Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Christopher's Inn Newquay

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
St Christopher's Inn Newquay Located at 35 Fore Street, TR7 1HR, Newquay.
St Christopher's Inn Newquay
England
Newquay 35 Fore Street, TR7 1HR
81% 630
50.4152384 -5.0868523
St Christopher's Inn Newquay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
10.0

Great place, room was clean and comfortable, atmosphere had a great vibe. Somewhere I would return to if ever in Newquay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Where to start! Amazing location. Car park near by. 10 seconds from shops. 10 seconds from the beach. Great relaxed vibe at the bar and restaurant area's. Plenty of room in and outside. They even had a DJ on the Saturday night. The staff are amazing! Within my first half hour, being alone, they invited me down to the beach festival with them and what a night it was. Full of laughs. Great people. Can't wait to come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Matt, Thank you so much for the kind review. We sure love the location, glad to hear you loved it too. It was an absolute pleasure to have your company at the beach festival, it was a good night indeed. Hope you had a safe drive back to Wales! See you again one day soon! St Christopher's Crew

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.0

The location makes up for anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Sam, Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you loved the location, we sure do love it too. St Christopher's Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
9.1

Stunning view, reasonably priced with comfortable bunks and ensuite too. Proper miserable git on morning reception though, was probably partying all night. His attitude is enough to stop me visiting again - especially after this review!! Hopefully will never stay in Newquay again. People largely unfriendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Teresa, Thank you for your review. We all agree, the view is stunning and we are super lucky to work here day in, day out. I'm glad to hear you had a comfortable stay also, it was our pleasure to have you. As for the poor attitude, I am extremely sorry on his behalf. I hope the attitude of one individual doesn't deter you from returning as we would love to see you again. St Christopher's Crew

  • beckyforshaw
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.3

Great location, friendly staff, the hostel itself was a little unclean but that could have just been due to other people staying earlier than we had arrived. Very comfy beds, great atmosphere, made some good friends from around the world! Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi , Thank you so much for the review. So glad you enjoyed the great atmosphere and comfy beds. We pride ourselves on cleanliness, I apologise this was not the case for the duration of your stay. Hope to see you again one day soon! St Christophers crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2016
6.3

If you're here just to surf, I'm sure the hostel is fine (though another guest said she was frustrated at having to store her board in the already-cramped room). I was frustrated with the unavailability of the staff (busy running the bar), the lack of towel hire (come on) and the steep, tiny coridors up to the rooms. No communal areas, no relaxing vibe as the bar below is popular and loud, no real way to meet other travelers. I felt safe, but it wasn't worth the price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Nida, Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry there was no extra room to store boards, as we are limited on space we are unable to offer board storage. It's something we would love to look into though. I also apologise that the staff were unable to attend to your needs for the duration of your stay and there were no towels available to hire. The company is working on gaining more hours to allocate to staff and we have just placed orders for towels to purchase within the hostel. I hope this doesn't deter you from returning to St Christopher's Inn, we would love to see you again one day! St Christopher's Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Jun 2016
3.1

Very disappointed. Facilities were terrible, no toilet paper for 2 days even though I asked 3 times. Staff didn't want to serve at the bar a number of times I was left standing waiting for them to finish their conversations. Reception hardly ever had anyone there. Atmosphere was all surrounding the bar which was filthy and falling apart. Worst st Christopher's I've stayed in and one of the worst hostels.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Jayde, Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry you had an unpleasant stay. Summer is definitely a busy time of the year for us and I apologise we were unable to attend to your needs for the duration of your stay. The hostel is currently undergoing some renovations and will be finished in the foreseeable future. I hope this doesn't deter you from visiting again as we would love to see you again one day. St Christopher's Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
4.6

It was the worst overnight stay I've had in my life the alarms went off every night I was unable to sleep and almost had a heart attack when I told jukes about it early the next morning she said you were the first person to tell me about it no one was interested in doing anything about it or how it effected my stay the lockers are broken in the rooms the toilet stinks and you throw up almost when you go in there the shower was messy and dirty every day

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Steve, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had an unpleasant stay. Unfortunately the alarms were not in our control so I apologise that they disturbed you. Again, the sewage problem was not a foreseeable issue and has now been attended to. I hope this doesn't deter you from visiting again as we would love to see you in St Christophers Inn one day soon. St Christophers Crew

  • lewisrandell1107
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
1st Jun 2016
7.1

Pros: close to beach, centre of town, passcard to get in everywhere Cons: tightly packed rooms, showers/toilets in room don't work and there is only one per floor, staff were rude (I'll be there in a minute, 10 minutes still not there and apparently was sorting out his own dinner from the kitchen), we searched only for places with parking and this place came however has NO parking, no kitchen which is essential for hostels this forcing you to spend money at bar, no lockers in the room,

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Lewis, Thank you for your review. We agree, it's definitely a pro being close to the beach and the centre of town. As for the tightly packed rooms, I apologise, we are pretty tight on space here and I apologise for the attitude you were shown. It is a very busy hostel/bar and with limited team members, I'm sorry we couldn't accommodate to your needs for the duration of your stay. For the lack of kitchen use for hostel guests, we do offer a discounted rate on food. I hope to see you again one day soon! St Christopher's Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
9.1

The bar is amazing attached to the hostel the room I was in had an amazing view of the beach. Only down side was the facilities, the en-suite bathroom toilet wasn't functioning and had been used and the shower wasn't working. Not the end of the world as you had the facilities just down the corridor. But overall amazing hostel due to the welcoming staff and the vibe of the whole place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, sorry about the ensuite problems but we are going through some upgrades at the moment which have caused a few issues, everything should be sorted next time you stay Cheers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.