X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn Newquay Reviews

35 Fore Street, TR7 1HR, Newquay, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
597 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Decent place, just keep in mind that it's a party hostel, so you might hear music from the dorms (although it didn't really affect me, I slept well).


100%

The breakfast selection was lacking a bit.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're disappointed to hear that the breakfast was not up to your standards, and we'd love to hear your feedback on how we could improve this service for our guests. We have a selection of cereals, toast, ham & cheese and tea and coffee, plus fresh fruit and yoghurt available for guests to munch on, plus the option of a hot cooked breakfast available from the bar with a 25% discount for guests to utilise. We hope that this hasn't hindered your opinion of St Christopher's and we would love to see you back again in the future. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team

69%

Pleasant hostel. Friendly staff. Great location and view. No hot water for 2 days so wasn't really nice, specially with 2 days of rain and strong wind.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We would like to apologise for the lack of hot water that was available during your time with us. We're not sure what seemed to cause this problem, and we hope that the situation was resolved before the end of your stay. We hope to see you back again in the future. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team

100%

Best time for a quiet night is this place out of season. Had a 10 bed dorm to myself. Like staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us in Edinburgh. We would love to see you back again soon. Until then, happy travels! Cheers, the Edinburgh Team

91%

Great value for money and fantastic staff. Location is amazing with beautiful views.

  • 15th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We're super pleased to hear you had a rad time with us. The views from the hostel are pretty amazing, we're glad you enjoyed it as much as we do. Hopefully we'll see you back again soon, either here or in any of our other fabulous locations. Happy travelling! Love, the Edinburgh Team.

94%

Really great hostel! Super clean and so close to the beach. Genuinely top 3 most comfortable mattresses we've ever had. Also really cute staff. Overall pretty chill vibe and totally worth it for the money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the great feedback! We appreciate it when our guests take time out of their travels to leave a review of their stay. We're glad you had a great time with us, and we look forward to having you come back again on your future travels. Much love, the Edinburgh Team.

91%

I always enjoy my stay thank you :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you always enjoy yourself down in Newquay! we enjoy having you! Till next time. Regards, Gus

97%

I've been already in the St. Christopher's Inn in Bath and i really liked it! There are a lot of young People and a really cool Bar. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast is included. And the best is: you're just by a beautiful beach!.-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Glad you enjoyed the fun atmosphere the team down in Newquay aim to make for our guests! How good it the beach views, come back and see us all (including sully) again soon please. :) Regards, Gus

97%

The location is fantastic, the hostel is right on the cliff edge overlooking the beach and in the centre of town. We had a view of the beach from our room and for the price it's unbeatable. We would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! We are glad you enjoyed the incredible location as much as we do! Looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Gus

94%

Nice place! But of a walk from the train station, but great location pretty much on the beach. Cool atmosphere with good vibes. Breakfast was good, nice to have meat and cheese. Staff very friendly and helpful. Overall good stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the nice review! We are glad we could help to make your stay in Newquay an enjoyable one, we look forward to seeing you again before to long. Regards, Gus

86%

This hostel is rather for party people. Below the hostel there is a bar - I stayed in the female dorm which is located on the 2nd floor and on the other side to the bar so sleeping was possible. There is also no self-catering kitchen, but travelers might use the bar for food and drinks. Breakfast is served in the bar. Otherwise very very friendly staff and clean toilets/ showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As you have mentioned we are a Bar/Hostel set-up, we don't have kitchen facilities but give guest 25% off food to make up for it. We are glad you found are staff friendly and helpful, it means a lot to us! Regards, Gus

77%

Brilliant stay in this place :) view was incredible in our room, prices were great. Offers in the bar all night for people staying. Met some lovely people. Staff were awesome, bartenders were babes. Very nice place

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed you accommodation and the bar facilities alike! I think the staff are amazing as well, thanks for the review! Regards, Gus

97%

This is a great place to stay, especially for young people, but for anyone else as well. The big downstairs bar gets full and lively on Friday and Saturday nights especially, but I had no difficulty in getting a good night's sleep in one of the comfortable dorm beds. Very youthful, friendly and helpful staff: Property is right next to and overlooking the sea: breakfast included in the very reasonable price. An ideal place for surfers to meet fellow surfers! I'll be staying there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your kind words! What you have said in you review is pretty much what we aim to provide for a guests! We look forward to seeing down in Newquay again soon! Thanks again for the awesome review. Gus

80%

I wouldn't normally stay in a hostel but it was fun. No sleep though as the room was so noisy! Great place to stay if you are young single and ready for a big drunken night out. If you want to get a good nights sleep definitely don't stay here.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, glad you had fun while you were staying with us! Cheers, Gus

51%

The room was not very clean and in poor condition, also the door to the bathroom; the water came only on one side in drops, the other side was aut of order; the hole bathroom was in a poor condition; the same with the beds... Only the view to the sea was nice! Below was bar with very very loud music from 22 o´clock until 2 o´clock - it was horrible! The whole family was unable to sleep!

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect position!! Every staff member was so helpful and we loved the Australian guy. He was super friendly and helped in every way he could. Would come back here any day!!


51%

I can not believe this is a hostel with a pub inside...what means NOISE! If you go there to do surfing you need to rest overnight...so here is impossible. the music last until 2am.... if you open the window is really noisy, the music is just there in the garden. drunk people are dlinking and vomiting on the floor. Is disgusting. I like party, but no in the same place where I have to sleep...is unbeliable. the toilet was inside the room...noisi again. mattres have the pposition in the middle....




View all Newquay Hostels

Please give us your feedback