Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Christopher's Oasis-Female Only

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
St Christopher's Oasis-Female Only Located at 163 Borough High Street, SE1 1HR, Southwark, London.
St Christopher's Oasis-Female Only
England
London 163 Borough High Street, SE1 1HR, Southwark
86% 222
51.5040011 -0.0908517
St Christopher's Oasis-Female Only
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Nov 2016
8.6

This hostel is in a great location and is clean and modern. The bars on the ground and lower ground floors are very noisy. The only real downside is the beds. The mattresses are what can only be called super-ultra-firm and the pillows are all flat as pancakes. I ended up folding my towel and putting it under the pillow to try and get a bit of lift.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
8.6

The staff was incredibly rude and make us feel rather unwelcome. When we arrived, the two girls treated us as if we were less important than whatever they were showing each other on their phones. Other than the terrible staff at the front desk, the rooms and bathrooms were clean and seemed relatively new. Wifi was great and outlets at each bed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're incredibly sorry about your check in. We've addressed our staff and make sure this won't happen again. We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed the rooms and all the facilities. We hope that you've enjoyed London and wish you the best during the rest of your travels, take care!

7th Nov 2016
8.3

Great place to stay! Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for such a nice review. We'll be glad to have you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2016
10.0

Had a really pleasant stay :) the people were nice, the place was neat and bathrooms were nice. Recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again during your travels, take care!

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
4.0

1. There are several bars on the street, so it was a little bit noisy at night. 2. Our heating was not working and it was 2 degree at night. The bathroom and hallway are warmer than our room. When I asked to have protable heater, the staffs said they lent it to another person. Then, I asked for extra bedding. They replied that due to the fully book, there is no extra bedding(how ridiculous). The staffs said that there is nothing she can do for me. (That was the excat words she said to me)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. We're always looking for ways to improve our establishment and your feedback plays a major role in this. We do want to apologize if your stay wasn't as pleasant as it might could have been. Regarding our heating, it turns on at set times through out the day therefore it might seem like it's not working. We have also spoken with our staff about your concerns so that we can better our self in the future. Never the less we hope that you still have enjoyed London and wish you the best during the rest of your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2016
7.4

The females only area is above the main hostel and is accessed with a swipe card. The dorm was full but very quiet, everyone was considerate and I got a reasonable nights sleep. Male cleaners come in to clean the showers at 7.30am which makes the bathrooms a bit uncomfortable!! Breakfast is included if you book direct with the hostel but not if you go through Hostelworld.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks for the review. We're glad to hear that you liked the set up of the room. We do apologize for the male cleaners being in the bathroom while you where trying to use it. We try to prevent this from happening unfortunately this can't always be reached. Never the less, we hope you've had a amazing time in London. Take care!

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Oct 2016
6.9

The toilets and bathroom are not as clean as I would like to find them... the cleaners do their job but they cannot be cleaning everytime someone use the facilities.. I people are not respectful and not cooperating to keep it clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you've had a great time in London and we hope to see you again during your future travels.

21st Oct 2016
8.9

I just spent a night in the hostel, but it was clean as well as the bathroom and rooms. The beds are OK, and the USB charge plug near the bed is very useful! The atmosphere is nice and there' s a nice pub on the ground floor. The wifi works well and the hostel provides amenities such towels and hair dryer. The location is excellent, near the London Bridge Underground and the touristic points such as London Bridge Experience, Borough Market.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for such a nice review. We're glad to hear that you've enjoyed your night here. We hope to see you again during your future travels. Take care!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
7.7

The Hostel had a great atmosphere but the reception staff could have been a lot more friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were pretty clean however they were over capacity for the storage lockers and were not very organized for a back up solution. The location was okay because it was near a underground station however, quite far from any of the big touristy locations. For having a bar and restaurant downstairs the rooms stayed quiet. Overall a pretty good stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya! Thank you taking the time to leave us your thoughts. We're glad to hear that you've had a good time while staying with us and made good use of our in house bar with a bunch of discounts for our guests. We hope to see you again during your travels. Take care!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Oct 2016
6.9

Not a fan of hostel bars that allow people off the street to come in as well. When I get back from sightseeing I want to be able to kick back and have a beer, but the place is packed with mostly locals, which even though the front door is locked , can get into hostel areas, mot as clean as advertised.Also , I thought this was an all female hostel, not just partly, where I had to walk past male rooms and bathroom facilities that we very stinky and dudes half dressed I the am.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Toni, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us. Unfortunately as advertised on all our websites the Oasis is located inside The Village which is a mixed hostel. It a separate aisle of the building locked by a door. Most of our Oasis guests don't really mind having to walk through a corridor where there are mixed rooms. I would suggest you reading all the property description next time you book somewhere, it could help you having bad surprises. It is also specified that we have a Bar open to anybody. What a shame not to have a beer in there, guests get discount on food and drinks. It is also a great place to socialise with proper Londoners and relax.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.