X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Oasis-Female Only Reviews

163 Borough High Street, SE1 1HR, Southwark, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
73 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great location, rooms, staff- would be great to have a mini kitchen and at least a microwave n sink to fill water bottles xx and ashtray outside (shame, poor environment!)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad you took advantage of our prime central location and we will be sure to pass on your kind comments about our staff. While we don't have a kitchen, we do have a microwave and a fridge in our common room, and the bar is always happy to fill up a water bottle for you. :) Our bar patio and rooftop terrace are both equipped with mounted and table top ashtrays as well for those who wish to use them as smoking areas. Take care!

80%

Good location, excellent staff, a very friendly place with a real sense of community. Female part of the hostel with its own bathrooms and toilets is safe. Very good facilities. Excellent breakfast. The only problem is that the female rooms are facing a very busy street, and the windows provide no insulation. It was hard to sleep, so unfortunately I had to move to another hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us your thoughts. It's always good to hear that people feel safe and comfortable with us, and we're glad that the Oasis provided that for you. We're also glad you enjoyed our free breakfast to start your day. Unfortunately, we are located on a busy High street in a major city so there is bound to be some noise. We do provide free earplugs at reception to help with that. It would be great to have you stay with us again. Safe travels!

63%

Bunks are very uncomfortable and the flights of stairs up followed by a maze of a hallway was just ridiculous. Hostel world needs to start adding information for those that are mobility impaired!!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed to hear the facilities were not up to your expectations and we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.. When any challenges are brought to our staff's attention, they are happy to remedy the situation. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

89%

Loved my stay. The sheets and towel provided were clean. The showers and washrooms were also clean, large and functional. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The added breakfast was a huge bonus, as it was not only open relatively late, but also had a lot of choices. It did get quite noisy at night and it was a little far away from the main attractions, but it was a fantastic stay for the price.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. It's so great to hear when our guests love us as much as we love having them! We hope to see you back ASAP!

66%

Security was excellent in common areas however we experienced another guests card able to access our private room. Cleanliness was good in the rooms but poor in the bathrooms. The cleaners seemed to be arguing in the hallway each morning which was off-putting.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. When any challenges are brought to our staff's attention, they are happy to remedy the situation. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

94%

I really liked the hostel, it was just a little to nosie, but over all the experence was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there , thank you so much for your review. Sorry about the noise inconvenience, free earplugs are available in reception. Come to us again soon. Cheers ;)

97%

a bit too many doors and dragging a heavy suitcase up the stairs was quite a pain. but it was very clean and my stay was pleasant.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. Next time just ask a member of staff to help you with the suitcase, we are here to help! Take care and have fun :)

86%

The showers, whilst doing the job, are not as pleasant an experience as they could be. Without circulation, your items just get wet and there is limited places to put down items brought into the bathrooms. Other than that - super swell place to stay, enjoyed in thoroughly!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Many thanks for leaving us a review! We are glad to read that you had a lovely stay in our Hostel! Safe journey on your future travels!

100%

I highly recommend this place, clean and great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey What a great feedback ! Thank you for that! It makes our team really proud to read such a great review! We hope that you will keep staying with us!

80%

Little bit of noisy. Probably the cleanest hostel I ever slept in. Good location, very close to underground stop, easy walk to Tower Bridge.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We love our convenient location and are pleased to see you liked it too. Unfortunately being in a very central location brings a lot of noise. Look forward to seeing you again next time you're in London.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Really nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there , thank you so much for your review. Come to us again soon. Cheers ;)

86%

This actually my first hostel experience and it is not bad at all, I am in room 17 which have 10 beds, roommates are awesome, the bed is comfy, the linen is clean, the wifi is fast. Shower is super awesome! Clean and tidy. Only one thing that I do not like in this hostel, the cleaner in shower room is a man, considering the girls running with only tower and undies, this Oasis area suppose to be woman only.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for leaving as a review. We're so glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us and that all of our amenities fit the bill! We are sorry that you had some concerns regarding the housekeeping staff and we will be sure to pass those along. Come stay with us any time. Take care!

100%

There was lots of room in the dorm and the showers/toilets were clean. Breakfast was good, too. I would absolutely stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. This is what we like to hear, we hope to see you soon . Take care and safe travel

94%

The hostel is very well located, close to London Bridge station. The staffs were very friendly and helpful all the time. The bedroom was clean and ever bed has a plug, usb and light! I really recommend this hostel and would like to stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We're so pleased to hear that you had such a great stay with us and that you took advantage of our great location! Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to see you again.

77%

14 bedded hostel room in the Oasis, and 2 plug sockets for the entire room... Very disappointed especially in the word of smart technology

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback! We are very sorry that you didn't find there were enough plugs in the room, we are currently refurbishing with this being on the top of the list. Still hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay ;)

71%

The toilets got clogged, both for the shower and the toilet. So if you showered, the water will be up to ankle length and won't go down. The dorm I stayed in was facing right on the main street, so it was normal to hear heavy traffic which made it extremely hard to sleep in, also there are only 2 sockets in each dorm. That means 14 girls had to share 2 sockets, which led to lots of conflict and unhappiness as people often removed other people's plugs to plug their own.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback! We are very sorry that you found so many problems during your stay. We promise to look in to the issues you have raised here. Regards

86%

Although there was a booking error between a double and a twin room the staff were very helpful and sorted it out very quickly. Sanitary bins need to be checked more frequently as one was over flowing and maybe better hair dryers in bathroom would be appreciated. Clean room, aluminium beds and plenty of plug sockets. I would definitely stay again!

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for leaving your feedback, it is very much appreciated. We are happy you enjoyed staying with us. We will make sure to pass your kind words to our staff. Hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels!

86%

Great hostel but free breakfast ends at 9.30am not 10 they clear up quick and early

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for the nice feedback, it means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon! Safe travels!

83%

Staff was friendly. Beds were clean. I loved that everyone a locker under the beds. The bathrooms were newer, but the cleanliness was only okay. When it was time to sleep, the hostel rooms were quiet, and u wouldn't even know there was partying going on downstairs. It was well within walking distance of the London Bridge metro station, and the people who worked there were friendly. I would definitely stay here my next go-ahound in London.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us a review! It`s great to hear that you appreciated our location and the staff here.Bye for now and hopefully we will see you again!

86%

Atmosphere was good. Loud in the evenings because it's connected to two different bars. I would say to add more seating in the reception area or some other space for people who want to use the Wi-fi in peace. It's difficult to do that on the lower in the bar with all the ruckus. Either add more seating or add some Wi-fi in the rooms. Overall a good experience: staff friendly and helpful, great location close to tube, clean bathrooms. Breakfast was so-so. Only 2 outlets in a 14 bed rm- no bueno.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have a brand new chill out room and wifi that is available everywhere. Take care and see you soon

(41 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback