The bar is great and they offer cheaper drinks and food for people staying at the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Carla, Thank you for your review. Summer has been a very busy period for us, very enjoyable but very busy. I apologise we couldn't tend to your needs as should for the duration of your stay. We do have 2 house keepers on duty every morning to clean and prep the room for new guests. The flooring is currently being looked into for maintenance, unfortunately have not been able to get in done in the hype of summer. Hope to see you here again one day soon. St Christopher's Crew

  • ianthirtle879791
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
7.7

Stayed here for 7 nights leading up to and including boardmasters Good points: Great location for all Newquay has to offer. The bar is busy every night with drink deals for those staying. Staff are all a decent helpfully crew. Reasonable rates in peak summer holidays Bad points Room wasn't cleaned once in 7 days. Key cards never ever work. 1 plug in a dorm of 8 beds!! 1 bathroom for the whole floor of 9 dorms. Overall I'd stay here again, very basic but a good fun hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Ian, Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, hope you had a great time at boardmasters. We have house keepers that are on duty every morning and do a clean of each room ready for new guests. Summer is definitely a busy period for us. Most dorms have an ensuite, a bathroom is available for the 2 dorm rooms without an ensuite. Hope to see you again one day soon. St Christopher's Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.